The Cloisters Reviews

80 | Lutherville Timonium, MD
See photos, pricing and details

80 Reviews for The Cloisters

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

80

19 User photos

Order by:
  • Elena

    Elena E. · Getting married on 11/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love this place!

    The staff is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. It was so much fun to visit we’ve already done it twice! It just feels so warm and inviting thanks to the wonderful staff. We can’t wait to get married there!

    Sent on 10/04/2019
  • Kayla

    Kayla T. · Married on 11/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!

    Sarah and her team were so wonderful to work with! They kept me sane during the covid nightmare about whether or not we could have our wedding. They worked tirelessly to make sure we made the best option for us and had no shortage of options for what we could do. I dont think our wedding would have happened with out their help!

    The venue itself is so amazing and unique! You wont find anything else like it! One thing that spoke volumes to me was that when we were touring, there was a couple who got married there 20 years ago and they were still able to drop in to relive their memories!

    I cannot say enough about this venue!

    Sent on 01/02/2021
  • Ashley

    Ashley W. · Married on 09/21/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Enchanting Place

    If you want a fairly tale wedding this is it. It has a charm about it that is very unique. Annie and Sarah and the best and you can literally ask them anything. They had nothing but good reviews even compared to other castles in the area. Plus I think they feel a little more like a real castle. I can't wait to share my day with them, after all if it is good enough for Will and Jada Smith, it's good enough for me! One last thing the price for this venue is pretty reasonable, of course Saturday is the highest and there peak season too but no more than what you would expect.

    Sent on 03/16/2019
  • Song

    Song T. · Married on 02/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderfully accommodating staff

    Cloisters really is a beautiful location and the staff is extremely willing to help out and accommodate for anything that comes up.

    Sent on 02/28/2020
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maryland's Hidden Gem

    I don’t know if this venue actually needs my positive review because the photos speak for themselves. The castle is amazingly beautiful. It was the perfect setting for our perfect day. We had a themed wedding that the Cloisters Castle served as the perfect backdrop for. Other than the gorgeous look of the venue though the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to our needs. We couldn’t recommend having your wedding at this hidden gem in the heart of Maryland more.

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • Jared

    Jared W. · Married on 02/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredibly Unique Venue

    It's hard to put into words how truly incredible this venue is. From the overall first impressions of driving up through an enchanted forest that opens into an incredible view of the castle, to the tiny, intricate, medieval style details, this place has it all. The staff here is amazing, super responsive, willing to answer any and all questions, and are extremely helpful with day of coordination.
    The venue itself is breathtaking. We decided to have ours outside in the cloisters behind the castle, despite it being on November 2nd. The staff does an amazing job taking care of the grounds so there were still flowers and green on the trees, which made it look even more magical. There are tons of rooms for people to explore and there's 3 levels so guests will never be bored during cocktail hour. There's also two suites for the wedding parties to get ready in.
    We had a little over 120 people which fit perfectly outside and inside (if you're okay with splitting the guests up between two rooms, which wasn't an issue at all).
    Everyone who attended kept commenting on how cool the venue was and how they had no idea something like this was close to the area. Overall incredible venue, staff, and location, and very reasonably priced. 10/10 would recommend to anyone looking for a truly unique venue.

    Sent on 11/25/2019
  • Misty

    Misty · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breathtaking!

    Cloisters was the perfect setting for our fairytale wedding. If you have been dreaming of your perfect, princess wedding..look no further! We found Cloisters by chance just browsing the internet and I am so grateful we did. I can't imagine having gotten married anywhere but here.

    If you are having a very large wedding you may want to look elsewhere. Our guest count came to around 100 and you cannot fit much more than that inside for dinner if you want everyone in one room. We got married December 2018 so we had both our ceremony and reception inside and it was absolutely beautiful. A wonderfully intimate setting.

    Annie and Sarah are amazing. Sarah was attentive, responsive, and so so kind with each and every email or phone call I sent. The day of, the staff was amazing. I could not have worked with better people.

    Your guests will rave about this venue! Ours are still talking about it weeks later... most of them even used the pictures they took that night for their Christmas cards this year.

    Cloisters could not be a more perfect place!!! Unforgettable!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • K

    K · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical, Spectacular, Enchanting! This venue is AMAZING.The guests went crazy taking photos and touring the building to check out all of its great features. The ability to have the wedding either indoors or outdoors is a great relief in case of bad weather, both the interior and the exterior of the castle are gorgeous with many unique photo ops and you will not have to decorate much, the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, the second level has the perfect rooms for getting ready before the ceremony, the castle is so romantic in the evening your guests will rave about how beautiful, fun, and memorable this venue is! Annie and Sara are incredibly responsive, flexible, professional, and helpful in answering any questions. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/18/2017
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After searching a few other places we came back to the one we first had our eye on, Cloisters Castle!! We had our heart set on a sort of renaissance/gothic/romantic wedding in a castle and didn't think we would actually come up with anything in the area but when we found Cloisters we fell in love! It was exactly perfect for us. On our wedding day it was calling for pouring rain, and with a stroke of luck it was the beautiful sunny autumn day in the woods that we had imagined it would be. The rain held off until way later that evening and so everything went exactly as planned and we had our ceremony in the lovely courtyard. The Cloisters staff was wonderful to work with and the property was even filled with beautiful fresh fall flowers and pumpkins. We live about an hour away in Virginia, but having our wedding here was worth the trip up to Baltimore because of just how amazing this venue is. The decor, the fireplaces, the cozy and warm glow of the candles inside, all of it made for the most romantic wedding. Our guests were impressed with just how unique the venue was. The fall foliage around the castle was at peak and driving up that little path to the castle on the day of almost made me cry. It was simply a dream come true. Thank you to everyone at Cloisters Castle for making our day wonderful! High recommend! Photo credit: Kate Ann Photography

    Sent on 03/31/2018
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cloisters castle is an absolutely magical place to get married. I could've not chosen a better place. The entrance leading to the gorgeous castle is filled with woods. It has the grandeur of medieval Europe; everything I wanted in a venue. Unique, enchanting, breathtaking. Our guests were obsessed with our venue and I am super pleased we had our wedding there.

    Sent on 10/29/2016
  • User6438092 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to begin! From beginning to end, the entire experience with the Cloisters staff (especially Annie) was out of this world. They are incredibly responsive, flexible, professional and helpful in answering any questions. And I can't go without mentioning the BEAUTIFUL venue itself - there are so many intricate, unique elements in the castle that made the setting unforgettable to me and my wedding guests. I still have guests of my wedding telling me how much they loved my venue!

    And right when I thought I was beyond ecstatic with my wedding experience, I was blown away again. After we received our wedding photos, we were really bummed when we realized that we didn't get a chance to capture photos in many of the rooms/areas of the castle - (the chapel, the library, etc.). The wedding day was such an exciting whirlwind that we kind of blew through our photos, not to mention we were on a time crunch. So, a few months after the wedding we reached out to Annie asking if we could possibly come back to the castle to re-take some photos. She said yes - free of charge - so we scheduled a date and time, but due to snow we had to reschedule several times. However, Annie was incredibly flexible and accommodating through the entire process. We finally set a date, pretty much had the castle to ourselves AND several hours to re-shoot our photos, and were treated with the same hospitality as we were on our wedding day itself. Not once were we rushed. And, the photos that we captured are absolutely gorgeous. (If you're concerned with decorations for your wedding, you won't need to do much, because the entire castle-inside and out-is so beautiful and decorative that any room serves as an amazing backdrop!). I feel that not many venues (especially one as busy and in demand as the Cloisters) would allow for a second chance like that.

    If you are on the fence about booking the Cloisters - DO IT-you will NOT regret it! It was a perfect, amazing experience! :)

    Sent on 03/02/2016
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 10/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married here on October 2nd, 2015-- it was an absolute dream location for our Medieval-esque. There were numerous reasons why it was perfect-- they have an approved caterer list (this made it so much easier on us to only have to research a few caterers compared to the hundreds in the area), the ability to have the wedding either indoors or outdoors is a great relief in case of bad weather (which happened to us-- it rained non-stop all day because of a hurricane!!), both the interior and the exterior of the castle are gorgeous (think of the many unique photo ops and the fact that you will not have to decorate much!), the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating (they allowed us to stop by the castle numerous times to take measurements for our decorator and to have a walk-through with the caterer), they have an open house once a month with vendors (this is fun to go to), you get the *entire* castle during the day of your wedding (your guests can roam about and explore its many levels and rooms!), the second level has the perfect rooms for getting ready before the ceremony, the castle is so romantic in the evening (especially when candle-lit!), and your guests (and you!) will rave about how beautiful, fun, and memorable this venue is. The only downside is that it cannot accommodate many guests in each room. We could only fit about 70 people in the gallery for the seated reception (if our guest list were larger, we would have had to have placed people in the adjoining living room, where they would have been unable to see us during dinner). However, this castle was perfect for our wedding, and we could not have wished for a better venue. This is truly a hidden gem in Maryland!

    Sent on 01/13/2016
  • B

    Betty · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here and it was an absolute dream come true -- this is definitely one of the most unique venues in Maryland. Below are some pros and cons to consider (the pros far outweigh the cons):
    Pros
    - Gorgeous, private setting – there is honestly too much to say here. Definitely go to an open house or schedule an appointment to visit so you can see for yourself.
    - If you planned on an outdoor ceremony but rain strikes (you never know!), you will be pleased with the backup indoor location (the main dining room has a magnificent chapel that can serve as the background for your ceremony).
    - Ability to select your own caterer (from an approved list) including ones that allow you to purchase your own liquor (we saved tons of money with this option, more than making up for the relatively higher
    - Can rent a whole extra hour of event time for a marginal fee.
    - All your guests will compliment you on this venue – one of the highlights for us was knowing our guests enjoyed the premises and will remember it.
    Cons
    - If you have more than 100 guests and want an indoor dinner, you will probably have to split them up into 2 rooms. We had 80 guests and everybody fit very comfortably in the main dining room. But over 100 would be too squishy in the one room.
    - There is no A/C due to the historic nature of the building. The Saturday evening in May that we got married was unusually hot and humid and A/C definitely would have been nice. However, the Cloisters staff is prepared for this and has high-powered fans blowing throughout to keep the building relatively cool. However, it did get a bit stuffy during the dancing. The fans can also be noisy and were a little distracting during one of the toasts (the speaker was on the more soft-spoken side).
    - Email is not the best way to get in touch with staff – definitely pick up the phone and leave a message if needed.

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cloisters Castle was the perfect venue for our wedding. When we first went to the open house, we knew we had to have our wedding here. The castle, the garden and the windmill are all gorgeous. I couldn't imagine having our wedding anywhere else. Annie walked us through the contract and the staff was very helpful on the day of.

    Sent on 07/28/2014
  • User3022278 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked the Cloisters a year and a half before our wedding date. It was the first decision that we made, and definitely one of the two most important things (food from Zeffert and Gold was #2 - amazing!) that made our wedding so wonderful.

    The Cloisters is a great change from standard big, open, event halls. The building has so much character, that guests can roam around during any part of the wedding just to take it all in. We were worried about two things once we decided on the Cloisters. One, we wanted all of our guests to sit in one area and not be split up among the rooms, and two, the Cloisters doesn't have air conditioning.

    Neither of these things were an issue when the day came. We had 110 guests and used the room with the stage for all of our guests to dine, and it was plenty of room. We had our bridal party scattered with close family and us on the stage at three tables, and it worked out perfectly for speeches and the blessing and to keep those people close to us. Plus, since we were all on the stage, people could easily see for the toasts, etc. The temperature was around 83, and the Cloisters does not have air conditioning, but they do have fans. They also have the beautiful Cloister Garden (where we did our ceremony) that you can put a few high top tables in so that guests can go outside as well. The one period where it was getting warm inside, we walked outside and it was beautiful and everyone was mingling checking out the garden and the different areas outside and inside. Five minutes later we were back inside and I honestly never thought about the temperature again. We made the room in front of the dining area the dance floor, and it worked great for our guests.

    I think picking the Cloisters as our venue made our wedding extra special. It was such a 'different' place that guests were really interested in it and so many of our guests took pictures of themselves in the different areas. Annie is great to work with as well!

    Sent on 06/23/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 03/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cloisters was perfect! Big & beautiful with so many unique elements! You'll have to see it to believe it! I'd defiantly recommend!

    Sent on 04/12/2014
  • M

    Matt · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Cloisters Castle is beautiful anytime of year. Trust me, I visited so many open houses that Annie and Kimmie are probably glad our wedding is over. And that was after having booked The Cloisters on our first visit. We instantly knew this was the place for us. The patience through our questions, the laughter and encouragement with advice, and the overall kindness (while firm in expectations) from Annie and Kimmie is to be praised. One reason that we also chose this site is because the property is owned and managed by the Baltimore City Office of Promotions and Arts. So proceeds from this go to Artscape and other events that we support. Our guests could not stop talking about the venue and yours would love it too.

    Sent on 11/28/2013
  • S

    Sue · Married on 10/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You just know when something feels right ..... when we walked into the Cloisters Castle for the first time and were greeted by Annie, we knew this was the place for our wedding. The venue is beautiful and offers so much flexibility for both large and small weddings. It's really the kind of place where the pictures on the website don't do it justice - you have to see it in person to appreciate how spectacular it truly is. We had a beautiful, sunny fall day that created incredible opportunities for truly unique pictures. Annie and her staff fulfilled all of our expectations and delivered on exactly what was promised. All of our family and friends were amazed at the beauty of the castle and our photographer captured so many original pictures from that day. One of the best features of the castle is the kids room. We had 12 kids at our wedding (3 of our own) and the kids room upstairs provided a place for little ones to sit, relax and watch a movie. What a great benefit that was to have a place for the kids to go while waiting for the ceremony to start and during the reception when the adults were still eating. If we could do it all over again, we'd choose the Cloisters Castle again.

    Sent on 11/06/2013
  • User3491109 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Annie and her staff were amazing... Our wedding was perfect in every way.. The gardens were lovely and staff was gracious during our event.. I reccomended the castle highly

    Sent on 08/26/2013
  • User3391282 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ahhhhh... Cloisters. I was recommended this location by a friend who wasn't able to have her wedding here due to too many guests (much above 50 and you have to split into two rooms, which gets a little awkward). With her advice, I didn't even bother looking into other venues, and booked Cloisters immediately. What a happy decision! The staff was awesome and supportive, and really, you can't beat the venue. If you're like me, and hate DIY nonsense, you don't even have to worry about decorating because it's already so beautiful. You do need a relatively small wedding, and have to be willing to deal with a little heat if you get married in full summer as I did (no A/C), but I loved having my wedding here and would recommend it to anyone.

    Sent on 07/13/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at The Cloisters was absolutely spectacular! Our guests couldn't stop commenting on how neat a venue it was. The location is really wonderful, and The Cloisters staff are fantastic to work with. We made several trips there for different tours or to measure things, and every time we were greeted warmly. The staff is professional and very helpful. They made sure our event ran smoothly, we didn't have to worry about a thing. Having our wedding at The Cloisters made the day even more special.

    Sent on 07/25/2013
  • Sherry

    Sherry · Married on 05/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is such a unique and beautiful venue. All our guests Loved it and kept asking how we found such an awesome place. We loved the venue - it was Perfect. Kimi is a doll to worth with - thank you!!

    Sent on 05/27/2013
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 01/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cloisters Castle was the perfect venue for my new husband and I to celebrate. I really liked that there are so many rooms to use - we had dinner in one room, dancing in another, and it was great because we knew not everyone was going to be dancing. With this setup we ensured that those who opted out of dancing could still talk to other guests without being drowned out by music. Since you have the entire place to yourself for the whole event, your guests can roam around the castle, check out different floors and mingle.

    Having tables and chairs included in the rental price was perfect - no need to worry about those! They also had a closet of items you could borrow from to use as centerpieces, or to supplement whatever you were going to bring in. We honestly went really light on the decorations because the castle is so pretty all by itself. The long list of approved caterers ensures you can find many options to work within your budget.

    Annie and Kimi were by far the easiest people to work with - we absolutely adored them! Professional yet laid-back, friendly and funny. Annie actually called me a few days before my wedding to see if we wouldn't mind if a tent that was going to be setup for the wedding the day before could stay - and by the way, we could use it free of charge. It was absolutely perfect.

    For the day-of stuff, the rep was around but at that point the caterer was really running the show and setup. We just didn't want to leave! I'd hang out at that castle every weekend if I could. All of our guests loved that it was different than your average ballroom wedding and we've seen tons of pictures of people posing with the suits of armor!

    In short - lots of setup options, very little extra decorating to do, perfect people to work with.

    Sent on 03/21/2013
  • User2762753 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After an exhaustive search of venues in the central Maryland/D.C. area, my daughter and her fiance chose The Cloisters and had never regretted it. The building is utterly gorgeous, provided just the right atmosphere for an elegant, classic wedding. Even more important, the staff was so welcoming, friendly, accommodating and easy to work with, they made the wedding day, and the days leading up to it, so much less stressful than they might have been.

    The compliments from the guests were endless, the pictures so beautiful they look like they came from a magazine.

    The Cloisters is absolutely a place you should check out for your wedding.

    Sent on 11/09/2012
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 04/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married here in April 2012 on a Friday evening and it was amazing. Anne and all the staff are very professional and friendly and will go out of their way to make your wedding perfect. Everyone was very professional and responsive to my questions and allowed us to leave our decorations at the venue the night before the wedding when we had our rehearsal, one advantage to having a Friday wedding. It has been more than a year since our wedding and our friends and relatives are still talking about what a wonderful venue it is and how they really enjoyed exploring during our reception. We had approximately 75 guest and it worked our perfect to have the reception in the one larger room and the wedding was outside in the court yard. The Cloisters' staff worked great with all of our vendors and to my knowledge we had no mishaps during the day. I would highly recommend Anne and the Cloisters to anyone looking for a unique venue for a wedding or other special occasion.

    Sent on 08/08/2013