Skip to main content
Weddings

The Beauty Affair Reviews

The Beauty Affair

The Beauty Affair

Pembroke, MA
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
3.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 72% of couples
  • Quality of service
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.6 out of 5 rating

4 User photos

  • M
    Megan G. Married on 08/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such an amazing job!

    I hired The Beauty Affair for my wedding hair and I HIGHLY recommend Jess and Mylinh!! I got married in August 2021 on a very hot and humid day and my hair, which was down and curled, stayed flawless throughout the night and looked amazing in photos. My bridesmaids all chose different styles and Mylinh was an expert at really unique and beautiful braids and Jess styled one of my bridesmaids with the most perfectly styled ponytail! I would hire The Beauty Affair again in a heartbeat!
  • C
    Catherine G. Married on 06/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great hair and makeup

    I originally hired the beauty affair for just my makeup, but less than a week before my wedding my hair stylist bailed on the wedding. The beauty affair really came through and provided a hairstylist who was able to do myself and 6 other people. we all looked great-- both hair and makeup looked beautiful on everyone both in person and in pictures. Thanks to the beauty affair for saving the day with my hair! I ended up liking what we did with my hair more than what i'd done for the trial with my previous hair stylist. Thank you so much!! Would definitely recommend!! They are super responsive and easy to work with, you will not be disappointed.

    The Beauty Affair's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Catherine!! You, your family, and your friends were such sweet people to work with!!! You looked absolutely gorgeous!! Cheers to a life full of happiness!
  • S
    Seanna B. Married on 06/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't recommend Melissa enough!

    Melissa is a wonderful, calming presence to have on the day of your wedding. She was on-time, cheerful, and efficient. I got so many compliments on my hair that day, and it lasted all morning, day, and into the evening. Scheduling for both the trial and the day-of was super easy. Melissa always responded to emails right away. I feel so lucky to have found her. Thank you for helping me feel fantastic on my special day!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    S Cunniff Married on 05/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect!

    The beauty affair made everything simple and easy. They came to where my family was staying to do everyone’s hair and make up. The whole process was stress free. They made sure everyone was happy with their hair and make up prior to leaving. I got many compliments throughout the day on my hair and make up along with my families. They were very responsive answering all questions especially the day before.
  • C
    Carolyn C. Married on 01/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent quality, and on very short notice

    While the Beauty Affair was available very short notice for our wedding, it was likely related to the smaller number of weddings occurring during the pandemic. Jessica provided 2 experts to manage the bridal party needs, and both were personable and professional. Importantly, without any opportunity to do test-runs, they provided styles on the spot, and everyone looked fantastic. This is an excellent vendor.
  • Megan
    Megan R. Married on 09/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, kind, and outstanding work!

    I booked The Beauty Affair after many wedidng plans changed, less than a month out from our wedding. Jessica was incredibly kind and friendly, and made both me and my bridesmaids feel absolutely gorgeous on the day of! She worked incredibly hard for us in order to get all 6 of us ready in a short window of time. Jessica's work is beautiful, and she ensured each of our individual needs were met.
  • V
    Victoria Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing work

    I had the pleasure of having Jessica do my makeup for a wedding I attended. Her work is flawless and professional. Highly recommend
  • K
    Kati Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely pleasant and professional!

    Jess came to the rescue the morning of my son’s wedding! As the mother of the groom, I wanted to have a clean, natural looking glow with a little glam. Jess took the time to listen to my request and also made a few suggestions along the way. I was very happy with the results that she achieved, and the make up lasted throughout the entire evening. The age appropriate look I had hoped to have on my son’s special day came true. Thank you, Jess, for your patience, kindness, and professional results!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 10/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love her! Amazing!

    Jess is fantastic! She made me feel confident and gorgeous on my wedding day and at my shower!
  • K
    Kyna C. Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great makeup!!!

    Jessica was a pleasure to work with!
    She was knowledgeable with her products and understood the vision I was going for. The makeup applied photographed amazingly!
  • K
    Kayleigh F. Married on 09/10/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Horrible/ never showed/ SCAM

    Save your time and your money and never consider using this vendor. They initially were responsive over email up until the moment when I needed a trial and to iron out wedding day details. We have lost 700 dollars to someone who blocked my phone number, never responded for a trial, and never showed on our wedding day. Luckily we have event insurance and will use the help of the police to get our deposit back from this horrible salon.
    Wedding wire: please take this scam down off your website. Many brides are finding them from you as they no longer have a website and it’s truly a shame.
  • Rachel
    Rachel G. Married on 09/04/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    No showed trial and wedding

    Everything started off well when I booked a year ago but since signing the contract and placing a deposit we only heard from her once after 6 emails to set up a trial - which she didn’t show up for. I have not heard from her since and she obviously didn’t show for our wedding. We have tried many times to make contact to get our money back but have gotten zero response. Horrible. ****Follow up: I was contacted and refunded my deposit!
  • M
    Magdalena R. Married on 09/04/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Do not hire!!!

    Unfortunately, I booked this vendor for hair and makeup services a year ago for my September 2022 wedding. After paying a large deposit, I wasn’t able to book a trial due to a complete lack of responsiveness despite my calling and emailing multiple times. Yesterday was my wedding and The Beauty Affair was a no-show and still has not returned my 50% deposit. It’s a shame wedding wire hides the multiple recent and negative reviews as I fear others are going to lose out on hefty deposits well. Do not book! This is not a reliable vendor!!!
  • Kayla
    Kayla A. Married on 06/18/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Unreliable

    I booked Jessica over a year ago, paid 50% deposit via Venmo, and scheduled my trial in Jan 2022 via email. I emailed her to confirm the appointment a week before (May 2022) and never heard back. I called multiple numbers I found for her online and they were all disconnected. The only info she provided was her name and email. She refused to provide the address of the trial. I realized I cannot rely on her for my wedding day and I emailed to request a refund and cancel the contract. she is refusing to refund me and stopped answering my emails.
  • Alexandria
    Alexandria L. Married on 06/11/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Bailed on Wedding

    The company bailed on my wedding with 3 weeks notice, said they would refund my hefty deposit. My wedding was over a month ago, I have heard nothing back about receiving my deposit. Even before bailing the communication was minimal as they are hard to get ahold of, I had to send emails, leave voicemails, etc before getting a reply. Not the stress you want to have while planning a wedding. Highly recommend anyone else.
    UPDATE: reported this business to the board of occupations of MA. This is not a real business, TOTAL SCAM! Please reach out to them too if you’ve been scammed as there is an investigation already launched. Any info is helpful for them!
  • Molly
    Molly Married on 05/15/2021
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Unreliable

    I had booked Jessica (The Beauty Affair) for my wedding makeup for me and a small bridal party. She unfortunately no-showed my bridal make-up trial after paying half my deposit. I scrambled for a make-up artist 2 months prior to my wedding which was stressful! I still have not received a deposit back or heard any further communication despite multiple emails.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message