Skip to main content
Weddings

The Beachcomber Cafe at Crystal Cove Reviews

The Beachcomber Cafe at Crystal Cove

The Beachcomber Cafe at Crystal Cove

Newport Coast, CA
4.5 out of 5 rating, 37 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
37 Reviews
90% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

37
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • A
    Allison Sent on 04/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Erin was an absolute breeze!! She fulfilled our every desire despite having to negotiate all the red tape that goes along with booking a state park for a wedding reception! We loved our venue choice and working with Erin was a definite added bonus.
  • F
    Fiona Sent on 04/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin and the staff at Beachcomber made our destination wedding absolutely perfect! I organised our wedding from Australia and Erin made me feel confident my wedding day would be all that I wished for! Every detail was exactly as we had discussed and the staff were happy and attentive to all of our guests. The location is amazing and our day was completely stress free thanks to the team at Beachcomber. We now have many wonderful memories of our wedding day which we will treasure for many years to come. I would highly recommend the whole team at Beachcomber to any future bride and groom.
  • A
    Abbie Sent on 05/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Outstanding service and professionalism by all! A dream wedding......many thanks to all who helped! Believe me I noticed....the food was outstanding and we had so many compliments about the great wedding food!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Meghan Sent on 04/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We selected the Beachcomber Cultural Deck as the site for our wedding ceremony and reception. This was one of the best decisions we made. It far exceeded our expectations in every way. The deck overlooks the ocean and provided us with a gorgeous view of the sunset and the sounds and smells of the ocean. The food was fantastic from the appetizers that were walked around during cocktail hour to the lobster crab boil for dinner all the way to dessert. Our guest are still talking about how good the food was. We had many guests that were gluten free and the beachcomber helped us to come up with options to make our menu almost completely gluten free. What truly made the beachcomber a great pick as our venue was the staff. We coordinated all of our details with Erin from the Beachcomber. She was extremely accommodating, had very good suggestions, helped us problem solve any issues, always responded in a timely manner and truly helped to make our wedding go very smoothly. This venue was spectacular, the food amazing and the staff genuine. Our wedding was absolutely perfect!
  • J
    Jameson Sent on 03/18/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin Wurtz was absolutely amazing to work with! Planning a wedding is a lot of work with a lot of tough decisions, and she was there every step of the way to guide us. The day was perfect, we couldn't be happier with how everything went, and our friends and us had a blast! Thank you Erin for your patience, guidance and positive attitude!!! Too bad we can't get married more often! Don't worry we will find an excuse to work with you again!!!
  • R
    Rebeca Sent on 02/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erin Wurtz and the catering management team at The Beachcomber Cafe made our event go off without a hitch! The planning process was smooth and they were super helpful via email and over the phone, always answering any questions that we had. They made our vision come to life and gave us alternatives in case the weather didn't permit us to hold the event outside. The food was incredible and all our guests enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the friendly staff!

    We were SO pleased with our engagement party turned out! It was the perfect ambience for our vision: beachy formal. All our guests thought it was TOP NOTCH and so happy to have been invited!

    THANK YOU ERIN & BEACHCOMBER TEAM!!!
  • User2428585 Sent on 11/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was an intimate 80th Birthday Open House celebration for 80 people, catered at the Beaches Cottage at Crystal Cove State Park. Erin and her Beachcomber Catering staff were professional and accommodating. The food was prepared perfectly, beautifully presented, non-stop, and WONDERFUL... no one left hungry. In fact, no one wanted to leave at all! Thanks to Erin's hard work. And the fellow managing the catering that day. Was a perfect day at the beach for our friends and families. Thank you.
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 11/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything about our wedding at Crystal Cove State Park and services provided by The Beachcomber was perfect. Erin Wurtz made our special day a cakewalk. She was fantastic to work with and went above and beyond to help us out. I truly cannot say enough nice things about her and her staff.
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 11/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food was excellent along with the service. They were on top of everything and we had an amazing evening.
  • D
    Debbie Sent on 11/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a vow renewal on the deck at sunset and it was picture perfect!! The views are endless, the food was fantastic and the staff was very attentive. I would highly recommend this place to any wedding, vow renewal or birtday party. It truly was a magical evening without a flaw!
  • User2417785 Sent on 11/09/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a company dinner on the promenade. Erin and her team were phenomenal. The entire event went very smoothly and everything leading up to it was effortless. Highly recommended if you are planning a dinner party or wedding!
  • K
    Katrina Sent on 11/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great experience with the Beachcomber and all the people that we worked with. I would have the rest of my kids get married there. It was our first child getting married and they made it a memory that will last forever. I loved everything about it.
  • User2439543 Sent on 11/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The help we received in planning and executing the wedding diner for our daughter at The Beachcomber Cafe at Crystal Cove was stellar. They helped us through every step, from getting the State license for using the Park and planning a beach side dinner for 100 guests. The service was on point as we were never lacking for anything. I highly recommend this venue. I enjoyed the personal attention we received from the catering department, with Erin leading the way and making sure all was in order. A great time was had at a beautiful venue.
  • A
    Ann Sent on 11/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an intimate wedding of 50 on the cultural center deck and it was just beautiful. This venue is perfect for anyone that wants to be near the ocean but not on the sand. The venue can hold more but if you're doing the ceremony and reception there, I'd keep it under 75. Food is great and the staff was excellent. Erin Wurtz was easy to work with and very responsive. Everything went smoothly day of. The state park is a little difficult to deal with and they charge you a lot! I think we ended up spending $4,000 between all the fees, monitor, and parking with them. They tell you to prepay for parking for guests ($15 per car) but if you're having an evening wedding, the lot opens up after 8p and guests can leave for free. What a waste of money we spent on that! It's worth it to pay for the shuttle to transport guests to and from the parking lot though. I would do it all over again here in a heartbeat.
  • B
    Bokyeong Sent on 08/23/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow!!! I can't believe how amazing our wedding was. Michelle Jenkins and Kristina Howard from The BeachComber Cafe are so helpful, they made planning our event so smooth and effortless. They made sure we had all the information we needed and covered all our bases for us. They were super flexible and easy to work with and their staff is super friendly and professional. The Beachcomber food is to die for and their pricing is amazing for the best experience you can ever ask for.

    Thank you so much Beachcomber. You've made our special day a moment we'll never forget!
  • L
    Laura Sent on 07/02/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    this is one of the most beautiful venues in california
  • R
    Rashad Sent on 04/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Michele Jenkins of the Beachcomber Cafe is a model of professionalism, efficiency and flexibility balanced with artistry, discretion and class. Would that all wedding coordinators look to her for inspiration.
    The food at the Beachcomber is AMAZING, the menu had compliments from many of our guests who discern gastronomy from merely good food.
  • M
    Mary Sent on 04/25/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a truly amazing wedding at Crystal Cove! Our wedding was on South Beach and our reception was at the Beaches Cottage. Michele Jenkins from The Beachcomber Cafe was incredible to work with! She was very responsive and helpful throughout the process and made planning from a distance with a short time frame much easier. I also really appreciate the help from Kristina the week of the wedding and all of the staff support the day of the wedding. I was very focused on the details and everything went perfectly the day of the wedding. I couldn't have asked for it to go any smoother. I would highly recommend having a wedding and reception with The Beachcomber Cafe.
  • A
    Angela Sent on 04/02/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an incredible experience with the Beachcomber and would highly recommend them and use them again as a wedding venue suggestion for others. Very friendly, very helpful, very accomodating and easy to work with. Most beautifuly venue in Orange County if you are looking for a romantic beach wedding in my opinion. I've had many friends ask about the site since seeing photos and hearing aobut our experience. I had never been to the Beachcomber prior to our engagement and it is now a regular restaraunt we visit.
  • S
    Brieane Sent on 12/02/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an amazing experience planning our wedding with the Beachcomber team at Crystal Cove!

    My husband and I would like to extend a huge, heartfelt thank you to Michele and her team for making our wedding day absolutely perfect. Every single detail was exactly how we envisioned (if not better!), and Michele and her team did a truly phenomenal job to ensure that everything went smoothly and no one missed a beat.

    Michele made the process easy and enjoyable! She was on top of every detail, and full of good ideas and vendor recommendations! The set-up the day of the wedding was incredibly organized and flawless, the food was delicious (the Chef was so fun to work with), and best of all -- it was all stress-free. Michele was flexible and adapted to last minute changes we needed to make, and made the entire wedding planning process easy and fun.

    We are forever grateful to Michele and the Beachcomber team for orchestrating such a perfect day on our behalf. Michele was not only super organized, but calm, sweet, caring, and thoughtful throughout the entire process.

    So many of our guests said that this was the best wedding they had ever been to, and some of the best wedding food they had ever had.

    Thank you Beachcomber for making our day so special!!

  • M
    Jessica Sent on 08/01/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A beautiful location for a vintage beach style wedding! We decided to rent the beach promenade and it was gorgeous. Everyone on the beachcomber catering team was so professional, helpful, and on top of our requests throughout the day and through out the planning process. The taste and quality of the food was excellent. The catering manager Michele in particular provided spectacular service. She was able to be extremely responsive, flexible, make the little and big details that we wanted happen so seamlessly! It was a positive experience working with Michele and her team and we would highly recommend this venue and caterer to all future brides and grooms.
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 11/02/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Michele was really great to work with! She was very knowledgeable about the state's policies, etc. I will miss working with her :(
  • User881264 Sent on 07/30/2012
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently had my ceremony and reception here and it was amazing! The spot is beyond beautiful and my guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The food was great; crab cakes were a HUGE hit! I would highly recommend this spot especially if you want a Cali beach wedding, although keep in mind that music can be a little difficult to coordinate since it's all outside and you have to compete with the waves.
  • S
    Schiffern Sent on 11/03/2012
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The event was flawless thanks to Michelle from the Beachcomber. Last minute changes and requirements were handled quickly and with professionalism and she was by our side through it all to help make it a truly wonderful experience.
    There was not enough food for everyone, thus the lower score in value.
  • J
    Judi Sent on 12/06/2011
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I worked with Michele Jenkins to coordinate my birthday party at the Beachcomber on 11-11-11. She was incredibly helpful! My phone calls were returned promptly and Michele helped organize my party and added additional insight into having a party on the beach! I highly recommend her and the Beachcomber!
    My guests all commented on the quality of the food and attentiveness of the service.
    It was an amazing party and I can thank Michele and the Beachcomber for making it all happen!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message