The Barn at Sycamore Farms Reviews

23 | Arrington, TN
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for The Barn at Sycamore Farms

Recommended by 79% of couples

3.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 3.9
  • Average response time 4.0

Awards

23

22 User photos

Order by:
  • Rachel

    Rachel Schelde · Married on 07/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue

    This venue was amazing for our perfect day! It was everything we wanted and more. We primarily worked with Bailey and she was very responsive, professional and sweet. We paid extra for the full a/v package and props room but it definitely made the day go by smoother. They were flexible if we notified them ahead of time about coming to the venue to see the props room and measure some things. Our only complaint is that they would not allow cancellations with COVID only postponements which wasn’t possible for us because of possible unplanned deployments (army husband). Overall we are happy with our choice in working with The Barn at Sycamore Farms.

    Sent on 08/05/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Hi Rachel,
    Thank you so much for your kind words! Your wedding was absolutely stunning and we wish you every happiness in the world!
  • K

    kelly · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It has been over six months since my daughters wedding and we are still receiving compliments thanks to Brandy Dyer and her team at The Barn at Sycamore Farms. They went above and beyond to make my daughter's vision for her wedding magical! They were on top of every detail requested! We met with them several times throughout the planning process which made the day of the wedding flawless! We were able to custom design our wedding using the spectacular prop room and top-notch vendors! The bride and groom suites not only provide amazing photo opportunities but allow everyone in the wedding party to relax and have a great time throughout the day! The venue itself is absolutely stunning...the island, the veranda, the barn, the bridge, the scenery... all breathtaking! I am beyond grateful for all the hard-work Brandy and her team did to make my daughter's wedding day a memory for a lifetime!

    Sent on 05/14/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you had a great experience with the barn and a happy day for your daughter's wedding.
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brandy Dyer and her team at The Barn at Sycamore Farms are fabulous! From the initial planning of our daughters wedding to the "day of" chaos, Brandy was a calm and organized source of comfort. One of the best things about our experience was the ability to customize our vision. The beautiful details & finishes of the venue allowed us to focus our time & resources on the food, drink & entertainment. We had so many people tell us & post to their social media that it was the most beautiful wedding they had attended. That blew us away!! Thank you Brandy and The Barn at Sycamore Farms team!!
    xxoo -The Hardys & Scotts

    Sent on 05/25/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind review, Melissa! We agree that it is so nice to be able to customize a wedding.
  • J

    John · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEYOND STUNNING!! Sycamore Farms is both a unique and versatile event venue. It has an abundance of natural beauty for hosting your next corporate or social event. The property has a magnificent and magical setting.
    As important as the beauty is the functionality. From a vendor standpoint they have thought of everything. From the ladies lounge to the gentlemen quarters to the stunning verandas, a detail was not missed. The catering kitchen is every caterers dream (we LOVE catering here). The state of the art A/V has everything you could possibly need and is appreciated by musicians and DJ's alike.
    We would highly recommend The Barn at Sycamore Farms for any gathering. Try this memorable space and you will enjoy the elegant charm and friendly staff.

    Sent on 06/07/2017

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your review and your kind words! We appreciate our vendors and we are glad you enjoy catering here.
  • S

    Sheree · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have asked for a better experience for our daughter's wedding. Beautiful Venue and wonderful people to work with.

    Sent on 06/30/2017

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind review, Sheree! We are glad you and your family had a good experience at The Barn at Sycamore Farms.
  • C

    Casey · Married on 12/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Brandy at the Barn at Sycamore Farms! She was WONDERFUL to work with! She communicated with the wedding planner and decorators. She answered all of our questions very quickly. She gave us her cell phone and we were able to text or call her with questions at any time. Leading up to the event, she was great working with to schedule walk throughs of the venue and was very flexible in the times! We loved the Barn at Sycamore Farms and would highly recommend for anyone in the Middle Tennessee area to check it out as a wedding venue!

    Sent on 03/02/2017

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words and recommendation, Casey! We enjoy scheduling walk -throughs to help clients plan a great wedding day!
  • C

    Connie · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue ever!! They absolutely thought of everything. Beautiful chairs, an amazing kitchen, an incredible prop room and the scenery!! The staff was so helpful and professional. If you want an unforgettable experience..call The Barn at Sycamore Farms. You will not be disappointed!!!!

    Sent on 05/05/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Connie! We are glad you were able to have an unforgettable experience at the barn.
  • S

    Sheree · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing is all I can say! My daughter couldn't have asked for a better venue. Beautiful inside and outside. The grounds were spectacular. So much room for the guests (200 plus) and the quarters to get ready make you feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. This place exceeded any expectations we could have possibly had. Brandy, who helped us, was amazing and so accommodating to help us pull off the dream reception. We could never thank them enough.

    Sent on 07/06/2016

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    We are so glad that we were able to share in your daughter's big day! Thank you for the wonderful review. We were honored to be a part of it.
  • T

    Tiffani · Married on 06/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding vendor, I can say this venue is amazing!! Brandy & Rebecca are amazing to work with & full of great knowledge about the venue, plus ideas for your event.

    Sent on 07/15/2016

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thanks Tiffani! We love working with you! You're so fun and energetic! Looking forward to many more events together!
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 10/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married at this venue and it is absolutely amazing and stunning. Everything was VERY well thought out when this venue was built. I worked with Brandy and she was a saint to work with. She always responded quickly, no matter what and every bride can only dream of working w/somebody like her-she was awesome. The set up is great and it's peace of mind that no matter the weather, you are guaranteed a gorgeous wedding set up!

    The only thing I would suggest to the owners of this venue is that for the amount you pay to secure this venue, a one hour rehearsal should be allowed and included in this price. While I understand this venue is and will only continue to be booked and become more popular, it should at least be an option to have rehearsal at this venue at some point prior to the wedding-one hour isn't too much to ask for without and additional charge being added.

    Sent on 11/08/2017

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind review and for your feedback. We agree that it is great to have multiple ceremony locations! We are glad you had a great experience.
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue, amazing staff — couldn’t have gone more smoothly!! Everyone is so helpful, and my wedding was everything I dreamed of and more because of the Barn at Sycamore Farms!

    Sent on 05/05/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words and your review, Maddie! We are so glad to hear that everything ran smoothly.
  • Brandy

    Brandy Parsons · Married on 06/21/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!

    That being said, everyone at this venue is so helpful and will work with you to make your day perfect! The bridal suite has everything a bride and her girls could need, and the grooms suite has all sorts of games to keep the guys entertained. There are so many gorgeous places for pictures, not to mention the incredible chandelier in the main room. You will love this venue!

    Sent on 07/09/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review, Brandy! We loved being a part of your wedding day. Those suites are such an asset for our property. We are glad you enjoyed them!
  • Taylor

    Taylor · Married on 01/04/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Gorgeous Venue

    When we began our search for a venue, I had my heart set somewhere else, and was reluctant to look at other options. My husband had suggested we go to Barn at Sycamore Farms, and when we scheduled our appointment, it ended up being our first stop. From the moment we stepped foot on the property, we both knew that this was the perfect place to get married! We loved that it had options for any weather we would encounter on our big day and that we wouldn't have to worry about that. We chose an off-season date to save money, and we loved every second of our chilly winter wedding! The space is gorgeous on it's own and doesn't need a lot of decorating, but we used their prop package for convenience and were so happy we did.

    Sent on 03/26/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Taylor, Thank you so much for your kind words! You and your wedding was STUNNING! We are so grateful to have been apart of such a loving, unforgettable day! We wish you and your new husband all the happiness in the world!
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/03/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently just got married here and the venue is absolutely beautiful! We worked with Brandy and she was amazing and super flexible about many different things. The security guards that they hire to be at your event can be kind of rude.. They pulled my husband aside to tell him about a problem when he should be the last person to be bothered about the issue that happened! All in all- we had an amazing day and I would recommend it!

    Sent on 07/17/2017

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your review, Kayla. That is unfortunate that your husband was pulled aside. We strive to keep a good working relationship with our security guards and strive to have the best vendors out at the barn.
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 07/26/2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sycamore farms

    The barn is a gorgeous place for a wedding, the grounds are kept immaculate and the atmosphere is great! The addition of the prop room (extra charge) is really helpful and saves you from having to buy decorations, that being said, you are responsible for carrying all of the furniture and decor back up to the room after the wedding so plan on staying behind a few hours. All that being said, we had an incredible day at the venue and wouldn’t change anything about that day!

    Sent on 08/13/2019

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Megan,

    Thank you so much for your kind review! Your wedding was absolutely gorgeous and you were so great to work with. Wishing you a lifelong happiness.
  • M

    Mariana · Married on 04/14/2018

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Our experience with Sycamore Farms started well, we met with the manager and signed a contract with them in Sep. of 2016 for our April 2018 wedding. The venue had the atmosphere we were looking for and looked beautiful. We were given a list of preferred vendors to use, but according to the contract, we were only required to pay a $500 fee for a non-approved caterer. We went forward with our plans, and things went smoothly. Two weeks before the wedding, we received an email from Kristina, who works for Southern Events, and she told us that we were using the wrong vendor for our rentals, and that Southern Events had exclusive rights to the venue. We explained that wasn’t how it was worded or stated in our contract, and we felt that two weeks before the wedding was a little short notice if we had to change our rental vendor. We had already made all our payments with everyone by this point. We told our wedding planner to reach out to the manager from Sycamore, to see if this was going to be a problem. The manager told the planner the issue again (again, nowhere did we agree to use any rental vendor in the contract) and said she would talk to Kristina and decide. We didn’t get a final confirmation from the manager until a day and half later, even though Kristina told our planner it was fine before that. A day and a half is a long time when you may have to make wedding altering plans and stressed my wife out completely because we had no final answer. After the manager answered, she told us we had to pay $500 dollars for a non-preferred vendor, but she would waive the fee. We told her nowhere in the contract did it say anything about a fee for rentals, so we don’t know why we would be charged a fee at all. All in all, the venue was great, however, customer service at the venue could be improved, in our opinion the manager was unfriendly and seemingly unappreciative of our business.

    Sent on 04/25/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for your review. Your review helps grow our business. We are thankful to work with Southern Events. They are great to work with and Kristina is great.
  • Kara

    Kara · Married on 09/21/2018

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Decent experience, but a hit a few bumps

    Overall, our guests were very happy with this venue! My husband and I had a great time, and our photos are amazing. The ladies' room is beautiful, and the guys loved the gentlemen's area. The chandelier in the barn really added a lot and made it not feel like the typical Tennessee barn wedding venue. The barn did not feel crowded, and there was plenty of room to include a band, dance floor, and a photo booth with our 190 guest count.

    I would probably give this venue more of a 3.5 rating, and here is why:

    1) We had a very poor experience with communication. For example, in a crazy confusion of the A/V package, we were told by a venue representative that they actually didn't know what the A/V package included. Additionally, there were many other instances in which we were confused, such as being told differently than what our contract said pertaining to when forms were due, sent a 90 day payment reminder from a venue representative two months before our wedding (sparking fear that a) our 90 day payment was never received and that b) they had the wrong date on file), just to name a few. Our point of contact changed a few months after our initial booking, which could explain some of the confusion.

    2) Fortunately we did not rack up any fees, but this contract language includes dozens of ways to get fined (comparatively speaking, much more than other venues we looked at). Luckily, we had an awesome planner familiar with the venue's policies, Sweetwater Events, but we couldn't escape the feeling that we were walking on eggshells. A huge thing to know about this venue is the trash situation: they do not have a trash receptacle on site, therefore you can have your caterer take all trash off site to their personal business trash receptacle (which we had to pay an additional $400 for ours to stay at the venue from the end of dinner time to the end of the reception time), work out your own way of doing the trash removal with a lot of headache and likely additional expense, or if any bagged trash is left on site, it is charged an amount per bag resulting in an additional fee.

    3) The venue itself is BEAUTIFUL, which is the whole reason we chose it. About two hours before my ceremony, it POURED rain unexpectedly. Then, the sun came out and the paved walk to the bridge immediately dried up, thanks to the power of the hot sun (it was in the 90s that day). I am not sure how this issue could best be tackled, but a construction flaw in both the back veranda and the island is a significantly uneven surface, which means that if it rains a decent amount within, I'd say, 12-24 hours of your wedding, it will likely affect your use of the outdoor space. The back veranda had to be squeegeed off in parts, as there were sporadic huge puddles on the concrete ground as rain flooded parts (the dips in surface) of the veranda. The island had a similar issue; understandably, the aisle (center of the island) was super worn down. Unfortunately for us, though most parts of the island had mostly dried up enough to walk on (in those two hours of baking sun), there were still puddles inches deep in the aisle, resulting in us not being able to use it. Again, I am no construction expert, but I do feel this issue could be improved (and my wedding day would have been much easier if it was never an issue to begin with). This factor just made it seem like such a gamble to choose a venue based on the strong hope of an outdoor wedding.

    Hopefully this is helpful information, as I appreciated many reviews during my wedding planning process!

    Sent on 10/17/2018

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Thank you for the review, Kara. Your wedding was beautiful and the food trolley was fun. Your feedback is important to us and helps us grow as a business.
  • S

    s · Married on 10/15/2016

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We had both our ceremony and reception here recently. The venue is beautiful and the weather was perfect that day. Unfortunately, the venue's "state of the art" audio system cut off completely during the ceremony. It was difficult to hear any of the music or our officiant. Sadly, our videographer lost audio input because her equipment was connected to the venue's sound board when the sound went out.

    After several discussions with the venue, they were less than sympathetic and refused to take responsibility even though the event planner admitted they purchased additional equipment after our wedding to make sure the issue never happened again.

    Sad to say I can't recommend this venue after our disappointing experience. For the price point, I believe you can find much better value and service.

    Sent on 11/04/2016

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    We are sincerely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. While we strive to make every event amazing we understand you were unsatisfied with the audio equipment.
    We take full responsibility for the malfunction of the wireless microphone. Immediately upon determining the malfunction we offered the planner the hand held microphone, and she declined, stating that the sound level was adequate.
    Although we did allow the videographer to plug into our sound mixer, it is standard that a videographer has secondary sound. We are not ultimately responsible for videography sound. In an attempt to rectify your dis-satisfaction we did refund 100 percent on the audio/video package.
    We are very pleased that the weather and venue met your vision. Your event was beautiful, your guests were lovely and we are extremely sorry that there was a microphone problem.
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa Vining · Married on 04/03/2020

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Horrible!!

    Our wedding was scheduled for April 3rd, 2020. This was about a week before the Governor of Tennessee mandated that all social gatherings of 10 or more be banned in the state of Tennessee due to the COVID-19 pandemic. All of our vendors were very flexible and understanding as we made the unfortunate decision to cancel our wedding except for the Barn at Sycamore Farms. They refused to give us any kind of a refund and told us our only option was to reschedule sometime between then and the end of 2020. To this day, we still are not certain when the state of Tennessee will be allowed to have large gatherings. Even after having an attorney contact them about it, they still refused. We were even fine with accepting a partial refund as we did visit the venue three times as our contract allowed to get things ready, but to not refund us some since no services were provided at all is just wrong. I HIGHLY discourage any bride from signing a contract with this venue. It is just not worth it.

    Sent on 04/18/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    We understand many of our couples, including you and Joey, have gone through unexpected challenges over the last few weeks. At Sycamore Farms we are prepared to help our couples navigate this uncertain time. Sycamore Farms is allowing clients whose dates are affected by COVID-19 to reschedule their event to any available date this year. We will apply all funds paid toward the new date. We sincerely hope you will choose to hold your event with us. Our office is open six days a week and we are ready to help you reschedule your big day.
  • A

    Ashley Green · Married on 11/28/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Awful People! Awful Business

    Tried to postpone wedding due to current pandemic and SF will not work with us and will not refund our money. I wish I never found this venue. The governor has issued a state of emergency and stated no more than 10 people should be gathered at one time until December 31, 2020. Our wedding was due to be 11/28/2020. Everyone else is taking monetary hits this year to keep up their excellent customer service and amazing reputations - 2 major things sycamore farms lacks!

    What kind of people decide they need to make money off other people hurting during the middle of a global pandemic?

    Sent on 11/14/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Hi Ashely, thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are having beautiful events and are sad you will not be here on 11/28/2020. We wish you nothing but happiness moving forward.
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie Bottfeld · Married on 11/01/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    They do not care about you and your wallet

    Getting married? This venue -The Barn At Sycamore Farms – in our opinion is NOT FOR YOU! The Barn does not and will not care about you. The Barn should have a vested interest in your happiness and wellbeing. This interest should extend beyond a dollar $ign and a $igned contract. That’s all we were to them, a revenue stream! The Barn failed us as a young couple planning to be wed. We felt quite used during this process. Based on our experience we would not expect The Barn to be a good venue for engaged couples to wed and certainly we would not suggest nor recommend this venue sharing YOUR special day. The Barn at Sycamore Farms in short, was completely non-empathetic to our situation, could have cared less what happened to us and did not even consider what was and what is happening during these veryunprecedented times of COVID-19.

    Beware of The Barn

    This is our story:

    My Fiancé Brian and I booked our wedding date at The Barn for November 1st, 2020 at Sycamore Farms. We all know 2020 has certainly been the year of reckoning and our family is of no exception. As required, we used the “preferred vendors” listed by The Barn to avoid “financial penalties”. This is imperative information due to the nature of this story. As a result of the Global Pandemic, (COVID-19) I was laid off. Simultaneously, my Fiancé got into a terrible car accident which resulted in our truck being completely totaled. A devastating series of events. More money was owed to the bank than the truck was valued at – we are talking thousands of dollars. We had saved for this wedding; we were paying the bill! No one could have ever expected these events to occur and no one could have predicted that a Global Pandemic would still be around TODAY! Sadly, we came to an exceedingly difficult decision - the wedding needed to be canceled.

    We requested our deposit back from not only The Barn at Sycamore Farms but also from the “preferred vendors”. Every single vendor that The Barn required us to use, returned all our deposits yet The Barn refused! The Barn then had the nerve to let us know not only would they NOT be giving us our deposit back but notified us of our next due payment. What was important for The Barn was their money and their contract. Empathizing with our situation, the reality of the current worldwide pandemic, was not relevant to The Barn.

    For couples who believe their wedding should be hosted at The Barn at Sycamore Farms, we strongly advise you to look elsewhere. We certainly hope no other couple fall victim to them. No form of a refund nor opportunity to negotiate a refund was made available and certainly no empathic actions towards our crisis were given to us.

    Beware of The Barn

    Sent on 08/31/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Hi Stephanie,
    Thank you for reaching out. I am sorry you feel we have not been sympathetic to your circumstance. To be transparent and fair with all our clients, we must adhere to our contracts cancellation policy, outlined on the first page of the contract. We wish you every happiness and are open and ready to host your wedding on 11/1/20, if you so choose.
  • Keeley

    Keeley Martin · Married on 09/18/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Look Elsewhere!

    Let me start by saying that this place is gorgeous and we would have absolutely loved to get married there.

    That being said, we had our wedding scheduled for 9/18/20, which we had hoped would happen but COVID continues to be ever present and getting worse. We first reached out to discuss options on 7/9/20. After many emails back and forth, them taking quite a long time in-between to respond and requiring multiple follow-up attempts, we were told we would have to pay the full amount of the original day we are not using and then rebook at a 25% discount…

    Now, to add to this story, we are postponing because the majority of our guest list is from out of town, primarily AZ and CA, which are both COVID “hot spots”. About 3/4 of our guests are not comfortable traveling, understandably, and we have many family members who are “high-risk” according to the CDC. In addition, I am pregnant, which added another level of hesitance as pregnant women are considered “high-risk” and more likely to be hospitalized due to immunological changes and the effects on a newborn are not completely known. I expressed these concerns to The Barn at Sycamore staff, but there was no budging, even with a note from my OB doctor stating it is unsafe for me to be around groups larger than 10 people. I also sent studies from the CDC supporting these claims.

    The staff at Barn at Sycamore Farms continues to say that they are open and willing to have the event, since restrictions aren’t as present in Williamson County. I pushed that even if there are not local restrictions, there are federal and state guidelines that we should be following and that many of our guests are coming from “hot spots”. Still nothing, no empathy or compassion.

    We said we are completely open to compromising, but they are not, as we have heard of multiple venues charging couples $1,000 to move their date (even in Murfreesboro), or not charging at all. That means we would be paying close to $13K in total to postpone and have our wedding here, when the original total would have been $7,500 (including prop package). Not to mention, I lost one of my two jobs during the pandemic (also offered to send over this paperwork to them). We weren’t asking for charity, we were asking them to be human, to meet us in the middle.

    I am so incredibly disappointed in this business. I had hoped for a really beautiful wedding there and was so excited, but we cannot afford to pay for basically two weddings at this venue and cannot in good conscience hold a large wedding during this uncertain time, for the safety of my unborn baby and for the safety of our loved ones.

    I would recommend any couples looking to book this venue to steer clear, as they have shown their true colors during this global pandemic.

    P.S. You’ll find other reviews that have similar stories with this venue. It appears they gave couples with weddings affected by COVID and opportunity to postpone to another weekend within 2020, we didn’t even get that option.

    Sent on 08/08/2020

    The Barn at Sycamore Farms's reply:

    Hi Keeley,
    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Williamson County currently has no restrictions on guest count, we are open and ready for your event. We are continuously sanitizing all surfaces to the highest degree possible and encouraging social distancing. The health and safety of our clients is extremely important to us. We are open 7 days a week and happy to speak with you, at anytime, regarding your event.