Susan Helgeson Photography Reviews

18 | Santa Cruz, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Susan Helgeson Photography

Recommended by 99%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Colleen and Walt's Wedding

    Colleen · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You guys are awesome!! You were so professional, and easy to work with. You made our day even more special and I can't thank you enough!

    Sent on 06/05/2017
  • A

    andrea · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Helgeson, is an amazing photographer. She did our engagement session and our wedding. Me and my husband wanted to feel comfortable with our photographer on the day of our wedding. She is professional, courtesy and makes you feel like a superstar. She knows how to deal great with Big portuguese personalities you know we all have an opinion! :-).....Shes great, does amazeing work!

    Sent on 03/17/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Fiance and I were so pleased with our engagement photo shoot! Our experience was so wonderful we wish we could do all over again. We had such a blast working with our photographer Yve. She was so personable and so fun to be around. She was also very professional and took her time with us. This made us feel relaxed and reassured that our pictures were going to come out great! (from our little sneak peak they are so adorable! Yve truly captured our friendship and love story). Because we didn't feel rushed that helped my fiance and I to enjoy the moments completely. Thank you Susan Helgeson Photography for giving us a wonderful experience and beautiful pictures that will last us a life time!
    Sincerely
    Michael & Rebecca

    Sent on 05/13/2014
  • M

    Melanie · event on 02/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan and Yve were amazing to work with and our photos were perfect. So excited to see the album.

    Sent on 10/21/2014
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the opportunity to meet with Susan twice before my wedding day. Once with my Mom and the 2nd time with my Fiance.

    I hit it off with Susan from the get-go. She was calm and confident within herself that just oozed radiance. She also offered an album that was more traditional and exactly what I wanted. I liked that she didn't "assume" I was a modern bride and wanted the "coffee table" look album. She had ALL different styles from traditional to modern laid out for me to look at.

    I had interviewed about 3 other photographers aside from Susan. Susan never once asked me who else I had met with or who I was mtg. with within her profession (((thank you))). The other photographers really made it awkward / uncomfortable when they would ask me what other photographers I had interviewed. And they all kind of did it the same sly way at the end of the mtg... what gives?

    Susan and Yve (her assistant) were magical. They were professional, fun, and helpful in getting the shots I wanted and then some! The were never intrusive and blended so well during the reception I forgot at times they were there.

    Susan even drove my husband and myself to the beach to catch the sunset for pictures. It was absolutely amazing and really the highlight of my night. I had second guessed going last minute during the reception in fear of leaving my guest. Susan reminded me how bad I wanted the sunset shots and I felt like a little girl as we all snuck away to the beach. The beach shots are absolutely b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l and as I look back to that day, I am so grateful Susan reminded me how important those shots were to me. It was one of the reasons we picked the venue!

    My wedding day was nerve racking enough and Susan's calm energy helped balance my emotions.

    I would highly recommend Susan and I am blessed my parents provided me the opportunity to hire her!

    Sent on 05/09/2013
  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been happier with Susan's services! She was always available to answer even the most trivial questions I had and her excellent service did not stop after the wedding. She followed through with every promise made and the hard-bound album she prepared is a true treasure. We can honestly say that flipping through the book puts us right back to that special day! We would recommend Susan to everyone.

    Karen Cogswell and John Maenchen

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • D

    Don · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Helgeson Photography is definitely the right choice to work with you. I say work "with" you because that is absolutely what she does.

    We hired her for our wedding. We reviewed numerous photographers' websites before we quickly narrowed down to our short list. After meeting Susan, we knew we found the right person to capture our wedding.

    She was able to capture emotion and style with her technical abilities and was an absolute pleasure to work with. She's very easy to communicate with and really shows that she cares about her work. It's still an art for her, not just a job.

    Her professionalism and personal nature were the perfect combination to make us feel comfortable during the "before" pictures, and had the tenacity and people skills to control a large family for photos "after" the deed was done...

    We are so pleased with her work. She captured what we had hoped. Our best day with the best photographer...

    we would always highly recommend her!

    Sent on 05/08/2013
  • User3248394 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my daughter Maia and I were planning her wedding, we heard from several people about what gorgeous wedding photography Susan Helgeson does. After looking at her web site and meeting with her, we were sure that she would be the right person to entrust with this important job, and were we ever right! Susan was a real pleasure to work with--she's relaxed and warm, and a total professional with an artistic eye and great sense of timing. We're all thrilled with the photos and albums, which captured the day perfectly and are a true family keepsake.

    Sent on 05/10/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We found Susan online and were immediately struck by her website and beautifully shot, artistic photos. This was exactly the type of photographer we were looking for. We called Susan and booked her for our wedding. The package we ordered included 6 hours of photography, a disk of all of the photos and a $300 credit towards any pictures we choose for print. We met Susan about two months prior to our wedding day. At our appointment with Susan, we discussed the package we were interested in, we went over the wedding day plan, and we looked through her wedding albums.

    On the day of our wedding, Susan came with her assistant. Both Susan and her assistant were so kind and so professional.
    The pictures came out even better than we thought! The photos are amazing--even better than we'd hoped for! We loved working with Susan and would happily recommend her to anyone in the Santa Cruz area in need of a grade-A photographer.

    Sent on 08/01/2011
  • M

    Marlo · Married on 12/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were blessed enough to have multiple photographers on our Wedding Day. I can honestly tell you Susan’s work far exceeds all others. She is an artist who truly captures the mood of the day. We proudly display her art on our walls and I even enjoy the pictures of “Me.”

    Sent on 02/02/2010
  • K

    kelly · Married on 09/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with, beautiful photos and affordable, what more can I say!

    Sent on 01/19/2010
  • M

    melanie · Married on 04/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our photos, our album and they were so great to work with!

    Sent on 05/21/2009
  • C

    Christie · Married on 04/14/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan and her assistant were fabulous! They captured so many beautiful photographs, yet I hardly new she was there. She made my husband and I very comfortable and we LOVED our album!

    Sent on 03/12/2009
  • D

    Dana · Married on 05/22/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was a delight to work with. She really makes you feel comfortable and beautiful when she's shooting. It's nice not to feel over-posed. We used Susan for our engagement photographs as well as our wedding photographs. Both came out just stunning! The perfect balance of candid and posed shots. I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone for engagement/wedding photography. We're "so happy" with her work that she will continue to be our go-to photographer for future events. :)

    Sent on 06/18/2010
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/20/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan & Yves were amazing! They were right there to capture photos at every point and from different angles. They didn't try to takeover and were flexible and had great suggestions to capture the right photos. I liked that they captured photos in the moment as well as beautiful posed pictures. Very impressive!

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • K

    Kendall · Married on 07/28/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Susan's website portfolio attracted us to her, and she really delivered. She did our engagement photos and came up with a really unique location that we never would have thought of, and she and her assistant were nearly invisible at the wedding, yet somehow came up with hundreds of gorgeous photographs. She has a truly artful eye coupled with an innate storytelling ability. Looking at the proofs made me wonder why we needed a videographer because her work truly told the story of our lovely day. She was flexible and didn't demand too much of our time away from our guests, and she really listened to us to discover the feel we wanted for our day.

    Sent on 12/07/2007
  • M

    Janet · Married on 07/02/2005

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photographs and albums were very beautiful, well done, but overall costly and we had to wait quite awhile to get them. She does a good job and was unobtrusive in photographing the event. She did well by the bride & groom, whom in the end were happy with the end product.

    Sent on 02/13/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review