Texas State Aquarium Reviews

12 | Corpus Christi, TX
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Texas State Aquarium

Recommended by 89%

12

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • C

    Christina · Married on 01/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Texas State Aquarium was a beautiful place for our wedding reception. We were married in the dolphin room which was very special to us as we are Aquarium fans and enjoy this venue on a regular basis with our family. Sam, the wedding coordinator was a blessing to us and took care of every last detail with great attention and kindness throughout the entire process of planning till the end of the night. The reception room was decorated beautifully and Sam kept everything on track for the evening. I would recommend this venue to all brides looking for a special and unique atmosphere for their wedding. Thank you Sam for everything. Christina and Greg

    Sent on 02/02/2016
  • Haley Mieth

    Haley · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Texas State Aquarium was absolutely amazing!! Sam was my event coordinator and she was so friendly! She helped me with all of my planning and gave me ideas on how to do things. She also kept reminding me what we were going to do next in the reception and made sure she was on the same page with the D.J. so there were no mix ups! The staff was super friendly and helpful with everything; from helping the guests to cleaning up afterwards and helping the florist set up before the reception! The lobby turned out amazing! My family was in awe and received compliments all night! Thank you guys so much for making our special night an amazing one!!

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • User2880622 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Aquarium was an amazing venue. It is beautiful and unique and they have a wonderful team of people there for you.
    Sam worked with me throughout the whole process and made the changes I wanted, even the day of the wedding. I had made my own centerpieces and was allowed to bring in all of my boxes the day before and then they took them out of the boxes and set everything up for me. It was a true blessing since there is only an hour to decorate everything.
    Amy ( I think that is her name) stayed for the whole wedding and helped give time reminders and make sure everything ran smoothly.

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • E

    Erica · Married on 12/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! Staff was extremely helpful and on top of everything! I didn't have to worry about anything!

    Sent on 12/28/2012
  • K

    Kala · Married on 12/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Texas State Aquarium was a fantastic place for our reception! We held ours in the Dolphin Bay Viewing Room and it was great! The dolphins were great entertainment and it was a great more intimate setting. All of the ladies I worked with were great and the aquarium did all of the set up, so we didn't have to worry about any of it! The only downside was that there isn't any sort of sound system in that area we could use, so all we had was a CD player. Other than that everything was perfect!

    Sent on 06/04/2010
  • Jeremy

    Jeremy · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Texas State Aquarium was a wonderful place for our reception! It gave the guests freedom to look at around and it was just gorgeous! Everyone was so helpful and they even sent a mascot out to dance with our guests. It was a lot of fun and they were so helpful! They even did my timeline and gave me all the times the vendors needed to be there. They made it so easy and they also worked with my vendors to make sure they were there on time! More importantly, they helped the decorators with the decorations and handled all of the cleanup!! This place was AWESOME! Everyone loved it!

    Sent on 08/17/2009
  • Jax

    Jax · Married on 04/20/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magnificent and affordable.

    The ceremony and reception was amazing. They were very accommodating with every all our wishes and even last minute changes.

    Sent on 05/03/2019
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 06/08/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We rented the Texas State Aquarium about a year in advance. 1500 gets you the entire aquarium, security, volunteers, tables and chairs (and help setting them up) for 4 hours (outside of business hours). We held our ceremony at 7pm on Friday evening outside in front of the water. They have walkways that are perfect, and will set chairs up outside for guests. We rented palm trees and decorated with flowers. You DO have to choose from their list of approved caterers, which are all fairly expensive (if you don't want barbeque - which we didn't!). We ended up having seafood catered and that was very pricey. For the reception inside, tables were set up throughout the aquarium - guests had a blast and it was absolutely gorgeous. I would ask them to turn the air conditioning up ahead of time. Overall - it was cheaper than the art museum and made for a very memorable wedding!

    Sent on 08/09/2008
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 03/10/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding at the Texas State Aquarium was simply amazing. Who could ask for a better environment. The staff at the aquarium was extremely helpful in all aspects of the planning, and helped to coordinate with our vendors on when they needed to arrive. The only concern I had is that they changed event coordinators twice in about a year, which was a bit confusing. Also, I would take into consideration when you want the event to start relative to when the facility closes. I would definitely go back and have a separate company decorate rather than trying to decorate myself. However, the event coordinator that we worked during the final stages of our planning was wonderful.

    Sent on 04/05/2012
  • A

    Allison · Married on 05/24/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Texas State Aquarium makes a wonderful reception venue. The service was always good and professional; the reservationists repeatedly went out of their way to make sure the evening was a success. They have volunteers on hand during the event to answer any questions about the marine life. Additionally, there is a large wooden dance floor already in place in the main lobby, so there is no need to rent one. Because there are so many animals and fish, there are some restrictions with decorations, etc., but they were not unreasonable. There are also only limited time slots in the evenings that events can be held because the venue is open to the public 363 days a year. All events are held after 6 or 7 in the evening, depending on the time of year. However, when you do rent the aquarium, you have access to all or almost all of the exhibits!

    Sent on 08/05/2008
  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/26/2016

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I was stuck on having my dream wedding here. It was so beautiful. When I originally sat down with the sales lady, she made everything sound great, easy and reasonably priced. So we signed. Overall, I am happy with the way everything turned out. I'm very unhappy that the limited me to the main building after saying if we paid the 500 to have our ceremony there, it included the whole facility. If I had known this ahead of time, we would have had the ceremony else where.

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/23/2017

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    We had our wedding at this venue but the staff who worked the wedding didn't deliver what was promised and the coordinator left an hour into the event leaving people in charge who weren't responsive enough and for the price they charge they should've been there 100%. We didn't get the alcoholic beverages like we were promised before ceremony to calm our nerves, the lights DO NOT completely turn off which we weren't told that when they wanted our business so of course they let us find out during event the lights stay on so nobody wanted to dance in bright lights during reception. They are very money hungry and hire rude staff to work event. I wouldn't recommend a venue that rushes you the way they do. It's like a kids birthday party they just want to go home and my coordinator actually did. It wasn't worth it. They also don't tell you the music canmot be heard throughout entire venue guest area. We should ve just got married on the sand. So many things wemt wrong and could've been smoother had our coordinator just stayed and done her job. They are liars.

    Sent on 11/06/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review