The Gatehouse Reviews

96 | Baton Rouge, LA
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for The Gatehouse

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

96

58 User photos

Order by:
  • Iesha

    Iesha · Married on 10/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miss Christy and the venue and everyone who helped out were absolutely wonderful

    My fiance and I are from two separate states both not being the Louisiana area the gate house venue was a perfect place to have our Tim Burton inspired nightmare before Christmas wedding Christy was such an enormous help she's very attentive through phone calls and emails there's also a bridal portal on the gatehouse website that was so much help along with the three ring binder that I received for homework helped make this experience and almost flawless one. The food was amazing the room was beautiful she allowed us to upgrade a package to include our very own theme.thank you for everything that you've done Ms Christy we really appreciate you and the gatehouse in baton rouge Louisiana comes highly recommended from the prince family here in Killeen Texas

    Sent on 11/21/2020
  • Lacy

    Lacy Y. · Married on 08/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Breath of Fresh Air

    Wedding planning was way more hectic than I expected, The Gatehouse was the easiest part of my experience, everything was beautiful and Christi was always one call away.

    Sent on 09/11/2020
  • A

    Allison · Married on 01/25/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The easiest decision to make

    Choosing The Gatehouse was the easiest decision I made during the entire wedding planning process. Christi and her crew are amazing!

    Sent on 09/05/2020
  • E

    Eileen C. · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    Christi and her team did a great job
    I hosted a bridal shower for my niece
    They made me look good
    I would highly recommend Gatehouse

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • rraborn

    Rachel · Married on 10/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ahhhmaazzzinnnnggg

    I CANNOT recommend The Gatehouse enough! Christi was absolutely amazing in every single way!! I was beyond happy with every single part of the process! I had the most stress free wedding all because of Christi! I couldn't imagine getting married anywhere else!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • Kim

    Kim D. · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Boutique Venue with Elegance

    When we got engaged we immeidately knew we wanted to get married at The Gatehouse. Being my very first phone call to check the availibilty I was elated to hear I could get married in 6 months. My first meeting I was greeted with a planning binder and a list of "to-do's". Throughout the planning process all I had to do was shoot an email or a quick call to go over what we had in mind. Our cooridnator, Christ Edwards is the best I've ever encountered. All of our guests were able to be guests and not have to worry about setting up or taking down a thing. The day of the wedding was seemless! She checked up on me making sure everyone was having a great time, kept the timeline going perfecting all the while my family and friends danced the night away. I would 100% reccomend getting married at The Gatehouse if you're on the fence. Best experience of my life.

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • K

    Kimberly B. · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything I wanted and more!!!!!

    Christi and her staff are the best. I was so undecided in the decorations that I just gave her my colors and she worked her magic!!! Smooth from start to finish. Food was GREAT, my guest are still talking about it 5 months later.

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • N

    Nancy E. · Married on 04/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!

    The Gatehouse has it all! Christi was so awesome and made sure everything was perfect.

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • C

    Cheyenne · Married on 04/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Even though I had no idea how to plan a wedding, I had the most beautiful wedding ever. Christi did the most amazing job with everything. She was so helpful and full of positivity and ideas. All of my guests are still telling me how beautiful everything was and how wonderful they thought my wedding was. They should be telling Christi because without her none of that would've been possible. The Gatehouse is definitely a venue that I will recommend again and again. Everyone that works there really cares about making your event special and they really hit their mark every time. Having our wedding here really was probably the best decision I made during the whole planning process. At the Gategouse almost everything is included in their packages and it really just helps everything else come together and fall into place. If you are looking for a venue around Baton Rouge definitely put the Gategouse on your list, you wont be disappointed.

    Sent on 06/22/2019
  • M

    Meghan A. · Married on 04/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    April wedding

    So glad we picked this venue for our wedding!!!! It was absolutely beautiful and the food was amazing. Christy made everything so easy and worked with us through the entire process and made the day smooth and perfect. We are from out of town, so the biggest thing was how much was included in the prices! It was practically a one stop shop for everything we needed!

    Sent on 11/20/2019
  • P

    Patrick · Married on 12/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gatehouse is the perfect venue to have your wedding!

    This is a long overdue review, but as we found out back in March we were having a baby, this got pushed back but finally wanted to post. Christi and her staff at The Gatehouse were BEYOND spectacular! From our first meetings with her, she was determined to help us in the planning stages to have the best wedding and reception possible. She always made sure to double check on certain things, like when we weren’t interested in saving our wedding cake for a first anniversary, she asked more than once “are you sure” just to make sure it was what we wanted and didn’t miss out on something that could’ve been important. And speaking on the cake, the cake we fell in love with was a past design on shown on the old venue website that she had for the time being retired, but when we said that was one we liked the most, well, that's the cake we got! There were certain decor things that we changed here and there from initial meetings that didn’t come close to tripping her up, and on the day her placement of our decor was nothing short of perfect. Day of the wedding, Christi and her staff were on point every step of the way. Christi numerous times checked on us to make sure there was nothing we needed. She even caught my wife and I when we went to get food the first time to ask if we wanted her and her staff to make our plates for us. We were fine with making them ourselves, but were both blown away at that level of caring. Let me just say that if you are looking for a venue, go with the Gatehouse. It is a gorgeous venue (as they do some degree of seasonal decorations themselves already), the food and music done in-house can’t be beat, and the simple fact that you have a venue, music, caterer and wedding planner all in one, run by a top-notch lady, makes this a perfect place to hold a wedding.

    Sent on 08/30/2019
  • C

    Cecilia R. · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful venue

    Our wedding was so amazing here at this wonderful venue. They were very helpful and easy to work with! We really enjoyed working with Christie at the Gatehouse and the venue is so beautiful.

    Sent on 10/31/2018
  • G

    Ginger · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gatehouse Baton Rouge

    Everything was beautiful, delicious food, and Christie made everything super easy and low stress!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • F

    Farah · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I start?!!!! It was love at first sight....literally. I had a list of venues to go checkout, The Gatehouse was my first stop. And when I tell you I immediately fell in love, I really did. I didn't even go to the other ones I had on my list. The Gatehouse met our expectations and more. We are so thankful for Christie and all her help during our wedding planning. She really went over and beyond to make sure everything goes smoothly and to make sure we are happy. The venue was magical. The cake was amazing. Every little detail was just perfect. I can go on and on and on about how happy we are to find the Gatehouse, but it'll take ALL day. So I highly recommend The Gatehouse. It was worth every penny!!!!!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • Edna

    Edna R. · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellence in Every Way ! Details! Details !Details !

    I chose to have my Mom's 90th Birthday celebration in Baton Rouge, at The Gatehouse in August 2018. My priorities were a beautiful, luxurious Southern venue, great food/wines, indoors (August is hot) , creative & meticulous planner, music/dancing, guest capacity of 80-100. All of my expectations were met exceedingly by Christi at The Gatehouse. From the first phone call to her walking my family out to the car at the end of the party, Christi's many years of experience were realized.
    After meeting with her at the venue, all details of the party were planned via email/phone calls. All details were carried out with excellence& joy. Courteous and prompt attention to every minute detail took all stress from me for this important life event for my Mom. Christi treats her clients as her own family. She provides all services for a seamless event tailored for full enjoyment by all, truly an all inclusive event, no surprise charges...no surprises.
    Communication for a large event is primary. Christi leaves nothing assumed , nor unconfirmed. In my case she confirmed confirmations !
    The Gatehouse ballroom and grounds provide the perfect setting for any occasion. Parking is more than ample for your large event. A lavishly appointed "Brides Room" is available. Any special needs are attended to (including strained relationships among the guests) The ballroom is the ultimate in Southern charm and beauty. Christi and her team reflect the same.
    The grounds are lavishly designed for year round use. Picture perfect settings are at every turn. The setting is so beautiful that not much else is needed. However, Christi shines in suggesting from her varied array of fine linens, candelabra, anything for tablescapes, music. If you desire a "WOW!" detail, she has it for you. She will creatively design for your look. Flowers: Christi quickly referred me to Billy Heromans for the most excellence in flower creations. Christi received the order and saw to the correct placement of the order.
    Crhisti quickly gets to know her clients and creates a custom celebration that perfectly reflects the guest(s) of honor.
    Food/wines/beverages: I watched as our 100+ guests returned to the delicious, huge food buffet, not once, but twice in many cases. The bar was very busy. Reminded me of Thanksgiving with my family ! Excellent wines offered. The packages offered were most helpful in planning.
    Traffic flow in this venue has been well thought out. Moving from the bar, food , gardens, bathrooms, and visiting from table to table with guests are so easy. During your event, Christi and her team move about, making sure all guests have exactly what they need/want. You and your guests only notice that everything is attended to. I've hosted many large parties, 2 large weddings for our daughters. I'm a control freak. Never have I relaxed completely and let someone take care of everything....until The Gatehouse. I have found venues that have good food, but the setting is lacking. Or the venue is dramatic, scenic, yet the food lacks, details fall by the wayside. The Gatehouse truly has it all. Christi and her team make all your dreams come true for your special event. And, the pricing is truly all inclusive.
    My mom was so blessed, honored, had so much fun at her party. Christi had set her up in an antique setee in order to see & be seen by her guests, and for them to sit and visit with her. Mom's party fun continues today as her guests are still calling, telling her of details they'd remembered at The Gatehouse, how that party was really what a 90th Birthday celebration should be !
    I'd return here anytime for any type of gathering for the most excellent in client service, professional planning , lavish setting, outstanding food, organized FUN. Please bring your event here. You will NOT be disappointed. Go to the website, then pick up the phone and call Christi right away. Any stress you might have, will quickly turn to anticipation of your most excellent event at The Gatehouse !

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • L

    Linzey B. · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    10/10 Recommend

    We knew that the Gatehouse was the perfect place to get married as soon as we walked in the room! Inside and out, this venue is so beautiful. It also helped that Christy was so easy and fun to work with. She took the stress of getting married off of us and into her own hands. From food and cake to decorations, she did it all! Highly encourage anyone who is getting married to step inside the Gatehouse and get to know Christy Edwards!!

    Sent on 10/31/2018
  • L

    Leia · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were so on the ball and very helpful. Any last minuet thing we needed they were able to provide. My son actually blacked out because he locked his knees and they were right there on the spot to help him and help one of our guest take care of him until the vows were finished. I loved how there was someone there just to take care of the bride and groom and make them plates.

    Sent on 06/17/2018
  • Mely

    Mely · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect day in the perfect place with the perfect people.

    We had my perfect wedding, it was great, all nice and the food was delicious everyone who attended said that. Great service.

    Sent on 10/26/2018
  • Raine

    Raine B. · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    our wedding day was flawless!

    my husband and I work alot. there is no way either of us had the time to plan a wedding. The gatehouse took care of all the details for us! The venue is beautiful, the food is delicious and the memories are priceless!

    Sent on 10/26/2018
  • C

    Carolyn H. · Married on 04/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Baton Rouge's Best kept secret

    I was so impressed with Christi and her staff. They did everything possible to make my day so special. They were so personable and really executed the vision for my dream wedding. From the the very first appointment til the very end. Christ's expertise was unmatched. They provided everything I needed and made the wedding planning process seamless and stress free! I am so happy I chose the Gatehouse for my special day and will tell everyone I know that is getting married to do the same.

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • K

    Kaitlynn · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not thank Christi Edwards at The Gatehouse enough! Our wedding and reception were perfect because of all of the hard work Ms. Christi and her staff put in. Everything ran smoothly, and multiple gusts commented on how beautiful the decor was! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

    Sent on 01/26/2018
  • M

    Misty · event on: 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose The Gatehouse for our corporate annual Christmas party and featured a Casino theme, with gaming tables brought in by a vendor. Not only was I completely impressed with this venue, but I had great feedback as well from our employees about the food and the ambiance. Christi was very helpful throughout the planning process - quick in her email responses, also an extremely knowledgable and professional event planner. I was uncertain the layout would work with the additional gaming tables. But she and my casino vendor corresponded and I could not have been more pleased with seeing it all come together. There isn't a detail that was left out. The event staff hung additional lighting over the gaming tables and also closed in the outdoor patio with drapes and set up space heaters to keep to space comfortable as the evening temps were in the 40s. Both indoor and outdoor spaces was beautifully decorated for the Holidays. The services and professionalism surpassed the affordable price. I'd recommend The Gatehouse to anyone interested in a moderately sized, intimate venue.

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding here on October 28, 2017. I highly recommend the Gatehouse! Christi was very helpful and the forms they have on the Gatehouse website made the planning super easy. I had no anxiety on my wedding day knowing everything was taken care of by Christi and the rest of the staff! Everything went smoothly and everyone had so much fun! I have heard nothing but complements from the guests :-)

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Christi was amazing! She didn't miss a beat and answered every question we had. The venue is beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff was friendly. Overall, a wonderful experience.

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Christi and her team made planning our wedding such an easy and fun process. They say if the wedding Christi and her team were awesome and always around if we needed anything! I highly recommend having your ceremony and reception here! It was such a beautiful place!

    Sent on 10/12/2017