Weddings

T.J. Salsman Photography Reviews

T.J. Salsman Photography

T.J. Salsman Photography

Napa, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 62 Reviews
View more information

62 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 62
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • Divya
    Divya Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing photographer!

    TJ’s work speaks for itself - he is an incredibly talented photographer. My husband and I were initially drawn to him because of the way he is able to capture emotions and add a unique, artistic touch to his photos. We were equally impressed by the way he made us feel so comfortable, his flexibility and his creativity from our engagement shoot to our wedding day. We had a big wedding day - with three venues - one where we got ready, one for the first ceremony and another for the second ceremony and reception. We also had three outfits for the day and wanted photographs in all of them. TJ never missed a beat. He and his assistants were there to photograph every moment, whether it was getting ready, our first look, moments throughout the ceremonies, reception and everything in between. Despite the many moving pieces and tight timeline, TJ always had a smile on his face and was ready for anything. Our second ceremony ran late and he still managed to sneak in some gorgeous sunset photos. He even had us hop into his car to drive to an area of the winery that we had said we wanted photos in right before our reception. His ability to shuffle around photo opportunities to adapt to unexpected changes in our timeline was so helpful and let us focus on being in the moment and not thinking about what happened with our planned photos sets. We got all of the photos we could have ever wanted (and more). TJ was one of the highlights of our wedding and we will forever remember our wedding day through his amazing work.
  • K
    Kevan O. Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Person and Photographer

    We never thought we would have a chance to work with TJ! He was a dream photographer. He was with us the whole process and his work was really one of a kind. He caught moments that we did not even notice we had. He truly cares and has a talent that stands out against the rest.
  • C
    Claire Married on 08/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ is the best! We chose him because he is amazing with light and takes beautiful and warm pictures. However, the added bonus is he is fun to work with. It really felt like he wanted to understand us as a couple in order to shoot our wedding. Everyone at our event really enjoyed him. Also, I never felt like he was checking the time - he flowed with the event and captured truly helped us to capture every meaningful moment.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ is a blessing! His kind, fun spirit put at us ease, partnered with his professionalism and creativity. He was very intentional about capturing our vision and made sure to also snap the candid feels of our day. Grateful for his talent and that we came upon his information. You should go book him... right now!
  • A
    Allison Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ was kind and professional, and really helped ease what could at times be a bit of an uncomfortable moment, posing for wedding photos! He has a eye for beautiful scenery and went above and beyond to travel when we had a last-minute change of venue due to the Napa and Sonoma wildfires. I would highly recommend him for your wedding or event.
  • M
    Megan Married on 07/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We first met TJ when he photographed my sister's wedding. When we got engaged, we knew we wanted him at ours. Gorgeous photographs and a wonderful personality; what more can you ask for?
  • S
    Sandra Married on 01/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Top notch! My photos came out amazing, I don't know what I would have done without them!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 09/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My Husband and I are beyond pleased with how our wedding photos turned out. T.J. was very professional and took the time to understand what we wanted for our photos. I highly recommend T.J. Salesman to anyone looking for a photographer in the Nor Cal region, especially in Napa! T.J. was so patient and so pleasant to work with, he made it easy. Our wedding album is AMAZING! T.J. captures each candid moment so beautifully, I couldn't have asked for a better photographer.
  • N
    Nikki Married on 07/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely book T.J.! The photos were the most important thing to us as we began planning; you want to capture your day perfectly so you can relive each moment in months and years to come. We literally look through our photos once a week and smile on what a perfect day it was. Thank you T.J.!!!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    T.J. is an absolutely incredible photographer! We had narrowed down our search to 5 photographers in the area with the wedding planner--and then without letting my mom or fiance know which photographer I had picked...I showed them 5 portfolios and we all picked TJ as the clear winner. His photos are artistic without being cheesy, and incorporate the natural surroundings that we all love in the greater Napa/Sonoma area. It was everything we had ask for--with a great personality on top of it! He makes you feel completely at ease while he is working his magic.

    You can go wrong using using TJ Salsman!
  • K
    Kim Married on 04/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ was an awesome photographer! He is not afraid to get down and get dirty, literally - even laying on the ground to get the best shot! We couldnt be more pleased with the photos from our elopement in Napa. We were married in a beautiful vineyard and TJ was able to capture so many moments throughout our day. He did a great job making us both feel comfortable and photo worthy ;-) and the photos and quality of them are magazine ad worthy!! Just gorgeous!
    If you are looking for a photographer in the California/San Fran, Napa or Sonoma areas, TJ is your man! Thanks TJ
  • D
    Dilushka Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the moment I found T.J. on weddingwire, I knew he was the perfect photographer for our wedding. I have worked in the event industry for over ten years, and I had high expectations for my wedding day. I was immediately drawn to his photography portfolio and his overall style. On our initial call, T.J. walked me through what to expect. He has more of a documentary/photo-journalistic style which is what I preferred instead of having everything so posed. On the day of our wedding, he arrived early and surveyed the area to make sure he noted all of the photo opportunities. We had a rather large bridal party, and he was able to captivate everyone's attention to ensure we had time for the photos we wanted. The best part about our day is we had about two hours between our ceremony and our reception, and we were able to go off-site to take some personal photographs of just my husband and I. T.J. went above and beyond and scouted out the most picturesque backdrops of Napa Valley with sprawling vineyards. I will always treasure that time because it was a moment for my husband and I to enjoy alone after our ceremony in such an incredible scenery.

    The final photographs were more than what I could dream of, and they have filled us with so many wonderful memories.
    T.J. was able to capture the moments that meant the most to us and all of his photos have so much depth and heart. He is so kind, thoughtful, and easy going. It was truly a pleasure working with him.
  • L
    Leah Married on 11/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There are so many great things to say about Tj, I don't even know where to start. Upon meeting him you will instantly feel how genuine he is. He was such a pleasure to work with and customized a package just for our needs. His talent speaks for itself and the quality of pictures you see in his portfolio is definitely what you can expect from your own event with him which is nothing less than the best. And of course, he is very professional. Tj is worth every cent (which by the way, he has great prices) and I would hire him again in a heartbeat. If you want your memories captured in the most beautiful way possible and pictures that all of your friends will envy, Tj is your guy.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were married at The Groezinger Estate in Yountville on October 3, 2015 and we hired T.J. Salsman to take both our engagement and our wedding photos. TJ was wonderful to work with from beginning to end and my husband and I were over the moon about our photos. TJ made my husband and I feel more than comfortable in what could have been an awkward engagement photo session, as neither of us felt completely comfortable posing. TJ had us laughing throughout the entire session and you can see us smiling and dancing in all of our photos! They're perfect.

    TJ captured our wedding day in the most fantastic and gorgeous way, as well. There are amazing posed and candid shots from every moment of our day and we were ecstatic when we received our final pictures. I wanted to also note that my father contacted TJ after our wedding to ask if it was at all possible to have my grandfather photoshopped into a group family photo that was taken, as he unfortunately passed away prior to my wedding, and TJ happily obliged. This act of kindness was completely above and beyond anything that TJ was obligated to do, and the resulting photo meant the world to my entire family. I highly recommend TJ to brides and/or grooms seeking a photographer! :)
  • User2309060 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ was recommended to us by our wedding planner and we are so happy that we found him! A year and a half ago we went out to Napa to plan our event and met TJ for the first time to do our engagement photos. We had SO much fun with him and ended up with some fantastic photos. After that we couldn't wait for him to photograph our wedding. When the day finally came he was so attentive and accommodating to my requests for certain types of pictures. My friends and family gelled with him so well and couldn't stop talking about how wonderful he was to have around. We got our sneak peek of pictures from the day and they were breathtaking and I can't wait to see the rest. I highly recommend using TJ as your photographer for your wedding day. He is on Facebook and Instagram if you want to see some of his work, you will be blown away I assure you of that!
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 08/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I are not "let's take picture people"! So we were very uncomfortable talking multiple pictures. I have to say TJ really made us feel comfortable and the pictures really do reflect us. He really took time to understand who we are and what kinda pictures we wanted! We purchased a package that came with engagement photos. Tj came out to our fav location( where we had our first date and where my husband proposed) which was at least 30 minutes from his home! On the day of the wedding he was early and left late, he captured every moment perfectly. Our picture came out so good, beyond what I could have ever imagined. They are like pieces of art! A plus was that he has a assistant with him so nothing missed. TJ also was my brothers photographer for his wedding. We all look at our photos a all the time. Worth every dollar! I can't wait to work with him again!
  • User2598246 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience could not have been better and our photos could not be more beautiful. Tj always went above and beyond and fulfilled every request we made. He even spent a day with us at our venue prior to our wedding to get familiar with photo locations.
  • N
    Nycole Married on 03/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ was amazing! From start to finish he went above and beyond the ensure that we were comfortable and that we got exactly what we wanted. He really cared about our vision for our photoshoot and he never stopped working to make sure that we got THE photo! He was a pleasure to work with!
  • User2103433 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    T.J. Was the best! We were nervous and he made us feel so comfortable. I had a vision of exactly what I wanted and T.J. Went above and beyond to make our vision a reality. It was such a great day, and looking through the photographs from T.J. Brought back wonderful memories that we will cherish forever.
  • A
    Alisha Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    To say that TJ is awesome would be a huge understatement! His work is incredible, his personality is fun to work with, he's extremely talented and very humble. I had high hopes for our pictures and each one that he shot far exceeded my expectations. He blended in with the ceremony and got the most amazing shots and angles, I didn't even know he was there most of the time. I will treasure the pictures from our special day and am so happy that we put our faith in his very capable hands. Thank you TJ!! You're the best!
  • K
    Katie Married on 09/29/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ is the best!! I planned my Napa valley wedding from Pennsylvania and couldn't have done it without him! I was looking online for venues and photographers and found his work online. I contacted him immediately. He did incredible work and created the most beautiful pictures! He also recommended hair, makeup, and pastoral services. Everything turned out perfectly! You won't be disappointed!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/24/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    During a celebratory birthday trip to Napa, my husband surprised me with the best gift of all- a session with TJ Salsman Photography! Being a professional photographer myself, I have long been in love with his natural posing, gorgeous use of light & the way that he effortlessly captures pure love. He was prompt & responsive which made booking a breeze and when we arrived at our session it was like hanging out with an old friend. We had a fabulous time laughing and playing and just spending some time enjoying a wine country sunset. Then we got our images back. My jaw dropped and tears of joy streamed down my face. Those moments laughing with my husband and leaning on his shoulder during a gorgeous sunset... they were all there. Many where I didn't even know that TJ was shooting. He captured us. Just as we are. I knew that he was talented, highly sought after & pretty much a photography legend. But nothing could have prepared me for the final product which literally took my breath away. Friends come over and usually the first thing that they comment on is the giant TJ Salsman print on the wall. If you are looking for a photographer please don't waste your time looking any further. You have found him. He is worth every cent and more and will treat you like family. He is the one that us photographers trust with our cherished memories and time. Book with TJ Salsman Photography now... thank me later.
  • D
    Debbie Married on 09/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    All I can say is WOW!
    T.J. was the photographer for our son's Napa Valley wedding at Charles Krug Winery
    and he did an exceptional job.
    He was patient, professional, and just a great guy to work with!
    He put together a beautiful wedding book for our family with a gorgeous design and layout of our favorite pictures and had it delivered in time for Christmas even though
    I only gave him two weeks notice. Thanks, T.J.!
  • User2036130 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    TJ did a phenomenal job photographing our wedding! He was friendly and professional. He did a great job of capturing all the special moments. We were able to meet with him a few months prior to the wedding. He took the time to get to know us and at that initial meeting he took some engagement photos as well. TJ was able to be at our rehearsal dinner, as well as before the wedding, during the ceremony, and late into the reception. TJ listened to our photo requests and also suggested and guided us to capture experiences we would never have thought of. We couldn't be happier with the final photos - it was as if we were reliving all of the special moments that occurred on our day!