The Atrium at STEM Reviews

21 | Union, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for The Atrium at STEM

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

21
Order by:
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 03/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Elegant Venue with Flexibility

    Our wedding reception was at the STEM Atrium in likely the last wedding before this period of postponements. It was an incredibly stressful time as things were changing daily, but the onsite coordinators were so helpful. We did not hire our own personal wedding coordinator, and they even helped to set up our centerpieces. Everything went so smoothly during a time of great anxiety and angst. We can't wait to see how it photographs, but even from the photos we received from our friends and family, we know we won't be disappointed. In this time of venues being very exclusive with their vendors, we really appreciated the ability to customize our catering and alcohol to meet our budget needs.

    Sent on 03/24/2020

    The Atrium at STEM's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind review! I am so happy that we were able to host your wedding given the crazy circumstances and make it as stress free as possible. It was such a pleasure to be able to work with you on your special day!

    -Alyssa
  • S

    Shilpa · event on: 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Place spoke for itself. Didn’t need much decoration!!!!!!!

    Sent on 12/04/2017
  • G

    Greg · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an overall amazing experience and we loved everything it offered!

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gina at Kean was amazing to work with throughout the whole process. She always responded quickly to my emails while planning everything beforehand. She did a great job coordinating with my other vendors. The day of she was extremely helpful with all aspects. She was on top of everything, like the pro that she is! She's the best!!
    As for the venue itself, my family and friends all loved it. It's a beautiful location and definitely unique!

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • M

    Maeghan · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While the venue may seem a bit unconventional, it is absolutely perfect. Everything we wanted on our special day. The space can accommodate large or small groups, and you have the option to do your ceremony indoors or outdoors. Their recommend vendor list was also very good. The wedding coordinators are top notch.

    Sent on 05/28/2017
  • D

    Dorothy · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is absolutely stunning. I wanted a cool contemporary modern venue for my twin boys' B'nai Mitzvah - and this place is it! But the best part is Gina Lampasona, the director, runs it for you. I was nervous about booking a venue where I had to bring in the caterer, but Gina was amazing and coordinated EVERYTHING - and followed all my instructions down to the last detail. She was responsive to all my questions, helped with things, collaborated on the floor plan, advised me and worked with all my vendors. Her communications with everyone was exceptional. I used Encore Catering, which was one of their recommended caterers and the food was amazing. Because I picked vendors (caterer and DJ company) who'd worked there before, it all went off without a hitch.

    Sent on 11/01/2016

    The Atrium at STEM's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind review! We loved hosting your event here with us and wanted to make it as stress free as possible for you and your family!
  • L

    Lina · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're thinking out of the box, this is the place for you! My fiancé and I met in the STEM building and did not think twice about having our wedding there. Our Wedding Coordinator Gina was beyond compare!!!! We couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 05/31/2016

    The Atrium at STEM's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words. We loved being a small part of your special day, especially in the place that you and your husband had met. Congratulations!
  • User5519939 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had my daughter's Sweet SIxteen at The Atrium. It was magically..everything was perfect. Danielle Armstrong was a tremendous help with her assistance before and during our event. The location is beautiful during the day with the outside fountain and flowers and at night the room has a wonderful glow.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I choose this venue for my children's school fundraiser. As a wedding and event professional, I will definitely be showing the space to my clients as well!

    Sent on 03/15/2017
  • D

    Dominik · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For our wedding, we really wanted to find a unique space that had a few different areas so that each stage of our event would have a new context. When we found the Atrium at STEM, we were amazed at how many options we had. There’s an outdoor deck, a upstairs conference space, and downstairs a main floor with extremely tall glass windows that look out onto the campus, a spiral staircase from the second floor which we also used for some fun and games. Then, guest could also mingle outside on the well kept campus.

    Because we had a non traditional wedding and a unique theme (space) the Atrium was a fantastic option and the events coordinator Gina Lampasona was really invested in hearing about our ideas for our wedding and enthusiastic about having them come together and being able to support the kind of wedding we wanted. We found her extremely professional, handled vendors without us having to constantly check in, and kept us informed as time went on and our day was approaching. She was very accomodating when we needed some of our friends and family come into the space as they had offered to perform or setup services, like our own photo booth with a green screen.

    Our wedding was definitely outside the standard, but Gina treated it as an opportunity rather than an exercise in frustration. She has a pleasant demeanor and was present for the event as well, helping set things up while we focused on getting photos and getting married. The wedding photos came out tremendous because of the well kept campus and mulltiple areas we used to hold different portions of the wedding event. Of great value of us to mention is that the fee charged for the venue includes all furniture required for the event (excluding linens) and that Gina had also organized and set up all of our decorations.

    If you’re thinking of finding a truly unique space, I would highly recommend, whatever event it might be, to visit the Atrium at STEM and reference this review with Gina.

    Sent on 10/26/2015

    The Atrium at STEM's reply:

    Thank you so much Dom for the kind words, we loved hosting your special day here with us !
  • K

    Karen · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone has said how beautiful and unique the space was, even those that didn't attend and only see it in pictures. It rained during our ceremony so we had to have it indoors and I didn't have a single ounce of stress making the decision to move it because even the indoor ceremony space is beyond beautiful! I'm actually happier it was indoors in that space with those incredible windows. Not only was the space absolutely gorgeous but Gina was so incredibly awesome to work with.

    Sent on 07/10/2015
  • J

    Jamie · event on: 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gina was amazing! she was a pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • K

    Kiyata · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Danielle. Danielle was extremely professional and provided quality customer service. She went above and beyond the call of duty, and it's because of Danielle that we even had a wedding at all! We received wonderful feedback from family and friends on how lovely things were. I highly recommend The Atrium at STEM!

    Sincere thanks and gratitude,
    Thomas and Kiyata Rankin

    Sent on 12/29/2014
  • M

    Monica · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a bride, I was very excited and had a vision on how our wedding would be. Gina at stem was more than helpful with helping us providing outside people to use and giving us honest feedback from previous weddings. Also her and her staff set up and had us take a preview to make sure everything was how we wanted it to be. The stem room is huge and was perfect for our wedding, it had a modern flare to it but felt so open with the high ceilings and wall to wall windows. There were a lot of weddings in our circle of friends, our guests are stilll talking about our wedding and said hands down it was the best one they have went to. The guests were blown away with the room. Thank you so much again

    Sent on 01/07/2015
  • User3593449 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kean University's STEM Building was GREAT!!! The food was wonderful! The venue was stunning! The staff bent over backwards for us, to allow me to have the day I have always dreamed of! It was perfect!! A bit pricey in that we had to get our own alcohol, which at times was hard to coordinate. But other than that it was AWESOME!!!

    Sent on 10/09/2013
  • T

    Tonya · Married on 09/06/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no kitchen facility so your caterer needs to be able to work around that. The STEM do have their own caterer list & I did not use them because I wanted my own food and their caterers didn't have my type of menu. Also there is a fee for not using one of their preferred caterers along with the rental fee. The venue is beautiful and with decorations its spectacular. I truly enjoyed my wedding & reception there. The assistant manager (Gina) was very accommodating and was very helpful with all my concerns. It was a pleasure working with her. This venue is a 5 but there is no flexibility with negotiating the catering fee when using your own caterer.

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 04/28/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful and Gina is an absolute pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • L

    Laina · Married on 10/13/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at STEM 10/13/13 and have been getting nothing but rave reviews about the venue. It was great that the furniture and tableware were included in the site fee and catering cost. Even though there is only one choice for catering, the chef was not only talented but so nice. The food was excellent and we got exactly what we wanted. The event coordinators there were very good to work with and went above and beyond but there have not been many weddings at this venue so they don't have many photos or preferred vendors. A bride should be skilled at event planning or may want to hire a coordinator.

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • J

    Jefferson · Married on 08/24/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danielle the event coordinator was the best she cater to our every need. we highly recommend this venue

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • S

    Satarra · Married on 10/15/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our reception on 10/15/2017 at this venue and it was extremely breathtaking. Gina was amazing to work with and we were impressed with the way she was able to accommodate our needs for our event on such short notice. Our experience at The STEM building was quite memorable!

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • Wanda

    Wanda · Married on 11/02/2018

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The venue space is absolutely beautiful. However, the catering that you are required to use is not great. The caterers that you are "required" to use by the venue are extremely overpriced and not very flexible. I had to go with the one caterer that would at least incorporate foods from my ethnic background and still it wasn't that great. I was very disappointed and would likely not use this venue again unless they allow better caterers or private caterers. The establishment on the other hand was nice.

    Sent on 09/12/2017