Skip to main content
Weddings

The Barn at Shady Lane Reviews

The Barn at Shady Lane

The Barn at Shady Lane

Bessemer, AL
4.9 out of 5 rating, 88 Reviews
View more information

88 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 88
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

70 User photos

  • Callie
    Callie J. Getting married on 10/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Positively Perfect in Every Way!

    Shady Lane is THE place you want to book for your wedding. Michael, Linda, and the rest of their team do it right and do it perfectly every time. They have created amazing spaces for ceremonies, receptions, and photo opportunities. The Bride's loft and Groom's cottage are the perfect spaces for preparing for your wedding day and are beautifully appointed. I cannot say enough good things about Shady Lane.

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    CALLIE! Wanna come head up the Shady Lane Fan Club!?! :) Thanks so much for the kind words and for bringing that joy and enthusiasm to Shady Lane!
  • L
    Liz J. Married on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Daughter’s Wedding

    The Barn at Shady Lane exceeded all my expectations. Linda never made me feel like I was calling too much asking questions, and I really appreciated that. The flip was a huge success. And she told me beforehand that even though it was a July wedding, they had air conditioning that would keep us comfortable. I have to admit that I doubted, but she was right. Thank you Linda and staff of The Barn at Shady Lane!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks so much Liz for the good word! We had a blast hosting all of you and loved seeing the whole day become such a wonderful celebration! Thanks also for spreading the Shady Lane love!
  • C
    Cathy Married on 12/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Barn at Shady Lane is the best!

    We couldn't be happier that we chose The Barn at Shady Lane for our daughter's wedding reception! From the first contact we had with them, until the end of the reception, Linda and her team were great to work with. It. is so evident that Linda loves what she does and genuinely gets so excited about your event. We had a large wedding and the space was more than accommodating for the reception. Every space is so thought out and perfect - from the bride's loft to the groom's cottage, the space for catering, the bar area, the porches, and especially the beautiful outside areas for perfect sunset pictures, The Barn at Shady Lane has it all. We couldn't recommend it higher!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Cathy,
    SUCH a beautiful event! We loved working with you and enjoyed every minute of the day. Well done!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sara R. Married on 11/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Barn at Shady Lane is absolutely wonderful

    We couldn’t think of a better place to have gotten married. The Barn at Shady Lane was absolutely wonderful! The Adlers were a dream to work with and the venue is beautiful. The areas to get ready were spacious, and they did a wonderful job quickly flipping the room between the ceremony and reception. The Barn at Shady Lane will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Sara - You were such a gorgeous bride and we loved hosting all of you on that wonderful day. Thanks for the kind words!
  • F
    Fletcher B. Married on 10/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing venue!

    The Barn is such a great venue! All our guests loved it and complimented on how beautiful it was. Linda and Michael were super easy to work with. They gave us lots of references and really helped make our day special! Would highly recommend!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this kind review! Our team loved hosting all of you and thank you for bringing the joy to Shady Lane!
  • Heather
    Heather R. Married on 10/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most amazing day of my life!!

    Mike and Linda, along with my wedding planner, helped make my wedding day worry and stress free! Everything was perfect and i can’t stress enough that I made the right decision to have my wedding at The Barn at Shady Lane!!!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Heather - Thanks so much for the kind words! We loved having you and all of your besties at Shady Lane!
  • Kristin&Logan
    Kristin&Logan F. Married on 06/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Owners are wonderful!

    Linda is amazing to work with! She is so responsive and wants your day to be perfect. All the requirements they have are there for a reason and she let me come look at the barn as many times as I wanted to. The spaces to get ready were gorgeous and functional. My only “complaint” is that the flip and cleanup was a bit rushed, but that is what they are known for (and my centerpieces were a bit more complicated than normal so that’s really on me), and they had a wedding the following day so I understand wanting everything to be clean and perfect for their next clients. Highly recommend this venue! It’s gorgeous and the newly painted cream walls are a great new addition.

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Kristin-

    Your wedding was so beautiful! Thank you for choosing Shady Lane. Your centerpieces were amazing 🤩 and we enjoyed every minute!
  • L
    Lauren J. Married on 04/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    Mrs. Linda Adler was such a pleasure to work with and was so helpful with the decision-making process, even though the bride & groom lived all the way in Texas! I would recommend this venue to anyone!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thank you for coming to Shady Lane! We loved every minute of your amazing day! It was so beautiful and so much fun working with you.
  • E
    Emma G. Married on 07/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with incredible owners!!

    We could go on and on about how incredible The Barn at Shady Lane is!! Both their outdoor and indoor ceremony options were built with weddings in mind, and offer a wonderful weather plan for peace of mind. Their new back patio extension was everyone's favorite. Linda and Michael were flexible and patient with us throughout the uncertainties of the COVID season, and were professional to work with. Every detail of their venue was carefully thought out from the bridal loft, to the groom's house, the details of the barn, and on-site parking. We are so thankful that we were able to have TWO wedding days with them. They are beautiful people to work with and truly love what they do!!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Emma Grace- Your wedding was perfect. You looked so beautiful and so happy!! Thank you for coming to Shady Lane! We were honored to be a part of your special day.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 06/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They are awesome!

    They will work with you and makes sure they recommend vendors that fit your budget. Very friendly and helpful! Linda is great!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Danielle,
    We enjoyed every minute of your wedding-from the planning to the final exit! Thank you so much for allowing us to host your amazing day!
  • Claire
    Claire W. Married on 12/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further!

    There are no words to describe how special this place is! Michael and Linda are truly wonderful to work with! Everything was beautiful, communication was so easy, and they helped make the night go so smoothly!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Claire,
    Your wedding was absolutely stunning! Oh my gosh- your dress! Thank you for choosing Shady Lane. Come by for a visit.
    Linda
  • Abbie
    Abbie Married on 12/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic!

    The the Barn at Shady Lane is by far one of the best venues in Birmingham. The only word I could use to describe our experience is wonderful. The Adler’s are so amazing and super helpful, and they will do anything to make your day perfect. Our wedding went off without a hitch and the day was amazing!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks for the kind note Abbie! Your smiling face filled Shady Lane w joy all day long! Thank you for choosing Shady Lane and may your new year be filled with new adventures, new wisdom and new life.
  • L
    Lauren P. Married on 12/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Recommending to everyone!

    The Barn at Shady Lane was beyond my wildest dreams for a wedding venue. They are so sweet and made sure we had everything we needed for our big day. It was a gorgeous venue inside and out! It had everything we wanted and more. Will definitely be suggesting this to anyone looking for a venue.

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Lauren - Thanks so much for the kind words! You were such a gorgeous bride and your pictures ... wow! We loved hosting your amazing day!
  • R
    Ryan S. Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Day of my Life

    Michael and Linda made sure that everything about the venue looked and felt perfect for our wedding day. My wife and I didn't have to worry about a thing. They even made sure to monitor the driveway for late arrivals and halt them so they wouldn't disturb the ceremony. Can't recommend the Barn at Shady Lane enough.
  • A
    Angela T. Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue!

    The Adlers are the most amazing people to work with! They want to make your day perfect and ensure it’s everything you wanted it to be. They are always available to answer questions and help out whenever possible. It was the most wonderful day!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Wow Angela! You are so kind. We looked at some of your gorgeous wedding photos again today and just gushed over every detail. Thank you for trusting us, for carefully choosing the right vendors to join you and for stopping to say Thanks. It means a lot. Blessings to you!
  • B
    Brooke H. Married on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    OUTSTANDING venue, owners, and staff!!!

    Everything was perfect!!! The owners and their crew are amazing and super sweet. They had everything flipped from the ceremony to the reception in no time. Very efficient and professional people!!! Working closely with them while planning a wedding is so much fun. Thank you for the best day ever Shady Lane 💕

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Broooooooke!! We loved hosting you at Shady Lane! You were such a gorgeous bride and that pic of you and your sweet Dad, wow! Thanks so much for bringing it all to Shady Lane!
  • M
    Morgan C. Married on 06/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection

    I can not express how amazing the Barn at Shady Lane is! We could not have picked a better place to get married!!!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks for sharing the Shady Lane love ... and excitement ... and passion!! You made us smile and it was our privilege to serve you. Blessings to you as you start this new chapter!
  • S
    Summer Married on 02/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best in the bizz

    Seriously Linda and her team work magic I could not have asked for a more smooth room flip, everything about the venue is amazing, great details and so much love and
    thought put into each wedding, thankful for you guys and making our day the best day of our life !!!!!

    Photos by: The Wippler’s Photo Co.

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words, Summer! Your wedding was Boho at its Best and we loved hosting your team of super vendors! Your photos are also sooooo good. :) (Thank you to husband and wife photo duo The Whipplers for bringing the vibe!)
  • C
    Cara Married on 12/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Definitely recommend this place!

    The Barn at Shady Lane served a dream come true wedding for me and husband! The service, quality, and flexibility was awesome. Linda always responded and provided advice promptly! It's a gorgeous place!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Thanks for the good word, Cara! You were such a bright light and we loved serving you on your magical day!

    Michael and Linda Adler
    ShadyLaneEvents.com
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 11/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    My wedding at The Barn at Shady Lane was nothing short of amazing! The Barn was absolutely beautiful and gives a rustic elegance vibe. Our guests were in awe of the gorgeous venue. Our ceremony and reception took place inside the barn and we were a little uneasy about the “flip” and the time it would take to transition. The “flip” went SO smoothly and quickly all thanks to Michael & Linda Adler, and their wonderful team!! The Adler’s are great at communicating and help to work out every detail to the best of their ability to make sure your day is perfect! I cannot say enough great things about this venue and their team!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Ashley - You were such a stunning bride and we loved being a part of your amazing day! Thanks for the kind note.
    Michael and Linda Adler
    ShadyLaneEvents.com
  • Brittany
    Brittany W. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ceremony/Reception Venue

    The Barn at Shady Lane was INCREDIBLE!! Linda and Michael were so sweet and so involved in every step of the planning process! Linda had so many amazing ideas and honestly just wanted to make our day one to remember! I knew that they were going to handle anything and everything! The venue itself, without any decorations, was absolutely stunning!! I loved every minute of our wedding day and The Barn at Shady Lane played such a huge role in making our day perfect!!!!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Brittany - Thanks so much for the kind words! You were a delightful and beautiful bride and we loved hosting you on your wonderful day!
  • Beth
    Beth Married on 10/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream wedding in every way!

    Cannot day enough great things about Shady Lane. My wedding was in October and was absolutely gorgeous and everything I dreamed of. Michael and Linda were wonderful to work with and made the planning experience easy and fun. Wish I could relive that special day at such a special place!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Beth,
    Thank you for choosing Shady Lane! Your wedding was absolutely perfect! What a dress- stunning.
    Linda
  • M
    Meredith A. Married on 09/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most Magical Day of my LIFE!

    My husband and I got married on the most beautiful day in September at The Barn at Shady Lane. During the process of planning, I never had any worry about the venue or whether or not my expectations would not be met. Even to this day, I am blown away at the quality of service and how above and beyond Michael and Linda go to make each day special for every bride. Get married here and I guarantee it will be MAGICAL!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    MAGICAL indeed! Meredith it was our joy to serve you and your handsome husband, Jake. You were SUCH a gorgeous bride and the vendors you chose ROCKED IT! M. Elizabeth Events, Kathy G, Daughters Baking, Cocoon Silk Ribbon, Lillie Jane Florists, Allison Naylor Photographer. Way to GO!!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin Married on 07/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Barn at Shady Lane is such an amazing venue! It is absolutely beautiful and the Alders are such sweet people and so wonderful to work with! The land around the barn is perfect for pictures and the inside is gorgeous all on its own. All of our guests raved about the simplicity and beauty of the venue. It was the perfect size to hold all 275 of our guests for our ceremony and then when it was flipped for our reception there was still ample room for everyone with a band and a dance floor. The staff at the barn are so helpful and they helped make our wedding day an absolute dream!! We would recommend this venue time and time again!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Caitlin-
    Thank you for your sweet comments! Your wedding was absolutely perfect. All the best to you!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I could not have dreamed up how perfect the Barn at Shady Lane was for our wedding reception. I fell in love with the venue during our first walk through and knew that it was the place I wanted our reception to be. We had close to 450 guests and the Adlers were truly AMAZING to work with, they were so accommodating not only to us but all of our guests! My husband and I have gotten so may compliments on how nice the barn was and how smoothly our reception seemed to flow. My family and my husbands family can not thank Mr. Michael and Mrs. Linda enough for making our wedding reception truly magical. The Adlers went above and beyond with every little thing that we needed and they were there to help at all stages of the planning process! I would highly recommend this place for any event!!

    The Barn at Shady Lane's reply:

    Ashley - What a BLAST we had hosting your wonderful family on that amazing day! Thank you for the kind words and for trusting us with the day you made your vows. Blessings to you and your groom!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message