Tammy Swales Photography Reviews

18 | Rochester, NY
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Tammy Swales Photography

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Bailey

    Bailey · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy could not have been more wonderful! She was fun and happy while shooting bridal party photos, and no nonsense for family photos, getting our huge families in and out at record pace! She was even helpful during the planning process. I had a lot of questions, and even if it had nothing to do with photography, Tammy was happy to help me out! Oh! And the photos? Stunning.

    Sent on 09/17/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy was outstanding! On wedding day, she was prompt and full of energy. She was looking for those real smiles that are sometimes tricky to get out of people, and she was successful at making picture-taking fun! During the ceremony and reception, she was unobtrusive and stealth-like. Our pictures are amazing, and we would highly recommend Tammy!

    Sent on 08/13/2016
  • S

    Steve · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are photographers and then there is Tammy Swales. There is a word limit so I'll keep it short. This woman is the absolute best in her profession. Your wedding photographs are forever, hire the best.

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • C

    catherine · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Alexandra Dean through Tammy Swales studio and could not be more pleased. I definitely got my money's worth and then some!

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • B

    Britt · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy is AMAZING! I can't say enough good things about my experience with her personally and her team as well. My engagement photos and what I've seen of my wedding photos so far are just beautiful. Tammy knows exactly how to get your dream wedding shots. I will recommend her to everyone in need of a photographer and hope to work with her again in the future!

    Sent on 12/29/2014
  • User2515896 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Ali Dean from Tammy Swales Photography shoot our engagement photos and our wedding and cannot say enough amazing things about her. She is a fabulous photographer and produces absolutely gorgeous shots. She is such a sweetheart to work with but also a true professional and provides incredibly helpful direction without making photos look too posed or generic. She could not have been less intrusive, and throughout the ceremony and reception it was almost as if she disappeared, only to end up capturing every detail we hoped she would. The team at Tammy Swales Studio is also a pleasure to work with, and everyone is accommodating and very friendly. We could not be happier with our choice!!!

    Sent on 06/11/2013

    Tammy Swales Photography's reply:

    Wow! Thank you SO much! Ali IS amazing and we work REALLY hard to make sure everything runs perfectly for you guys! I know she LOVED photographing your wedding AND the images are...well...wait until you see them. AMAZING. I am so proud of her. xoxo Tam
  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy Swales is an artist and hand's down, the absolute best photographer around. She has this uncanny ability to bring out the emotion in every single shot. When we saw our engagement session results (a "must" if you hire her), I cried. I could not believe how she was able to not only get the lighting and the background in each photo PERFECT, but the shots each conveyed how much we love each other, the joy, the zaniness and ESSENCE of who we are. We had a HUGE wedding party (24), ranging in ages from 10 - 52. She was able to not only corral everyone, but she made it a blast for all of us during our group shots. Our priest allowed her full reign at our ceremony - she could go anywhere she needed, and yet, she was so unobtrusive, I didn't realize she was even there until afterwards.
    Tammy Swales is not a photographer, she's an artist. Do yourself a HUGE favor and put yourself in her capable hands and you will have shots that are magazine worthy, and you will have a lot of fun along the way!

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • B

    Shonna · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first day my husband and I met Tammy for our consultation, we knew she was going to shoot our wedding. Tammy was very professional and yet had such a fun personality it helped melt away the stress we were both feeling during wedding planning and the big day. Tammy was awesome on our day. Unfortunately it started raining right when our first look was suppose to happen. This was not an issue for Tammy, she had me sit back with her assistant while she scoped out the grounds and found a perfect spot for our first look that still looked like we were outside! We recently got our photos and our friends and family could not believe how amazing they came out. Tammy and her crew are amazing, they're very attentive, care about how your feeling, and make sure your shoot is how you want it, but some how with an extra TAMMIFIED flair!

    Sent on 01/20/2012
  • C

    Jenna · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned our wedding from out of town and didnt have any referrals for a photographer. I found Tammy online and knew that I really liked her style of photography so I made the call. I felt a little funny that I wasnt speaking to her directly, but Jess, her studio manager, is an honest extension of Tammy and the process was fun and comfortable. We didnt do engagement photos and so didnt meet Tammy until the day of the wedding. She is so friendly and personable that I felt completely at ease and as if I was working with a friend. We had a lot of fun with her and the photographs really are incredible. I can't recommend her enough!

    Sent on 02/01/2012
  • B

    Beth · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The instant I saw Tammy’s work online, I knew I had found our wedding photographer. Tammy has an uncanny way of capturing seemingly mundane moments and transforming them into unforgettable treasures. Aside from being a brilliant photographer, Tammy is one of the nicest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. She loves what she does and it shows in her photos. Her personality instantly puts people at ease, and as someone who hates having her photo taken, I felt immediately comfortable in front of her lens. We’re thrilled with our wedding photos and will continue to use Tammy for all of our photography needs. I cannot recommend Tammy Swales and her team enough!

    Sent on 01/28/2012
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy's work touches my heart whether I personally know the people in the photos or not. She does not take pictures...she captures emotions so that we can relive and relish them forever. Tammy (and Jess and Sullivan and the whole crew at Tammy Swales Photography) made our wedding a very special day that we can remember forever, because she caught all of the little "in between" moments, as well as all of the more traditional moments. Tammy has a heart of gold and it allows her to brilliantly bring out the best in everyone around her (even those that hate having their picture taken!). We get so many compliments on our wedding photos and that is 100% due to Tammy's artistic eye and quirky style. There is no one who puts more heart into her work than Tammy Swales!

    Sent on 01/30/2012
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 06/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy was the one and only person we would have wanted to spend our wedding day with us. My husband found Tammy browsing photographers from the Rochester area on google. We checked out the images. I was charmed. Intrigued. I had to meet her. I felt like I knew a lot about Tammy before I even met her because her passion, quirky charm, and zest for the moment comes out in her pictures. I think my husband and I spent at least an hour and a half with Tammy in her studio when we met to discuss our ideas that we had for our big day, get to know Tammy, and ask about a million questions. She was so accommodating and understanding. She made us feel comfortable and confident that she would be with us for the whole process. Fast forward a few months when we dragged her out to the middle-of-nowhere (literally) for our engagement shoot...we got there with about 30-45 minutes of light left. Tam rocked it out and got RIDICULOUSLY GORGEOUS shots. Proof that the wedding day would be effortless, especially since my husband is really -not- into getting his picture taken, and he was laughing and joking the whole time. The wedding day flew by flawlessly. Except for the fact that I forgot my veil, which Tammy was the first person to notice (attention to detail much?) which in the end, didn't matter at all. I love every single picture that Tammy got of our day and I look at them all the time. She captured all the tiny moments I saw and didn't see, and her pictures made it so that I literally didn't miss a moment. Hands down the best thing about Tammy is that the whole thing was more than just about a job, money, or business. We definitely gained a friend. Tammy rocks!!!!!

    Sent on 01/17/2012
  • M

    Valerie · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful photographer + creative ideas = AMAZING wedding images!!!!!!! Tammy was the first meeting I had in the wedding planning process, and from the very start, she just got me. She promised that any anxiety would go away...and it did! She made our engagement session not about taking pictures, but about us, what we like and more about hanging out. My husband's mission to make silly faces at any opportunity was gone pretty quickly when he didn't even realize she was taking pictures. The wedding day was even more perfect than I could have thought! I received soooo many compliments about Tammy's professionalism even before anyone saw the pictures. Then when the beautiful box arrived of all of our images, I cried and relived each and every moment. I still to this day cannot pick just one favorite! If you are looking for moments, look no further. Tammy will far exceed your expectations!!!!!

    Sent on 06/07/2011
  • M

    M · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Loved it" as our rating is saying the least about Tammy Swales Photography!! We are so happy with all of our amazing images from our engagement, through our wedding. Tammy really did produce and understood exactly what we were hoping to see in our images. She has a way of seeing and capturing moments that you don't even realize are happening! Also, to be able to capture such emotion....!!! She's an expert at that in particular. And you practically don't even know she's there....She is always up for trying something new and different, and can make a mundane location look like your own little unique and exclusive photo-shoot. She really puts a lot of enthusiasm and effort into her work and it shows. What also shows through her images is that she genuinely cares, we couldn't be happier with all of our images....our dogs even smile for her!!
    We would absolutely recommend Tammy Swales Photography for any event at all!!
    Thank you Tam!

    Sent on 03/01/2011
  • A

    Caitlin · Married on 09/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Two words: Tammy Rocks.
    Not only is Tammy a truly unique and professional photographer, but a new lifelong friend. I have seen some sneaks from my wedding and they are gorgeous. They show Tammy's fun and beautiful style, but are completely my husband and I. Besides a few of our more "posed" shots, we would have never known Tammy was there snapping away and never once did she miss a great opportunity for a shot. Plus, she had a crazy old magnifying glass to get some wickedly fun and amazing shots. Who else thinks of that?? Pure Love.

    Sent on 09/21/2010
  • B

    Annie · Married on 06/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy is ABSOLUTELY amazing! The first time I met with Tammy I felt like I've known her for years. She's insanely creative and fun to work with. She really knows what works and what doesn't, one moment she'll make you laugh and you won't really know why until you see the amazing pictures. The package you receive once everything is done is really heart felt and personal as Tammy puts her personal touches on everything. You cannot go wrong with Tammy, especially if you want something unique and creative!! In addition to having a spectacular wedding Tammys photos landed my wedding in a feature blog on June Bug!

    Sent on 02/06/2011
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TAMMY IS A GENIUS BEHIND THE LENSE. Plain and simple. She elevates one of the most memorable days of your life into something truly magical. The personalities of the bride and groom and the essence of the day are brilliantly captured in her work. Once you see your photographs, you will never look at wedding pictures the same. Ever. She has raised the bar to a level that is unparalleled. Plus, Tammy and her crew are the coolest people you will ever meet. She has the best personality and can put even the most camera shy at ease. I would say that what I liked most about my wedding was the picture taking, but then I would perhaps be divorced. So, we shall leave it at that. I would recommend that, on your special day, you wouldn't even consider using anyone but Tammy.

    Sent on 02/03/2011
  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy is the best photographer, hands down. My (now) husband does NOT like to have his picture taken and was not really that into the idea of an engagement photo session. Tammy came to our log cabin house in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a snowstorm and worked with us for about an hour (inside AND outside!), so that she could get to know us before the big day, get to know our style and so that we could get to know her. It was great. When Tammy left, Ryan said, and I quote, "that wasn't too bad" - and, trust me, that's a major compliment. The pictures turned out awesome. We then had a photo session in her studio with my psychotic French bulldog puppy (table markers for our wedding!) after which I'm pretty surprised Tammy's staff still has their fingers left (the dog was a bit aggressive at that point). Tammy was awesome, very patient with Ozzie, her staff was great, and the pictures turned out amazing (and a fun little surprise for our guests). On our wedding day, Tammy taught us girls "the pose", she got some very fabulous GQ-like pictures of the guys, and she captured our day in the most spectacular, beautiful way. The pictures made my family and friends cry, laugh, rejoice, remember, and want to do it all over again. The quality of Tammy's work is impeccable, her personality is the best, her energy is amazing, her talent is unbeatable. You can't go wrong with Tammy Swales Photography.

    Sent on 01/25/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review