Skip to main content
Weddings

The Black Diamond Lodge Reviews

The Black Diamond Lodge

The Black Diamond Lodge

Durango, CO
5.0 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

13

9 User photos

  • Christina
    Christina H. Married on 02/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent all in one wedding event location

    The Black Diamond Lodge is an amazing venue for anyone thinking about doing a Colorado wedding. I loved that the ceremony, reception, and lodging were all in one location so I didn't have to worry about transportation. this also allowed me and the guest the time flexibility to get anything done that they wanted. It's only about a 30 minute drive into town to get anything that you may have forgot or to pickup/have delivered anything that you want/need for your perfect wedding. The team at the Black Diamond Lodge were extremely flexible and I ended up changing my ceremony location the day of because I wanted a perfect view of the mountains. There are plenty of amenities for all of your guest to keep them busy and brand new beds a/o 2022 to ensure that everyone sleeps comfortably. It was the absolutely perfect location of the mini wedding that we wanted and exceeded all of our expectation.
  • Shelbie
    Shelbie H. Married on 11/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    The Black Diamond Lodge team was the most amazing team we could’ve asked for from their assistance to finding everything to their details and making it happen the day of. Not only was the team amazing but the location is breathtaking and perfect as well! I would recommend this place to everyone and anyone! You’ll get everything you dreamt of and more!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Married on 10/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue for the semi-DIY couple!

    The Silverpick Lodge was the PERFECT venue for a weekend wedding. Chris, Neal, and the rest of the staff are incredibly skilled at what they do. We were able to do as much as we wanted to ourselves and they assisted when necessary. The lodge and meadow are absolutely gorgeous and nearly everyone attending the wedding was able to stay on site or nearby at Purgatory Resort. We had our reception dinner at The Sow’s Ear and the food was amazing. If you’re looking for a truly incomparable experience for your wedding definitely check out the Silverpick. We can’t wait to come back for our anniversary!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Amie
    Amie Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough good things about the Silverpick Lodge. This was the perfect situation for our wedding. My husband and I live in Colorado but none of our wedding guests did. We were able to have all guests sleep on the property between the lodge and the condos for rent. Chris, the owner is so accommodating. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms and the whole facility were very clean. The game room was so convenient for all the kids who were there. The hot tubs were hit among everyone! We used the Columbine room for our "welcome dinner" on Friday night and Sunday Brunch. It was also a great place for late night hang outs. The fire pit is right outside of the Columbine room so makes for great indoor/outdoor hanging out. We chose to have our reception in the Sow's Ear Restaurant. The food was excellent! We chose to do something fun and different: Taco bar, slider bar (chicken, beef and pork) and a baked potato bar as well as a salad station. George (head chef and owner) was extremely accommodating with all of our requests. Excellent appetizers consisted of mini beef wellingtons, shrimp cocktail,bruschetta, mini caprese, and fruit trays! Everything looked and tasted amazing. The restaurant staff was so friendly especially our bartender! I would HIGHLY recommend paying the extra fee to use the meadow and have your ceremony out there. It is extremely beautiful! The lodge has TONS of bookshelves with all sorts of cool books and years worth of old National Geographic magazines. The breakfast room has both a record and cassette player with all sorts of good music! That was a breakfast hit!
  • A
    A Married on 06/18/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My fiancé (now husband) and I stumbled across the Silverpick Lodge in May of 2015: it was recommended by an acquaintance as a good spot for a wedding. We toured the place and loved that all of our friends could stay in the lodge for the whole weekend (so we could spend time with people outside the few hours the reception was). There was a place to host breakfast and another place to host a welcome dinner, hot tubs, a sauna, the rooms were nice, and everyone could check in and pay whatever price we set. And there was a great restaurant there that would do our reception!

    Everything we'd hoped for worked out: our friends had a blast, Chris (the owner/manager) was great to work with, the reception in the restaurant was great, and there was even a stunning location available for our ceremony, a meadow up the road (though it's not always available), and chair setup came with our lodge rental. Family and those with children rented condos, and everyone who attended was able to stay there and enjoy themselves. I highly recommend Silverpick for having a destination wedding: if I had to do it over again, there's not a single thing I'd change.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 10/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the most amazing wedding at Silverpick. We've stayed at Silverpick in the condos several times and fell in love with the site. What sealed the deal for us on choosing this location for our special day was Chris. He took the time to show us around and genuinely cared about our needs. George, the cook at Sow's Ear was great too. We had food catered down and it received many, many compliments. I can not say enough good things about this venue. If you want to have a beautiful and peaceful event this is the place. We will be going back and will have our beautiful memories to treasure always.
  • User1371997 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Innkeeper provided invaluable service and advice to our party. What a setting! As if a wizard conjured up a fantasy. Beauty on an unprecedented scale: nature's gift to us. When the Alpenglow set the evening sky alight with roses, we felt as if Heaven had come to earth. I can't think of a better place.
  • User1334786 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chris at the Silverpick Lodge is amazing. We had the wedding party staying at the lodge Wednesday - Sunday and couldn't have been happier with the quality of the rooms and the service. We held the BBQ in the Columbine Room on Thursday night which had plenty of space for our 90 guests to eat, mingle, watch football, play ping pong, and hang out. The ceremony site is absolutely beautiful and Chris will basically let you do whatever you want as long you clean up after yourselves.

    I couldn't have picked a better place to hold our Mountain Wedding.
  • J
    Jarod Married on 08/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want an incredible location & room for everyone this IS the place!! Chris Wing was absolutely awesome, the rooms incredible. My partner & I felt completely at home. Try to find a venue with everything for the price....YOU CAN'T!!! Bring your Minister, your coordinator & your caterer(If you have one)and your set. All the tables, chairs, dishes, dance floor etc are included. You really can't go wrong here!!!
  • User1370443 Event on: 07/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great venue, only negative comment, could have been cleaner!
  • V
    Valerie Married on 10/08/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Silverpick is a fabulous venue for a wedding!! The grounds and the lodge are beautiful, especially in the fall when the aspens and oaks are changing colors. We were from out of town and we and our guests were able to stay at the lodge (or the nearby condos) for the entire weekend; which very convienent and makes it a festive weekend with family and friends. The rooms at the Silverpick are very nice. The Sow's Ear restaurant, which is located inside the Silverpick, is terrific, wonderful food! Our wedding reception was so nice! Make sure you reserve the entire lodge and the restaraunt for your wedding, you will not be disappointed--prices are reasonable. Chris and George are the best and easy to work with, they made sure that everything was perfect for our special day. :)
  • Daria
    Daria T. Married on 12/01/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect destination wedding!

    The Black Diamond Lodge made all our dreams came true! We have always wanted a beautiful, but simple winter destination wedding with the ceremony outside, in the snow, but...it turned out even better and even more magical. What a perfect place (and amazing stuff) to held a fairytale wedding!
  • S
    Sue Married on 09/23/2021
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very professional

    We had a rehearsal dinner when the business was in transition from the previous owners. The new staff handled the situation seamlessly.