Taj Boston Reviews

13 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Taj Boston

Recommended by 96%

13
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want the perfect hotel for your Boston wedding look no further! The staff and service at the Taj are amazing. The food at the cafe is incredibly fresh and both American and Indian menus are delicious. The bar is very relaxing with friendly and quick service and has views overlooking the Public Garden. Both ourselves and our guests stayed here and the attentiveness and attention to detail were impeccable. We couldn't recommend the Taj more!

    Sent on 10/23/2016
  • Kathy

    Kathy · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it comes to beautiful old school elegance and outstanding service, you can't beat The Taj. We visited no less than a dozen Boston venues for our daughter's wedding. A friend in the wedding business advised us that we could look and compare but in the end we would be happiest with The Taj. He was so right. Emily Conroy, our event manager, over saw every detail so we did not need a 'day-of' planner. She had great suggestions along the way and was always available to answer questions. The staff anticipated all of our needs and our hotel guests felt totally cared for, including elderly family who needed extra TLC. The cake, designed on site combining some of our Pinterest ideas, was spectacular, and like the dinner, delicious! With photos in the Public Garden, a short walk to Arlington Street Church, a six day honeymoon stay at another Taj property, it really was spectacular and a very good value as compared to other top hotel venues in the city.

    Sent on 08/01/2016
  • M

    martha · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony was at the Old South Meeting House. We really wanted to show our guests the beautiful contrast of old Boston and new Boston, so the modern black and white roof space with city views was perfect for our reception. The venue was initially more than we wanted to spend, but we booked a Friday and it was honestly the best decision we could have made. The Taj exceeded our expectations on every level!

    We were lucky enough to have Alyson Levine as our event manager. We cannot say enough nice things about Alyson! Alyson was always warm very responsive and punctual with responding to any questions. I got sick the week of the wedding and after speaking with her on the phone with what little voice I had left, she immediately sent chicken noodle soup and tea to our suite. She took such good care of us and is awesome at her job.

    The food was amazing! We were spoiled rotten at our tasting in March. We highly recommend the miniature lobster club, tuna tartar and baby lamb chop with mint glaze hors d’oeuvres - our guests are still talking about them! We chose the green and white asparagus risotto as our first course, and then selected steak and the chilean sea bass for our entrees with a cheese cake bar for dessert. Everything tasted incredible and was cooked to perfection! I had many industry friends at our wedding, all of whom raved about the venue and service.

    Our suite was amazing. The night of our wedding we came back to our room to find red rose petals on our bed with notes from our family, a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a sweet note from Alyson. The room block was fantastic, we were so excited that the majority of our guests wanted to stay at the Taj with us.

    Unfortunately we can only give the Taj 5 stars, they honestly deserve 10, but that was not listed as an option. The overall service at the Taj is beyond phenomenal. We would highly recommend the Taj to anyone who is interested.

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • User4122610 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the Taj Boston rooftop and it was an incredible experience. The staff at the Taj were very accommodating and flexible. Many guests said that ours was the best wedding they had ever been to! And the food was delicious as well. We also were able to spend our honeymoon at the Taj Cape Town, which is included in the wedding reception package. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/29/2015
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 03/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our reception at the Taj this past March, and it could not have been more perfect. We looked at about 11 venues in and around Boston and the art, history, and elegant fairytale charm made it the perfect choice for us. The Taj has the convenience of being a hotel without feeling like a hotel wedding. Taj gave us 2 complimentary nights in a bridal suite which was absolutely beautiful. They even had someone on call to come light a fire for us in our suite immediately following the reception.

    We had our cocktail hour in the Lounge and French rooms and our reception in the Main Dining room. We also had use of the Petite Ballroom for family pictures and the Back Bay room for a private cocktail hour for the bridal party at no additional cost.

    The first Event Manager we were assigned left the hotel after our first meeting, so we got paired with Courtney Caterino shortly before our tasting. Courtney was absolutely amazing. She stayed on top of my countless emails and took care of every detail. The pastry team is also hugely talented; our cake was even better than I had envisioned.

    I only have two negatives to say. 1) They forgot our coat check. They had a coat rack in the Adam room but no attendant. 2) We had bought a coat for me to wear the day of the wedding. Somehow the coat ended up in the bell closet. As we were leaving for the church, my mom frantically checked both rooms and could not find it. We thought we had maybe left it at my apartment by accident, but when I got back from the honeymoon it had still not shown up. We called the Taj and sure enough they had it. It was disappointing since I bought the coat specifically to wear with my dress. I ended up wearing my husband's tailcoat instead, and Courtney arranged to have brunch comped for us on the roof for our 3 month anniversary.

    The Taj really has ecome such a special place to my husband and me. We love going back there, and can't wait to take our kids someday!

    Sent on 01/27/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding reception at the Taj and we truly had the wedding of our dreams. Our wedding was in the ballroom, which is absolutely stunning. The food and the cake were amazing and the service was impeccable. We worked with Kimberly and she was great to work with. She made sure every detail we had planned for our wedding day was executed perfectly. We couldn't have picked a better reception venue and we highly recommend it to others.

    Sent on 10/30/2012
  • F

    Frank · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was PERFECT for my daughter's wedding. From booking the Taj to planning the staff was so helpful and easy to work with. The tasting was amazing and such a treat. It is the most gorgeous ballroom with the most spectacular view!

    The Captain made the night run smoothly, was very attentive and treated my daughter perfectly!

    Monique was wonderful and would contact my daughter if she needed anything and would be quick to respond. She made a checklist and timeline for the day for my daughter which helped a lot. A week before the wedding everything was at the Taj and out of our hands and it was the best!

    We stayed there two nights and everyone still treated us so well. We had a rooftop brunch the next day which was fantastic and fun to see the staff again.

    What else could you ask for?? I wish we could do it again!

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • R

    Kristin · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you do not want to be stressed on your wedding day, have your wedding at the Taj Hotel in Boston, MA! I booked the vendors and the Taj took it from there. The wedding coordinator made she I knew exactly where to be at all times. Furthermore, the wedding was fit for a princess! The location is stunning, the food was spectacular and the cake was divine. All the staff is skilled and highly professional. I highly recommend the Taj Boston!

    Sent on 12/13/2010
  • Sara

    Sara · Married on 06/26/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking at about 12 other venues for our wedding, we opted to have our "Wedding Weekend" at The Taj in Boston. We could not have made a better decision. We had a relatively small affair (50 or so guests), almost all guests were from out of town. The Taj was a great, central location in Boston - ez to get to from Logan.

    Our ceremony was held in The Dining Room & Reception on the Rooftop. The weather in June could not have been better - the Commons across the street was the prime location for pictures & views from atop the roof were 2nd to none. Our guests from all over the country were very impressed with the quality & condition of the rooms. The hotel service is the best we've experienced - everyone from Valet, front desk & house keeping made the weekend that much better.

    Our day after Brunch was held on site & again perfection. All the food at the Taj was phenomenal. The entire process could not have gone as well as it did with out the help of our planner, Courtney. She was extremely knowledgeable & patient - especially as we went back and forth on locations for our ceremony as the date neared.

    If you're having an event with a lot of guests from out of town and want a great location with great staff in the center of Boston, the Taj is a perfect choice. Its reasonably priced compared to other venues too.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • G

    Gina · Married on 06/03/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception on the Taj rooftop. The entire experience from planning to the actual day was so seamless. The team was super helpful in connecting us with the other vendors we needed and making sure all details were covered. We were an extremely happy couple!

    Sent on 07/26/2018
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 11/04/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our nov 4 wedding at the T We had our wedding at Taj Boston on Nov 4 and everything was perfect! I was sold on the Taj from our first tour, but my husband favored another venue. I always imagined a classic, traditional wedding in a venue like the Taj, and it was as timeless and perfect as I imagined. After all was said and done he said it was by far the best choice we could have made! The service was impeccable and everyone who works there was so very accommodating. The food was absolutely amazing. We had many guests seek us out at and after the wedding raving about the food. Someone even wrote "Best Shrimp Ever" on our guestbook! The head waiter made sure we always had drinks of water or anything else we wanted, but the bartenders were also superb.
    Nathan Veene was our coordinator for our wedding and executed the event flawlessly. Prior to my husband and I arriving my parents felt more tables were needed in the cocktail hour due to a number of elderly guests needing to sit and they said Nathan made everything happen quickly and seamlessly. About 6 months out from our wedding our original coordinator left the Taj. Unfortunately, I was only notified when I reached out to her and received an automatic response. Once we got in contact with Nathan he was very helpful. In the months leading up to the wedding, we weren't completely satisfied with the response time to emails from us. The week of the wedding however he was completely focused on our event. This is understandable as I am aware there are events weekly there that need to be focused on and it in no way impacted our event.
    Overall, we are so thrilled with the services at the Taj. If you are looking for a place that is timeless and where you will never have to be concerned with decor, food, or services, this is your place. Although it is pricey, compared to the other venues in the area and the execution of the event alone it was worth it. Of course, the 6 night honeymoon alone makes it an easy choice!

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • J

    John · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The first stop on our honeymoon was the Taj. My only complaints are that I had to pay for internet and that even after I had paid it did not function properly, so I had to go to the front desk to get it sorted. Also, we booked from another website and expected a better room since that website listed the "rack" price, not the usual online price. The receptionist attempted to get us an upgrade but could not, instead she sent up complimentary chocolate covered strawberries.

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We chose the Taj Rooftop because it is a unique venue in Boston with breathtaking views of the Boston Public Garden and the Boston skyline. No other venues in Boston can compare to the authenticity and urban chic feel of the Taj Rooftop. Our experience with the first wedding coordinator was great. She was very polite, extremely organized, and prompt and concise with her correspondence. However, she quit about a year before our wedding and the next coordinator from the Taj was disorganized and unresponsive. She was only our coordinator for about three months before she quit too. And she didn’t keep any notes or records of any of the coordination that was done while she was our coordinator. Our third coordinator was much better than the second, but she was brand new at the Taj and it was easy to tell that her experience level was much less than our first coordinator. She was not as organized and detail-oriented and she made several careless mistakes throughout the wedding planning process which seemed like they were due to a lack of attention to detail. Attention to detail, in our opinion, is a pretty important trait in the wedding-planning industry. We believe that when you’re spending the kind of money that a wedding at the Taj requires, you should be able to expect to have some continuity with your coordinators. The Taj does genuinely care about their customers but did still assign us a junior coordinator for our wedding. With the planning struggles aside, the night of our wedding went very well. There were some minor mistakes made, such as forgetting to pour champagne for us for the father-of-the-bride’s speech and they didn’t bring our favors out on time. The food was excellent, the service was very attentive, and the venue itself was a huge hit. If we were lucky enough to keep our first wedding coordinator, we know we would have easily been able to give the Taj five stars. If we were to plan our wedding all over again, we would still chose the Taj Rooftop.

    Sent on 11/15/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review