Skip to main content
Weddings

The Citadel Beach Club Reviews

The Citadel Beach Club

The Citadel Beach Club

Isle of Palms, SC
4.6 out of 5 rating, 35 Reviews
View more information

35 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.2 out of 5 rating

Awards

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner

35 User photos

  • K
    Kristi M. Married on 08/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Venue, Incredible Experience!

    The Citadel Beach Club was exactly what we were looking for in a venue for our relaxed southern backyard wedding dreams. Michael was professional and helpful throughout the entire process. The CBC coordination with our vendors was seamless and made the process as easy as possible. Our guests had the best time in one of our favorite spots! We are so grateful to have celebrated our day at the Beach Club and are recommending them to everyone we know!
  • Katarina
    Katarina W. Married on 06/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best beach wedding venue ever!

    So happy with the whole experience of the Citadel Beach Club!!! Not only was the venue stunning and everything I dreamed of for a beach wedding, but Michael was so kind and helpful throughout the process. He always answered our questions and let us stop by the venue when needed so we could plan everything. He helped recommend vendors and went above and beyond what a wedding venue normally does. The staff did a great job setting up the indoor tables & chairs for us on the day of, and everything was just perfect. I can't say enough great things. Thank you to Michael and the Citadel Beach Club for making our wedding day the best ever!!!
  • T
    Tessa W. Married on 05/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Beachside Venue!

    We couldn't have had a better experience at the Citadel Beach Club. The site was absolutely gorgeous for an outdoor wedding and dinner and the service was great. Michael was helpful and kind to us throughout the entire process including standing by through out entire ceremony to make sure that no beachgoers accidentally interrupted us.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • W
    William T. Married on 05/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome location. Superb facility. Great staff.

    We had a wedding and reception at the Citadel Beach Club on February 29. The staff was responsive and accommodating to our needs and the needs of the vendors. The venue has an excellent view and great facilities. The bridal room upstairs was perfect. Ample parking is available. Great value.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Hi William,

    Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the positive feedback!

    Ginny Busniuk
    Director for Event Management
  • K
    Kelley I. Married on 04/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beach front wedding

    We loved the citadel beach house the moment we did our first tour! The venue is absolutely gorgeous with lots of options. You can get married on the sand, lawn, or indoors. Michael was extremely helpful and easy to work with from day one. We can’t thank him enough for helping make our dream wedding come true. The venue is affordable including all the table and chairs inside. They also set everything up and break it down, which is huge! I highly recommend the CBH for all future brides!
  • L
    Lynn Married on 01/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Rehearsal Dinner

    Great space for our son’s rehearsal dinner. The room was beautiful after decorating. Weather was so cold and rainy we had to move the bar inside and ended up being very convenient. Plenty of room for bar, tables, buffet and 3 piece band. Sixty-five people attend. Michael was helpful and very easy to work with. Would use this venue again!
  • G
    Gracyn C. Married on 12/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous Day

    We are so grateful for the fabulous day we had at the Citadel beach club! Micheal was so kind and knowledgeable through the whole process. Our family and friends were thrilled with the whole day!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Dear Gracyn,
    Thank you for letting us be a part of your special day, we appreciate the kind review!
    Wishing you all the best!
    Allison Neason
    Director for Event Management, The Citadel
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 07/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Beach Wedding Venue

    I can’t imagine a more perfect place for my daughter’s wedding than The Citadel Beach Club. She and her fiancé wanted a Charleston area destination wedding, but she was adamant she did not want to get married directly on the beach. Since the wedding was in July, we wanted to avoid spending several hours outside in the heat and humidity.
    With wedding venues costing thousands of dollars, I wanted: 1) tables and non-plastic chairs included, 2) a built-in plan B for the outdoor ceremony and 3) ample time on property. We did have to rent ceremony chairs (because indoor furniture cannot be moved outdoors) but otherwise, The Citadel Beach Club provided everything we wanted and more.
    They have a huge lawn, so we were able to have an outdoor ceremony without actually being on the beach. We used the patio for cocktail hour, but in cooler weather, it would be a great place for dancing. For an evening wedding, I do recommend springing for café lights. Not only is there no other outdoor lighting for guests who venture down to the patio after dark, but the lights look amazing from inside!
    The ballroom and porch provided a built in Plan B if it had rained or been unbearably hot. The ceremony would have been in the ballroom (with a cathedral window frame on the mantel) and the cocktail hour would have been either inside or on the covered porch.
    The clubhouse is beautiful, with gorgeous ocean views, both inside and out. The wrap around porch offered many advantages: 1) Our photographer took the majority of pre-ceremony pictures on the porch, with stunning results. This option would be a huge bonus in rainy weather – everyone could stay dry while still getting scenic outdoor pictures. 2) Our early arriving guests enjoyed the rocking chairs, shade, ocean breeze and the view before the ceremony. 3) Once dancing started and the music turned up, guests who wanted to converse had plenty of room to sit on the porch, while still being able to hear the music and watch the dancing through the large windows.
    Unlike many venues, the ballroom was built to host events, so it’s size, shape and flow are easy to work with. The hardwood floor and blue-gray walls provide a neutral background and the two walls of windows make the walls almost irrelevant. We had a head table along the ocean wall, which meant the guests’ attention was directed towards the panoramic ocean view throughout dinner.
    Michael, the property manager, was great to work with. Even though he’s not an event planner by trade, he’s overseen enough events to know what works and doesn’t work regarding guest numbers, event flow, etc. Our wedding fell within the pandemic, which added lots of uncertainty and stress. Michael always returned emails promptly and was very patient throughout, even as our calls and emails became more frequent and anxious.
    I highly recommend The Citadel Beach Club to anyone who wants to create a memorable experience for themselves, as well as their guests.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Hi Jessica,

    Thank you so much for the wonderful thought our review. We think our place is pretty special and you described the experience perfectly! We are so happy you had such a great experience at your daughters wedding. Congratulations!

    Ginny Busniuk
    Director for Event Management
  • Kay
    Kay R. Married on 01/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely Venue with Ocean Front Views!!

    We held our son's rehearsal dinner party at the Citadel Beach Club March 13, 2020. We had a seated meal for about 135. We had plenty of space and porches to provide guests a chance to enjoy appetizers and drinks while looking at the ocean prior to being seated. We also had room to show childhood slides of both the bride & groom. It was a wonderful event that I will remember always. Highly recommend this venue.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Hi Kay,

    Thank you for your kind words. It was an elegant rehearsal dinner and a lovely opportunity to introduce your guests to Charleston and The Isle of Palms.

    Michael
    Manager, The Citadel Beach Club
  • Amy
    Amy S. Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Venue & Management

    The beach club was beyond perfect for our wedding day. Not only is the venue beautiful, but Michael, the Manager, is incredible. Michael was so helpful and responsive from even before we selected the venue for our day. Michael also proved to be such a nice supporter the week and the day of - even in the moments before walking down the aisle (when I was by myself inside) - he definitely helped me keep my calm. My sister was married here almost exactly 11 years prior. We tried to find another venue, but there was truly no other choice for us. Since my sister was married here, the venue has opened up to allow you to choose everything you need for your event, and having a manager as wonderful as Michael ensures everything is run smoothly throughout. If you are trying to choose between this space and another one, we can honestly say that if you choose the Citadel Beach Club, you will not be disappointed.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Amy,

    Thank you so much for the kind words. Michael is wonderful and we are truly blessed to have him on our team. We are so grateful for you and your family allowing us the opportunity to be a part of your special day. Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

    Ginny Busniuk
    Director of Event Management, The Citadel
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn Married on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best beach wedding setting!

    Michael is a pro! Leading up to the event, we were VERY worried about the weather. Michael reassured us that the weather would be perfect. And it was! Loved having the beach to be able to take pictures on. Thank you Michael!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Katie,

    Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so glad everything went smoothly for your big day. Thank you for letting us be a part of your wedding. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon!

    The Citadel Beach Club Team
  • K
    Kristina Married on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    We loved having the beach club as our wedding venue! It is so beautiful! The coordinator Michael did an awesome job and was patient answering my endless questions. I would definitely recommend!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you, Kristina! It was a pleasure being part of your big day. We are so lucky to work with such amazing brides and families. Best wishes!
  • Molly
    Molly J. Married on 03/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden gem on Isle of Palms!

    The Citadel Beach Club is a BEAUTIFUL location on Isle of Palms, and was perfect for our wedding ceremony and reception! Michael, the property manager, was great to work with and was very accommodating. He is quick to respond to email and was always very kind and helpful. We had such a positive experience and highly recommend The Citadel Beach Club to anyone!!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Hi Molly,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! It is our pleasure to work with such lovely couples like you two. Congratulations!

    Ginny Busniuk
    Director for Event Management
  • Kristen
    Kristen L. Married on 03/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Citadel Beach Club was gorgeous!

    We had a blast at our wedding! Michael was very easy to work with - from coordinating vendors to meetings. The venue was beautiful from the inside and out. Would recommend to everyone!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Kristen,

    Thank you for the kind words. We appreciated the opportunity to host your special day! Congratulations!

    Ginny Busniuk
    Director for Event Management
  • S
    S Married on 05/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our two Citadel grads celebrated their wedding here, and not only was the venue beautiful, everything about the process, from booking to communication, to setup/coordination, and the day of was as smooth and carefree as you would hope for something that could have been very stressful. We cannot recommend this venue enough. Perfect day!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words! We always love having Citadel family back for such a happy occasion. Congratulations!
  • L
    Louis Married on 03/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Not only is the beach club beautiful inside and out, it provided us a chance to get married next to the ocean and then host our reception without having to shuttle people around. Michael was a great help with any questions we had, and very accommodating with any requests or issues we had. It was very affordable, and a bargain in my opinion. There are several hotels nearby to accommodate any traveling guests. You will have to use the catering company that is tied to the beach club, but they provided everything we were looking for and I'd imagine what anyone is looking for. They were super easy to deal with, and very friendly. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Louis! We are so lucky to work with such wonderful couples, and we're so honored to have been a part of your special day. Congratulations and Best Wishes!
  • K
    Katie Married on 11/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was absolutely perfect for our wedding ceremony and reception! The food, atmosphere, and views are incredible! Michael and the staff are very nice and easy to work with! Highly recommend!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Katie, we were thrilled to be a part of your day and are so happy to hear all went well. Best of luck to you!!
  • A
    Angie Married on 06/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was the most beautiful beach venue for our son's wedding. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Thankfully the rain held off for the ceremony and made a beautiful sky for pictures.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    So happy to hear, Angie! Congratulations, again, to you and your family!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 05/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    PERFECT. Our reception was absolutely breath-taking and truly a dream! The staff at Citadel Beach Club were welcoming, friendly, and made you feel like family during the planning process. Our guests (us too!) were blown away by how stunning everything was -- the beach alone in the background made for the BEST scenery. We love the Citadel Beach Club and would recommend it to anyone!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you, Morgan! There's nothing better for us than hearing that your wedding day was perfect. While we cannot take any credit for the backdrop of the beach, we are glad you and your guests enjoyed the venue and the day so much. Best wishes and thanks again!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 05/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The beach house was the perfect location for our wedding. There is plenty of parking, and I was allowed to use the upstairs apartment to dress which was very helpful.
    Some couples center the ceremony around the large palm on the lawn. However, we set up the ceremony just to the left of the flag poles using the ocean as a back drop. The sea birds that surrounded the ceremony were magical.
    The wrap around porches, loft area, and ballroom were the IDEAL layout for the reception. We wanted to have plenty of room for dancing so only used 6 round tables in the ballroom. With the porches and loft, there was still PLENTY of room for our 140 guests to sit down and eat.
    I would advise couples who use this venue to hire a caterer and coordinator who is familiar with the beach house rules.
    If we had the whole thing to plan again, I would choose this location over and over.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Melissa, we're thrilled to hear that you and your guests had such a great time and were able to use the space to its fullest. Best wishes to you and thank you for your feedback!
  • A
    Ashleigh Married on 04/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This location was absolutely beautiful! I always wanted to get married on a beach and when I saw it I knew I wanted my wedding to be there. When I checked availability 8 months ago it was completely booked up every Saturday, by switching to a Sunday we got the venue and it fit better in our budget! The day was great and the venue was perfect, I definitely recommend it for future brides. We were also lucky to have perfect weather that weekend :)
  • W
    Wayne Married on 10/21/2017
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My now daughter-in-law and son had their rehearsal dinner at The Citadel Beach House where my wife and I played host to approximately 130 people who enjoyed a live music band, games on the lawn, and an open bar followed by a delicious buffet dinner. The September weather that Friday night could not have been any better. The venue could not have been any more beautiful and the beach house staff, especially Michael, could not have been anymore courteous, accommodating and professional. Guests from as close as Sullivan's Island and as far away as Okinawa, Japan, were completely "blown away" by the whole experience, as evidenced by the repeated compliments paid all through the course of that evening, and the following day when the marriage took place in downtown Charleston. As a 1975 Citadel graduate, I took extreme pride and pleasure in showing off The Citadel Beach House that night, and those memories will remain with me for the rest of my life.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We love having our Citadel family back to celebrate with us, and we're so happy to hear your experience was an enjoyable one.
  • D
    Dianne B. Married on 12/30/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful!

    Beautiful, open Hall. Lots of windows and space for 150 guests.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Dear Dianne,
    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We enjoyed hosting your family and friends on this special day!
    All the best,
    Allison Neason
    Director for Event Management, The Citadel
  • Kristen
    Kristen Married on 09/29/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    They saved our wedding!

    We contacted The Citadel Beach Club a few days from our wedding, because our wedding at the Cottages on Charleston Harbor had been double-booked. The Resort next door booked a national touring, indie rock band at the same time as our wedding. We were destroyed, panicked and Jason (my fiance and Citadel grad) called the Beach Club immediately. They had our date available and held it for us without a contract or deposit due to our situation. It took a week to be released from the awful situation we were in and immediately moved all of our vendors, guests and ceremony to the Beach Club. We were so thrilled with our experience, we felt like we were meant to be there all along!! They even did their best to match what our previous wedding venue was charging us. They were very, very considerate. We did have to cut our cigar bar as the venue is tobacco-free and we switched to LED candles because they don't allow open flame. But these were so minimal compared to the welcome we received in such a late notice. Thank you very much, Citadel Beach Club!

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words! It was our pleasure hosting your wedding at the Beach Club, and we're so happy everything worked out for you all. Congratulations and Best Wishes!
  • K
    Kayla Married on 03/29/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Citadel Beach House was the perfect beach venue for a reception! It is spacious and beautiful on the inside and has easy access to the beach out back. Don, the caretaker, was great to work with and made sure to inform us of everything we needed to do. My wedding reception was perfect in this venue.

    The Citadel Beach Club's reply:

    Thanks, Kayla! That's wonderful to hear and we wish you and Dale the best!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message