Skip to main content
Weddings

The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant Reviews

The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant

The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant

Beach Haven, NJ
5.0 out of 5 rating, 18 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
18 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • Vanessa
    Vanessa S. Sent on 10/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A magical experience!

    We had our wedding at the Gables last month and it was spectacular! The owners and staff go above and beyond to give guests the most wonderful experience. The food was delicious and all of our guests could not get over just how magical it was. We highly recommend the Gables as a wedding venue or for any other special occasion.
  • Paul
    Paul Sent on 02/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A truly fabulous wedding celebration.

    We could not have asked for a more gorgeous setting for our wedding reception than the Gables. This beautifully restored Victorian inn has a special magic to it that you feel the moment you walk in the door. The dining rooms are meticulously decorated, and the gorgeous flowers and foliage both in front of the venue and in the back garden are something to behold. The owners, Sondra and Steve, are true hospitality professionals whose depth of experience putting on weddings truly shows.

    First off, the service and the food at our event was outstanding. Sondra met with us numerous times to custom-tailor menu options that reflected us as a couple and that would appeal to our guests. Our h'ors d'oeuvres included items both traditional (pigs in blankets) and unexpected (carrot-ginger soup with a single poached shrimp served in small espresso mugs). Our guests were delighted. If you've ever dined at the Gables (they are open daily in the summer for dinner service), you already know that they serve extraordinary cuisine prepared by a virtuosic chef. At our wedding, we served a three-course meal, the second course of which was a ravioli in sage brown butter sauce that our guests are still raving about to this day.

    While dinner was served in the beautiful ambience of the Gables dining rooms and on the front porch, the dance party happened in their back garden, which is about as intimate and romantic a setting as you can find. It was perfect for speeches and toasts, and for a night spent dancing under the stars. Truly we could not have asked for a more wonderful day, and we're grateful to Sondra, Steve, and the entire Gables staff for making our wedding day one that we, and our guests, will remember forever. We can't recommend this venue highly enough (and we already can't wait to celebrate our anniversary there over dinner!)
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 03/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We could not be happier with our decision to choose The Gables as the venue for our September 2016 wedding! From the venue selection process all the way through helping us pack up our extra cake and supplies the morning after our wedding, Sandy, Sondra and the entire Gables team were such a delight to work with from beginning to end. We are thrilled that we decided to hold our ceremony and celebrate with our family and friends in such an intimate, unique and beautiful space in the heart of LBI. Sandy's responsiveness and assistance during the planning process were outstanding and all of The Gables staff provided the same level of exceptional service on our wedding day. Choosing a venue with great food for ourselves and our guests was very important to us, and the ability to work with the chef and pastry chef to craft a menu that was exactly what we wanted was one of our favorite parts of the process. Enjoying dinner, dessert and our delicious chocolate peanut butter cake and dancing with our guests in the garden were definitely highlights of the night! We highly recommend The Gables as a wedding venue and know that we will surely be back to celebrate special occasions there for many years to come. Thank you to every one at The Gables for helping to make our wedding so special!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sal Sent on 04/26/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables Inn and Restaurant was absolutely exquisite. Sondra and Sandy were extremely attentive, fair and just nice people. The food was exceptional as was the staff. We've had dinner here many times and knew of its beauty and history but having our wedding here was just magical. Thank you Sondra and Sandy!!!
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 10/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sandy & Sondra are the dream team! Sondra is a creative force – always thinking of ways to push the envelope and make your day the most unique, personal, & beautifully crafted experience for all. Sandy made the whole day & night a seamless experience. I could always reach out and they would respond right away. I was never worried. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous. The food is out of this world. The chef crafted an amazing custom menu for our reception. People were raving about the food and the overall 'magical feeling' they helped create that night. I can not say enough good things about this place and these two fantastic women who made all my romantic, beach swept wedding dreams come true. The Gables is the crown jewel of the Queen City. Highly Recommend!!!
  • S
    Sarina Sent on 11/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables offered our dream wedding! My husband and I were looking for something classic and timeless but non-traditional. The guest experience- including the food, wine, and cocktails- was also a priority. Our wedding was on a Saturday in May and the weather was perfect. We used the garden for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and dancing. While we brought in our own flowers, the garden was in full bloom and looked absolutely gorgeous. We used the four interior rooms to seat our guests for dinner. Each room had a unique vibe. When all was said and done, our guests raved and it was everything my husband and I could have dreamed of. Sondra (the owner) and Sandy (the manager) worked closely with us throughout the planning, giving advice and making helpful recommendations. The food was top notch and all of The Gables staff made us feel special and at home. We could not have asked for anything more...I only wish I could do it all over again!
    - Sarina & Matt
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 10/14/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables is a truly magical place for a wedding. The elegant dining rooms are intimate and lovely, and the garden is spectacular. From the start, Sondra and Sandy made our wedding vision their first priority. Their attention to detail was meticulous and the quality of of their service was second to none. Perhaps the most memorable part of the wedding was the food. Our guests were delighted with the unique menu that was served. It was a sumptuous meal that was lovingly crafted and far and above typical wedding fare. Many of our guests told us that ours was, by far the best wedding they had ever attended.

    The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant's reply:

    We loved working with the both of you! Your wedding was such a personal expression of style, music and food. I loved every minute of the planning and the reception.
    The fact that you booked with us when we were still in shambles from a fire and the trust you placed in us means so much.
    May your life together be blessed.
    Sondra and Sandy at the Gables
  • C
    Cary A. Sent on 12/08/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We booked our wedding at the Gables over two years in advance. Unfortunately the fire did not allow us to have the wedding at the Gables. Sondra and Sandy immediately found another venue for us. I cannot say enough good things about Sondra. She worked under such difficult circumstances helping other displaced brides and trying to get her business back up and running. Despite all that we had the most incredible wedding. Sondra always made herself available day or night with regards to planning the day. Our guests are still talking six months later about our wedding and how amazing it was. The room looked spectacular (the good weather that day was a big help), and the food and services were phenomenal. It was a first class affair. We highly recommend The Gables. Working with Sondra and Sandy was a pleasure.
  • A
    Agnes J. Sent on 06/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was originally scheduled at The Gables, however, the fire there on Easter weekend made that impossible. Sondra took the initiative to help us locate an alternate venue and worked diligently to make arrangements so that The Gables could cater the event at Williams Cottage Inn. The reception and dinner exceeded our high expectations. The service was outstanding. Our guests raved about the food. Sondra and Sandy rose above difficult circumstances to deliver a truly first-class event. Their attention to detail was amazing, and included such touches as placing rose-buds throughout the reception rooms and arranging a small plate of appetizers for the bridal couple who were focused on greeting their guests rather than sampling the delicious appetizers. If the Gables staff can do such an exeptional job under such trying conditions, imagine how well they would handle a wedding in their own venue.

    The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant's reply:

    Agnes and John are the most wonderful dance and life partners I know.
    They stuck with The Gables through thick and thin, after a devastating fire and we accomplished an awesome wedding with an eclectic group of friends from all over the globe.
    We can't thank you enough for the kind words and support.
    You are so lucky to have found one another, and we are so lucky to be a part of your day.
    Sondra and Sandy at the Gables
  • D
    Mary Sent on 03/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables was the perfect place to have our fairy tale wedding. The staff was very friendly and professional and treated us as though we were their own family. Food and service was excellent, rooms very intimate and cozy. The grounds out back were transformed into a beautiful and ellegant garden for our outdoor ceremony. They deffinetly know what they are doing and I recommend them highly.

    The Gables Historic Inn & Restaurant's reply:

    Thank you ever so much for the kind words. You had such a joyous event, happy couple, supportive friends and family. Thanks for letting us be a part of an extraordinary day!
  • A
    Abby Sent on 09/26/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables gave us our dream wedding! Amazing food, beautiful gardens, one room more gorgeous than the next, and Sondra! Sondra will make planning hassle free...she's fantastic at pulling it all together! Her staff is incredible. You will be greeted and helped by everyone and treated like royalty. Wedding food is notorious for being mediocre, but you will find the opposite here. My friends told me they were so impressed with how much I ate and that they never saw a Bride eat so much on their wedding day :). We had the house for the weekend and I highly suggest this. You will feel completely at home with family and friends around you.We can't wait to go back...before our 1 year anniversary of course :) Thanks to everyone at The Gables for making our wedding day better than we ever imagined.
    Love, Abby and Seth Match
  • E
    Eurydice Sent on 09/23/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married at The Gables on 09/10/11 and I couldn't have asked for anything more. We had a small wedding, only about 60 guests and it was perfect! The ceremony as well as cocktail hour and dancing was held in the garden and we tented it since there was a chance of rain. The owner Sondra was such a great person to work with it made planning the rest of the wedding easier since I didn't have to keep on top of her. Everyone raved about the location, the decor and especially the food! The staff was friendly and courteous. We also took the 5 rooms for ourselves and several out-of-town guests which was a great choice. After the wedding we went upstairs and hung out with a few good friends to recap the night and enjoy some goodies.
  • K
    Karen Sent on 08/19/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a fairy tale wedding at The Gables on June 18, 2011! The food was fabulous -- thank you Chef Richard! The service and attention to detail was outstanding -- thank you Sondra and staff -- so professional and personal at the same time! Two months after our wedding, and all our guests are still raving about the food, the accommodations, the gardens, everything about the Gables was top notch. Our wedding cake, made by Sondra's pastry chef was the best we ever had! It was a beautiful, elegant, intimate wedding -- done exactly the way we wanted it!
  • C
    Caitlin Sent on 10/22/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our rehearsal dinner at The Gables and could not have been happier. Sondra was wonderful to work with and Chef Richard did an outstanding job at capturing the menu we wanted. And the staff at The Gables were all fantastic! We had dinner on the back patio, which is absolutely gorgeous.
  • L
    Laura Sent on 09/13/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone at The Gables exceeded our expectations. Our wedding was beautiful and everyone was so accomodating. Everyone is still raving about the food. Thank you so much for making our wedding day so special!
  • A
    Amy Sent on 05/04/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We decided to get married in January of 2009. We emailed the Gables, they met with us the next weekend, and 4 months later we had literally the perfect wedding.
    They let you customize the menu, so you can request all of your favorite dishes. The bride is vegan, and they were quite good about meeting her dietary restrictions, even going so far as to make a vegan layer of the wedding cake. The food was simply amazing, as good as any top restaurant in NYC. The service was prompt and professional. Because the Gables is so flexible, we were able to have an intimate and upscale reception that fully reflected our aesthetic and taste as a couple. Not to mention - we had so much fun that the party continued even after our end time. No one wanted to leave!
    The inn itself is gorgeous inside and out, and the rooms upstairs are beautiful. The pictures on their website hardly do the inn justice! The opportunity for pictures is endless and the beach is right there, too.
    Our guests have been telling us that this was the best reception they ever attended - including many who attended the weddings of their own children!
  • C
    Caroline Sent on 01/20/2015
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We feel blessed to have held our wedding reception at The Gables this past Fall. Sondra and Sandy were enthusiastic and lovely to work with, we felt like part of the Gables family. The decor, food, wedding cake, service and accommodations were superb. I couldn't have pictured getting married anywhere else! We rented the Inn for the weekend and this really made us feel special, like it was our own home. Brunch for many of our wedding guests the next morning was delicious and a sweet way to get some last minute photos and to thank everyone for attending.
  • User1989577 Sent on 12/30/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Gables is absolute beautiful and the food is completely amazing. Weddings on LBI are expensive and the staff at the Gables worked with us to meet our budget and our dream of a beautiful reception. Our guests had an amazing time and could not stop talking about how great the food was!! If you are looking for a beautiful venue, this is it!!! Thanks Sondra and Sandy!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours