Tenuta di Papena Reviews

32 | Florence, IT
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Tenuta di Papena

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

32

55 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Anastasia Devereux · Married on 10/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Italian Wedding at Tenuta di Papena

    I have to start by saying a huge thank you to Ginevra for making our wedding so wonderful and I will remember it as the best day of my life forever. Myself and my husband get stressed quite easily but with Ginevra's support and organisation the day was absolutely perfect and we have so many loving memories of our day, Tuscany and Tenuta De Papena. We hope to return in a few years time for our anniversary!

    After falling in love with the San Galgano abbey, we knew we wanted to get married in Tuscany.
    We arranged to view Tenuta back in the cold and grey November in 2017, when we met Gini it was so important for us to work with someone who would understand us, our ideas and wedding vision. Ginevra is the type of person that is incredibly passionate, creative and open minded. We bonded over interests of fashion, London and art. This was important for us so that we could essentially create a relationship that enabled us to be ourselves and trust Gini with her opinions and recommendations.

    Throughout the whole process of organising and planning, Ginevra helped us every step of the way. I can only thank her so much for replying to our millions of emails and whatsapps along the way! My husband and I like to know every detail and Ginevra put our minds at ease so many times. We found it really helpful to share our pinterest and powerpoints of photographs and ideas so that we would create our vision.

    Ginevra has a very good contacts within the area of Tuscany as she knows exactly who is the best supplier for each part of your wedding. I found that I really appreciated her honesty and opinions on caters, florists, photography and music. Ginevra has a wealth of experience in planning weddings, and understanding the flow/structure of a wedding day - she would explain how something would work from not just our point of view but a guests eyes too.

    Ginevra also helped us with the UK side of the paperwork and translating the documents - we felt slightly out of depth on this but every time there was a query or question, Gini helped us to resolve it.

    We stayed at Tenuta Di Papena for 3 nights along with our friends and family - they all loved their time there and they too have a special place in their hearts for Tuscany now. The villa and its apartments are beautiful and historic not to mention the stunning views!

    Thank you again for our time at Tenuta Di Papiena - hopefully we will be back soon!

    A+D x

    Sent on 05/13/2020
  • Richard and Jennifer

    R · Married on 09/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding at Tenuta di Papena and Abbey San Galgano in September 2019

    We booked Tenuta di Papena for ourselves and our family to stay at during our wedding. Like many other reviewers, we had not seen the property in person until we arrived the week before the festivities. When we arrived at the property, we were just blown away. It was far more beautiful than we anticipated and in all honesty the pictures you see do not fully do it justice. From the rustic brick and stone, the open courtyard with the old well, and of course the vast views of rolling hills past the infinity pool it is simply amazing and breathtaking. We found the property to be exactly what we wanted. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and well set up.

    Not only is the property at Tenuta di Papena stunning, the owner operators Ginevra and her mother Fabiola are the most gracious, friendly, and accommodating hosts. They were both quick to respond to any need and made us and our whole family feel welcome and at ease. Ginevra arranged a fantastic breakfast for all of us each day that worked out perfectly as well. Ginevra and her family also have awesome pets, a cat and a few dogs, that entertained us and became additional highlights to our stay.

    The property was well suited for wedding events of our size (36 guests) and in addition to staying on the property, we also hosted pre-wedding pizza party event on site in the lawn area above the pool. The following day we hosted our reception dinner in the courtyard area and dance party in an adjoining room, following the wedding ceremony which we held at nearby Abbey San Galgano. All of our family and friends were astonished and just raved about the beautiful setting, saying they had never seen anything like it. We are so happy that we booked Tenuta di Papena and highly recommend the venue and the hosts.

    Sent on 09/29/2019
  • T

    Tara Riddell · Married on 09/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Destination Dream Wedding Made Reality

    My now-husband and I, both from Canada, had our hearts set on an intimate European wedding with just ourselves and our parents. After settling on Tuscany for the location, we struggled to find the perfect venue and accommodation, given the costs of some venues, limitations given our small party size (only 6 guests including ourselves), issues with getting timely responses, and having the date we wanted available (Italy is a popular location - book well ahead of time >1-1.5 years). One day however, we stumbled upon Tenuta di Papena and knew immediately that this was a perfect fit for us.

    In discovering more about Tenuta di Papena, we came across many overwhelmingly positive reviews, which we are pleased to say were in keeping with our own amazing experience. Gini (owner and wedding planner) was incredibly knowledgeable, professional and responsive. Planning a wedding and family trip from several thousand kilometres away was made simple given Gini's promptness, organization, and innate sense of style. I never once worried or stressed ahead of the wedding as I knew Gini had it all covered. She was very responsive and understanding of our wishes and vision, and made it come to life.

    Though we had a small party, the cost of renting out the entire property for the week we found to be incredibly reasonable and offered a sense of privacy and intimacy that we had wanted. The villa and property it sits on were beautiful, we particularly loved the infinity pool and the many pets that often came by for a visit. We appreciated the individual apartments that were each equipped with their own living space, kitchen, and bathrooms as it allowed us and each couple their own space and private time. We very much enjoyed the communal areas too, and spent much of the time in the courtyard. Though we were fortunate to escape any rain, the villa offers both indoor and outdoor space for ceremony/reception in the event of poor weather, which was also reassuring.

    One of the selling points for us, was the proximity to the San Galgano Abbey (just a 5 min drive), which is stunningly breathtaking, and where we were fortunate enough to have our ceremony take place. Even though we were Canadians getting married abroad, Gini helped us through the process for this including taking us to townhall ahead of the date to complete the documentation, translate at our ceremony, and ensure our marriage certificates were properly authorized before being sent back to us. Though we had worried about this aspect of a destination wedding, Gini's support and expertise made this a seamless process.

    Gini is also incredibly respected by local vendors, and was able to connect us with trusted, reputable, and skilled vendors for catering, hair/make-up, transportation, flowers/decor, rentals, etc. We found all of the costs to be reasonable and she was able to help us stay within our budget for the day. She also helped us to plan some other activities including a private wine tour of the region, and was always easily available to ask for directions/help or to provide other suggestions for things to do and see.

    While we would definitely recommend renting a car to get around, we loved the pizza and wine shop just down the road from the villa, and Gini helped us get to a grocery store as well just 10-15 mins away so that we could also cook our own meals, which we enjoyed.

    We are so incredibly thankful for Gini to help create our dream wedding. We only wish we could have stayed longer, but look forward to a future trip back to Tenuta di Papena.

    Sent on 01/15/2020
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for making our wedding perfect.

    Planning a wedding from across the world is stressful, but Gini, the hostess at Tenuta di Papena made everything go so smoothly. The venue was more beautiful than I could have every imagined. Gini was there the day of the wedding to make sure everything went smoothly, and throughout the planning process, she was super quick to respond to any questions I had. I can not recommend this enough. Our whole family was amazed at the villa, and the helpfulness of the hosts. THANK YOU! This was the wedding of our dreams!

    Sent on 06/19/2019
  • Anthony

    Anthony Dispenziere · Married on 04/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venue

    This place was just incredible. It was the perfect getaway wedding venue for a small-ish wedding. We had 30 people, and most of them stayed on property. It was close enough to Siena, and it was absolutely picturesque. The owners were lovely people, and they spoke English. The water ran out in the entire city on our 4th and last night which apparently had never happened before, but that wasn't their fault. All in all, just an amazing experience.

    Sent on 06/21/2019
  • Danielle

    Danielle De Vries · Married on 02/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and such a relaxed place for an intimate wedding

    Tenuta di Papena, what a beautiful place!! We feel so blessed that we have stayed in this perfectly maintained place for 5 days with our family best friends and got married in the magical Abbey of San Galgano.

    All the apartments of Tenuta di Papena are very beautiful, everything you need during the stay is available, the beds are very comfortable and everybody is very relaxed and always willing to help with whatever you need. And then that pool... wow that is just perfect with some nice beds around it and what a view!!

    Sent on 01/14/2020
  • S

    S.k. · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great wedding weekend

    We spent a Weekend at Tenuta di Papena and celebrated our symbolic wedding ceremony here. Gini from Tenuta di Papena is such a lovely person and she made our wedding day a very special and stressless day. The communication with her during the whole planning process and beyond was great, she quickly and reliably answered all our questions. She also recommended other vendors (catering, florist, etc.) and organised everything for us – we just had to decide, what we want (or don't want) and she took care of all the rest, even on the wedding day itself. With Ginis help we had a relaxed and wonderful weekend and wedding day at the most beautiful venue, we can imagine. Tenuta di Papena is a perfect place for a dream wedding.

    Sent on 01/20/2019
  • J

    Jenny Beyer · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream came to!

    Gini made our dream wedding came true! She answered all of my uncountable questions full of love for what she does. Everything was perfectly prepared and better than we could have imagined! Thank you!!

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 05/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience from start to finish

    From the moment I emailed Gini the first time everything was seamless and exactly what I imagined our wedding day would be. She was incredibly responsive and made planning a wedding across the world as easy as it could be. The villa is incredibly beautiful and our family enjoyed the week lounging by the infinity pool. It was the best week ever!

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • S

    Scarlet · Married on 08/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above & beyond!

    Absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish!

    I planned the wedding with Papena from Canada- Gini was prompt and detailed in all her responses and reccomendations for the wedding. Our wedding took place at San Galgano Abbey and the reception at Tenuta di Papena. Her knowledge and relationships with the vendors was seemless. She gave me plentiful options and always helpful with all aspects.

    Her team went above and beyond to help us with the documentation required and even drove us to the local town hall to complete our wedding certificate.

    I can only sing praises for Gini and her team! The reception started by the pool (which has the most stunning view). Having the cocktail hour here was simply fantastic! The staff were professional and seemless in their set up and service.

    The courtyard was set up with magical fairy lights and lanterns for the dinner.

    It was truly everything and more we had visioned for our wedding! All of the guests commented "it was the best wedding they had ever attended!"

    Gini's stress free approach was professional, flexiblem reassuring and confident. You are in safe hands for all aspects of your wedding!

    Sent on 01/10/2019
  • L

    Lucy Averell · Married on 06/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding of our dreams!

    We had the wedding of our dreams in Tenuta di Papena. Gini was extremely approachable and professional and helped us create exactly what we wanted. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

    Sent on 01/10/2019
  • L

    L Guinn · Married on 06/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tuscan countryside wedding

    Our wedding at Tenuta do Papena was everything we wanted it to be.

    We wanted to have the ceremony at San Galgano so we looked for properties near there and Tenuta di Papena was a no brainer. Ginevra works with a great caterer, florist, hair and makeup and she can get you any thing you want for your big day. We sent photos to her to create the table setting and decor we wanted and she matched everything perfectly.

    She is also very responsive to questions and requests. We opted not to visit Italy before our wedding because we had a small wedding. Ginevra always responds promptly and if she is busy with a wedding she’ll let you know when she can get back to you. This mattered to me a lot.

    We rented the Tenuta for the full week to house our guests. The bed configurations were a little tough to make it work but we did. Also note that you are truly in the countryside and it takes longer to get to Siena and Florence than it looks on a map.

    The views from the property are gorgeous.

    It is a family operation and they are very attentive to what you need and experienced at planning perfect Tuscan weddings.

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • N

    Nadia Crawford · Married on 06/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing in every way

    Gini is absolutely fabulous. She is kind and genuine and incredibly hard working and dedicated to make every wedding dream come true. Nothing was too much trouble and she made planning a wedding in another country just the easiest. By the time we had the wedding we felt that we had a friend for life in Gini and her family.
    Our wedding was better than we ever dreamed it could be all thanks to her.
    Couldn’t recommend her enough!

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we set eyes on the beautiful rolling Tuscan hills from the courtyard of Tenuta Di Papena we knew that this would be the perfect location for our wedding. Being so close to the amazing San Galgano Abbey where we could have our ceremony was also just perfect. Not only is this the perfect location for a wedding but Gini really is the best wedding planner we could have hoped for. From start to finish she guided us through each step, with such professionalism, patience, attention to detail, regular communication, and doing all of this with such warmth, care and kindness. We felt like we were in such safe hands and this made the process feel incredibly easy, which we didn't think would be the case as we are based in the UK. The venue is just perfect and Gini's input into the decoration somehow leads to anther level of perfection on the wedding day, achieving simply stunning results. Gini's recommendations and good relationships with vendors (catering, bar, furniture, flowers) was perfect, with everything being of the highest quality. The generosity and warmth of Gini and her family both before and during our stay, towards us and our guests, created the most wonderful atmosphere. We honestly can't recommend this venue and Gini's input around planning your wedding enough.

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • K

    Kat · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our symbolic wedding ceremony and wedding reception in Tenuta di Papena in May 2017.
    The venue is absolutely stunning, perfect both for the wedding and relaxing with friends and family before and after the event.
    Gini was absolutely wonderful in helping us with wedding planning and preparations, suggesting vendors and making sure we made all the decisions in time. She (as well as the vendors she recommended) were also very flexible. For example we changed our flower concept a couple of days before the wedding and that was no problem. Actually flowers exceeded our expectations.
    All in all, the day was completely stress free for us and all our guests absolutely loved it.
    Gini and her lovely family helped us create our most cherished memories and we can't wait to come back to Tenuta di Papena. Kasia & Riaan

    Sent on 05/27/2017
  • H

    Harriett · Married on 04/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A very special week!

    Tenuta is such a magical special place and will always be special to us. We will always remember everything gini and her family did for us and to help us organise everything for our special day.
    Such a picturesque beautiful place and we would love to return one day.
    We wouldn’t change anything about our day and wish we could do it all again. Gini and her family are amazing and nothing was ever to much trouble for them. I would 1000% recommend tenuta di papers for a wedding.
    Us and our guests loved every second!!!!

    Sent on 01/11/2019
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a perfect place to celebrate with family and friends.
    We stayed at Papena for three days and had our wedding on the second day. All of our guests loved the location, the accommodations, the amenities, and the view above all else!
    We had a symbolic ceremony at the villa which was just stunning, cocktails in the courtyard, photos 10 minutes away at San Galgano, and dinner and dancing in the rooms available.
    Everything about Papena completely met and exceeded our expectations, but nothing more so than Gini and her family... I can honestly say that our day would not have been the same without them!
    James & Jennifer

    Sent on 10/15/2016
  • K

    Krista · Married on 08/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gini and her family at Tenuta di Papena made our wedding the most stress free and wonderful experience we could have ever hoped for! Gini designed a beautiful wedding that was exactly to our tastes and stayed well within our budget. We couldn't recommend planning your wedding with Gini at Tenuta di Papena -- San Galgano Abbey is a 5 minute drive away! It was so stunning and literally every single one of our guests told us that it was the best wedding they had ever been to.,

    Sent on 03/28/2017
  • K

    Krista · Married on 08/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I meant to say that we couldn't recommend Tenuta di Papena more!

    Sent on 03/28/2017
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 08/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect wedding venue, my family and friends couldn't believe how perfect the setting was. The owner, Ginevra, cannot do enough to help to make sure everything is perfect. We are already planning on going back to stay with family as we can't get it out of our heads!

    Sent on 11/23/2016
  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I know that it looks a bit unbelievable; ranking 5 stars for everything. But it's the truth.
    Since the moment I got in touch with Gini (by e-mail and skype), she enthusiastically thought with us on every single detail and brought us into contact with vendors that met our wishes. If the vendor didn't speak English, she was willing to arrange everything (on our behalf). She speaks good English, responses quickly on e-mails and she's just really there to help you!
    Without her help we would've never been able to arrange this day so beautifully. Also our budget would have been overwritten, for sure.

    The venue itself and her surroundings are just beautiful. It has that 'vintage' atmosphere; time stood still here (except for the infinty-pool, which is a good thing haha). We got married there in may 2016 and I truly believe there isn't a more perfect place to celebrate love and all the good things in life!

    Sent on 11/27/2016
  • T

    Truly · Married on 05/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST DECISION WE EVER MADE! My husband is Canadian and I'm from the U.S.. Getting married in Tuscany is the best decision we could have made! We have been married two months now and we cannot stop gushing about how absolutely amazing our wedding was! Ginevra went above and beyond to make our wedding special. She arranged everything (flowers, caterer, breakfasts, music AND the legalization of our marriage) perfectly! Our ceremony was held at San Galgano Abbey and our reception was at Tenuta di Papena. Even though the weather did not cooperate she knew exactly what to do! I thought that as the bride I would be worried about everything, but Ginevra always put my mind at ease. We had an unforgettable wedding with 25 of our closest friends and family many of whom stayed at the villa with us for three nights. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the surrounding hills, the gorgeous fields of wildflowers nearby, and all of the animals that live on property! There are so many amazing photo opportunities at this venue! We can't wait to return to Tenuta di Papena for a future anniversary!

    Sent on 07/19/2016
  • M

    Mine · Married on 04/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There isn't enough time to elaborate on how special Tenuta Di Papena was for our wedding and family to spend the week at of our wedding. The photos will never do justice to the breathtaking views you see and you can spend hours just sitting by the pool gazing off. The family who runs this special place immediately makes you feel like their family. They are incredibly welcoming and accommodating at all times. I feel lucky that I got to spend the most special week of my life there and my family already wants to plan a reunion there.

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • E

    Elena · Married on 09/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are going to celebrate your wedding in a charming location with stunning views, villa Tenuta di Papena is what you need! It is cozy, comfortable, beautiful, with a lovely Italian flavor. Tenuta di Papena is very convenient for weddings. The Abbey of San Galgano is located in 10 minutes from Villa (we had our wedding ceremony here). Small town Chiusdino is ideal for the photo sessions. The villa’s cozy courtyard is the perfect place for a wedding dinner. Tenuta di Papena has a swimming pool, where you can relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery of Tuscany. As a nice bonus - dogs, sheep and horses.
    We are very happy that our wedding was held there. Ginevra and her family are very welcoming and pleasant hosts. Thank you very much! We and our guests were very pleased with the time spent at the villa. We can’t wait to return here again.

    Alex&Elena

    Sent on 05/06/2016
  • A

    Alessandra · Married on 06/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Tenuta di Papena last June and we had guests from all over Italy. Breathless view, cozy place, amazing people: a few days out of the world, everything was outstanding!
    Ginevra, her family, dogs and horses... a great bunch! They all were helpful since the first moment and the preparation was easy, smooth and funny!
    Thank you all guys, we can't wait to come back!

    Alessandra & Sergio

    Sent on 10/16/2014

    Tenuta di Papena's reply:

    Dear Alessandra and Sergio,

    Thank you very much, it has been lovely to have you and your family in Papena!
    I look forward to seeing you again,

    All The best,
    Ginevra