Weddings

The Gardens at Elm Bank Reviews

The Gardens at Elm Bank

The Gardens at Elm Bank

Wellesley, MA
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 62 Reviews
View more information

62 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 62
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

51 User photos

Sort by:
  • B
    Brittany Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous venue with great staff!

    We could not imagine a more beautiful venue for our wedding. Kayleigh was a delight to work with. She was responsive, attentive, and worked hard to give us a day we wouldn't forget. The grounds are gorgeous and our guests raved about gardens.
  • A
    Alexandra S. Married on 08/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Elegant, great staff

    We loved getting married here!!Kayleigh took great care of us and was quick with replies and detail oriented.

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you Ala! I loved working with you and Michael and I hope the wedding was everything you dreamed of and more! Congratulations and please visit the gardens again soon! Best Wishes, Kayleigh
  • Matthew
    Matthew Married on 06/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most beautiful venue!

    After looking at a bunch of wedding venues, we visited Elm Bank and immediately knew it was our venue. It’s one of the most beautiful gardens and settings in New England. The Italianate garden is the perfect, fairytale-level ceremony setting, the children’s garden was fantastic for our guests during cocktail hour, and we not only had a great dinner but turned all the way up for the reception/party in the carriage house/tent! Kayleigh was so responsive in working with us, answering our questions, re-arranging our tables, and working with our vendors. Trish was invaluable on the day of to make sure everything ran smoothly. If you want the best of both indoor and outdoor settings, book Elm Bank!

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Matt! It was wonderful to work with you and Jannelle and I'm so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us! We can't wait to see more photos. Best wishes!!
  • Larry
    Larry B. Married on 02/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Garden at Elm Banks EXCEEDED our whole family's expectations

    Working with Kaylee and the team from the beginning to the final goodbye was an absolute joy. It was everything we hoped for and Kaylee and her staff made a beautiful setting all that much better. Could NOT have been smoother and they all were friendly, helpful, and professionals at making dreams come true.

    I speak for [the bride] and [the groom] and his family. ALL of our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever attended… and we saw that feeling reflected in their faces all night long.

    We will heartily recommend The Gardens to any of our friends looking for a place for a special event.
  • Kristen
    Kristen Married on 10/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful gardens!

    Elm bank was absolutely stunning - the gardens gave us so many options for how we wanted to arrange the guest seating, and they were very cooperative with ensuring we knew about rain options, and the different locations we could use for different events the day-of. Highly recommend! In particular, Kayleigh and Mary Kate were a huge help, super communicative and responsive, and provided a day-of coordinator who we met in advance to be on site the whole day with us. They also gave great recommendations for vendors who we ended up using.

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you Kristen! We loved working with you and Brian and hope that your day was everything you dreamed of! We hope you'll come back to visit the gardens again soon! -Kayleigh
  • A
    Amanda S. Married on 10/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect and magical wedding

    Elm Bank was the dream location for our wedding. We actually booked it without seeing it first, since we live in San Francisco, but have family in Boston. A family member went in the middle of the winter and even said it was beautiful (without flowers, etc). We wanted a place that was outdoors, and beautiful without doing too much to it. The best part of Elm Bank is the ability to use any of the gardens for your wedding, we used the Italiante for the ceremony, and the Weezy’s children’s garden for cocktail hour. Our guests were definitely in awe of the place. We lucked out and had 3 hours of sun on our wedding day (torrential downpour the morning of....) but we were going to still have it outside even if it was light rain, that is how gorgeous it was.

    I loved that we were able to do exactly what we wanted at Elm Bank. My Dad made handmade corn hole boards and welcome signs that we had during cocktail hour, we decorated the bars how we wanted, and brought in our own decor for the ceremony. You really can make the perfect wedding at Elm Bank, however you want. We had a black tie optional wedding, but you could also do a rustic wedding and it would go very well, as well as any kind of outdoor/garden/flower theme.

    The carriage house was also spectacular, we had a chandelier and bistro lights from the ceiling, which made the whole room sparkle. The space is fantastic, we had ~90 guests which was the perfect size for keeping it all in the carriage house and not using the attached tent.

    Kayleigh, the event director at Elm Bank was a complete joy to work with. From the first time I called to ask about the venue (and told her I lived on the West Coast and couldn’t stop by...) to the day of the wedding, she was upbeat, caring, and always had a smile on her face. I never encountered anyone at Elm Bank who wasn’t thrilled to talk to me. Kayleigh went above and beyond and helped my family FaceTime me when they went to the venue while I was on the West Coast, so I could see the space before securing it.

    It did book up fast, I got the last Friday of the season and I booked a year ahead, and I get why, it was perfect. A hidden gem in Wellesley.

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you for such a sweet review, Amanda! It was such a pleasure to work with you and Pat! I hope that you will visit the gardens again when you're back in the Boston area! Congratulations!! - Kayleigh & The Gardens at Elm Bank Team
  • A
    Audrey Married on 09/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married on Sept. 28 at the Gardens at Elm Bank and we could not have had a more perfect day. Mary Kate and her team were absolutely fantastic and made sure that everything went smoothly! The venue is absolutely gorgeous and gives you a completely secluded, private space for your ceremony and/or reception. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour outside in the garden spaces and our reception inside the carriage house. Our guests were so impressed - we received compliments all night and people are still talking about it! It's a hidden gem of the area and truly a memorable place. Thank you SO MUCH to Mary Kate and Elm Bank - we could not be happier with how our big day went :)

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Congratulations Audrey & Chris! Your day was absolutely stunning and we're so happy to hear that you and your guests enjoyed every minute! With love, Kayleigh, Mary Kate & The Gardens at Elm Bank Team!
  • M
    Megan Married on 08/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Gardens at Elm Bank is absolute perfection! From our first meeting to the entire process, everything was very smooth. We were initially attracted to this spot because of the gardens and they did not disappoint. Mary Kate and Kaleigh were always quick to answer our questions, even offered suggestions on things to do. It was so great to have the wedding ceremony, reception and photos all in one location! There are so many options when it comes to customize and design your wedding whether it the Carriage House or renting a tent. We knew our guests would love exploring the gardens before the ceremony or during the cocktail hour. The Carriage House is charming for our reception but is such a marvelous place, it could’ve been transformed to whatever we desired, even weather permitting a ceremony spot. Elm Bank’s preferred vendors are certainly the way to go when determining caterers or lighting designs. We did find it beneficial to have a wedding planner or coordinator to help facilitate the moving pieces and vendors. Overall our friends and family are still commenting on how stunning the venue and wedding was. My husband and I could not be happier with how things turned out! I’m so pleased we chose the Elm Bank and would do it all again!

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, Megan! It was a pleasure to work with you and Dan and we are so happy for the two of you! We can't wait to have you back to the gardens soon! Lots of love, Kayleigh & Mary Kate
  • P
    Phil Married on 08/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue is a beautiful setting with lots of options to accommodate any number of guests and styles of wedding. Mary Kate, Kayleigh, and Trish were incredibly helpful, responsive and invested in all things we asked of them. Outside of their direct responsibilities, they were full of suggestions for ideas for how we could make our dream day come true. Mary Kate even helped set up lawn game activities for our cocktail hour!

    We highly recommend having your wedding here. Thank you Elm Bank for hosting us on our best day ever!

    The Gardens at Elm Bank's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words, Phil! It was such a pleasure to work with you and Sara! We hope that you enjoyed every second of your beautiful day!
  • J
    James Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have asked for a better venue. Elm Bank was the perfect size for our 180 person head count and our guests have not stopped raving about the location. The Italianate garden was such a beautiful and elegant backdrop for our cocktail hour and the carriage house was exactly what we were looking for in our reception location. There's a lot of freedom to customize the space they way you want and we highly recommend this venue for couples who have a strong vision of the way they want their space to look.
  • C
    Catherine Married on 08/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Elm Bank is a beautiful venue and everything was perfect from beginning to end. The exceptionally beautiful gardens are truly magical and the staff was outstanding. The weight limit for the bridge was the most challenging part of planning because of transportation, but it worked out that Uber/Lyft were readily accessible for guests and we booked smaller shuttles for family/wedding party.

    Kayleigh was helpful with initial planning and vendor suggestions throughout. When we went to drop things off a few days before the wedding, the space we were supposed to use had been taken over by another wedding so they found us safe space in a totally different building! On the day of the event, Kristina and Jeanette were amazingly attentive and anticipated every need throughout the evening. They could not have been better. Thank you to everyone at Elm Bank!
  • B
    Bethany Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so lucky to get married this summer at the Gardens at Elm Bank. The venue itself is the most beautiful garden around, with many different areas to host your event. The staff was amazingly helpful and accommodating to work with, thank you Kayleigh!! The Carriage House offers a beautiful white backdrop for you to totally customize your vision and choose all of your vendors in the midst of a fairytale-like beautiful grounds. We will continue to come back visit the happiest place ever, thank you Elm Bank!!
  • K
    Keirsten Married on 06/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved this venue! It was everything that we wanted and was a perfect day!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 04/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We adored having our wedding at the Gardens at Elm Bank! It's such a beautiful space, both the grounds and the Hunnewell Building. I was nervous about a portion of our guests being outside in the attached tent, but it ended up working beautifully; the doors were open the whole time so they could see inside and we made the space outside cozy/fun with a photo booth and a twig chandelier. Kayleigh was helpful and responsive in helping us prepare for the big day, and the price was pretty reasonable for everything we received. I highly recommend getting married here.
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/04/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having our wedding at Elm Bank. We are still getting compliments about how beautiful the site was. Kayleigh was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend visiting the grounds, the pictures do not do it justice!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 08/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can't say enough about the venue. The natural beauty of the Gardens at Elm Bank are unprecedented in high season. The service and flexibility were great. We wanted to make the most of the different Gardens and they allowed us the flexibility to do so. The venue was also very catering to all of our vendors and their schedules, which enabled a smooth event. We were so happy with the service delivered. They even had an attendant on site who helped our elderly guests get from the parking lots to the tent with golf carts. I would highly recommend this venue, not only for its incredible beauty but also for its service and flexibility.
  • User1322896 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Elm Bank is not only one of the prettiest venues in Massachusetts but the staff on site was always helpful during the planning phase but even more helpful the day of. Jen, the event coordinator, was so organized and responsive, anytime I had a question she would email back same day. The gardens were amazing for cocktail hour and the carriage house and tent were ideal for the reception dinner and dancing that came after. I honestly recommend the Massachusetts Horticultural Society, it was truly a beautiful event, I wouldn't have picked any other site.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a great time working with the crew from Mass Hort. Our wedding was beautiful, and the great thing about this venue is that you have a lot of freedom.
  • User913311 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I got married at Elm Bank this past Saturday. As we sit in the airport waiting for our honeymoon flight, I'm still marveling at how wonderfully the day went. Before, during, and after the event, Jen was a joy to work with. She was consistently responsive with all questions, large and small. I have been consistently impressed by the value - it's pretty impressive that all of the gardens plus the Hunnewell building were included in the rental! The grounds and property are very well-kept as well - everything looked organic yet immaculate the day of the wedding. I can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else!
  • Y
    Yusufi Married on 07/15/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This site is a gorgeous place to have a wedding reception. We set up the Honneywell building, the tent attached, and the space right outside the Honneywell building in a lounge type of seating - with couches and Indian Khattlas everywhere. It was really picturesque.

    Throughout the process of trying to pull this vision of a wedding off, the staff at MASS Hort - particularly Jenn Courtney - was phenomenal. Jenn is really accommodating and will try to do her best in helping you achieve your vision. On a number of occasions, she helped hook us up with the right vendors and even called them back to ensure everything was in order. This is not what typically venue vendors do, unless they are being paid. Jenn has a really respectful and humane way of dealing with you; and that's not often the case in this kind of business.

    I would do a wedding at this venue a hundred times over.
  • K
    Karen Married on 10/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just had our daughter's wedding at Elm Bank and there aren't enough superlatives to describe what a beautiful site this is to hold a wedding. From our first visit to the wedding weekend, the functions manager responded to all of our questions and followed up in a timely manner. We had a fall wedding and the grounds were a glorious backdrop to our outdoor ceremony. We had a large tent in the Maple Grove which was the perfect site for the vision my daughter had for her wedding. However, I have been to Elm Bank during every season and the grounds are always beautiful. There is ample parking and it is easy to find from anywhere in the Boston vicinity. We had out-of-town guests at two nearby hotels.
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Elm Bank and Jen Courtney! The venue speaks for itself…we wanted a very quintessential “New England in the Fall” location and Elm Bank certainly fit that bill. The ceremony could be basically anywhere on the grounds, and there were different options available due to the unpredictable nature of New England weather. Jen took accommodation and patience to a new level. There are so many unknowns and so many vendors to deal with for a wedding like ours (in a tent…in October) and Jen took the reins to ensure everything went smoothly leading up to, during, and after the wedding weekend. Our wedding was sandwiched in between a weekend of torrential downpours and a (very) early snow storm and they made all efforts to make sure there was no mud or dirt or leaves near the spaces we were using. Jen allowed us to bring items the day before the wedding to store on-site and leave them there until the day after the wedding. Everything she, and the staff, did to help made a tented wedding for 200 people seem manageable!
  • H
    Sarah Married on 10/02/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Elm Bank is a beautiful landscape of gardens, flowers, plants and green space right in the middle of Wellesley, MA. Jen Courtney worked with me as the contact person; she was awesome, always quick to answer my questions and get back to me with details and info. It is a beautiful setting and they are very flexible with how you use all the space. lots of parking, lots of room, convenient to nearby hotels, access for handicapped people, and a great staff who took care of everything. Amazing place for a wedding!
  • E
    Ellen Married on 07/30/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having our wedding at the Mass Horticultural Society. We got married in July and the gardens looked SO pretty and well maintained. Everyone that attended our wedding couldn't stop talking about how beautiful it was. We used the carriage house with the tent on the back and had the cocktail hour in the gardens. Worked out perfectly! I was afraid of rain and wanted to have a venue that provided a rain back up plan and Elm Bank was perfect! We did not have to worry about rain, but it was nice to have the AC in the carriage house on that hot day. Jen was great to work with. She was very responsive and knowledgeable when ever I had a question or concern. She went above and beyond to meet my parents the morning of the wedding to get the flowers that were being delivered. It was very nice to work with someone who I had full confidence in and I knew that she would make sure everything went smoothly the day our our wedding. I would highly recommend Jen and this venue to anyone looking for a garden wedding!!