The Elm Reviews

18 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Elm

Recommended by 98%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • M

    Mel · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding this past Saturday at the Elm and it was perfect. When we first visited the Elm (suggested by our caterer--Rouge Catering) we were frantic because our original venue had double booked us (the Rawlings Conservatory). I knew when I met Sharon we'd be in good hands--she's an absolute professional and I knew the day of she'd make sure everything was perfect. One thing I really wanted for the wedding was to use rectangular tables and put them end-to-end to create long guest tables. Sharon maticulously measured everything out and even had the caterer come over to make sure the spacing would work for them. I liked that we could come to the Elm several times before the wedding to visit (we went twice, plus the walk through, plus the rehearsal). The day of Sharon was an excellent coordinator (much better than the ones my friend's have paid for). We didn't hire a coordinator, between the full-service caterer and Sharon there was no need. She even called all of our venders before the wedding to make sure they had no questions the day of. She let the rental people get there early to set up the tables so by the time we arrived the tables were basically ready for us to decorate with runners, centerpieces, and favors. They landscaped the backyard weeks before the wedding so that it was beautiful for the ceremony and cocktail hour.

    I really couldn't be happier that our original venue fell through. The Elm was the perfect venue to hold our ~75 guest bohemian garden wedding. Everyone commented on how "us" it was--very laid back with great food and lots of dancing. My new husband and I never wanted a wedding, but we couldn't be happier with our decision to have one at the Elm, thanks to Sharon and her hard work, professionalism, and generosity.

    Sent on 05/04/2017
  • L

    Elizabeth · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Elm is a fantastic place to hold a wedding or special event. The decor and space is fun and eclectic, and the location (right in Hampden next to ample parking), can't be beat. Sharon took great care of us while we were planning our wedding event. As a bit of a bewildered bride, Sharon took the helm and made great arrangements to accommodate all of our needs and guests. She recommended our caterer as well. Our wedding had about 80 attendees, and the space was a perfect fit with ample indoor and outdoor space (beautiful summer garden). Thank you Sharon for being a great wedding coordinator!

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • User5217770 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Elm was a wonderful place to get married. Sharon and Bill, the owners, were incredibly helpful, flexible, and responsive. The entire space is lovely and was perfect for our size wedding (100 people). The garden was beautiful in late June and made a wonderful backdrop for our pictures, and then the inside spaces were perfect for the reception. People couldn't stop commenting on how neat of a place it is! We barely needed any decorations, there is already so much colorful art and decor already there. People did have a tough time finding the place, but that is no fault of theirs - we provided excellent directions and ultimately everyone arrived on time and ready to celebrate. Sharon also worked with all of our other vendors to coordinate on the day-of, which alleviated a lot of potential headaches. While this was not the least expensive place we considered, it was definitely not the most expensive, and I think of it as well worth the cost! One more thing - the location is only a few blocks from 36th street in Hampden, which was perfect for out-of-town guests.

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • C

    Claire · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend The Elm and Sharon highly enough. Not only is the space exquisite and interesting, but Sharon was an incredible and knowledgable resource during the wedding planning process. She helped us find nearly all of our vendors, she worked with us to create the vision we wanted, she brought wisdom and calm to every issue and situation. We had a beautiful wedding and having Sharon involved in it made it a more joyful and relaxing experience.

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • User4395843 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew from my first meeting with Sharon, that The Elm was where I wanted to have my reception. It is a unique venue, perfectly sized for small to medium sized events. We had about 70 guests at our reception. Sharon was extremely helpful throughout the planning process. I knew I wanted a relaxed informal reception, and she was able to provide ideas and suggestions that helped me to visualize how the reception could play out at The Elm. Our guests loved the venue, and I couldn't be happier with the final result.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • User4318791 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is perfect if you want an intimate setting for a personalized wedding. My fiancé and I were going for a retro garden party feel and The Elm certainly delivered. Our guests said they felt like they were in a movie. Sharon Price is super accommodating and organized. My fiancé said hosting a wedding at The Elm is like one stop shopping. Sharon recommended a caterer and really took care of most of the details. Our wedding was a dream come true at The Elm.

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • User4318804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé described The Elm as "one stop shopping". Sharon Price (owner) will take care of every little detail and provide help with the caterer, music, flowers, etc. She is extremely accommodating and professional. Our wedding turned out beautifully and our guests said they felt as if they were in a movie. The Elm is the perfect place for an intimate stylish wedding.

    Sent on 08/17/2014
  • Molly

    Molly · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Elm was one of the first venues we looked at after getting engaged. As we left our first visit, my then fiance said to me, "We can look at a few other places, but I know this is where we'll end up having the wedding." Sure enough, it was. Nestled in a quiet corner of the Hampden neighborhood, this place is truly enchanting and unique - by no means a cookie-cutter wedding venue. I cannot say enough good things about Sharon who owns and manages The Elm. During our first visit, Sharon provided a wonderful tour and walked us through options on our limited budget. She was incredibly helpful thinking through caterers and rental companies and was happy to share those contacts. Sharon talked me through my one bridezilla moment with one of my other vendors - I couldn't have handled that without her advice. We got married in a church up the street, but I know The Elm hosts many ceremonies in their garden. It's a perfect spot for that, too. While we didn't use the lawn for the ceremony, it was the perfect place for pictures. There is a ton of free parking, too, which is truly amazing in a Baltimore neighborhood. I've been recommending The Elm to everyone I know who is getting married. Please go for a tour! You will be so happy you did.

    Sent on 09/27/2014
  • I

    Isaac · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon was amazing to work with. We had to plan our wedding in two months, and we didn't even know the date until a month before we actually got married. Sharon was incredibly flexible, helped us locate and communicate with vendors, and orchestrated the event without a hitch! She went above and beyond in every way (she was even sending me job leads because we were new to the area and I was looking). The space was incredible and accommodated our 75 guests, food, and a banging dance party. We really wanted to have our ceremony in the large room and then turn it over to a dance floor. It was a huge job, but she and her team did it without a hitch. She put us in touch with a caterer (a friend of hers named Peter) - we didn't really have to try food or dessert, but her recommendation was amazing, and everyone loved the food. The backyard is amazing - we had some beautiful pictures there. In the midst of a very stressful time, Sharon and Bill helped us have a day I'll never forget. Thanks!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • J

    Jessalyn · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married at The Elm was something I decided before I even met my husband. It is such a unique, romantic, whimsical place, that I could not imagine having my reception anywhere else. When my husband proposed to me, my first move as to pull out the wedding ideas I had brainstormed previously. The first one was The Elm. The next week, we went to visit the venue and, even though I had not been there in years, it was exactly like I remembered it.

    Working with Sharon is an amazing experience. She is so experienced with the planning aspect, and she made so many great recommendations for us about other vendors (such as caterers, photographers, etc.), many of which we ended up using. We met several times throughout the year leading up to our wedding and I never felt stressed about anything.

    The day of the wedding was absolutely amazing. Everything went perfectly and I did not have to worry about a thing. The flow of the party was perfect - we did passed and buffet tapas and small plates and I felt like everyone got enough to eat and had somewhere to eat. We did not have to worry about anything being lost or mixed up - all of our gifts and pieces were taken care of. Sharon also worked directly with the vendors to organize everything so we did not have to deal with any logistics on the day of.

    Overall, having our wedding reception at The Elm was a magical experience. I would not have had it anywhere else.

    Sent on 08/03/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is a Baltimore gem. The space is so unique and the garden gorgeous. The moment I saw it, I knew it was the perfect place for our wedding and reception. Sharon was a planning godsend and helped with everything. She made planning a wedding seem simple and stress free!

    Sent on 06/27/2012
  • K

    kate · Married on 05/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    when my sweetheart snd i decided to marry after 15 years together, we knew we did not want a wedding like my first wedding. we wanted elegant,but cozy. comfortable, but interesting. garden wedding, but in the city. and i needed some guidance since i was in a wedding panic. a friend suggested The Elm, located in one of baltimore's coolest neighborhood, Hampden. i don't know how to describe it, except to say it was everything we wanted. it is a loft, full of light and interesting, eclectic things, but it is also a home. the garden was so beautiful. we married under a huge tree and then what everyone said was the best reception they ever attended. Sharon and Bill, the owners, made everything easy. they recommended vendors, all great choices. sharon organized everything with the vendors, so i did not have to do a thing. she also acted as wedding coordinator. all i had to do was show up and dress. she even helped me with my makeup! first wedding, second wedding, last wedding. The Elm is a great choice for all of them! my friends are still talking about it!! (i would have capitalized the entire review but that would be tacky, however i would have meant it!)

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED the Elm. If you are looking for a very different, unique, and bohemian reception venue, the Elm is your place. Sharon is a lifesaver as a wedding coordinator, and was always available to answer our questions and keep us on track. She was in touch with all of our vendors so everything went so smoothly on the big day - despite the bride being on crutches.

    Our family and friends could not stop asking "where did you find this place?" It is truly a beautiful space and needs little to no decoration - probably works best with a crowd under 100.

    Highly recommended to any bride who is sick of seeing the same old thing! You will have all the help and attention you need here, along with a ton of room to do things "your way."

    Sent on 09/29/2011
  • User2661463 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If there was one detail that we had no reservations about in our planning, it was selecting the Elm as the site for our celebration. It offers all of the elements that we wanted for our reception – intimacy, privacy, comfortable, natural, great flow, and art-chic decor. Sharon was quite helpful in directing us in our planning and coordinated with the vendors in the weeks leading up to the day. A Citroen (optional) parked inside offered a unique addition to the dance floor!

    Even in September, in Baltimore when everything else has faded, the gardens at the Elm offered a gorgeous backdrop for our formal photos.

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • A

    Angie · Married on 10/13/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at The Elm was PERFECT. The owners are flexible, and really have a handle on the wedding field in Baltimore. We were in the middle of an out-of-state move, and Sharon (owner of The Elm) was awesomely supportive. She became our wedding planner to an extent, and hooked us up with some great suggestions we'd have been lost without. It is not the most traditional venue, but we didn't want a traditional venue. We had about 120 guests, which spread between the two main rooms well. Everything was beautiful.

    Sent on 04/21/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 04/21/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sharon is very helpful. She can recommend caterers and other vendors in various price ranges, and she manages the rehearsal and ceremony. The Elm can handle up to 100 guests, and it has a funky, artistic vibe that's not for everyone. It's great for a smaller, less formal wedding.

    Sent on 01/03/2008
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 04/10/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very unique and artsy venue to host an intimate reception full of interesting art and decor for your guests to marvel at while they eat. This venue does not cater but their prices are reasonable to rent, you will have to outsource for tables, chairs etc.

    Sent on 05/21/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/22/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Sharon and Bill at The Elm were great. Sharon took time to meet with me and answered many e-mails prior to my wedding reception. I received so many complements from my guests about The Elm. It made for an intimate, casual, and fun venue for our reception! Really neat!

    Sent on 05/25/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review