The Connecticut River Valley Inn Reviews

14 | Glastonbury, CT
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Recommended by 92%

14

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

13 User photos

The Connecticut River Valley Inn 1
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 2
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 3
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 4
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 5
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 6
The Connecticut River Valley Inn 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • K

    Khareem Kelly · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breath-taking

    Patti made my very challenging day beautiful and achievable. Patti specializes in intimate weddings. I appreciate the time she took to meet with me and tour the facilities. Patti takes pride in the beauty of her garden and her BnB. The catering, cake and ceremony was tasteful and beautiful. I recommend this inn for a small wedding or elopement. It’s spacious and you have the option of being inside or out depending on the weather. Patti makes it easy to move your given party due to incline to weather and still have the ceremony grasp a fairytale feel.

    Sent on 07/09/2019
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 8

    The Connecticut River Valley Inn's reply:

    Khareem... we are so happy to have been part of your special day! Thank you so much for putting your faith in us! We hope you come back for a visit on your first anniversary!
  • jennifer

    jennifer · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    June Wedding

    My husband and I got married at CT RVI in June 2018 and it was the best decision we could have made. The property is absolutely stunning and Pat is an incredible artist. My simple New England themed wedding mixed with a bit of her artistic flair was completely perfect in every way. I rented the inn for the weekend so the families could all be together for the weekend which was such a bonus because we all got to spend so much quality time together. There was no rushing! We arrived on a Friday night, got married on Saturday and left on Sunday and the whole weekend was so relaxing and special. Even our dog was able to be part of the whole weekend. I highly recommend the CTRVI for a wedding.

    Sent on 07/19/2019
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 9

    The Connecticut River Valley Inn's reply:

    Hi, Jenn... thank you so much! We loved having you and your family at our inn for your very special day.... We loved working with you and we are happy that we could accommodate your precious pet as well.
  • N

    Nour · Married on 12/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful outdoors or indoors venue

    The venue is gorgeous! Perfect space for an outside wedding bridal shower or in my situation a baby shower. Covered space outside with beautiful landscape. And if it rains you can move inside, but her And Pat is very accommodating to whatever you need to make your event perfect

    Sent on 07/11/2019
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 10
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 11
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 12
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 13
  • User6477964 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most wonderful bridal shower at this lovely place! The Innkeeper could not have been more organized or efficient. We elected to have our food catered by a local restaurant, but used the Inn's dishes, glasses, and linens. We had a table in the living room for appetizers that I made but were heated by the innkeeper. They were served on a tiered tray and in batches to keep them warm. We (22 ladies and girls) sat in the sunporch room at one long connected table. We had plenty of room. The bride opened her gifts on a settee that was so appropriate facing the living room. Staff did the clean up, and we so enjoyed ourselves. Alcohol was purchased and self-served. We helped ourselves to coffee, tea, and ice tea provided by the inn. Wonderful backyard that the girls, ages 7 to 11, enjoyed.

    Sent on 03/13/2016
  • D

    Drew · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Connecticut River Valley Inn in early October, and the venue was incredible. The wedding turned out fabulously, and a great deal was due to Pat and Wayne, the Innkeepers. They were incredibly accommodating, and essentially gave us free rein of the property to set it up as we wished.

    In our initial meeting, Pat sat with us and provided all the info/pricing options for holding the wedding at their inn. Additionally, she had a list of all the vendors she had used in the past, and their contact information. It was extremely helpful to know all the cost up-front, and made the process run very smoothly. We had several discussions about different options, and Pat was very accommodating for our 100-person wedding reception.

    The day of the event ran extremely smoothly. Pat and Wayne put in a lot of work the day of the event to make sure everything went well. They went above and beyond - even when Mother Nature did not cooperate - by finding a piece of wood and then laying a carpet across it, to prevent our guests from getting wet when traveling between the tent and the patio.

    The grounds at the Inn are absolutely beautiful, and are a perfect setting for a wedding. The landscaping is stunning, and Pat has added numerous artistic touches to make the Inn a special and inviting place. We would recommend the Inn to friends, or to anyone planning a vacation or needing a place for an event in Connecticut.

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • V

    vanna · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how beautiful and perfect our day was because of Patricia and Wayne.The CRVI is a hidden gem and our friends are starting to book events there already! The Inn was perfect, the landscaping was AMAZING, and our guests were blown away. We had the perfect weekend at the perfect place and we are so grateful everything !

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • User4348168 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely place, beautiful home, pretty grounds. Nice couple who owns and operates the Inn.

    Sent on 08/25/2014
  • User2698993 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married here on 10/12/13 and we couldn't have picked a better venue than this. It was very clean, comfortable and the rooms were all gorgeous. Patricia and Wayne were wonderful hosts, very helpful and very nice. They set up everything we needed for the wedding. The seats for the ceremony, the table and chairs for the reception, the table was decorated so nice with fall colors and flowers. The yard was beautiful and had so many flowers too. We stayed there the entire weekend along with a few of our guests and they loved it there also. They served us breakfast Saturday and Sunday morning and the food was amazing! I highly recommend this place and will be returning again.

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • R

    Rosanne ·

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue

    This venue was beautiful. Pat was very helpful and responded quickly to questions. She was present at the event. I rented her dinnerware which was beautiful and easier than getting it elsewhere. I received many compliments from friends and family about the beauty of the event venue. I would highly recommend it.

    Sent on 07/09/2019

    The Connecticut River Valley Inn's reply:

    Thank you Roseanne! We are delighted that you had a great experience at our property. When we envisioned or inn and event location our main goal was to be the backdrop for truly memorable events for you and your guests. You were a pleasure to work with!
  • C

    Caroline Brancato · Married on 05/25/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Wonderful!

    My husband and I had our wedding reception here and the day could not have been more perfect! The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The place was picture perfect the day of our wedding. There are so many great places to take pictures! We had a tent set up in the backyard and had a garden themed wedding. It felt so intimate with everyone and it was exactly what we wanted!

    Sent on 07/18/2019
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 14
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 15
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 16
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 17
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 18
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 19
    The Connecticut River Valley Inn 20
  • Bethany

    Bethany · Married on 08/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I stayed here the night before my wedding with my bridesmaids and the evening of my wedding with my husband. It was a gorgeous, calm place to get ready and made for beautiful photographs. The couple who runs the inn were very nice and went above and beyond. The showers are epic and I love the unique character that each room has.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 03/19/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had the pleasure of having a surprise bridal shower at the Connecticut River Valley Inn. The venue was lovely and made for a wonderful place to enjoy the event. The property has a great flow to it, providing ample room for guests to move about. Our bridal shower was for 22 guests. I recommend the venue and its innkeeper, Pat, for your wedding events! I can imagine the convenience of having a ceremony at the Congregational church next door and returning to the inn for the reception!

    Sent on 03/12/2016
  • User6057188 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Pre-Wedding Day: The owners of the venue were not particularly responsive to emails, which made me nervous more times than I would have liked. (i.e. have we reserved our date there or not?!)

    Wedding Day: The suites are gorgeous and well-maintained. At some point someone on staff had come into our room and turned our AC off (we'd left it on to cool the room down), which was weird. The owners also sort of disappeared during the set-up and pre-ceremony events, which meant we were calling them on our phones or I had to send someone out to find one of them to answer questions.

    Ceremony: The Officiant provided by the Inn (included in our package) was not well prepared, despite us having written our ceremony for her, and having delivered it to her weeks in advance. She called my husband by the wrong name 3 different times in the 5 minute ceremony and was very awkward when working off the cuff. The cake was, while gorgeous, not the fillings I ordered (and I only found out by cutting it after the ceremony). It was delicious, though! And my bouquet was absolutely stunning.

    I don't say any of this to disparage anyone from using the CT River Valley Inn as a venue. The grounds and inn are GORGEOUS and very picture-esque, the owners are very accommodating to your needs, and I loved our wedding day, mistakes and all. I just want others to be aware that this venue may require extra time and effort on your end if you're a stickler for details. (I was just so happy I didn't much care.)

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • Kelly

    Kelly Wallach · Married on 07/08/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Beautiful Venue, Awful Wedding Planning Experience

    The venue is breathtaking and I couldn't have picked a more beautiful location to get married and it was an unbelievable day for us. I was referred here by a wedding professional in the industry and I was given a heads up that working with the owner/innkeeper would be difficult. Difficult is an understatement. Unfortunately, I cannot stress enough how awful the entire process of planning my wedding here was.

    The owner/innkeeper was very unprofessional, disorganized and cold. I am a very organized person who likes to know all the details of how things are going to be handled and I felt this was not respected. After-all it is my WEDDING. It took days, even a week or so, for emails to be responded to, and when they were, it felt like it was such a hassle and bother to answer my questions or offer any help/advice. When I questioned anything, such as the invoices not adding up correctly or % differences between various contracts, or just basic questions I was made to feel like it was my fault somehow, or that I was being a pain by asking questions. Not disorganization or lack of attention to detail on their part.

    Every wedding vendor I have ever worked with (and I have worked with many) has gone above and beyond to be helpful, reassuring, pleasant to with and most importantly excited to make my dream day perfect. This was the ABSOLUTE OPPOSITE every single step of the way planning my wedding at the Inn. It honestly ruined a lot of my memory of planning such a special day for us.

    Beautiful venue, but save yourself the stress and a nightmare wedding planning process.

    Sent on 07/08/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review