Susan Sancomb Photography Reviews

43 | Wakefield, RI
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for Susan Sancomb Photography

Recommended by 99%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • P

    Peg · Married on 10/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan did a fantastic job for our daughter's wedding. She was energetic yet calm. As you see from her website and blog, she is a seasoned professional and I would recommend her to anyone. As the Mother of the Bride, you just have to put your faith in your vendors on the wedding day and Susan Sancomb Photography certainly delivered.

    Sent on 04/14/2018
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 10/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Susan was one of the best parts of our wedding. From the initial planning to the day itself, Susan's professionalism and calming presence always put me at ease. Our wedding pictures turned out better than I could have ever imagined. It was the perfect mix of formal portraits and candid pictures showcasing a beautiful fall day in New England. I'm still getting emails from family and friends gushing over our wedding pictures, and I know I will cherish the special moments Susan captured for years to come.

    Sent on 04/22/2018
  • User2497169 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure working with Susan for our wedding photography. She was very flexible for us to stay within our budget and capturing the images that we had requested. Since our wedding took place at a private home, she was able to visit prior to the wedding day to walk the property and gather ideas for best locations. We were very happy with the result of our photographs, and receive compliments on them regularly!

    Sent on 04/13/2018
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our photos were absolutely perfect!! The entire night was captured so beautifully, we couldn't ask for a better collection of memories! We had a very large wedding and somehow Susan managed to capture everyone there; even guests that we weren't able to spend a lot of time with.

    Sent on 08/29/2017
  • J

    Jill · Married on 09/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Sancomb is an absolute pleasure to work with and is such a talented photographer! We found Susan through a recommendation and we set up an introductory call with her. Although we thought we might only talk with her for 15 or 20 minutes, 45 minutes later we were hanging up and saying to each other that we wanted Susan to photograph our wedding. Her personality is completely down to earth and friendly. Plus, she has so much experience shooting engagement sessions and weddings. We felt really confident that she would be able to make us feel at ease and that we could trust her to capture some amazing moments.

    Susan shot our engagement pictures and our wedding pictures and they came out amazing - we couldn't be happier with them. She made sure that we let her know the style of photos we like and kept that in mind when taking our pictures. Susan was completely open to our opinions and preferences while also sharing her own insights and seeing what we thought. The pictures she takes are BEAUTIFUL. Not some of them, all of them. Even the candid pictures, sunsets, private moments, and amazing scenery are magnified through her pictures. Her photos capture the excitement and love of our wedding day perfectly and we enjoy reliving the day through her pictures. She works with talented partners (if you want multiple photographers) who match her personality and style has well.

    Outside of how talented and personable she is, we feel like Susan's strengths lie in her ability to understand her clients! She was extremely flexible in working with us after our wedding to make sure we got our pictures in time for the holidays, even though she had a busy schedule for that time of year. It was a joy working with Susan and getting to know her and we will miss talking with her! Find her at susansancombphotgraphy.com

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Susan as our wedding photographer! From the beginning Susan was both very responsive and flexible to our needs for the day. We initially chose Susan based on her stunning portfolio but quickly realized she had so much more to offer - from intimate knowledge of our venues (South Ferry Church and The Towers) and where to get the best photos to just making us feel at ease in front of the camera. She captured the day perfectly and we will certainly cherish these photos for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 09/18/2016
  • User5041673 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Susan last summer for our 2016 wedding over Memorial Day weekend, and couldn't be happier! I struggled selecting a photographer initially because everyone's packages and price points seemed so different and unique, I wanted to make sure I was selecting the best option, considering value, personality, and quality of work. But upon finding Susan's work online, I knew that we needed to book her (if she was available for our date, which thankfully she was!) because the quality of her work was so beautiful. After discussing her rates and process via a phone consultation, she sent us a link to a couple of private wedding albums from previous clients, one of which was from a wedding she shot at our venue. We also booked an engagement session with her last summer, which was fabulous and I would highly recommend doing before your big day! Some of our favorite shots from the engagement session are in locations that Susan pinpointed on the spot, suggesting that it would make a great shot, and they did! On the night of the wedding when her time was up, she found me on the dancefloor and let me know and we ended up booking her and her assistant Michelle (also great!) for an extra an hour for more candid dance shots. She was so flexible and we greatly appreciated her staying on longer than originally planned! She's already provided a 'sneak peak' of photos from our wedding that we used for our Thank You cards, which are gorgeous! We can't wait to see the rest!! Being a local RI based photographer in South County, she books up fast especially for the summer and fall weddings, so be sure to reach out far in advance of your desired date! We look forward to using Susan for our future photography needs!

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • N

    Nicholas · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan assisted on our 10.10.15 wedding. Her level of professionalism and creativity allowed us to capture amazing candids as well as posed portraits. She was very easy to work with and made the entire wedding party feel comfortable around the camera. Thank you Susan!

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • User6076891 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is absolutely fabulous. She was our photographer for our August 2015 Block Island wedding, and I can't rave enough about her. Our pictures turned out so perfect, and she completely captured our day. She was wonderful to work with, and made my husband and I so comfortable. She's such a genuinely nice person. We aren't the most photogenic couple, and somehow she made us look great! From start to finish she captured our day, and I can't believe we have such incredible pictures to look back on! Anyone considering Susan please know your pictures will come out dreamy!! <3

    Sent on 12/21/2015
  • S

    Shaynna · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our whole family absolutely loved working with Susan for our wedding and engagement pictures! She was super flexible and easy to work with.. Our pictures looked like they were something from a fairy tale and we are more than happy with her services.

    Sent on 11/11/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy to have chosen Susan for our wedding photographer. We met her at The South County Bridal show and remembered how friendly and easy going she was in addition to her beautiful pictures! On our wedding day Susan and her assistant were friendly and professional and had a lovely way of interacting with our wedding party and guests. They spent time getting many shots and were flexible about taking breaks when we needed them. She shared a sneak peek of our photos this week and we are SO EXCITED to see the rest. Thank you Susan for being a part of our special day.

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • User4620376 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was wonderful to work with. We will definitely hire her again in the future. She listened to what was important to us and helped us decide the best locations and styles of photographs for us. She made sure that we got beautiful photos, photos of our guests, and had time to see people and enjoy our wedding day.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • J

    jamie · Married on 03/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot thank Susan enough for saving the day during our elopement ceremony!! We were prepared for chilly March weather on the beach, but did not expect a Nor'easter. Susan was able to get us into the Narragansett Towers with one day's notice...with our 2 dogs (my bridesmaids :). Even with wind gusts of 50mph, Susan was still able to take breathtaking photos outside! And she captured our 2 rescues marvelously. Check out her blog for examples! Susan was an amazing choice for us. She responded to my inquiry, spoke with me about our ideas, and gave us a quote promptly as our date was quickly approaching. Now, less than month from our wedding date we already have our album, online gallery, and thumb-drive of originals. We are so happy to have had the pleasure of meeting Susan and having her photograph our special day. We are continuously getting rave reviews of her magnificent work! Absolutely perfect, look no further!

    Sent on 04/21/2014
  • C

    Christina · event on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan shot our engagement photos and we were thrilled with the way they turned out. Her photos speak for themselves and it is evident that she takes pride in what she does and is a true professional. Everyone that sees our photos is amazed at the quality and we have received nothing but compliments...they even brought tears to my future MIL's eyes. Not only is Susan an amazing photographer, she is a kind and compassionate person and a true animal lover like myself. We met her through a fundraising campaign that she was working on for the shelter that we adopted our first dog from. He joined us on the shoot and Susan captured beautiful moments of the three of us that we will have forever. It was truly a pleasure working with Susan and I would recommend her to anyone and everyone!!!

    Sent on 01/12/2014
  • L

    Leah · Married on 10/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was everything and more than we could have hoped for as our wedding photographer. From the moment we met her, we could tell her down to earth personality was the best fit for us. Her creative mindset helped her capture the most beautiful photos from our wedding day. We now have our amazing pictures to constantly remind us of what a wonderful wedding day we had! We could not be more satisfied with Susan's services and photographs!!

    Sent on 02/16/2014
  • K

    katie · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How do I even begin to describe how amazing Susan is? It was the absolute BEST decision to work with her, she was so incredibly calm and easygoing throughout our wedding while still being authoritative and getting the photos we wanted. We got married on Block Island this past weekend and we really wanted someone who knew the island well and would just run with ideas. She thought of everything—from the perfect backdrops, to the lighting, to even finding ways to include our dog in the wedding photos—she was THE BEST. We loved doing an engagement session with her because it gave us the chance to get to know her, for her to get to know us, and for us to get more comfortable in front of the camera. By the time the actual wedding rolled around it felt like it was seeing an old friend  I hope to work with Susan in years to come on other family photo sessions, she is truly amazing!! Don’t think twice about working with her, she is phenomenal!!

    Sent on 09/12/2013
  • User2538598 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was the best photographer a bride and groom could ask for! She is courteous and thoughtful and takes amazing pictures without you feeling like she is hovering over your shoulder. She has a wonderful eye for detail and for knowing what will make a great picture. I am SO glad that we went with Susan. She really made our day special!

    Sent on 08/21/2013
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Sancomb is the absolute best! I cannot express how thrilled I am with both my engagement and wedding photos. Susan is not only an amazing photographer but she is easy to work with and doesn't take herself too seriously. My husband and I are not the best at taking photos and she made us both feel at ease. And on top of all that her prices are reasonable!

    Sent on 08/22/2013
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About a year and half a years ago my husband, Matt and I began to plan our wedding. The first 2 things I wanted to book were the venue and the photographer. I told my parents that it was very important to me to fine the right photographer who takes beautiful pictures to capture our day. I did my research and found Susan Sancomb. We met with her in August, thinking that it was too soon to book out for October 13, 2012, but boy was I wrong! After we booked, our date was in high demand for her. Instantly we connected not only on a professional level but also a friendship was started. She is a down to earth wife and mother, who is dedicated to her business. Her passion comes out through her beautiful pictures. They are clean and colorful. Something you will treasure forever. She knows the landscapes, angle and the use of light. She make photos look like paintings. Our wedding day came and went but what I will never forget is the experience we had with Susan. Days before our wedding I was stressed to the nines about the small details, but Susan was there to help. She provides any assistance to make your day special, even borrowing a red radio flyer wagon (that the nephews never used) or a mirror when you do not have a place to change into your wedding gown. We started bright and early snapping pictures and in order to get the perfect picture she climbed into ivy that might have had spiders. She herded all the wedding party together and made my nephew feel so special to be a part of our wedding.
    If you are looking for an outstanding wedding photographer who loves her talent, then choose Susan Sancomb. Matt and I know that we will carry her though out our lives snapping pictures of our future family. And at the end, I have not only gotten to know a beautiful woman, but I gained a good friend!

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is AMAZING.. enough said!!! But of course I will say a bit more to explain why every bride NEEDS to have her as their photographer. From my first contact with Susan I knew she and I were really going to get along well. We had a 2 hour conference call (since I live 500 miles away and couldn't meet with her in person). She asked me all about myself and my husband.. where we each grew up, our likes/dislikes, how we met, what we like to do together, why we chose our venue.. anything and everything you can imagine to get to know us and what we like. I hung up afterwards more excited than ever for the wedding :) We arranged a meeting for 1 month before the wedding and she met me at my parent's house where I'd be getting ready the day of. She is the nicest person, has a very calming presence, and is FULL of great ideas!! We talked through how everything would go the day of, she told me all about the props she could bring, and offered a bunch of options for picture locations. The best part of our meeting though, was her assurance that, one way or another, I'd end up with the pictures I want.. even if it meant getting together on another day, to take more pictures if the weather didn't cooperate (my biggest fear). The day of the wedding Susan and her assistant were even more fantastic. I'm a bit (very) high strung and yet I was very calm because she was there and pretty much ran the show. She has so much experience and is so professional, she really knows what she is doing. She took a TON of great pictures, and kept everyone moving before and after the service. She had the names of everyone in the bridal party memorized and organized every picture on my "shot list" (she helps you make that about 3 weeks before the wedding). At the reception, it seemed like she and her assistant were everywhere and nowhere all at once.. she got pictures of everything, even funny stuff I had missed, and was never pushy or in the way. She even handled my "intense" mother with grace!

    Sent on 10/26/2012
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There just aren't enough stars to adequately rate Susan Sancomb Photography! I had originally booked another photographer and two weeks later I saw Susan's website and fell in L-O-V-E with her work! I spent a year trying to "learn to love" my original photographer, but in the end, it was so important to me that I ate the LARGE deposit I had given and booked Susan! We met once prior to our wedding and I immediately felt a connection to her. The day of our wedding started out cloudy with a possibility of rain. Susan kept my spirits up by telling me what GREAT photographs an overcast sky would create! She and her assistant were so incredibly professional. She was even able to get all of the children to participate in the photographs willingly! I have only seen a few photos from our wedding, but they are STUNNING! I would recommend Susan without question for ANY photographic needs you may have: engagement, wedding, newborn, family photos, she does it all with talent that is beyond compare!

    Sent on 10/09/2012
  • Jen

    Jen · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish we knew Susan was the right choice for us! The day we sat in her studio, so cozy and aesthetically pleasing, she asked us questions that let us know she would be just what we wanted. She inquired about our families and the little details of our wedding, being sure to jot everything down. Then she kept in contact with us for the whole year leading up to the wedding, really getting to know all of things that were important to us for our day. We also hired Susan for our rehearsal dinner, which allowed us to do a walk through of the ceremony/reception and helped Susan and our families get to know each other. This connection clearly transcends in our photographs! Each picture is made even more special because of the way the emotions of the day were captured. We all felt comfortable and confident in Susan... and rightfully so!
    Susan was as warm as the August day we got married and it was truly a pleasure to work with her! Our pictures are BEAUTIFUL! The details, the lighting, the smiles... thank you Susan!

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • A

    Alyson · Married on 05/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan not only is a talented and wonderful photographer, she creates an atmosphere when working that immediately put her clients at ease. Susan made it feel as though an old friend was with us taking pictures, not someone whom we had hired. We were comfortable with her, which made our photography sessions relaxed and enjoyable! We chose Susan to take our engagement pictures, and were thrilled with the way they turned out!! She suggested a few different unique locations for us to do our shoot and even traveled to two different spots for our pictures. She was so positive thoughout the entire session and didn't mind spending the time with us to ensure that she captured everything. We used Susan again as our wedding photographer and myself and my husband were blown away by Susan's creative genius in all of our wedding pictures. She not only captured the genre and feel of our wedding, but captured my husabnd and I's spirit. There was nothing I would change about my experience with Susan Sancomb and we will cherrish all of our pitcures for years to come. We are so happy that we chose such a wonderful professional to work with for one of the most important days of our lives. We are now expecting a little one in a few months and plan on contacting Susan for maternity and newborn pictures! We are proud to say that she has become our "family photographer" and we look forward to working with her again. We feel lucky to have found such a gem. Thank you so much, Susan!!!

    Sent on 10/12/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was recommended as one of the preferred photographers from our venue in Newport, Rhode Island. She and her husband, Chris were amazing as they found creative locations around Newport and were extremely in touch with our needs the entire day. Susan was great with meeting with us around our schedule (we live out of state) and the photos look fantastic! I would absolutely recommend Susan Sancomb Photography to anyone!

    Sent on 05/25/2012
  • K

    kristina · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the decision of our photographer was an easy one for our wedding-- susan from susan sancomb photography came highly recommended and was the first vendor I booked after reserving our venue (oceancliff). not only was she beyond accommodating, super warm and has some of the most incredible photos in her portfolio-- she was HIGHLY spoken about by just about every person I would randomly ask "know of a good wedding photographer.." Being a local, she really has a keen eye for some fantastic locations for shoots (we took our engagement pictures in a field I would drive by all the time-- never did I think the pictures would look as amazing as they did!) and has shot at just about every location in Rhode Island and nearby CT and MA. She always made time to answer any questions I would have and would send me ideas (we're lovers of pinterest!) of things to incorporate in our wedding day-- via phone, email and even in person. The pictures from our wedding day really capture the magic of it all-- she went above and beyond to ensure she got every shot-- there were times when she was literally lying on the floor to get the right angle or standing on a chair-- at one point I swear she was on someone's shoulders on the dance floor just so she could get the right shot! Everyone kept saying how comfortable Susan made you feel-- she was so much fun and all of the genuine (non posed) smiles on mine and my husbands, bridal parties, families and guests faces show how great she is at her job.
    The best decision I did (and the easiest!) was book susan to photograph our wedding-- our pictures have been featured on several blogs/publications they were so well done and we're so happy to have beautiful pictures to take us back to that special day...

    Sent on 08/24/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review