Skip to main content
Weddings

The Benson Hotel Reviews

The Benson Hotel View more information

24 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 24
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

2 User photos

  • Isaiah
    Isaiah S. Married on 06/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Classy Hotel

    For our wedding we chose to stay at the Benson after touring multiple establishments, what made the Benson stand out was the Presidential suite, amazing staircase, and the friendly customer service. The suite offered spacious rooms that accommodated our wedding party getting hair/makeup done and they were timely with any requests we had. After we were ready for the wedding we got to do an intimate photo shoot and the staff made us feel very special. I highly recommend staying here!!
  • C
    Claire Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue!

    We had our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all at the Benson and everything was exactly what we imagined. All of the venues are lovely for photos and don’t need much in the way of decorating, the food was delicious and even our gourmet friends really enjoyed it, And Stephanie was there every step of the way to make sure everything was going according to plan. We had the wedding of our dreams!

    The Benson Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much Claire for your kind words and letting The Benson be apart of your special day. It was a pleasure working with you both! I wish you two all the best!

    -Stephanie
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Julie
    Julie P. Married on 07/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Wedding!

    Fantastic Wedding at the Benson Hotel! They took care of every need and made a destination wedding a cinch to plan. Thank you Benson hotel & staff.

    The Benson Hotel's reply:

    Thank you Julie and congratulations again! It was so nice working with you all!

    All the best,
    Stephanie
  • K
    Karli Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Benson Hotel did everything right for our wedding! My husband and I got married August 4 2018 and the staff at the Benson hotel made it easy and stress free for us. We had constant communication with their event/wedding coordinate starting 1 year before our wedding, all the way through the day of. The venue's accommodations were excellent, they even gave us our own personal server during our reception :) Also, the food was amazing! This one was a big deal and we were worried that with larger groups it would be hard to make the food taste great, but it was just like our tasting. Would highly recommend the Benson hotel for their great service.
  • E
    Elaine Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at the Benson was wonderful! The Crystal Ballroom is so elegant and the Mayfair Ballroom is a great place to party. All of our guests gave compliments on the food after the wedding. Janet was so helpful in the planning process and was there most of the evening to make sure our timing stayed on point. We really liked how many things were included in the pricing, it was such a great value. To top it all off we got a free suite in the hotel which was nice to end the evening by just taking the elevator upstairs!
  • I
    Ian Married on 09/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My now-wife and I used The Benson as the site for our ceremony and reception. It was an incredible experience and one we will remember for the rest of our lives. We worked with Janet Kearney and she was the absolute best. Janet was always willing to give us the time and attention we needed, and helped make that day as special as we had dreamed. We would highly recommend using this location for your wedding, along with using Janet in particular for a wonderful experience.
  • JessieLensherr
    Jessie Married on 09/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    So many amazing things to say about the Benson Hotel! Janet Kearney, the catering manager and our point of contact was spectacular! She helped us with everything and was so kind and knowledgable. This hotel will always hold a special place in both of our hearts. Janet gave us the most sublime wedding we could have imagined! If you are looking for an elegant, classy, and vintage hotel for your wedding you should absolutely check out the Benson. Our suite after the wedding was also so lovely! Many guests told us this was the best wedding they have been to. Thank you Benson!
  • M
    Maryam Married on 09/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently held my wedding at The Benson Hotel and it was absolutely incredible, in large part due to the amazing staff, and in particular their event coordinator Janet. If I had to do it all again, I would pick them in a heartbeat.

    My husband and I initially looked at the Benson based on the recommendation of a guest at another wedding held there. We went to see the space and the Ballroom is absolutely stunning! The lobby is also particularly beautiful, as is the lower floor London Grille where we had a short cocktail hour. Perfect for photo taking!

    I had extremely high expectations for the food, and the Benson went above and beyond. I wanted to do a family style service, and although that is not normally done at the Benson they accommodated my request without any hesitation. Both my husband and I could be called "foodies", and many guests were expecting us to have delicious food served at our wedding, and the Benson met all of our expectations and then some!

    Service wise, the Benson was a stand out. All of the staff that helped us at the wedding were extremely helpful, and so friendly. This ranges from the staff at the front desk, those who put together our A/V equipment, to those serving food, to the bartenders (who kept the guests very entertained!). Above and beyond all of this was Janet who is the Director of Catering, assisted in all of the run up to the wedding, and served as a day-of coordinator. She is exceptional at what she does, and made everything come together seamlessly for us (or so it appeared, making our day so carefree and such a joy). I can not thank her enough for her exceptional service.

    I loved having our event at the Benson, as did all of our guests, and would recommend them without any reservations.
  • A
    Angela Married on 06/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Janet Kearny and the Benson Hotel did an incredible job making our wedding come to life. Janet always responded promptly to my questions and made the day of a breeze. She was always available throughout the day of the wedding and checked on us regularly if there was anything we needed. The Benson acted as our catering as well and the food was great. Couldn't have asked for a better wedding venue! If you are planning your own wedding, the benson is the place to do it as they make it easy and stress free!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 11/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I did a small ceremony at the Benson Hotel followed by dinner at El Gaucho. The staff at the hotel were awesome and everything was perfect. I only did a small wedding for 20 people but the treated us like we were the most important people there that night. I made a last minute change to do the ceremony there and they worked closely with El Gaucho to get me in relatively last minute and they even let us reserve the foyer to take our wedding photos which turned out beautifully. We had also rented a junior suite and they upgraded us to the a penthouse suite, which was totally unexpected but so nice!! I just can't say enough great things about all of their staff and the job they did. Highly recommend them!!!
  • User1401380 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were interested in looking around at Portland's hotels for wedding venues. We went to a few places, but were not smitten. Then we went to the Benson. WOW. From the moment we stepped inside the Benson and met with the staff, we were ALL smiles and were so excited to hold our wedding there! We put down our deposit the day after our initial meeting and have had zero regrets.

    Sheena was an ABSOLUTE dream to work with. She understood our preferences, responded to our questions very quickly, accommodated everything we asked for... she is incredible. I owe a huge portion of our big day to Sheena's amazingness.

    Our wedding day itself was perfect. I was so nervous it wouldn't be but the Benson did everything we asked for and more. The Crystal Ballroom was STUNNING, low lighting, chandeliers, and just amazing. They worked with our guest list size, our nit-picky preferences (covering the riser, making the dance floor bigger, etc.) and the FOOD WAS AMAZING. We got the butternut squash and stuffed chicken. We offered two signature cocktails. And we used their wedding cake. In the end, it wasn't even that expensive!!! I'll always look back at our big day at the Benson with the happiest of thoughts and memories. I highly recommend this venue.
  • User1762001 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I couldn't be happier with the Benson Hotel. The staff was very professional and accommodating with our needs. Sheena, the catering manager/wedding coordinator, was amazing! She helped us plan for our whole wedding day and coordinated with the other vendors (photographers, videographer, florist, cake, hair & makeup, etc.) She made the day so much less stressful. We were assigned getting ready rooms and a penthouse to stay the night after the wedding festivities! I would highly recommend the Benson Hotel for a wedding venue.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 09/21/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Benson Hotel was the perfect choice for our wedding, from beginning to end. The planning process was extremely smooth, even though we live out of the state. The staff at the Benson was exceptional, especially Sheena Wituschek, the catering manager. They accommodated us every step of the way; they were available to meet with us every time we were in town, were able to meet all of our expectations and requests, and even provided some ideas of their own that made our wedding really special. The weekend of the wedding was great; the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and Sheena was able to meet all of our last minute changes and requests without an issue. The crystal ballroom was the perfect ceremony space and the mayfair ballroom was beautiful. I couldn't imagine having chosen a more perfect venue, and highly recommend the Benson to anyone else.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/16/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin Jaso at The Benson Hotel is an absolute pleasure to work with. She is professional, responsive, and has a keen eye for details. On multiple occasions, I would think to myself "oh! I need to ask Erin about such and such" and by the time I got to my email, I would have an email from Erin asking me the same thing.

    She truly took care of all the details for me to ensure I had an event to remember. I highly recommend her to anyone looking to host an event at a beautiful and historic venue.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 05/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were married at the Benson in May 2012 and everything was beyond amazing! I can honestly say (coming from the bride) that nothing went wrong on our special weekend and the whole experience was an absolute delight that we will never forget! The pictures at the Benson we have are stunning and the whole staff was helpful, friendly and attentive every step of the way! It was so nice to have the ceremony, reception and accomodations in one spot so that everyone had a little weekend getaway while celebrating with us. I would highly recommend the Benson Hotel for accomodations or for venue! We had the most amazing wedding weekend celebration with all of our friends and family all under one roof and will most definitely be coming back for many visits in the future years!
  • M
    Meagan Married on 03/24/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Do you want amazing service starting when you valet your car or walk in the front door of the most beautiful hotel in Oregon? How would you like to stay at a hotel that has a staff that is personable, professional and gives 110% to their clients all of the time? Do you want to have your special event or wedding at a venue that surpasses the test of time? Impress your guests with the one hotel that every President of the USA has stayed at since President Taft!

    Experience the best service and venue accommodations from an amazing hotel that understands personal customer service. From the staff that greets you at the front of the hotel to the front desk staff that greets and helps you find your way, your experience is beyond exceptional. Meet with your wedding vendors in the lobby or at Palm Court and enjoy a refreshing drink like a mojito or martini.

    At the Benson Hotel you have a few choices about where to have your wedding. Whether you have 20 guests or 300 guests, they can accommodate your needs with a number of amazing rooms to choose from.
    Advertisement

    The Benson Hotel is known for their exquisite and sparkling chandeliers throughout the hotel, which creates the most amazing lighting for your wedding pictures. If you want romance and timeless beauty, The Benson Hotel is exactly what you are looking for.

    Food is one the most important decisions you will make for your wedding. If your guests are not well fed they will leave your wedding early, or worse they could become too intoxicated! At the Benson Hotel your guests will devour the food and will be completely satisfied. Your guests will talk about your wedding food for years to come.

    Treat yourself and your guests by creating a wedding that nobody will forget and will be talking about for years. Call the Benson Hotel today and book your wedding and create memories for a lifetime.


  • E
    Evelyn Married on 05/10/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Benson was a great venue for our wedding reception. The coordinator at the Benson (Danaka) is great to work with, she is very organized and responded to emails promptly. I was in school during the wedding planning and she was very flexible and understood my timeline was different than other brides. Additionally, she and the hotel were very accommodating and she did everything possible to make sure I could get what I wanted (like a chocolate dessert bar). During the reception the service was great, dinner came out on time and it tasted great. Additionally the staff was great at making sure water and drinks were still available for all the guests and that everybody was comfortable. All my expectations were met, my husband and I had a great time and everything went perfectly. If you are looking for a spectacular location and great service this is the place.
  • D
    David Married on 02/25/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was a complete success. The staff is amazing.
  • Victoria and Justin
    Victoria Married on 10/08/2016
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    The people at the hotel are very professional and fast to respond to phone calls and emails to plan weddings. There is one person that does the wedding planning which makes it much easier to communicate. Their catering is in the hotel, too.
  • M
    Megan Married on 09/15/2012
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I was married at the Benson in September 2012. We had the ceremony in the breathtaking Crystal Ballroom, the cocktail reception in their classic lobby, and the reception in the spacious Mayfair Ballroom. Their catering team does a great job (we worked with Erin, she's a pro!). The food was delicious and the presentation was fantastic. We received nothing but compliments from the guests! They even surprised us by adding an ice sculpture to the seafood display. It was an amazing night! We planned to stay with them on our anniversary next year.
  • User1849784 2+ years ago
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We stayed here for our wedding night. It is an older hotel so its not very new looking. The bath tub was great and so was the bed. The staff was very nice. I don't think it was worth the price we paid for it though. The breakfast was okay nothing special and I've had much better food some other places for the price we paid.
  • H
    Hillary Married on 08/29/2015
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Janet and her team were great to work with throughout the wedding process. We had our ceremony site in the Crystal Ballroom, the cocktail hour in the London Grill, and the reception in the Mayfair Ballroom for our 200 person wedding. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the guests all enjoyed their meals. Overall we were very pleased but the catering is expensive so budget accordingly.
  • N
    Noey Married on 09/30/2017
    0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    We got married in the Crystal Ballroom at the Benson in September 2017. It is so sad to say that we were so disappointed with the event coordinator and her team. We got in contact with the hotel 14 months before our wedding. Food was very important to us so we requested a tasting before we booked the room. We wanted to serve Thai food and the tasting went very well. The chef met our expectations at the tasting but did terribly at our wedding. A week before our wedding, the coordinator emailed us and asked how to cook one of our dishes because the chef forgot. On our wedding day, 4 out of 6 dishes came out totally different than what we had at the tasting. We didn't get half of the cupcakes we ordered. Several items on the contracts were not honored. Once we brought the mistakes to the hotel's coordinator, she kept giving us excuses and didn't try to smooth the situation. We spent over a year planning this wedding and the hotel couldn't even bother to honor the contracts and deliver what we had agreed upon. If you already booked the hotel, my advice to you is document everything and do all communication through email so you have proofs of everything. The room was beautiful but was not worth the hassle of dealing with the incompetent event team.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message