Skip to main content
Weddings

The Buccaneer Reviews

The Buccaneer View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
59 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
98% Recommended by couples

Awards

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

68 User photos

  • S
    Spencer S. Sent on 12/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A package all wrapped in one

    The wedding planner was professional and easy to work with. Pretty much you just pick a package and from there is is a lot of “this or that” options. This makes planning sooo much easier especially planning a wedding on an island. It takes the stress away and makes for a relaxing process. Highly recommend and they resort is very flexible and compromising.

    The Buccaneer's reply:

    Hi Spencer, planning a wedding from a distance can be stressful. We created our packages so we can do all the work and you can be at ease. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
  • A
    Amy L. Sent on 11/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding on September 6th was everything we dreamed it would be!

    The Buccaneer did an amazing job on our wedding. They handled every detail so we were just able to enjoy our special day! They were cost effective, attentive, knowledgeable, kind, and patient with us! I could go on and on! I highly recommend them!

    The Buccaneer's reply:

    Hi Amy, for you to say that we were, "cost effective, attentive, knowledgeable, kind, and patient," makes our day! We're so grateful for your feedback and your recommendation.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Mr Hodge Sent on 11/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded expectations!

    Truly exceeded expectations! Thank you for making this a dream ceremony. Carmen is awesome! She made our jobs so easy. We just needed to show up and say, "I do". Food was excellent. The staff is excellent! The scenery is unforgettable! We are already planning to come back for our anniversary.

    The Buccaneer's reply:

    Hi Mr. Hodge, thank you for the amazing review! We are happy to hear that Carmen and the Buccaneer team were able to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to seeing with us for your one-year wedding anniversary.
  • Brittany
    Brittany E. Sent on 06/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Erin was phenomenal!

    My husband and I just got married at The Buccaneer on April 19, 2021 and it was THE BEST day of our lives! To say that Erin, our wedding planner, was phenomenal is an understatement. While planning a destination wedding can be a little nerve wracking, working with Erin made everything so easy and put us at ease. She helped take the stress away of planning the wedding and the stress of the actual wedding day away since we knew she was on top of it all. She was responsive, organized, professional and so sweet to work with. Because of Erin, our time at the Buccaneer and the day of our wedding was flawless and ran so smoothly. I am a perfectionist and type A person so letting someone else help can be hard, but let me tell you, Erin surpassed all expectations and we HIGHLY recommend her! St. Croix and The Buccaneer will always hold a special place in our hearts and we can’t thank Erin enough for all that she did for us! Xoxo
    And our AMAZING photos were taken by Nicole Canegata! (Another rave review!)
  • C
    Cynthia P. Sent on 05/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding at the Buccaneer

    Our wedding experience was lovely! The Buccaneer staff made the experience seamless. The staff was extremely attentive, friendly and responsive.
  • K
    Kate G. Sent on 02/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Buccaneer: The Perfect Location for a Dreamy, Beachy Wedding!

    Choosing this special Caribbean gem as our wedding venue was such a perfect choice for my husband and I! My family had vacationed at The Buccaneer on St. Croix several times before I chose to get married there so I already knew about the exceptional beauty of the property and the amazing customer service that we would experience when we had our wedding there. Erin was our wedding coordinator and she was AMAZING! Erin was warm, kind, and extremely helpful to us throughout the entire planning process. She payed close attention to every detail and was very thorough. She certainly made sure that we did not forget anything and was always available to speak to us when we needed help. If I could do it all over again, I would choose The Buccaneer as our venue again in a heartbeat. Every part of our wedding was better than we imagined and our guests had a wonderful time. There are not enough positive things that I can say about The Buccaneer and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a classy, elegant, and beautiful island wedding!
  • M
    Monica C. Sent on 05/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding!!

    The Buccaneer is a special place--beautiful, peaceful and serene yet fun and exciting too. We are so happy we had our private wedding there! Laura, our wedding planner, made the day magical and stress free. A big thank you to all who played a role in our dream wedding. We highly recommend the Buccaneer for a destination wedding!
  • Leslie
    Leslie Sent on 06/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful place!

    My husband and I recently eloped at The Buccaneer and it was a dream come true. It is a beautiful place to stay and very accommodating!

    The Buccaneer's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Leslie! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your dream island wedding with us in beautiful St Croix! We hope you visit us again in the future.
    -Erin
  • Victoria
    Victoria Sent on 09/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love Love Love

    We absolutely loved our wedding at the Buccaneer. The Buccaneer team (shout out to Erin) helped us plan a multi-event weekend for over 50 guests that was everything we hoped for and more. From the beachside rehearsal dinner to our beautiful (and super fun reception) everyone had an absolute blast.
    The Buccaneer also had so many great and fun options for music throughout the weekend- we had a steel drummer for our rehearsal named Kevin Williams and Gyasi sang at our cocktail hour - both were huge favorites. We had a DJ for the reception (KDM) and they really got the party going!

    The food was absolutely delicious (appetizers especially got rave reviews) which isn’t really the norm for wedding food so we were really happy! The Buccaneer also did a beautiful job on the cake.

    Our photographer Kelly Greer was incredible and really went above and beyond - her photos are gorgeous. Our videographer MJS visions has also been really great to work with.
    The flowers (by Gloria from Antilles Lillies) were absolutely stunning. For hair we used the Color Bar (Samantha was awesome) and we used Makeup by Mia who did a really great job (she also did airbrush and fake lashes for those who wanted it).

    We had our ceremony at the Catholic Church in downtown Christiansted which could have been complicated but the Buccaneer team worked with our day of coordinator Corinne Farinola (also recommend hiring Corinne if you’re planning an off resort ceremony) to ensure everything went smoothly. We even successfully got a boat to shuttle everyone back to the resort after the ceremony! (Caribbean Sea adventures)

    I know it sounds everything is awesome in this review but it’s because we really did love all of the vendors we worked with and can’t recommend getting married at the Buccaneer highly enough. We can’t wait to go back for our anniversaries!
  • S
    Savannah M. Sent on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    July St.Croix Wedding

    Completely low stress wedding trip! I 100% recommend I made a few decisions on colors flavors etc. but otherwise they took care of everything it turned out better than I imagined it was going to. Every kept asking if I was stressed leading up to it and not at all! Price listed is for just wedding
  • C
    Christina H. Sent on 09/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Experience

    We had our wedding at The Buccaneer with 36 friends and family all staying there. The whole experience was amazing. Laura, our wedding coordinator, did a fantastic job and helped coordinate every detail for the whole year in planning the wedding.

    Laura, thank you so much for everything that you did to make our special day perfect. Coordinating all of this from across the world is no easy task! We had truly wonderful time and are more than pleased that we chose the Buccaneer for our wedding destination.
  • S
    Shavon A. Sent on 06/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mr & Mrs Andrews Destination Wedding

    What a beautiful wedding we had at the Buccaneer Resort! The staff was exceptional and friendly! Our wedding coordinator Laura was outstanding and accommodated us after our first venue was shutdown due to the hurricanes! We are extremely grateful and thankful to have gotten married in beautiful St. Croix on Mermaid Beach!

    Thank you to the Buccaneer Family for hosting our special day and sharing in our love story! We will be back! Our oceanfront room was beautiful! Thank you for all the wonderful Buccaneer wedding gifts! We created memories together that will last a lifetime!
  • Larry
    Larry Sent on 06/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding! Perfect Location!

    My wife and I got married on Whistle Beach at The Buccaneer in May 2019. It exceeded our expectations. From planning the wedding to the honeymoon, we could not have picked a better place. Laura helped us all the way. She was gracious, organized, and patient. We could not have pulled it off without you. I can't say enough about The Buccaneer. We enjoyed the beaches, the food, and the staff immensely. Kelly Greer was our photographer and did an amazing job. The dinner at the Sugar Mill was cozy and nice. We loved every minute of it. Highly recommend The Buccaneer for your wedding and honeymoon. We are already planning an anniversary in St. Croix and at The Buccaneer.
  • T
    Tracey Sent on 06/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical place to get married with spectacular service!

    I would highly recommend this venue to anyone wishing to have an amazing destination wedding. From the moment we stepped in the door at the Buckineer we were treated like we were special. We eloped so it was just the two of us but the way we were pampered and treated made us feel like we had a large wedding. Laura, our wedding coordinator was more than I could have asked for. We booked our trip months in advance and she was in contact from the very beginning, emailing all the information I needed and always responding promptly. She walked us through the wedding license process and made sure we did everything we needed to do to have a stress free week! She even went to the courthouse when our official marriage license was lost in the mail and she picked up another one for us and rush delivered it. Just amazing service!

    You also can't beat the views, spectacular clear blue waters, and calm beaches. The hilltop view is breathtaking! Our pictures from our wedding are amazing. I would highly recommend the resort and we plan on returning often.
  • Courtney
    Courtney H. Sent on 06/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was perfect... We felt as if we were being married in a fairy tale.

    Just WOW! Everything went perfectly! It was just the two of us, and we wanted something very private. We're high school sweethearts, and have been together for almost 9 years. I'd talked to Erin (our wedding planner from The Buccaneer) for a few months before the wedding. Anything we wanted to change, was a possibility! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful in making our special day exactly what we wanted. My hair and makeup were both done in our room a few hours before the wedding. We both felt like we were being treated like royalty and at the same time we felt as if we'd known Erin for multiple years, as she is extremely friendly and kind. We were married on Mermaid Beach (you also have the option to get married at the sugar mill which is also located on their property) and the view was like something from a fairy tale! The ceremony was exactly how we'd pictured it, and we couldn't have asked for anything more perfect for us. We cut our cake and had a champagne toast right on the beach! After the ceremony, we ate dinner at The Terrace where they had a table all set up for us with fresh flowers and simple, yet tasteful table decor. Dinner was delicious (everything at The Terrace was amazing!) and they had our wedding cake sent up from the beach to the restaurant for us to enjoy after dinner. Overall, it was the most PERFECT day of our lives and we wouldn't change a thing. We selected an elopement package, which included multiple upgrades and everything needed for the wedding ceremony.
  • Sharon
    Sharon B. Sent on 01/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Week

    We had a wonderful wedding with professional staff. All our needs were taken care of with no worries. The food, the room, the beaches, and the night life were fantastic. We couldn't ask for more! We are returning for another stay this year.!!! We also loved meeting the owner and can't wait for another week of paradise!!!
  • M
    Molly Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From day one, The Buccaneer has been fantastic to work with. We got married on November 18, 2017 at Mermaid Beach after the Island had gone through a terrible hurricane season - but you wouldn’t have even been able to tell when you were at the resort. Everything was beautiful! Erin, our coordinator, was fantastic at booking all our vendors, setting up a beautiful ceremony and reception, and taking care of all of our guests and our needs. I truly couldn’t have asked for a more perfect wedding. The packages they offer are at a great value for what you receive - food, cake, floral, etc. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this establishment and the employees. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn’t change a thing!
  • N
    Nichole Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a beautiful, perfect wedding! It was like a fairy tale come true! All our guest were so amazed by the beauty of our destination, The Buccaneer, it was the best!
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 07/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Buccaneer provided such a stressfree wonderful wedding! From the amazing wedding planner who works with you to create your dream, to the beach and decorations at your ceremony, along with the guest brunch the following day to keep the celebration going- everything was more perfect than I could have imagined! The resort is incredible and the staff is friendly. I would do it all over again with them!
  • M
    Maria Sent on 12/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin was amazing! All details were taken care of and she made our wedding truly stress free!
  • R
    Rachelle Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the best wedding EVER at The Buccaneer! Everyone was wonderful and all of our guests said they enjoyed themselves and loved the resort. We cannot wait to come back. Erin and the whole staff were amazing.
  • A
    Alexcia Sent on 04/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I couldn't recommend The Buccaneer enough to anyone looking to get married in St. Croix. Josefa and Erin were absolutely AMAZING in helping us plan our perfect wedding week. Josefa was so helpful and willing to answer any and all of my questions through the entire process of planning the wedding. She made great suggestions and was always willing to work with the ideas that I had. I felt so comfortable and confident in trusting her to handle our wedding. The entire staff at the Buccaneer was great too. They were so kind and helpful to us and all of our family members! We can't thank the staff at the Buccaneer enough for helping create the wedding of our dreams!!!
  • R
    Elizabeth Sent on 01/17/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin and all the staff at the Buccaneer that took part in our wedding day made it so special and unforgettable. Erin guided us so well through 10 months of planning prior to our wedding day and alleviated a lot of stress. You couldn’t ask for a more incredible location with the best choices available on all aspects of the wedding day. Our photographer Lindsay was incredible and took magnificent pictures. Louise, our officiant also made us feel like she knew us forever. Gail, who was brought on site to do my hair, as well as, the other ladies in the wedding party and guests, did such an amazing job and was so nice, putting me at ease right away.
    Music contributions by Steven Katz and Bill Bass added so much to our ceremony and cocktail hour which made our day even more memorable. The food was delicious and the flowers, decorations and setting made my vision and dream come true. We can’t thank Erin and The Buccaneer enough for making it the best day ever!
  • Christy
    Christy Sent on 05/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our fairytale wedding

    Let me start off by saying this place is paradise! We choose this resort based off all the great reviews I read. I did a lot of researching. I began in August 2018 planning our wedding with the resort coordinator Erin and let me just tell you that she is more than amazing. From our very first conversation she made me feel at ease and confident that she would plan our day. I'm the type person who always has questions and she was always there to answer them very quickly and always friendly. She made our wedding day perfect. I had my hair and makeup done, which Erin sets up, and the ladies came right to our room. Literally you do not have to plan a thing. She does everything for you. We got married on Whistle beach which is a secluded/private beach. It was right around the corner from our honeymoon suite. It was just the two of us so it was very private and romantic. Erin picks you up in the resort van from your room and drives you to the beach where everything is set up and just beautiful! We had a photographer take our pictures and let me say that Kelly Greer was amazing at capturing our special moments as we became husband and wife! We spent 7 days at the resort. Arrived on a Sunday and got married on Wednesday. The entire week was paradise. The staff is wonderful and accommodating. Anything we needed it was there quickly. The front desk staff was amazing as well as the concierge desk. Nadia, Joel, and Julisa were just wonderful. Everyone was but I just don't have everyone's name. The resort is clean and the food is delicious and the drinks were awesome. Every morning you get to eat up at the Terrace for breakfast. They have a full breakfast bar with anything you could ever want and that is included in the package an no additional charge. There was a gentleman there every morning to great us, welcoming us, he was so pleasant. We looked forward to seeing him every morning. If you are planning a trip to St. Croix and want a fabulous place to stay I highly recommend the Buccaneer. If you are planning to get married while there I highly recommend you contact Erin. You will not regret it!! I can't thank Erin or the Buccaneer Staff enough for everything. They made our wedding day a fairytale! This place will always hold a special place in heart. We are already planning on returning for our 1st Anniversary and many more visits to come!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message