Skip to main content
Weddings

The Cumberland House Reviews

The Cumberland House View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
17 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
58% Recommended by couples
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 09/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue

    The Cumberland House is absolutely beautiful! We knew we wanted to get married there the moment we walked inside. Kathi is a joy to work with. She is so helpful, and we love that she was a part of our day. Our guests couldn’t stop talking about how lovely the house and garden are. There are several options for ceremony locations on the property as well as gorgeous places to take photos. We are so happy we chose The Cumberland House, and we highly recommend it!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Thank You! I loved having you and your friends and family here. Your wedding was just beautiful, and the entire weekend was filled with joyful people and celebration! Best wishes for a very happy life together. K
  • M
    Molly Sent on 06/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Experience

    The Cumberland House and the owner created a perfect experience for us!! She was flexible with us and the place is so beautifully kept. We feel so lucky we found it!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Thank you, Molly! I am smiling so much right now just thinking about you and John...and the very special, beautiful days with you at The Cumberland House. Best wishes for a long and happy life together!
  • H
    Hannah B. Sent on 11/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most amazing day of my life

    It was everything I could have ever dreamed of and more!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    You were a beautiful, happy bride...with a beautiful wedding and guests that were enjoying your and Chad’s day so much! This makes me soooooooo happy! Thank you!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sara Sent on 07/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Cumberland House was the perfect venue for our summer wedding! Kathi was on top of everything and was so helpful. She immediately responds when you need something! Our guests are still telling us how beautiful our wedding was!
  • C
    Crystal Sent on 06/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Cumberland House was a dream come true! Kathi was a pleasure to work with and was extremely responsive. I never had to wait around for her help with any questions I had. She was there right away. I appreciated that so much; it took away a lot of stress when I was planning last minute. This venue is breathtaking and I knew I had to have my wedding ther from the first time I toured it months ago. The day was perfect and we r driver so many compliments, on the venue alone.
  • C
    Carley Sent on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kathi Leatherwood and The Cumberland House were wonderful! Kathi was so easy to work with, and was so accommodating. She has very specific guidelines that allowed for planning, and had a great checklist for both before and after the wedding. TCH was a beautiful place that allowed us to have an amazing rehearsal dinner and wedding!
  • C
    Celia Sent on 06/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I absolutely love the diversity within the house and the yard. Every corner has a different look and texture for photographs. With the many different “rooms”, it was easy to have every wedding event at The Cumberland House without it becoming repetitive. Even with a wedding as small as ours (~50-60 people) it did not feel like the space was too overwhelming. Kathi was an absolute joy to work with, willing and able to reschedule appointments, if necessary. Her genuine nature and kind spirit add a breath of fresh air in the midst of the wedding planning process. The work she has done to build such a wonderful venue has paid off, and it made my wedding what it was. I am thankful I was able to book this lovely venue when I did.
  • O
    Olivia Sent on 06/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were beyond grateful to have chosen The Cumberland House for our big day! We were welcomed by Mrs. Kathi (owner) and felt right at home. She was very responsive if there was ever a question in need. The Stardust room was absolutely stunning and had plenty of room for my bridesmaids and me to get ready for the day. There are also so many options to have your ceremony in the gardens. It was also a plus to have the garden pavilion as well. We couldn’t have picked a more perfect place to share our big day with our friends and family!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Thank you, Olivia!! I think you know how much I loved having you all here. It was such a wonderful time for everyone involved...(I could not help but notice that even your vendors were caught up in the excitement, enjoying being here, and doing their best to add to your day!) You and Cody made it beautiful and sweet and special. I have no doubt that you two will have a great life together!
  • L
    Lynsey Sent on 06/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Cumberland House was the perfect location for my wedding. I was searching for an outdoor venue that was not a barn. I absolutely loved the charm and elegance of the house, the garden and the pavilion. I had bridal portraits taken at the venue that are amazing! The house, the gardens, the pavilion - are all so beautiful. It is the ideal venue to an outdoor/garden wedding.

    The bridal suite, located upstairs, is so beautiful. All white, comfortable and equipped for the bridal party to dress. My bridesmaids and I had so much fun getting ready together. Plus, the photos taken in the bridal suite are stunning.

    Kathy, the owner/host is so accommodating and helpful. She made the planning process so much easier. We used a lot of the vendors she recommended and were very thankful for the suggestions she offered.

    The Cumberland House is a great value compared to other venues. The house is rented for the weekend, so that allows plenty of time to set up and clean up. We had the rehearsal dinner at The Cumberland House, which was convenient for attendants and saved money. The Cumberland House also provides an assortment of tables and chairs, which makes it an even better value.

    I highly recommend The Cumberland House for a wedding venue. It is a hidden gem in Jackson, TN.
  • Z
    Zoe Sent on 07/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Cumberland House is the perfect venue for a wedding! Whether it's the ceremony, reception or both, you won't be disappointed. You will fall in love with the venue the moment you see it. Every detail of Garden Pavilion was done to make a beautiful outdoor reception area. There are even hidden electrical outlets for vendors to use for decorations, DJ, etc. One of my favorites parts of The Cumberland House is the Stardust room! Words do not even describe how beautiful it is and how perfect the room is for the bridal party to get ready in! The owner, Mrs. Kathi, is awesome to work with. She works with the bride to make sure every last detail is dream worthy. You will not regret having your any part of your wedding at The Cumberland House!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Oh, what an honor for Borrowed and Blue to feature your day! And they definitely should....everything was just so beautiful and joyful. I actually tear up thinking about how much I loved that weekend. The Cumberland House was filled with love and happiness. Thank you!
  • A
    Ariel Sent on 07/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Cumberland House is a gorgeous venue with so many options for how to set things up for your event. Kathi is a wonderful hostess and so helpful throughout the entire process. Being able to have the venue for the entire weekend and having tables and chairs included on-site were huge pluses for my husband and I. The historic home is beautifully preserved while modern updates have been added in a way that flows beautifully into a cohesive unit. I would highly recommend the Cumberland House to anyone looking to host an event in the Jackson area!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    How I loved having you and your sweet family and friends here to celebrate your wedding! Such a beautiful couple - and The Cumberland House sparkled and came alive with your touch! Thank you!
  • K
    Kelly Sent on 06/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful venue! Very beautiful for my spring wedding! And Kathi is fantastic to work with! Very pleased.

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    I still so enjoy looking at the gorgeous pictures from your wedding and reception! Your choices in colors, flowers, and decor brought out the charm of The Cumberland House! (Did you see where "Southern Bride" took note and liked the photo of your bouquet in The Stardust Room when I posted it on Instagram?) Many years of happiness to you and Spencer...and thank you!!
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 05/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue is absolutely beautiful and offers a variety of ways to utilize the space for the ceremony and reception. Kathi is incredible. We appreciated how excited and supportive she was for us, along with her shared insight.

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Thank you for loving The Cumberland House the way that we do...and adding your special touches to make it even more beautiful! Loved having you and Anthony here. You two are just a delight - and your wonderful wedding and reception reflected that!
  • C
    Chelsea Sent on 01/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved everything about using the Cumberland House for part of my wedding day festivities! Kathi is wonderful and so very kind! This venue photographs very well and is a bride's dream! Thank you, Kathi, for sharing your beautiful venue with me for our special day!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Loved, loved, loved having you and Cody, your family, your wedding party and other guests here! It made especially pleased that you so enjoyed getting ready in the Stardust Room, and pampering your attendants there. And you all looked so fabulous in the meadow setting. (I saw some of the cell phone shots!!) You are such a beauty, and I cannot wait to see the photos! Thank you for choosing The Cumberland House!
  • C
    Cher Sent on 12/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kathi was just a doll to work with. She's absolutely charming, responsive, professional and just wonderful to talk to. You can tell she has thought about accommodating her brides and making sure that they are happy and she has even thought about how the design and layout of her place would fit into the scheme and wishes of her brides--even allowing the lighting to be changed in the pavilion if needed. The place is beautiful and immaculately kept. The grounds were the perfect backdrop for my outdoor autumn wedding. Being that this is an older property, you can't add anything to the walls, but this is to be expected. Oh and please take full advantage of the wrap-around veranda--MAH-VE-LOUS! I can't wait to find a reason in the near future to be able to rent this place again!!! You'll love working with Kathi--I promise!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    What an honor and joy it was to be the venue for your wedding! You definitely did justice to the property by bringing out the timeless beauty and grace. Your autumn wedding was breathtaking! Thank you!
  • M
    Melanie Sent on 12/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything we ever dreamed for our wedding! Highly recommend!!!

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Oh, Melanie! You know how much I loved your wedding! All the thought and consideration you put into your day resulted in a magic time for the two of you and your guests. So honored that The Cumberland House was the venue that was part of your vision. (I knew it was the place for you when I saw your eyes sparkle when you walked up the old brick steps and through the iron gate.) Thank you!
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 12/27/2016
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a beautiful place to hold a wedding and reception.
    Because the owner is new to the business, she may not be flexible with the way the bride wants the event set up.
    Also, the lack of restrooms available to our guests was a problem.

    The Cumberland House's reply:

    Thank you so much for your appreciation of the beauty of The Cumberland House! It is very important to us that our brides have flexibility for their wedding day (love the individualism and creativity!). We do have to "hold the line" when the request for flexibility would result in damage to the property. (We want brides to enjoy this wonderful historic house and property for many, many more years to come!)
    Thank you, too, for your input about the bathrooms. We have now put up signage to direct guests. Good idea!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message