Skip to main content
Weddings

SYB Event Planning Reviews

SYB Event Planning View more information

38 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 38
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

12 User photos

  • C
    Cynthia F. Married on 04/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Soraya and her team were great!

    Soraya was very easy to work with. She really understands what you want. I highly recommend her and her team!
  • Andy
    Andy N. Married on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Well worth it!

    We weren't sure at first whether we wanted to spend the money on a day-of coordinator, but my wife and I are sure glad we did. Soraya was crucial in the month leading up to our wedding in helping us stay organized, coordinating all the vendors, and ensuring everything ran smoothly on the big day. It was such a relief to be able to enjoy our own wedding and not spend the day fussing over every last minute detail.
  • L
    Liz P. Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best out there

    Soraya and the event planning team are just who you need to hire for your wedding in order for things to go as smooth as possible on your special day. For us we hired her to be our wedding day coordinator, caterer, and the bar service. She and her team really went above and beyond what we expected out of her. She helped to think of details we wouldn’t have thought of and decorated our venue so beautifully, the food was SO delicious; the guests couldn’t stop talking about it, and they made great cocktails for everyone to enjoy. We said it a few times but we may have canceled our wedding if it wasn’t for her, as planning a COVID wedding was as stressful as you think it is. Additionally Soraya was extremely professional, kind, and very respectful. I cannot recommend her enough. If you want a stress free and a beautifully executed wedding, don’t look any further past SYB Event Planning!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Joan T. Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You will absolutely will LOVE this company. Soraya and her staff are wonderful !!! The food was DELICIOUS and the staff could not do enough!!!

    You will NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!! I have done many parties and was once in the business. I cannot say enough about Soraya and her staff!!!
  • N
    Nora Married on 05/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend

    Soraya made our wedding day perfect! She takes care of everything and is very detail oriented and thorough. We would have been lost without her. I definitely recommend her to any family or friends looking to plan an event.
  • Alison
    Alison A. Married on 10/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!

    We booked Soraya originally to do our catering and ended up adding on day of coordination! Both services were above and beyond what we could have hoped for. All of our guests were absolutely raving about the food and the service! Soraya helped ease so much stress and anxiety for me, especially after having to overhaul and replanning our wedding due to Covid. Soraya made the day so much more enjoyable and allowed my husband and I to be much more in the moment and enjoy our wedding day! I wouldn’t have changed a thing!
  • Nicole
    Nicole A. Married on 08/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Life saver for this Corona Bride

    Planning a wedding in the middle of a pandemic was uncharted territory for anyone this year. Soraya jumped in right when I needed her with what questions to ask my venue on how to ensure I was still going to get the wedding of my dreams. I planned everything last minute due to such uncertainty and Soraya was there with contacts for me from someone to rent chairs from literally last minute as my other vendor fell through. She connected me to the most amazing videographer when we decided last minute that we wanted one. Soraya has such amazing relationships with all these vendors and I knew I could trust her judgement with these referrals. In all this uncertainty, the only thing I was certain about was that any question I had for Soraya, she would give me her best answer or contact. She works all hours and is always accessible for any question you may have. She put my mind at ease and for someone who thought that I could plan this wedding on my own (I’m stubborn like that), I’m so glad I had her helping me plan my special day!
  • J
    Jennifer O. Married on 01/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful, experienced and professional!

    Soraya was incredibly thorough and forward thinking. Both my husband and I work demanding jobs and had little time to plan anything....she seemed so acutely able to crawl into our brains, recommend ideas aligned with our interests and values and support the best execution. So, so grateful and impressed!
  • P
    Praneetha Married on 05/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, delicious, multicultural cuisines presented with style and elegance

    Soraya was absolutely wonderful to work with and provided us with exactly what we needed for our wedding! She was professional, courteous, accommodating to our budget & dietary needs, and is someone who takes pride in the presentation of her work. She sourced 2 chefs for our wedding, one Indian and one Mexican, as my husband and I are from different cultures and wanted to incorporate both cuisines. She worked in an oyster bar as well while keeping us within budget. My guests have been raving about the food ever since, and I can't wait to work with Soraya again on my next event!
  • Faith
    Faith R. Married on 04/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We got lucky with SYB Event Planning!

    Just got back to Virginia from my son's wedding in Boston. We had to plan the rehearsal night dinner from afar. After a couple of locations fell through and we were getting closer to the date, I was scrabbling for a caterer going blindly off of yelp reviews. I stumbled on SYB Event Planning. Soraya, the owner, was wonderful! What a life saver! The dinner was held in perhaps an atypical place, but Soraya managed everything beautifully. If you want a caterer who not only provides really delicious food but is flexible and reliable, I highly recommend SYB Event Planning. We couldn't have been more pleased!
  • S
    Susan M. Married on 03/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Caterer and Event Planner

    Soraya and her staff were amazing! We hired her and her staff for a corporate lunch, baseball-themed. She was very responsive, she replied to all my questions quickly. She had so many great ideas and made my event so much better than I hoped it could be. She was very organized and I felt like I didn't need to worry. Her and her staff took care of everything! We plan to hire them again for our next event. I'm so glad I found her!
  • M
    Makiya P. Married on 12/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Shes the best!

    I stumbled across Soraya during my search for a caterer for a corporate holiday event. Soraya was very accommodating to my teams needs and was able to provide more than exceptional services. She was able to work with my busy schedule to make I got all the clarity I needed. It was so great of her to stop by my company to let my team and I taste a few of her selected dishes. When she arrived the day of the event she was on time and her teammates were very pleasant. The set up was way better than I ever imagined. Very nice table cloths, high end utensils, high end service and attention to details. I haven't done many events before, but I let Soraya take the lead and she made me feel so comfortable and shared brilliant ideas that helped this event turn out fabulous. People could not stop talking about the food and how great she set up at the event. I will definitely be using Soraya for many more events in the future!
  • Rossemary
    Rossemary Married on 09/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Soraya Just Gets It!

    I found Soraya after looking for wedding coordinators on the Wire. As soon as we spoke we instantly connected as she was great and understanding what I needed. She coordinated our floral arrangements with the best florist in town and managed my wedding day with true professionalism. I relied on her for great advise and am truly grateful for her dedication and pure willingness to make my wedding day a dream.
  • V
    Vicki Married on 06/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can honestly say that Soraya was amazing, every step of the way! She made me feel confident that the party was going to be a success, and it was. Everyone was so impressed by her presentation of food, which was amazing, and the ambiance that she created. I would highly, highly recommend her! She made me look really good planning a huge Grand opening/ Open house for up to 400 guests. You will not be sorry, I can promise you that! This girl, and her team really know how to plan an event! Good Luck to you!
  • A
    Amy Married on 04/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Soraya put together a wonderful, festive looking Tenant Appreciation Event with a Red Sox Opening Day theme at my company. We had about 400 tenants come through to enjoy "ballpark foods" and watch the Red Sox game projected onto a wall. A great time had by all. Would hire her again in a second!
  • A
    Anna Married on 08/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hiring Soraya from S.Y.B. Event planning was the best wedding decision we made! She is extremely professional, friendly, organized and literally takes care of EVERYTHING. We originally contacted her for catering services (she has connections with many great restaurants and chefs and really works with you to build your perfect menu-organizing tastings and hand picking each menu item) but she also helped us with everything from finding a DJ to working with our hotel venue to manage the day-of coordination.

    I would highly recommend you take advantage of Soraya's "Day-of Coordination" service-she works non-stop to make sure everything flows smoothly, coordinating with all of your vendors and managing the timeline for your entire wedding reception. You do not even notice that she is there during the reception-she works so quickly and behind-the scenes ensuring that everything is perfect! She truly is the fairy godmother every wedding needs!

    Soraya also has a great specialty and understanding working with multi-cultural weddings. As a fusion Indian/American wedding she was very attentive in accommodating our unique needs (ex. building a fusion menu).

    I cannot say enough how S.Y.B Event planning, whether you hire them for catering or planning services, is the best decision you will make for your wedding planning!
  • E
    Elisha Married on 06/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Soraya was a gift! We couldn't have asked for a better wedding planner. She made us feel so comfortable from the moment we started working with her. She was always available, communicative and helpful. She broke down the whole process and budget for us and reached out to multiple vendors who we never would have known about! We love Soraya!
  • W
    Wendy Married on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want to enjoy your wedding day and not have to worry that things will get done, then you want to hire a wedding coordinator. I was on the fence about hiring one, and my finance made the decision because he didn't want me to stress and worry about anything that day. Of all the money we spent for the wedding, this is probably one of the best decisions we made. Soraya is truly talented! She helped to make our wedding perfect and most of all STRESS FREE!!
  • H
    Huck Married on 06/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Soraya and her team were amazing! Several people told us ours was the best wedding they have been to, and Soraya was behind it all!
  • K
    Kayla Married on 06/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    S.Y.B will take care of every detail of your event! Soraya and her team are professional, caring, and fun! She made my wedding day perfect. She took care of catering, finding an awesome DJ, and planning all my day of services. With Soraya in charge, I didn't have to do anything but relax and enjoy my wedding day! I highly recommend her services!
  • H
    Heather Married on 06/18/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Soraya was amazing! The day of coordinator was one of the last things we booked. I wasn't sure if we would need one. Our wedding was at an inn and we brought all of our own vendors in and did everything ourselves. I realized I was going to want to relax and enjoy the wedding day and let someone else take over. We met with two other day of coordinators and after meeting with soraya, our choice was obvious. She has been in business for a while and knows exactly what she is doing. She came to the inn on Friday prior to the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner and we walked through everything that needed to be done. She has done so many weddings so I trusted her with any opinions she had! The day of the wedding she executed everything and more! She did everything on our to do list and I'm sure many other things I don't even know about. We are so so happy we hired not only a day of coordinator, but soraya. I had no worries knowing she was there! Any other events we have in our lifetime, we will definitely be using her!
  • User2607754 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Planning a destination wedding in Newport, RI in 6 months while living hundreds of miles away, working full time, moving once cross-country, finding a new job, starting a new job, etc, etc, is no easy task, even with a wedding planner! With everything going on in my life, plus the short timeframe (the wedding date we selected was 6 months out from the day we secured the venue), and the fact that I am a perfectionist, I knew I was going to need help. I was lucky enough to come across SYB Event Planning while on Thumbtack. I interviewed a few companies and ended up selecting SYB because Soraya, the owner, and I really clicked while talking on the phone. While I wasn't necessarily looking for a cultural wedding, I knew she would understand some of the nuances with our families because my husband and I come from different cultural backgrounds. Soraya specializes in taking the time to understand different cultures and she goes out of her way to embed as much or as little as you want of you or your partner's culture into your wedding.

    I'm so glad I had Soraya for the entire wedding planning process and for the day of the wedding. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and totally exceeded my expectations (this is a perfectionist speaking...just for some perspective). I don't think that could have been possible without having Soraya helping along the way. She challenged me to think about things I would have never thought of and took care of all the details. She went above and beyond to make sure the wedding was as successful as it could be. She even drove over 90 miles each way to get us a cute favor that we really wanted for our guests...without hesitating! I didn't even ask her, but when she heard me talking about what I would like to do if the place was closer, she just jumped in and said she would take care of it. I'm so thankful for everything Soraya did to make our special day a success and would highly recommend her to anyone trying to plan a wedding.
  • A
    Amy Married on 10/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Soraya and her team for Day of Coordinating Services and she was AMAZING. She was very responsive, took the time to learn about my then fiance and I, she met with us, gave us advice, contacted our vendors to introduce herself and help create our timelines. She came early the day of, just to make sure she and her team had enough time to set up. She handled setting the tables; linens, dishware, glasses, etc...she went and set up our gift card table, place card table and other added touches I wanted.

    Her rates are reasonable, but for the quality of her work, she went above and beyond that. She also stayed the whole time and made sure to pack up my necessities. She made my mind at ease! I HIGHLY recommend her and I recommend hiring a day of planner if that is all your budget allows!
  • User2419489 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Soraya belgacem was referred to me by an acquaintance who had hired soraya as a wedding coordinator.
    I was truly happy with such a referral. I hired Soraya for the month of coordinating package because I needed some last minute help to tie up some loose ends and help with the ceremony rehearsal and the rehearsal dinner. Soraya was truly professional, personable, responsive and paid great attention to details. She was also very easy to work with and made everything go smoothly especially the week of the wedding. Soraya made my stress level go down to zero. That was truly a blessing. I can definitely say that she is really good at what she does. I would definitely recommend her.
  • P
    Patricia Event on: 06/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My experience with S.Y.B. Event Planning Services was extremely positive. Soraya went above and beyond to understand what I wanted for this event and to provide ideas that were in keeping with my wishes. She was extremely professional and I enjoyed working with her. On the day of the event, she was on site and was just wonderful as was the team that was supporting her. The food was absolutely fabulous! Almost one month after the party, people are still raving about how wonderful everything was. I would highly recommend Soraya to anyone planning a party or event. You may find better bargains in terms of the absolute price, but I doubt you'll find better quality and more professional service--two things that are invaluable when planning an event. I want to plan another party just so that I can work with her again!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message