The Food Muse Reviews

19 | Lancaster, PA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for The Food Muse

Recommended by 98%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

6 User photos

The Food Muse 1
The Food Muse 2
The Food Muse 3
The Food Muse 4
The Food Muse 5
The Food Muse 6
Sort by:
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been more pleased with The Food Muse catering for our wedding! We got married in September and hired Linda, Evan, & their team for catering and bar service and they did a FANTASTIC job! Bottom line: We would absolutely recommend them for any event - they earned (and deserve) this five star rating!
    We priced several caterers in Lancaster & surrounding areas, and The Food Muse was at the top of the list in terms of our budget and services we were looking for. I reached out to Linda, who was always so quick to email me back (even on weekends when they were super busy with other weddings!), and she was so flexible and easy to work with! She helped me get all the details situated & gave us plenty of guidance, which I really appreciated! We chose a plated dinner (as opposed to buffet style) and all of the options were delicious! BONUS: Linda was great about accommodating guests with special dietary needs, which was super helpful since we had a few friends with food allergies.
    Evan was the go-to for bar service questions, and this was also SUPER helpful! He gave me a ton of guidance on putting together a purchase list for our specific needs and number of guests, and wrote up a really great guide for us to use. Linda and Evan were both so great about working with us, I can't say enough good things!
    On the day of our wedding, I had the pleasure of meeting Linda for the first time (though briefly) while they were setting up, and she was such a sweetheart! I didn't get to meet Evan, but my husband did and had the same good things to say! Their entire team was so nice, and so professional! Cocktail hour was a hit, and guests couldn't get over how great all the appetizers were! They even made sure to send a staff member out with apps for the bridal party during photos! Dinner service was quick, bar lines were never too long, and everything was DELICIOUS! The dessert fondue bar was also a highlight of the night! Again, we can't say enough good things!

    The Food Muse 7
    The Food Muse 8
    The Food Muse 9
    The Food Muse 10
    The Food Muse 11
    The Food Muse 12
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure to work with the Food Muse for my wedding this September. From the first meeting to go over menu options and working with my budget, to the final clean up the day of, I always felt well taken care of. The Food Muse truly exceeded my expectations. The food was delicious and we got lots of compliments from our guests! Everything looked beautiful too! I would recommend the Food Muse to anyone!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda at the Food Muse was wonderful and very helpful and everyone loved the food!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda and Evan are amazing!! They are so easy to work with and will help devise a menu that meets any budget! Our venue recommended The Food Muse and we could not have been happier! Our guests complimented how great the food was! They provided bartenders for us and Even helped us with the amount of alcohol we needed to provide. Such a wonderful team, we would definitely recommend The Food Muse!!

  • P

    Peter · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Food Muse is as I rated them.....5 Star!
    Professional,Friendly,Eager to please.
    Now, the food......well I couldn't get enough! Family members told me to stop eating, that I beginning to look like a glutton!STOP, they said. Well, I am watching my waisteline. Anyway, book The Food Muse!!

    Sent on 05/17/2017

    The Food Muse's reply:

    Thank you Peter! You are making me laugh. So happy you enjoyed the day. Kathleen and Shawn looked absolutely adorable. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. It is much appreciated!!!
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start our thoughts on Food Muse by saying that everyone RAVED about the food. My older brother and his family said that the hummus was the best he ever tasted, and he prefers to make his own. The macaroni & cheese was awesome, it went over incredibly well with both the adults and children! Everyone commented on how the chicken just fell off the bone, was perfectly seasoned and just overall delicious. The carved roast beef was a huge hit- I heard that multiple people went to get seconds. The pasta was amazing, and I was so happy that everything tasted exactly as it did when we went to our food tasting. I was warned by people who've gotten married before that the food will never taste as good as at it did at the tasting. Considering our venue only had a warming kitchen, I thought maybe it might be slightly different when the time came, but it was EXACTLY as delicious as when we tried it at first. That is an amazing feat and that was not lost on us! Chuck and I were so impressed with how delicious everything was the second time around, and we are just so happy with all the great feedback everyone gave us about it. It was an awesome feeling to know all of our guests loved the food as much as we did.
    The best part about Food Muse is that they're a family business who not only have a passion for good food, but really care about their clients. They are not your typical big-catering company who are looking to pump out another wedding. They take the time to get to know you, and you really feel that they care about your day just as much as you do. Linda and Evan were so helpful, responsive, and kind throughout the whole process! They took the time to help me with any questions I had, and we couldn't be more grateful for that. Their entire staff were friendly & attentive throughout the night and we got many compliments on them as well! I highly recommend Food Muse to anyone who needs catering, and if we ever do in the future they will be the ones we call!

  • D

    Dianne (mom) · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Food Muse was so fantastic for us! They worked with us on whatever our needs were for my daughters wedding in our back yard. I highly recommend The Food Muse for any function you may have - they're really, really good! Best food and service I've ever had!

  • K

    Karen · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda, her husband and staff were so accommodating. They were so sweet. From the minute we met them for a food tasting to the day of the wedding Linda's emails were so personable. You can tell she really enjoys her job and participating in wedding days. She remembers each details. The nice thing is that they didn't have a fixed menu that we had to choose from. We told them what we were looking for (which was a casual feel) and she came up with ideas that we could do for food so that it was what we wanted. We had some scrumptious chicken, beef brisket and green beans. They have such creativity. We even gave them a special family recipe for bourbon hot dogs which they did for us. I would recommend The Food Muse to anyone. Linda and Evan are very professional and were so enthusiastic. They truly made me feel so special throughout the whole process.

  • J

    Joyce · Married on 01/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda, her husband and staff were so easy to work with, they could not have been more helpful with planning the catering for our daughter's wedding! They promptly responded to all of our questions and were easy to work with. The day of the event, we had quite a challenge with 30 inches of snow on the ground, but they were flexible with any sudden needs or changes that came up during the day. The food was absolutely delicious! Even though the weather was not cooperating, Linda and her staff were there with a smile and could not have been more kind and more helpful to us as the day and the snow progressed. This was a wedding to remember, that's for sure, but Linda made it less stressful for us and for that, we are deeply grateful! I recommend The Food Muse to anyone who wants good food at an affordable price. They are professional, easy to work with and they just want to make sure that you are happy! Trust me, if I have another event in my future, The Food Muse will be my first call.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 01/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been happier with the food and service we received from The Food Muse. We received a recommendation from a bride who recently used Linda and her wonderful crew. Our tasting was so delicious and Linda was so cheerful and happily served us. You could immediately sense that she loves what she does. Linda gave us linens ahead of time so we could decorate our wedding venue before the wedding day. Our actual wedding day was the height of Winter Storm Jonas. Yeah, remember that huge blizzard we just had? That was our big day! Linda ensured that her staff would be safe and ready go, so she rented a house near the venue. Who does that?! During the ceremony, Linda came down and watch and I was so happy she took the time to watch. That showed me that she cared about us as a couple. Because so many guests couldn't come due to the snow, we had a LOT of food left over. 2/3 of our guests didn't make it, so Linda found a local food bank/kitchen and made sure it went to good use. Choose The Food Muse and you'll be treated to delicious food and quality service from a woman who is passionate about serving others by doing what she loves.

  • L

    Liz · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love The Food Muse. First of all, they are THE most responsive vendor that I interacted with during my wedding planning. Linda is INCREDIBLE at getting back with people in an efficient and timely manner. She is professional, helpful and friendly. Genuinely a wonderful person. I loved meeting with her to give her my vision- she caught it so quickly and the day of... she delivered.

    We decided to have doughnuts as our "cocktail hour" (we decided against alcohol), and when I told Linda about it- she loved it. She actually suggested a cream cheese fondue fountain to go with the doughnuts and I never would have thought of that. Our initial conversations about it, she just grabbed the vision and ran with it and I was so grateful to have a caterer who I felt like understood me. Well, they were such a hit, that they completely ran out - I mean, my husband and I walked in and there were none left! And everyone I talked to RAVED about them! I was a little disappointed I didn't get one, but I'm really glad they were so popular!

    We had also decided to go with breakfast food and what they made was really good! Waffles, sausage, eggs, fruit, ham, juices, it was delicious. I was impressed by the fresh fruit and the sauce/whip cream she made for the waffles! The waffles were good as well, and the sausage was delicious. The food wasn't piping hot, but it was warm. Overall- great quality.

    Linda's team was out of this world. She and multiple people on her team came and asked multiple times if we had everything we needed and did we need anything else. They were so friendly and they just blended into the background, I didn't even notice them - which I feel like is a good thing :)

    Linda was great helping me before the wedding as well with a seating chart floor plan example. She delivered our linens a day early so we could have them for set up, and basically if you haven't gotten it by now, she was amazing.

    5 out of 5 stars and then some!!

  • M

    Maureen · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda and everyone at The Food Muse are fantastic. We were planning our wedding from out of state and Linda was extremely helpful with all of the planning. From picking out the menu, to the time line of the reception. She was very patient emailing me back and forth, and she always replied quickly. Even to late night emails.
    The food was excellent, all of our guests enjoyed it. It was hot and flavorful. Linda's attention to detail goes over and beyond. She even had a gluten free plate made for my cousin. The staff especially Sarah was very friendly and helpful. Evan also was very helpful setting up the bar. I would definitely use The Food Muse again and I would recommend them to everyone.

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda and her team were amazing to work with since day 1. Before we met, I had previously selected a caterer who I was nervous about selecting (wouldn't call back, no confirmation, etc.). But when I talked to Linda, I never felt more calm, assured, and after the wedding, completely satisfied. The Food Muse team did a phenomenal job! The staff was friendly and accommodating. My wedding day could not have been more perfect,and I attribute that perfection to The Food Muse.

  • R

    Ruth and Rod · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding was perfect;Linda and her staff were instrumental in making that so. It was intimate and delightful. The food ws great and the assistance Linda and her staff gave our guests was top notch. We are impressed with the professional approach, yet so individual. We loved it and would highly recommend Food Muse.

  • N

    Nicole & Lou · Married on 10/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was everything we had hoped for and our guests are continuing to rave about it. The food was served hot, very flavorful and the meat/chicken remained moist which was our biggest worry with choosing chicken. Linda and her team saw our vision and made a perfect meal to complement the Italian rustic ambience of our day. Easy to work with, adaptable to change and very creative. You will be very pleased with this vendor!!!

  • User1646240 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda and her staff were excellent! They were very willing to work with me on creating a menu for my wedding and flexible in the way that we could pay them! Would definately recommend!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot even begin to express how grateful I am for the level of service that Linda and the entire Food Muse staff provided for my wedding. They not only worked with my husband and myself on planning our wedding brunch but, also helped us select linens, the event layout and also they helped with the flow of the event on our special day. They were so accommodating as far as working within our price range and any other special requests we had. We did not have to worry about a thing! Thank you again!

  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Food Muse catered my wife and I's wedding back in October of 2016. Since the start they were kind, professional, responsive and easy to work with. Our tasting was fantastic, made us feel like we were out to eat at a restaurant haha. And the food was delicious! Then there was the wedding day, from the cocktail hour to the buffet dinner and dessert everything was great! My wife and I wouldn't have changed anything.

  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/23/2018

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The Food Muse had good food and service at a reasonable price. The Hors d'oeuvre were very diverse and yummy. The staff definitely catered to the needs of my husband and family! They were always sure that we had a full drink or anything else we needed at the wedding. However, I did struggle with having effective communication with the company. I interacted through e-mails and phone calls with Linda. She was very kind, but our communication often felt disorganized and confusing. It started at the very beginning when our tasting was cancelled by Linda. We were able to reschedule it for a few weeks later, however in the mean time a few other brides were interested in our date and Linda asked us to pay our down payment before even having the tasting. I felt that this was unprofessional because it was the caterer who rescheduled our tasting. Also, our contract was unclear and did not include in writing all of the things that the caterer would be providing. In my conversations with Linda we covered all of this, but because it was not in the contract, things got over looked. The caterer was supposed to provide seltzer and club soda at the bar but they did not have it. This was upsetting to us because having a full bar was important to us. When I tried to discuss this problem after the wedding, Linda made many excuses.

    Sent on 07/25/2018

    The Food Muse's reply:

    Two weeks prior to the wedding a detailed email was sent to confirm everything. "Client to provide Juices and any additional Mixers." The Contract did not include Juices or Mixers so no Seltzer/Tonic provided. Had this matter been brought to management attention the night of the wedding we would have resolved the issue. There were a number of items we provided at NO CHARGE as a courtesy: Extend the Soda bar to 5.5 hours, Include Lemons, Limes and Cherries, Add satellite Bar for Bridal Party, Butler drinks during cocktail hour, Sent team to preset venue with client's linens, Replenish Desserts brought in by another vendor The FOOD included was excellent quality. We were told that EVERYONE loved the food! My business partner Evan spoke to the bride's parents-they were VERY HAPPY with EVERYTHING! The price point offered was excellent. $60 per Guest inclusive of tax/service for delicious Beef Short Rib Entree. Also included Passed and Stationary Hors D'oeuvre, Plated Salad/Dinner, Rolls Butter, Water Goblets, Champagne Flutes, Cafe Station, Wine Glasses, 5 Hr Soda Bar, Ice, Bev Naps, Tumblers, 2 Bartenders, Flatware, China, Linens for F&B Stations. As for rescheduling the tasting -we did. There are occasional conflicts. Email communication with Nancy began in January-she did not sign a contract until April after we had told her another client wanted her date. Nancy was informed she would need to sign a contract to secure the date. That's business folks. As far as "Many Excuses after the wedding" - I think it's absolutely absurd. I had told Nancy that a few days prior to her wedding I had surgery to remove metastatic cancer. Hardly an excuse and this did not in any way affect the quality food/service offered! I emailed Nancy the day after her wedding to follow up! It took a little longer to respond to her demand for a refund due to lack of seltzer.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review