The Carolina Inn Reviews

96 | Chapel Hill, NC
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for The Carolina Inn

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

96

10 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Melissa Auchter · Married on 01/18/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue staffed by wonderful people

    Carolina Inn is a beautiful venue. We loved having our reception there. The team of people working there are all very helpful and took care of things before I needed to ask. They were so helpful both day of and in the many days proceeding. I would also highly recommend their wedding showcase for anyone planning their wedding here. Tiffany and her team were great!!!

    Sent on 05/15/2020
  • L

    lesley hargrave · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream location!

    The most beautiful setting for a magical wedding reception!! Cannot express how pleased I am that this was the location for my daughter's wedding! From the moment you drive up you know it's special, as beautiful on the outside as in...what a place for pictures! The staff is amazing, make everyone feel special to be there. We had a private room for getting ready with the girls, and a room for family brunch the next day and every detail was exceptional and looked beautiful. Could not be any happier with the venue...and all the history and tradition, speechless!!

    Sent on 11/13/2019
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience!

    We had a wonderful experience with the Carolina Inn! Kayla was a great venue coordinator and they were able to work with us to include some unconventional traditions to help create our perfect day!

    Sent on 08/15/2019
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had the most amazing time at the Carolina Inn! To start with the front desk staff who were so helpful - Nils and his team know how to run that front desk- providing first class service. The reception with stations were truly amazing, food was delicious and the station attendants were so friendly. The bartenders did fantastic job of keeping the drinks flowing. Post wedding breakfast ran 1.5 hours over, but they never made a comment and made sure we were taken care of!!! Charmain was the best to work with- she really cares about what she is doing!!

    Sent on 04/21/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn is a dream place to get married. Charmaine and her team made amazing things happen! A southern soirée’s Gina was a god send as well! If you dream of a southern venue with amazing food and service and stunning ballrooms. Look no further!

    Sent on 11/28/2017
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception in the Old Well room, and it was perfect. We had the privilege of working with Kristen, who was knowledgeable, incredibly responsive, and really nice too! We were planning from out of town, and Kristen made the whole thing very easy. She even accommodated our requests for adding a certain beer to the bar (a favorite of the groom). The service at this hotel is incredible, and the decor is so beautiful I want to move in. Our food was amazing (we did stations, which got rave reviews from guests, and the late-night snack was a HUGE hit!). If anything went wrong, I never knew about it; the event was flawless. Thank you to Kristen and all of the amazing staff at The Carolina Inn - we had the time of our lives!

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn made my dream wedding happen! Thank you to Kristen and Tiffany especially for being so accommodating! I could never say enough good things about the Carolina Inn, it will always hold a special place in our heart!

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn has been a dream to work with for my wedding in May! My wedding consultant Kristen is always available when I call and all of my questions have been answered promptly. Every time I show up unannounced to show a family member their courtyard and ballroom that I have booked they are more than accommodating and bend over backwards to make us feel welcome and like we are the most important people. Their prices were much more reasonable than I expected them to be, but that might have to do with my wedding being on a Sunday rather than a Saturday--either way they were more than affordable.

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I used to dream of a Carolina Inn wedding, but we never dreamed of how perfect it would be. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure it was the perfect day. Heidi made our experience personal and made us feel like we were her only couple and focus at every step in the planning process. Heidi made outstanding recommendations to help us find the perfect vendors. We have heard from our guests that we "know how to plan a great party," but all the credit belongs to the Carolina Inn. They even made sure that we got to eat at the reception and had cake in our room after the wedding! Everyone (even with no connection to Carolina) should have their wedding here! We are looking forward to returning to celebrating important occasions for years to come!

    Sent on 04/18/2017
  • User4854714 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For a reception venue, I honestly cannot imagine a better place than the Old Well Room at the Carolina Inn! The room is absolutely gorgeous, and you can really make it work with any color scheme. It is a classic Southern ballroom, and the black and white floors make such an amazing back drop for dance floor photos! Our guests were blown away by the beauty of the venue. In addition, the staff at the Carolina Inn are amazing - they are so hospitable, friendly, and willing to help! Our social catering manager was Kristen, and we cannot say enough about how wonderful she is to work with! We were initially working with another staff member who left right after we booked the Carolina Inn, and Kristen stepped in for our event. She was so responsive to all my emails and phone calls, and she was willing to help us with whatever she could. From helping us to find a date that worked for my out of town parents to come for the tasting, to suggestions for the welcome bags, to advice about add-ons, to helping our day-of coordinator to make sure that everything for the reception went as planned, Kristen was there for us every step of the way. Kristen helped to make sure that we had appetizers and drinks brought to us while we were doing photos during cocktail hour, and she helped to make sure we had a few moments in the Old Well Room before the guests entered to take it all in. Seeing Kristen on our wedding day really felt like seeing a best friend! Also, the food for our reception was amazing! Our guests raved about the food and were in awe that such quality could be produced in such quantity. They also loved the dessert bar and late night snack, and the staff did a wonderful job of keeping these stations stocked. Finally, 80-90% of our guests were from out of town, and about 90% of those stayed at the Carolina Inn. All our guests loved the Inn and had such a wonderful experience during their stay. The valet, front desk, and housekeeping staff are so courteous and helpful!

    Sent on 05/10/2016
  • M

    MARY · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn is a great choice for a wedding! The ambiance is perfect with a comfortable lobby, beautiful grounds, an excellent restaurant onsite (Crossroads) and convenient location to Franklin Street. The staff at the Inn are helpful and friendly and made our stay amazing. The wedding ceremony and reception were so incredible! The Chancellors' Ballroom was beautiful and the ceremony in the Anne Hill courtyard was magical. Kristen Prescott, our event coordinator was great to work with and very helpful throughout the planning and implementing a wonderful weekend. The only issues we had were a forgotten microphone at the ceremony although it didn't seem to make that much difference and the wait staff cleared our plates too quickly and some meals were untouched. The cake was served to all guests but was also cleared too quickly and many guests didn't even taste the cake! We would definitely recommend this venue to those searching for a high class and memorable wedding!

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ever since I saw the Carolina Inn, I absolutely fell in love with it and knew I wanted to get married there. I was a little concerned about pricing, but they are very flexible and offer so many different options. It would be a mistake to overlook them if you are concerned about price. Tiffany was out designated planner, and she was so enjoyable to work with. She was on top of everything, and we met with her several times before the wedding to make sure that we understood our packages and how everything would work the day of. The Bridal Showcase that they put on is just amazing, and that is where you do your tasting. It allows you to see the stations fully set up, in-action so that you can get a feel for what they will be like at the event. We really enjoyed that. The food was amazing, and the setting couldn't have been more beautiful. They just re-did the sod in the courtyard and planted their spring flowers, so everything was blooming and perfect. The hotel staff was above and beyond to make us feel special that weekend, and like we were the only guests there. I am so glad we chose the Carolina Inn for our big day, and we wouldn't change one thing about the weekend!

    Sent on 03/28/2016
  • Aggie

    Aggie · Married on 10/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn made our wedding dreams come true, and I honestly can’t think of a better venue in North Carolina that can rival them. The Inn itself is absolutely gorgeous, and my guests loved the guestrooms and the atmosphere, especially the delicious chocolate chip cookies! My girls and I stayed and got ready in the Premier King Suite along with a connecting room, and I totally recommend doing that! It made for great pictures and we were able to relax and have plenty of space! I did a lot of research into venues across the state, and when it came down to what was offered for what price, The Carolina Inn was the best value by far. With the Inn, you know exactly what you’re getting up front and for how much as they do package pricing and only a food and beverage minimum for the different ballrooms - all of which I thought were reasonable for what we got. The wedding planners and catering manager (Melissa, Kristen, and Samantha) were great at answering my endless amount of questions and very accommodating to all my requests and last minute changes. They really work hard to make sure you get what you want for your big day. I found that everyone at the Inn, from the service staff to the managers, went out of their way to create a wonderful experience for us. The food was absolutely phenomenal. We had a station plus appetizers for cocktail hour and then a plated meal. All the guests could not stop raving about how delicious everything was and how they thought it was the best wedding they’ve been to! Picking The Carolina Inn was the best decision we made during wedding planning!

    Sent on 12/25/2015
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding ceremony and reception at the Carolina Inn, and it was absolutely the most perfect day ever. The staff there is perfectly professional, organized, and friendly. Planning was easy, and the cost stayed within the budget we discussed. There were no problems with communication or scheduling meetings, and definitely no hidden or surprise costs! On the day of the wedding, I was shocked at how calm I was, and how relaxing the entire day felt. It unfolded perfectly around me, while I sipped mimosas and got ready with my bridesmaids. I would definitely recommend reserving a king suite and getting ready there - our room was beautiful and comfortably fit my entire bridal party for hair and makeup on the day of the wedding. I worked with Samantha Mead (catering manager at the Carolina Inn) and Mackenzie Williams (a Southern Soiree), and both of these ladies are fabulous at what they do. My family and friends have had nothing but great things to say about the wedding, and I could tell everyone was having a great time. If I could do it all over again, I would choose the Carolina Inn without hesitation, and I would highly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • A

    Alison · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Carolina Inn and it was picture-perfect! The Bryan courtyard was great for our intimate wedding, and the Chancellors Ballroom was beautiful for our reception. Everything ran smoothly, the food tasted great, and Kristen P (catering manager) was extremely helpful and fast at responding to any questions we had. We love the Carolina Inn!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at the Inn earlier this month, and I'm still smiling!!!!! The Inn was the most beautiful/amazing/afforable/unique venue I've ever seen- and I've been to a million weddings!!! We had the best service from them, seriously from the valet guys, to the maids, to the restaurant, to the Catering Manager (Tiffany!) and the front desk staff, the service was absolutely top notch. Erin McClean Events was teamed up with them too for our ceremony and the coordinator was incredible- she made everything run so smoothly with Tiffany, they were the dream team, I worried about nothing!

    We had a wedding of about 100 people and the Inn was more than accommodating at every turn (even for picky guests) and did everything with a smile on their faces. I would do the whole thing again tomorrow.

    The food was so good, the set up and pictures came out incredible, the linens were affordable, the drinks were affordable, and everyone LOVED being there!!! Could not have picked a better location for our special day, and cannot wait to spend a lifetime making memories of going to spend a week on our anniversary! plus bring our kiddos back there some day! Such a landmark in Chapel Inn and well known everywhere. I live in Charlotte and didn't know much about Chapel Hill when we picked the Inn (I was living in Raleigh for work when we got engaged and found the Inn) and was floored by how wonderful it was compared to Charlotte venues, including the pricing being better! It was a no-brainer from the beginning. If you're looking to get married in Chapel Hill- this is the place to do it. If you're having 50 people, or 300 people, you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/21/2015
  • User3977382 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We will always remember and hold a special place in our heart for the Carolina Inn. It was the absolute best place for us to get married. We met and started dating after hanging out at Fridays on the Front Porch so it will always mean alot to us. All of our guests LOVED staying there too for the wedding and the venue went above and beyond making sure we had everything we needed. Working with the staff from day one was a pleasure and it could not have been a more beautiful place to get married. We were married in the Anne Hill Courtyard surrounded by the magnolia trees. We had the reception in the amazing Old Well Room with black and white checkered floor which just made our dance party even more fun! The staff bent over backwards to provide some of the best service I have ever had. I highly recommend this as your wedding venue. The staff is fantastic, the location is stunning, and your guests will love every moment of your wedding weekend!

    Sent on 07/02/2015
  • User4043127 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn is so incredible. We had our April 2015 ceremony in the Bryan Courtyard and reception in the Hill Ballroom. Heidi Werner (catering manager and so much more) was probably the single best person we came across in all of wedding planning - so wonderful and made the process so easy and smooth. The entire staff was fantastic. 10 out of 10 experience for sure!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • J

    Julia · Married on 01/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our reaction and ceremony at the Carolina Inn in the Old Well Rooms. All of our guests were floored by the beautiful ballroom! We also had multiple "this is one of the nicest, quaint, awesome hotels we've ever stayed in" comments as well. The staff Tom the front desk, servers, bartenders, valets etc etc were absolute amazing! Super accommodating and friendly all around! Most importantly...the fooood was ah-mazing! We had scallops and tenderloin! I was afraid the scallops would be overdone because of the quantity that needed to be produced but they were Perfectly delicious! We also had so many comments on the tenderloin as well. Our guests said it cut like butter!

    Sent on 01/14/2015
  • Katie-Ann

    Katie-Ann · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn was the perfect place for our reception venue. It had meaning to us as it was on the campus my husband and I attended, as well as the school where my sister is a student and where my father audited a class. It was the perfect place with its southern charm and elegance as well as a place close to our hearts!

    We worked with Kristen at the Inn who was a pleasure to work with. She knew exactly what we had in mind and worked closely with our wedding coordinator where everything on the day of the wedding went off without a hitch. She had coordinated with the kitchen on our meals including one gluten free, as well as special dishes such as shrimp and grits served in a martini glass and our dessert table where the Inn added a few special desserts we requested. We had discussed diagrams of the room and coordinated with CE Rentals for our linens and charger plates which all looked beautiful the day of the wedding.

    Kristen did an excellent job coordinating with reservations so our guests also had an exceptional experience while at the Inn. They all received their welcome bags we had provided for them and all of the guests are still talking about how beautiful their rooms were. The reservations staff accommodated my husband and I with a beautiful suite as well as upgrading my suite on our first night checking in which was so convenient in laying everything out for the big weekend ahead and took into account my request for having our guests in the "medical" wing of the Inn with our background in dentistry.

    We cannot express enough how pleased we were with the Inn for our wedding and highly recommend using them for your event in the future!

    Sent on 12/06/2014
  • K

    Kaylie · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where else would we have a Tar Heel/ Carolina themed wedding?! The Inn was such a beautiful venue, and the catering team was amazing to work with. They made sure that every detail was perfect that day. Also, they provide you with an amazing packet of vendors that they personally have worked with several times and trust, making my decision much less stress-free! Kristen was so adorable, and even after being away on maternity leave, she came back and was on top of every detail and every aspect of my wedding. Also, the food was delicious (typically wedding food is mediocre, but I still have people commenting on how amazing our Shrimp and Grits were!), and it was so nice to have every aspect of our wedding take place in the one area. It was PERFECT!

    Sent on 12/02/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony and reception was at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill, NC!
    It was a great spot in the middle of town and easy to get shuttles and cabs to and from.
    The team there was awesome and listened to every wish I had for the big day.
    I worked with catering manager, Kristen Prescott, and she was lively, energetic, and concerned with making the two of us happy no matter what!
    She explained every choice and detail that we had to make a decision on and carried it out perfectly. She also referred us to a couple of day-of planners and we decided to go with, Kailey Branham, from A Southern Soiree, and she did a phenomenal job putting every piece of our day together so I didn't have to worry!

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had 75 rooms booked for our wedding weekend, and held both the wedding and reception at the Inn. With most of our guests coming from out of town, we couldn't have found a better location. The Inn has beautiful sitting areas for people to congregate, and they did a masterful job with the wedding and reception. The food was fabulous, and the wedding coordinator was totally on top of everything. It was perfect.

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Carolina Inn staff was exceptional to work with! Our wedding day was perfect and all of our guests had a blast! We could not have asked for a more perfect day!

    Melissa Sayre was amazing and handled every detail down to changing the ceremony from outside to inside due to weather. It was such a smooth transition that our guests thought it was scheduled to be inside the entire time!

    Sent on 08/06/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with The Carolina Inn was an absolute dream! At first I hadn't even looked at this venue because I assumed it would be outside of my budget, but I am so happy that I reached out for more information. I found The Carolina Inn to be the best value of any of the venues that I looked at, and throughout the process they were so transparent with pricing and so easy to work with. Elizabeth Rubio was great to work with and helped me find ways to get everything I wanted while staying within budget. At the wedding, their staff did an absolutely incredible job of making sure that everything was flawless! All of my guests couldn't stop talking about how beautiful everything was, and how amazing their entire experience at The Carolina Inn had been. During the planning process, I had never even looked at the actual "hotel" part of The Carolina Inn, but once I saw it at the wedding, it was SO beautiful! Every step of the planning process was so wonderful, and even once we got to The Carolina Inn their staff did everything they could to meet our needs, and our guests needs. I 100% recommend The Carolina Inn and I can't think of a single even slightly negative thing to say about the entire experience.

    Sent on 06/02/2014