Skip to main content
Weddings

Sutro String Quartet Reviews

Sutro String Quartet

Sutro String Quartet

San Francisco, CA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 26 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • F
    Faith Sent on 10/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Enchanting Melodies: Our Wedding Day with Sutro String Quartet

    We were absolutely delighted to have Sutro String Quartet grace our wedding at Alila Napa Valley on 09/23/23. Their performance was nothing short of magical, and it added an enchanting ambiance to our special day. Our guests couldn't stop raving about their incredible music. Sutro String Quartet's talent and artistry truly made our wedding unforgettable. We wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone seeking a top-notch quartet for their event.

    Thanks once again, Sutro String Quartet, for making our day so extraordinary with your beautiful music!
  • S
    Susan M. Sent on 07/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Ceremony & Cocktail Hour Music

    We hired Sutro Strings Quartet for our daughters wedding. They played for the wedding prelude, ceremony and for the cocktail hour. They were amazing musicians and were very well prepared with all of our musical selections. I highly recommend Sutro Strings Quartet, you won’t be disappointed! A++++
  • Colleen
    Colleen K. Sent on 06/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome!! They arrived early and set up so they were ready to start right on time. Each musician was very nice and personable. They seemed to

    Sutro Quartet performed a House Concert at our home in Larkspur on May 28th. They were wonderful. Our guests raved about them. They play a great variety of music from classical, to jazz, to popular tunes. Very enchanting and relaxing. I would most definitely hire them again. Thank you Sutro Quartet for making our event special.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Carol B. Sent on 06/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was nothing less than fabulous

    Sutro String Quartet played beautifully a wide range of songs from classical to rock. They arrived promptly and just knocked our playlist out of the park. I would highly recommend them for any event.
  • J
    Joslyn R. Sent on 05/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    Working with David was wonderful and the musicians played beautifully. I would recommend them for your event! Thank you so much!
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay W. Sent on 05/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So Glad We Chose Sutro String Quartet

    We had some last minute format changes to the beginning of our ceremony, so I was admittedly a bit nervous about everything being cued, but Sutro String Quartet was PERFECT! The group sounded amazing and it was above and beyond my expectations! Communication was great and would definitely recommend to anyone!
  • C
    Claire T. Sent on 05/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sutro String Quartet is the Best!

    So glad we asked Sutro String Quartet to play at my son's wedding reception. From the very beginning their manager was prompt, efficient, courteous and accommodating. The quartet at the reception played beautifully and all the guests enjoyed the music. The deciding factor was their very extensive song library, from classical to modern and everything in between.
  • S
    Susanne P. Sent on 05/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Music, Lovely Musicians!

    Responsive, professional, and incredible musicians. Highly recommend.
  • B
    Brian Sent on 04/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a Talented Group of Musicians

    What a talented group of musicians! The Sutro Quartet was easy to work with, gave me a lengthy and extensive song list to choose the set list, was responsive, pleasant and did a fantastic performance at my event. I highly recommend the band for any event. They are wonderful to listen to and my guests pointed to them as one of the highlights of my event.
  • N
    Nicholas D. Sent on 03/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Surprise Special Day

    I booked the Sutro Quartet to play a surprise event for my wife.

    Booking was easy and the cost was worth every cent.

    I can’t recommend highly enough! They were so professional and exceptional musicians! even though the event took place at a pet grooming salon it didn’t bother the musicians at all.

    Even though there were only two of us listening they played all requested music perfectly as if they were playing to a large audience.

    We will absolutely bring them in again for another surprise down the road
  • J
    Jiada L. Sent on 11/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wow! Simply amazing

    Amazing quartet, their music really pops and has a vibrancy to it. These guys are real pros!
  • S
    Sara A. Sent on 05/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    the string quartet made the entire event. Everyone was incredibly talented, timely and totally on it. They were super polite and low maintenance- just came in and got the job done. Thank you so much for being a pleasure to work with and for bringing everything together at our intimate ceremony and cocktail hour.
  • M
    Marie L. Sent on 07/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sutro Strings is the ONLY choice!

    When COVID changed our daughter's wedding of 220 in October at Pebble Beach to an immediate family only in an outdoors courtyard in San Francisco, I (MOB) emailed Sutro Strings and other vendors to check availability. The ONLY and immediate response I received was from Sutro Strings. Their manager is the ultimate professional and there was never a lag in correspondence or response. We made sure COVID protocols were followed. The string quartet wore masks, were spaced sufficiently apart and since outdoors with fresh air--the quartet felt protected as did our guests. I (as the MOB) was given a Music List by Sutro, very detailed and easy to select, made my choices and on the day of our daughter's wedding---the quartet DELIVERED a beautiful accompaniment for my husband to walk our daughter down an aisle. There was lovely music before and after the ceremony---the bride and groom were happy and so were all the guests.
    I (as the MOB) am a very exacting person who knows what they want and Sutro Strings is the ONLY choice and I am happy to refer them to future brides/grooms and their families.
  • Juliet
    Juliet V. Sent on 10/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service

    Sutro string brought an amazing spirit to the wedding ceremony. They were on time, very professional, and accommodated changes during our designated time slot with them. We received endless compliments on the Sutro string! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
  • D
    Diane H. Sent on 08/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent experience with sutro string quartet

    We absolutely loved the Sutro String Quartet! They were easy to work with from the time of booking and were excellent communicators throughout the entire wedding process. We loved their music repertoire plus they were very accommodating with regard to our song requests.
    Their musicianship was top notch as well! We highly recommend Sutro String Quartet for your
    wedding or special event!
  • J
    James B. Sent on 12/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    ThermoFisher Holiday Party

    The string quartet raised our holiday party to a “new level”. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the music and the variety.
    We would highly recommend the Sutro String Quartet for any professional or festive function that seeks to add a touch of elegance.
  • S
    Scott L. Sent on 09/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy planning, flawless performance

    Sutro String Quartet and Manager David Lisker were the highlight of our wedding. We had some complex planning requirements, involving a custom arrangement of the bride's late-grandfather's composition, and multiple performance setups; Sutro handled everything perfectly and elegantly to allow for a seamless ceremony, cocktail hour reception and exit. As a classical music producer, I am able to judge quality of performance and musicianship, and this group is good. Like, really good. In tune (even outdoors), great balance (no need for amplification), and beautiful performance. We are forever grateful for their contribution to our wedding, and would hire them again in a heartbeat--you should too!
  • A
    Alison Sent on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    Sutro String Quartet performed for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour and they were absolutely wonderful! David was so helpful and professional while planning the wedding. Guests raved about them! Such a wonderful group!
  • Catherine
    Catherine B. Sent on 08/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, talented, and great range of songs!

    We were enamored with the idea of a string trio for our ceremony and weren't sure we could make it happen within our budget, but Sutro Strings really came through for us! David was responsive and flexible with our requests, provided a list of song suggestions and a full song list. We had a wide range of music we wanted during the pre-ceremony (everything from Holst to Fetty Wap - for real) and they nailed everything. Highly recommend! Excellent musicians and so easy to work with.
  • Ryan
    Ryan K. Sent on 06/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very professional and did a great job!

    We wanted the quartet to play at our ceremony and cocktail hour and they were great! Getting everything coordinated and set up was really easy! Definitely worth checking out if you are looking for something classy at your wedding!
  • S
    Samantha C. Sent on 04/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Quartet!

    I am so glad to have come across this fantastic group! They set the tone for the wedding ceremony and cocktail hour and guests loved their wide range of song selection (especially today’s top hits). Last minute we needed to add on an additional 15 minutes of play time and they were very accommodating. Highly recommend to anyone in search of live music for their wedding or event!
  • R
    Rowena C. Sent on 01/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous all round

    Punctual, friendly, professional and played beautifully. Great service from the booking through to the performance . Would absolutely recommend.
  • L
    Leslie Sent on 08/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The PERFECT string quartet for your wedding!

    I knew that I had to write a ✨ glowing ✨ review after I received several compliments from my guests and my father, who stated that the quartet was “really amazing!” They played beautifully and made the ceremony really special for us. Our guests took video clips of the quartet playing “Be Our Guest,” which I requested because I’m a Disney fanatic. I am still in awe over this quartet and I would like to hire them again, but this time it will be as a wedding present to my sister, who was also present as my maid of honor and she loved the quartet!
  • M
    Meghan Sent on 09/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    "First and foremost they were all four excellent musicians. Outdoor wedding, with PA system. Their technique and sound quality were wonderful. Second, they were open to my selecting songs not on their wedding recos but part of their larger repertoire. They also gave me feedback and discouraged me from an idea I had that probably would have flopped. Their manager was responsive and professional. Highly recommend. "
  • V
    Viviana O. Sent on 05/04/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great for custom arrangements

    I chose Sutro String quartet because they accommodated my custom music arrangement request (for an extra fee, per song). They do also have a very large library of songs to choose from so the likelihood of you having to get something custom is not big unless you're going for something pretty unique. They did a fantastic job in execution, my guests said they loved it!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message