Skip to main content
Weddings

The Blacksmith Shop Reviews

The Blacksmith Shop View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 16

11 User photos

  • Brendalyn
    Brendalyn B. Married on 07/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Brendalyn Bailey (Matron of Honor) - The Hillman Wedding


    I (Ms. Brendalyn Bailey) could not have asked for a more elegant experience for my sister’s wedding.
    The “Hillman” wedding (Mr. Izell B. Hillman and Ms. Beverly M. Bailey) was beautiful and fun. The rustic background of the “Blacksmith” downtown Macon facility was the impetus that gave this event its extraordinary appeal. Were the summer heat of the day, “we initially thought would be a problem”, the facility of the Blacksmith more than compensated by keeping everyone “COOL” and comfortable.
    Christopher Marcs Designs (Mr. Graddick) was the planner and designer of the ceremony. Mr. Graddick arranged the rehearsal for the wedding party, kept the commencements moving in an orderly fashion, and continually made sure that all members of the event had everything they needed during and after the ceremony. I salute his professionalism, as well as, his dedication to our family. A big “thank you”. Each family was able to be assigned a particular table. Mr. Graddick was able to check everyone into the main area while keeping the precessions secure. For my family, security was a principle concern. The Blacksmith’s gated facility definitely helped to keep the family safe as well as the small children that also attended.
    Michael Davis – (Personal Chef) SDR Personal Chef prepared the food for this event. Everything was delicious, hot and ready from the oven. I think it looked just as beautiful as it tasted. Mr. Davis was especially pleased with the commercial grade kitchen of the Blacksmith. There were many free surfaces available for food prep in addition to a large display area for the finish entrees, 2 convection ovens, 3 conventional ovens and multiple burners. “This made cooking a true delight”, said Mr. Davis.
    The band had its own area in front of the main entrance that was easily viewed by all guest. And the high ceilings of the Blacksmith provided the acoustics in the room that made the music rise and fall from the ceiling to the wall. The sound carried smoothly from room to room over the PA systems. Music was done by the natives of Macon:
    • Aj the DJ
    • Mr. Dean Brown
    • Mr. Harold Thomas
    We thank these artists for their collective contributions to this great day.
    The bridal suite and Groom’s man suite were centrally located in a perfect positon that allowed the wedding participants to have a private area away from guests. Both areas were separate and we could walk around without getting into each other’s way.
    I do encourage and highly recommend this venue “The Blacksmith” for weddings, parties, and any large gathering where attention to detail, infusion of culture where life time memories are made. The size of the space, lights that come on at night in the court yard, the bridal suite, prep space in the commercial kitchen, guest restrooms, Bar service area, and the gated exterior were just a few reasons I recommend this location in Downtown Macon.
    Mr. Alvin Bailey (father of the Bride) states: “It was the nicest event” .. I feel like the most blessed man in the world. This completes the things that I have most wanted for my life and my children. A few things that made this event extra special for me was: the fact that it was inside of the city of Macon. I didn’t need to travel miles to get this event completed, and there was enough room for everyone to be comfortable – and they really treated us nice.

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Brendalyn,
    WOW! Thank you for all of your kind words about The Blacksmith Shop. It really was a great team of vendors and I so enjoyed working with Beverly during all of the planning leading up to the wedding. Thank you again for your review.
  • J
    Jenni Married on 12/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Blacksmith Shop is a beautiful, unique venue and it was a wonderful place to host our December 30th, 2017 wedding reception for our daughter and new son-in-law. Aubrey was so easy to work with and very responsive to questions. The kitchen is spacious for the catering team and the working pizza oven was a wonderful treat for our guests. We also used the brides room for our girls to get ready and then traveled by trolley to the wedding chapel. Everything was beautiful! I would highly recommend the Blacksmith Shop.
  • J
    Jordie Married on 01/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow is all I can say about this venue. From the first time I walked in to walking out on my wedding night everything was so perfect! Aubrey was an absolute joy to work with. He was very accommodating and worked with my vision for the reception. The venue by itself is GORGEOUS and classic. I would recommend this venue to everyone!! We had around 225 people for a buffet style meal and there was plenty of room. You will not be disappointed.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • D
    Devon Married on 04/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Blacksmith Shop is such a pretty, unique venue. It is a very warm space, made up of all brick, with exposed wooden beams. The bar is stocked with glasses, and all of the tables and chairs come with the space. Linens are separate but Aubrey is a great resource in connecting you with a vendor for rentals. We had a wedding with about 200 guests, and the venue felt full without feeling cramped at all. The space is so pretty that you really don't need a ton of decor, and because I have really simple, minimalist taste, it was perfect!

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Thank you so much Devon for your kind words. It was a pleasure to work with you during this exciting time.
  • User2574878 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We found the Blacksmith Shop looking online for venues around Macon the day after we got engaged, and we instantly loved it. Aubrey was incredibly flexible and easy to work with - especially as our wedding fell during the Cherry Blossom Festival. He worked with nearby events to ensure that our wedding wouldn't be interrupted by noises, etc. After it rained the day prior to the wedding, he was out the morning of blowing out all of the water from the patio where we were having the ceremony. He was helpful with set up, and worked with our other vendors with ease. Everything turned out beautifully. The outdoor ceremony was perfect, and the reception was set up wonderfully to where everyone could mingle easily with room for the jazz band and dancing. I would highly recommend working with the Blacksmith Shop for any event - it is a gorgeous venue with a very talented staff.

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Blacksmith Shop. It is wonderful to see months of planning and coordination come together.
  • C
    Chris Married on 11/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    With no ties to Macon, it was our search for a fully accessible Wedding venue for our daughter who uses a wheelchair that originally led us to The Blacksmith Shop. And while accessibility was the one thing we couldn't compromise on we kept expanding our search from Atlanta hoping to find the perfect combination of beauty, charm, character AND accessibility. The Blacksmith Shop turned out to be all that and so much more! A beautiful venue, with a tree lined courtyard perfect for an outdoor ceremony, it also has a great indoor reception area with a huge kitchen, an elegant, all wood, wrap-around bar and room to host a ceremony if bad weather forces you inside. The exposed brick and wooden beams compliment any style and the lighted arbor surrounding the French doors made the perfect backdrop for my daughter’s Wedding. Rounding out the amenities is a fully accessible two room Bridal Suite large enough to have hair and makeup for the entire Bridal party done on site.

    Another tremendous benefit to using The Blacksmith Shop is you get complete access for the entire day making it perfect for set-up and pre-ceremony pictures. And, working with Aubrey was a dream! With a wealth of information and ideas on how to get the best out of the venue while keeping your wants and needs in mind, Aubrey was also incredibly helpful brainstorming ways to arrange tables and chairs to both accommodate all our guests (we were at capacity!) and be sure our daughter was able to move effortlessly throughout the night both while mingling with guests and on the dance floor. He’s open to all suggestions and really goes out of his way to be sure you’re able to have the Wedding of your dreams in this dream venue.

    Sorry this review is so long but I wanted to share as much information as possible for anyone looking for a venue from out of town and/or for anyone who may also need wheelchair accessibility. I hope I’ve been able to do justice to just how perfect TBS is in every way!
  • L
    Leanna Married on 11/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Honestly, why hasn't everyone gotten married here?! It's absolutely perfect and truly a beautiful place! I love how it's a little hidden gem and it surprised everyone once they stepped inside at how perfect it was! Could not be a better wedding venue!!
  • K
    Kris Married on 11/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were fortunate enough to have our reception at The Blacksmith Shop in downtown Macon. This venue was perfect for us. The exposed brick walls and wooden beams show the true character of the building.

    Unfortunately, we were not able to fully utilize the courtyard area because of the cold temperatures but the entrance way was beautiful all lit up that night.

    Another plus for the space is that there is a separate room with french doors where we had the food set up. The caterers loved the space because they were able to set up and break down without our guests being aware of what was going on. Also, at the end of the night as our number of guests started shrinking, we were able to close off back sections of the space to make the dance floor and front area fuller.

    The managers of this property were more than great to work with. They know what they are doing and provide a top quality event venue that made our day perfect.
  • M
    Mallory Married on 08/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Blacksmith Shop was such a wonderful place to have the reception for our wedding. It was absolutely beautiful, and needed little decoration. We had over 300 guests, and were still able to accommodate everyone - although it was a little hot, due to the Georgia summer heat. I wish I could relive the entire day - it was so much fun.
  • J
    Jackie Married on 07/05/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Blacksmith Shop earlier this month. I knew this venue was the one the moment we visited. The space is so beautiful, it can speak for itself without decorations. I loved the exposed brick, high wooden beams, skylights in the ceremony room, the restaurant and bar areas, and of course the picturesque courtyard in the front. I liked the flexibility of having the ceremony either indoors or outdoors. The manager is so nice and accommodating. The long rental period for the wedding day was another selling factor. I highly recommend this venue space!
  • S
    Sheila Married on 06/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I knew from the moment I saw The Blacksmith Shop my daughter had to have her wedding reception here!!! It is like a unique secret garden in downtown Macon. Aubrey is a true professional with an eye for perfection. Loved working with him and helping make my daughter's wedding dreams come true. Will definitely recommend to friends. Sheila

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Thanks so much for your kind words, The Blacksmith Shop is always honored to serve wonderful clients such as yourself who have had the opportunity to witness firsthand through numerous special occasions the quality and level of service we provide . Aubrey
  • S
    Stephen Married on 10/06/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    With all the things that go into planning a wedding the Blacksmith has the most to offer. The outside area is a beautiful setting for any event and if weather is a factor there is more than enough space inside to split up the different parts of the event. With a full kitchen, huge bar area, table and chairs included. Its a complete package.. we shopped and compared and if you are looking for a top of the line place to hold any event the Blacksmith Shop is the place others in the area compare themselves too..

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Stephen, thanks for your review, we appreciate very much the fact that you shopped and found exceptional value and quality in the services we offer. Aubrey
  • A
    Angela Married on 07/28/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Blacksmith Shop is an absolutely beautiful Venue. On July 28, 2012, I said "I do" to the man of my dreams and I couldn't have chosen a better place to make my special day so beautiful and fun. The venue was not only beautiful but spacious as well. I recommend the Blacksmith Shop to anyone looking for a beautiful set up for a wedding or any other special gathering.

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Angie, Thanks so much for your review of The Blacksmith Shop, we always love hearing from our brides. Its always fun getting to work hands on with clients throughout the entire process and help bring all of their visions to reality.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 12/02/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so happy we chose the Blacksmith shop! Aubrey is so easy to work with, it was never a problem or time conflict if we wanted to look inside the venue. After looking around Georgia, this is one of the best priced venues and quite honestly the prettiest! They allow you to use any vendors of your choosing and to use the venue all day of your wedding!!
  • User1350157 2+ years ago
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Blacksmith Shop is very unique from most locations in Middle Georgia - a beautiful outdoor courtyard and spacious indoor setting all in downtown Macon.

    The staff was a pleasure to work with - both in the planning stages and the weekend of, and offered valuable advice for set-up ideas to maximize the space. Tables and chairs were included in our rental, saving us time and money. Our wedding ceremony was held about 15 minutes from TBS, so it was an easy location for our guests to find with plenty of convenient parking/accessibility.

    The Blacksmith Shop's reply:

    Thanks for your review, at The Blacksmith Shop we always strive very hard to work with our clients and direct them to the very best professionals in the business who can meet their needs. We enjoyed very much working with you on that great July wedding full of sweets and a wonderful family. Thanks again!
  • H
    Hetvi P. Married on 12/08/2019
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    I had my wedding and reception events here. And I along with my family and guests enjoyed the aesthetics of the place. The outdoor courtyard was wonderful to use for our ceremony and at night it lights up so beautifully ( makes for wonderful photo background). The trees and lighting and fountain made the outdoor area very pretty. They were very easy to work with throughout the process and would answer any questions we had.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message