The Full Tilt! Band Reviews

16 | San Anselmo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for The Full Tilt! Band

Recommended by 100%

16
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jason · event on: 12/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna and her band were amazing, as always. They're a great fit for our community, and always play a great mix of new and older music. So energetic, so easy to work with, always on time. We've been using them for many years, and it's always great to have them back. Highly recommended.

  • W

    Wahila · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna and the Full Tilt Band are an excellent party or wedding band! Donna has a great voice, is delightfully friendly and service oriented and the band can play practically any song you request. I used her for my wedding and everyone loved the music.

  • J

    Jason · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna and her band are amazing. I love their upbeat approach and energetic music. Always on time, always a hit. Highly recommended.

  • C

    Claire · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Spitzer and The Full Tilt Band provided the music for our wedding reception and they did a great job! The jazz duo during dinner added just the right tone to the ambiance and after dinner the full band (we went with the 6-piece set that included their trumpet player) put on several excellent sets that had all of our guests dancing throughout the evening.
    A few summary points:
    - Planning: The planning process itself went very smoothly. Donna communicated promptly and clearly and made it very easy for us to plan out the entertainment portion of our wedding. We are both very detail-oriented and Donna was very good about walking through the detailed logistics of the evening with us, which was important because she also served as our emcee. As part of the planning process, we selected sets of our favorite songs from the band’s repertoire (which is extensive!) and Donna provided excellent feedback in terms of selecting a well balanced playlist.
    - The Music: Look at their website and you will see that the band has an extensive repertoire that spans genres and decades. This range was very important to us because we wanted the music to appeal to all of our guests, who spanned a wide range of ages and musical tastes. The band performed very well, transitioning from high energy swing pieces to jazz ballads without skipping a bit. Throughout it all Donna did a great job navigating our song selections and playing to the energy level of the crowd. We had selected “Love Train” as one of our songs and Donna chose the perfect time to play it because we were on the dance floor with nearly all the guests, so we were in just the right position to form a train that travelled the venue and circled back to the dance floor. That train is one of our favorite memories from the wedding and made for some fantastic pictures.
    - Execution: In addition to giving an excellent performance, Donna and The Full Tilt Band arrived on time, set up without distracting our guests, and delivered on all the details we had discussed with Donna. For example, we had a couple important songs that needed to be played off an iPod at specific times in the evening and Donna was spot on both times.
    All in all a great experience. Thanks, Full Tilt Band!

  • B

    Bobbi · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We want to tell everyone planning an event how much we enjoyed The Full Tilt Band’s music at our wedding reception. We appreciated their suggestions for the playlist, incorporating songs we liked with music they knew from experience other people would like as well. We also enjoyed the way they balanced sets in terms of rhythm – a bit of slow songs, a bit of fast songs and the Latin music we love. Our guests obviously loved their performance as well because the dance floor was always crowded, filled with happy dancers and smiling faces. Donna's warmth as an emcee also made our celebration a success. We will definitely recommend this band to all our friends and relatives.

  • N

    Naomi · Married on 10/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Full Tilt Band are amazing! The singer, Donna, patently spent several long phone conversations with my mom and I, helping to us to create our wedding day schedule as it had to do with music and toasts. She used her experience and knowledge to help create a night that fit me perfectly. She even helped me think of a song for the father-daughter dance, after I expressed nervousness. The classically trained pianist didn't bat an eye when I requested to walk down the aisle to an Israeli song he had previously not heard of. He even learned a handful of other Israeli songs to play as the guests were being seated. His playing during the procession/recession made the moments feel truly magical.
    Since my husband and I are not too musically inclined, we did not have a long list of specific requests for the reception, only asking Donna to use her discretion in choices that will encourage people to dance. Wow, did she take that seriously. I have never seen such a flooding of people onto a dance floor. We literally had guests dancing AROUND the dance floor! Several weeks later, I still hear my friends say that they have never had so much at a wedding. I really attribute this to the Full Tilt Band!

    Naomi

  • D

    Daniel · Married on 10/10/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fantastic experience with the Full Tilt! Band and would highly recommend them to anyone. Donna Spitzer was a delight to deal with. First of all, she was incredibly responsive. She took the time to meet with us in person before we had chosen a band, and we liked her relaxed but professional demeanor. We were also impressed with her experience and the band's repertoire (over 1,000 songs!).

    After we had selected the band, Donna talked with us several times to plan the reception. She carefully went over how the evening would progress and made several helpful suggestions regarding timing, dinner music, first dance, toasts, announcements, etc. She was specifically responsive to our request not to have the evening too scripted, to leave extended free periods for dancing. We just seemed to be on the same page with everything. We felt very comfortable with Donna and confident going into the wedding.

    At the reception, Donna and the band arrived early and coordinated with the venue rep on their own to be set up and completely ready to go when we had requested. When they started playing we knew we had made the right choice. Their sound was tight and exciting. Also, we have been to so many weddings where older guests complained that the band was too loud. Full Tilt!'s volume was perfect--not too loud, not too soft. We chose the 6-piece combo with the extra horn, a trumpet, and that really gave the classic rock and motown songs an extra kick. It's definitely the way to go.

    As lead singer, Donna was great at engaging the audience, reading the mood of the room, and keeping things on schedule without being intrusive. She also has a beautiful voice! We felt totally free to enjoy the evening and didn't worry about anything. The other band members all had great energy on stage and seemed very personable as well.

    The best example of Full Tilt! going the extra mile was with our first dance song. We had choreographed and practiced our dance to a specific recording of "All the Things You Are," so we were worried about the timing. We gave Donna the recording and the band was able to match the version and tempo exactly. Donna sounded great; it was as if Ella Fitzgerald herself had been there singing to us live! It could not have worked out better.

    We also got comments from a large number of guests saying how much they enjoyed the band and how much fun they had listening and dancing (and people danced *all* night).

    All in all, we were thrilled with Full Tilt! and recommend them highly. If we ever have another Bay Area party we would definitely go with them again. Thanks, Donna!

  • S

    Dmitry · Married on 07/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Full Tilt Band is absolutely awesome! They played our wedding this summer and we would highly recommend them for any event that needs live music, and especially weddings. We definitely plan to hire them again. Donna is wonderful to work with and is very accommodating and very sweet. She has a great presence on stage and can really get the crowd excited. The band sounds really great live and delivers a lot of energy and big sound. They learned several songs specifically for us (with relatively short notice) and sounded awesome. The recordings on the band's website can't convey how good the Full Tilt Band sounds live. Make sure to leave your guests plenty of time to dance, because they will not want to get off the dance floor while the Full Tilt Band is playing. They can play a wide array of genres and generations, and play them all as well as, if not better than any band we heard when we were researching bands for our wedding. They are truly great live performers and will be a definite hit at your event!

  • S

    Jennifer · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Full Tilt Band played at a wedding reception this summer, and they were one of the most memorable aspects of the wedding. I am an Event Planner and carefully screened several highly recommended groups for my client's event. The band was prompt, courteous, flexible and professional throughout the planning process and the event.

    The band was discrete in arrival, set up, and taking breaks. They played at the perfect volume, meshed well together, and really seemed to be having as good a time as the guests. They played enthusiastically right up until the end of the night and were happy to accommodate guest requests.

    The guests ranged in age from 20 somethings to 60+ year olds and everyone enjoyed the band. I received many compliments on the group from the both the guests and the bride and groom's family.

    Donna Spitzer, the vocalist of Full Tilt Band, did a great job raising the energy of the reception and getting everyone to dance, playing recognizable upbeat favorites as well as great tunes for a slow dance. For those who didn't dance, I could see them standing, clapping and having a great time. The range of music the band was able to incorporate was quite varied - from rock and pop to jazz and Klesmer music (for the Horah dance). The time line of the event was thrown due to the rabbi's late arrival and the band helped smooth out what could have turned into rough transitions in the event creating seamless musical diversions.

    The band's representative, Donna, was very easy to work with. She was amenable to a site visit and anticipated all of the band's needs for the event. The reception took place outdoors at a private estate in Sonoma so electricity, sound permits, and various other logistical hurdles needed to be navigated in advance - which Donna handled expertly. I would highly recommend this band for your wedding or event.

  • M

    Marcia · Married on 08/04/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Spitzer and the Full Tilt band made my wedding reception! They packed the dancefloor, even my relatives in their 70s and 80s were dancing. So versatile too and know so many great songs. They even played their own bossa nova version they wrote of Nature Boy by Nat King Cole. Phenomenal band with great energy.

  • User4642343 · event on: 12/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Band! Very professional. They are our go-to band.

  • B

    Bob · event on: 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Full Tilt! is a Great! Band. They made the party a great success. Their music is lively, tasteful, and great for dancing, listening, and atmosphere. They seem to know just what to play from moment to moment to suit the mood of the event. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • D

    David · event on: 12/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! What fun it was to experience this band. Their energy was playful, open and invigorating. I couldn't stop DANCING to all the well-chosen songs from their diverse repertoire! Lead singer Donna's presence was particularly captivating - her voice nailed it on every song. All the fine band members clearly loved playing each piece, with tight sets and superb quality sounds. They engaged the crowd at every turn, delivering on so many levels, with ease and consummate professionalism. Highly recommended!

  • User6072032 · event on: 12/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band is very flexible, outstanding sounds, extremely interactive with the audiance for
    requests, and wonderful music to dance to!!!

  • D

    Diana · event on: 11/03/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love the Full Tilt Band so much we WILL repeat. Great party people!

  • L

    Lourdes · Married on 01/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Full Tilt Band is a fun, upbeat and great to dance band. They play a variety of danceble songs, they take requests from the audience and overall, this is a fantastic band for any occassion. I will definitely go out to dance again with the Full Tilt Band and would recommend them for weddings, birthdays, holiday parties or any other event.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review