The Canton Barn Reviews

13 | Canton, SD
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for The Canton Barn

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

13

8 User photos

Order by:
  • Kelsi

    Kelsi Jaacks · Getting married on 10/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such an awesome experience. 10/10

    I highly recommend the Canton Barn.Kali made booking so easy. They are very friendly! Also helped me make a list of vendors I would need.

    Sent on 07/02/2019
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The MOST beautiful day

    I was drawn to The Canton Barn because of its true authenticity. I knew I wanted something real and rustic for my wedding day. The barn is over 100 years old but is not your average grandpas farm shed! Kalli and Tim have put their hearts into this building and have made it truly beautiful. Not only is the building genuine but so are Kalli and Tim. From the initial walk-through they made us feel like family. Kalli was always quick to respond to all my millions of questions and when the day came they were on-site all day ensuring that everything went just the way we wanted. Right down to Kalli getting down on her hands and knees to help me fix my dress and holding my hand before walking down the aisle so that I didn't have to be alone. My wedding day couldn't have gone any more perfectly and I hope the same for all other future couples. So choose The Canton Barn where, you don't just sign up for a beautiful venue, you also become family.

    Sent on 08/22/2019
  • Erin

    Erin Bakker · Married on 06/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an excellent experience!

    The barn is absolutely beautiful and the staff was more than wonderful and super helpful with any problems or questions we had.

    Sent on 06/26/2019
  • Andrea

    Andrea Abbenhaus · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Venue!

    Kalli and staff were very helpful throughout the planning process, the ceremony and celebration for our son and now daughter's wedding. The property is well maintained and the staff polite and accommodating. Great Venue!

    Sent on 06/10/2019
  • Crystal · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Venue come true

    You NEED to get married here!!!! This place is so magical, the employees are so helpful! I have never seen a more beautiful venue. We did minimal decorating because we did not want to take away from the barn! Their motto is "where your day is your day"- and truly they make it that way. Everything went so smoothly even with the funky weather we were having- I would do it again. Kalli and Tim along with their staff are just perfectly amazing! Love them!!

    Sent on 11/22/2018

    The Canton Barn's reply:

    Thank you ! Thank You! It was our pleasure! You were a dream to work with! Congrats again on your marriage! Blessings to you both!
  • H

    Hope · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue! Staff was awesome. Everything went exactly to plan thanks to the Canton Barn! I recommend this venue to anyone looking for a rustic, yet elegant wedding venue!

    Sent on 09/10/2018
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding day was everything I could have asked for! The staff was helpful and very friendly and they made you feel like you were a friend! If I ever had another event the Canton Barn would be my pick! Love Kalli, Melissa, and there team!

    Sent on 09/18/2018
  • Colleen

    Colleen · Married on 08/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Incredible!!!

    They made each and every step a walk in the park and took care of everything from start to finish. I was able to enjoy my day knowing that their knowledgeable and competent staff would handle everything flawlessly (not to mention the venue is BEAUTIFUL!) Thank you x50 for making my special day even more special.

    Sent on 12/06/2018

    The Canton Barn's reply:

    Thank you so much for trusting us as the venue for your big day! We appreciate you both and wish you the absolute best! Cheers to a happy couple!
  • M

    Mikaela · Married on 12/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Canton Barn was absolutely amazing! My husband and I had our wedding reception there and everything about it was perfect. The owners were so accommodating and personal with us. It is such a genuine and special place, and we felt so loved. Absolutely would recommend!

    Sent on 01/01/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our day at The Canton Barn; it couldn't have been more perfect. The space itself is already so beautiful that decorations are hardly needed-less is more-which is great for minimalist like myself. The chandeliers, lights, and wooden tables all add to the ambiance of the barn and make it cozy and homey. We felt so comfortable and at ease in the space, sitting at the head table felt like having a big family meal. I have had so many guests tell me how beautiful and unique the barn was and how much they enjoyed their time there. There are so many spaces to hang out in! If you don't feel like dancing or the music is too loud upstairs, you can sit on the covered porch, by the fire pit outside, or downstairs near the bar. Everyone had something to do, nobody was bored!

    I will also add that it's impossible not to become friends with Kalli. She will laugh with you, dream with you, and she might even cry with you as you walk down the isle! It's rare to meet the owner of any venue you choose, let alone leave your day feeling like you've made a new friend.

    I cannot recommend The Canton Barn enough for any event you may want to host in it. Kalli is true to her words when she says "your day is YOUR day," she will go out of her way to make sure you're comfortable and that your personal style is expressed. Thanks for making our day so special!

    Sent on 03/08/2018

    The Canton Barn's reply:

    Thank you so much, Katie. It was our pleasure working with you all. Many, many years of happiness to you both!
    Thank you for choosing The Canton Barn as your celebration destination!
  • K

    Kjersten · Married on 12/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn’t imagine a better place for a wedding reception. The Canton Barn is a gorgeous venue with rustic wood and meaningful details. Kali and her daughter-in-law were so wonderful to work with. Kali was easy to communicate with and always returned my calls, texts, or emails in a very timely manner. She was very receptive to our ideas and vision. Her motto was: “we will do whatever we can to make sure your day is perfect”. I didn’t work with her daughter-in-law as closely because she just managed on the day of the wedding, but from what my relatives and wedding party said, she was just as helpful and great. Kali also knows and seems to work well with a lot of additional wedding servicers like caterers and florists. All of our guests were so impressed with the venue. A note to prospective brides, dinner is usually served upstairs and caterers can’t set up upstairs due to insurance, however, we had a couple of my younger cousins act as servers and help some of our older guests bring their food from the buffet line downstairs to their seats upstairs and it worked great. The stairs are not step or many though anyways. I absolutely recommend this venue to anyone looking for a venue that is not only beautiful but also run by friendly, thoughtful people dedicated to making your day perfect.

    Sent on 01/10/2017
  • J

    Jeslyn · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better venue for our big day. It was everything I could have dreamt. The barn itself is 100 years old that was restored. The woodwork, beams, chandelier, and layout is absolutely beautiful. Our guest could not stop talking about how great this barn is. You really don’t need much for decor, which is great for a wedding budget. The best thing about this venue are the owners, Tim and Kalli. They are such wonderful people that go out of their way to make sure your day is everything that you wanted. It honestly felt like they were my aunt and uncle helping make sure things went smoothly. Kalli even allowed us ladies to come an hour early to get ready so we could have our hair and make-up done in time for the ceremony. Another great aspect of this barn is the layout. It’s two levels, upstairs is the main reception area with the bridal suite and on the main level is where the bar, small tables, bathrooms and the door to the patio. We had the ladies getting ready upstairs while the men were getting ready watching TV on the main level, which is great because men love to watch sports! :) For our guests that do not care to sit at a table all night or do not like to dance can mingle on the main floor, the patio or even out in the yard. This is great for them because they can be part of your wedding experience and still enjoy themselves vs leaving early. The kids at our wedding really enjoyed running around in the yard before the reception started and making s’mores at the fire pit. There are several great areas to have pictures taken, inside/outside. Overall, I highly recommend having your wedding at this venue. I cannot thank Kalli & Tim enough for making our special day so wonderful!

    Sent on 03/09/2018
  • J

    Jill · Married on 06/17/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter and her husband were married this past June at the Canton Barn and it was awesome! The staff was so attentive meeting our every need! They even helped us move the wedding under the patio at the last minute when it was starting to rain right before the ceremony outdoors! Within 7 minutes we had 300 guests moved under the patio and it was beautiful!! The venue is beautiful and you hardly need to decorate! The whole staff from Kal, Melissa Emily and all the bartenders were so accommodating and fun! They really live up to the motto “where your day is your day”! We couldn’t have wished for anything more! We highly recommend the Canton Barn!!!

    Sent on 12/18/2017