The Surrey House and Gardens Reviews

25 | McKinney, TX
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for The Surrey House and Gardens

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

25

13 User photos

Order by:
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 11/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All about the bride

    This venue is the most accommodating venue I have heard of. I was devastated that I was not able to get married out in the gazebo, as always planned! The venue staff set up options for the venue and was ready for any last minute changes and adjustments needed. Every little detail really will be about what the bride is happy with!

    Sent on 11/09/2019
  • N

    Nico Friedrichs · Married on 11/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An evening filled with love!

    We were searching for the perfect place for our big day. We looked all over the web. Nothing really fit for us. A friend sent me the Surrey House web site. It was EVERYTHING we wanted. It had country charm, big windows, antique furniture, a gazebo, bridal cottage and it felt like it would fit our needs. We met with Cheryl and we immediately clicked with her. There were no surprises and they offer a HUGE closet of accessories for decorating at a very reasonable cost. Cheryl and Carol let us make the Surrey House our house the day of wedding. Our friends and family still tell us how much they love the place we picked for our special day. IMHO they could charge much more for what they offer. I think they love what they do and how they touch lives of those deeply in love. Thank you for the house and grounds, you take such good care of and are willing to share. We have many lovely memories to last a lifetime!

    Sent on 01/08/2020
  • Ryan

    Ryan Shiflet · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Setting

    For the amount of people we had at the wedding, this was the perfect venue for us. We had plenty of room for all of the activities and dinner. The outside setting for the wedding was absolutely gorgeous!! The gazebo outside, the lights, the flowers, the sun setting in the background.....what more could you ask for? Carol was incredibly helpful in getting everything set up for us and for the price....you seriously can't beat it!! Thanks Carol for all your help!!

    Sent on 06/11/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue!

    The Surrey House and Gardens was the perfect venue for us. It’s a cute little house with a beautiful gazebo in the back. The owners, Cheryl and Carol, were very patient and worked with us to accommodate our needs for the wedding. They were quick to respond through email and text. The owners and workers at the venue worked very hard on the day of our wedding to make sure everything went as smoothly as possible.

    Sent on 11/03/2018
  • D

    Denise · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and Carol are awesome! They contact you right away when you need something and if you need to see them about anything they meet with you. The Surrey House is the perfect place to hold a reception and we fell in love with it the first time we drove up for the cake tasting; and speaking of the cakes they make, oh my, they are so very yummy. The catered luncheon was also very tasty and all the guests enjoyed the food. Their chocolate fountain is a magnet. The grounds and the venue are beautiful and very well kept.

    Sent on 09/18/2018
  • M

    Mina · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These ladies were so amazing!! My wedding and reception were both there last month. My wedding was magical!! It was exactly what I pictured! It truly could do have been more perfect!! I had 130 guests. The food was delicious! I used their DJ and he was awesome! I also used the bartender they suggest and he was great too! My experience was AMAZING!!!

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • E

    Elyse · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sherry and Cheryl were wonderfule my cake was beautiful and the whole wedding venue ran smoothly there were a few bumbs but everything worked out great i loved having my wedding here.

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carol and Cheryl are two of the nicest ladies to work with! They were very accommodating and responsive to phone calls and emails! The facility is very nice, and we loved being able to have our ceremony and reception at the same place. We also loved that we could order all our food, cakes, etc. from the Surrey House and we didn't have to worry about hiring people to set up, clean up or anything! It was a wonderful day!

    Sent on 11/09/2013
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful place, was very easy to get/keep in touch with Carol and Cheryl. Everything was ready and set when we needed it. Quiet area, very taken care of. Loved it, would highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Surrey House and Cheryl so much when we visited this venue, that even though we selected a different venue due to the size of our guest list, we chose them to make our wedding and grooms cake. The experience from the intitial meeting, to the tasting, to the finished product, was excellent and we received numerous compliments on the cakes at our reception. More than one guest told us it was the best cake they'd EVER tasted at a wedding. If you want delicious cakes at an excellent price, talk to Cheryl at The Surrey House.

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • Elisa

    Elisa · Married on 11/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding – Tuesday November 6th 2012
    My husband and I got married back in 2009 at the courthouse before he left for basic training for the Air Force. We know we wanted to have a wedding ceremony, so we decided to do that on our 3rd anniversary at The Surrey House. I wanted a venue that took care of everything (food, cake, ceremony and reception in one place) since we were planning from 900 miles away. All of the planning was done by email and phone correspondence with Cheryl and Carol. They were so helpful in answering all of my questions and getting back to me in a timely manner. The night before the wedding we were allowed to go in and decorate the house since nobody had that night booked. Huge relief! I didn’t have to worry about that the day of. Since nobody had a wedding before ours, we were able to go to the house early on the day of the wedding to get ready. I was busy running around trying to visit with guests at the reception, so Cheryl dished up a plate of food for me so I could eat something. The other worker there, Ennis, was so on top of everything and so nice - he would check back with me frequently asking if I needed anything, even if it was some water. He even helped carry our stuff out to the car afterwards. Our wedding was very small, less than 50 people, but I heard great things from our guests about the staff at The Surrey House as well as compliments about the house itself. The food was amazing and fresh and everyone raved about the punch and the cake. I highly recommend The Surrey House if you prefer a less stressful “one stop” wedding planning process!

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • J

    Judith · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son and daughter in law had the PERFECT wedding at the Surrey House and Gardens, the owners were very accommodating, the food was excellent, the rooms were beautiful, everything went so smoothly. I highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • Fonda

    Fonda · Married on 03/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If your looking for a place that has a personal touch to it, this is the place for you. I love this venue so glad I went with them.

    Sent on 04/26/2012
  • L

    Charisma · Married on 03/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talk about a short notice and a great staff. A great place for a one stop ceremony and reception location. They also provide catering, and many other services all from their website. We were able to not only get our food taken care of, but also the cakes, decor, music for the cceremony, and TABC tender and much more. I could not have found a more intimate place than this. The company has been around for years, and really know what they are doing....even in times of bad weather...LOL We got married 3-28-09, and unfortunately the weather was not being nice, but thanks to the Surrey house and their staff, we were able to do the ceremony and reception all inside the house and not feel out of place. They are certainly a vendor I would recommend.

    Sent on 04/04/2009
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/09/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception in this beautiful historic house, and they did the food and cake as well. Very nice people, very professional and good attention to details. The only disadvantage was that it was a hot and humid June evening and with that many people in the house, it got too warm. Probably wouldn't have that problem with smaller groups (we had somewhere between 80-100 people). The food was simple but good, and the cake turned out exactly like I wanted it.

    Sent on 08/20/2008
  • User5016034 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The house was perfect for our wedding. We had to change plans due to weather but the flexibility of the location made that possible. The house needed little to no decoration and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this to anyone.

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 12/06/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our daughter's wedding here five years ago. It was perfect for us, for our budget and our time constraints. So much so, that her in-laws also used it for the rehearsal dinner. Everything was lovely. When it was time to plan our 25th anniversary celebration my hubby insisted that we use them again. And I have to tell you he's pretty picky. As expected, it was fantastic. The food was delicious, the cake looked fabulous and was superb as expected. Our decoration's were silver with a splash of purple. Everything looked lovely, and our guest's thoroughly enjoyed the venue and the party. It was the perfect evening, such great memories made! Couldn't have asked for more.

    Sent on 01/04/2015
  • P

    Mark · Married on 03/09/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue at this location added a sophisticated appeal that left friends and family both impressed.

    Sent on 04/25/2012
  • A

    Alisha · Married on 12/26/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The cake from Truly Delicious Cakes through Surrey House was FANTASTIC. It beat every bakery I tried in town in taste and price. Cheryl was easy to work with, delivered it on-time and gave me a great deal on my anniversary cake.

    Sent on 06/22/2011
  • A

    Avital · Married on 07/05/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Custom coconut cake was divine! We ate it all week after our wedding. Thank you!

    Sent on 07/17/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 04/05/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    They are absolutly wonderful and very helpful small bussiness. They offer catering onsite and are very resonable.

    Sent on 04/20/2008
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 05/02/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    A STEAL for a venue, lovely setting and Carol and Cheryl were a pleasure to work with. There were a couple of things that didn't go as planned, but nothing major. Overall, enjoyed their services!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • E

    Ester · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Cheryl and Cynthia were so awesome. I got so many great reviews from my guests at the reception saying that the food was absolutely amazing. We had the chicken and roast beef for dinner and they were both very tasteful. Many of the guests said they absolutely enjoyed everything from the catering setup which included a fruit display table to the dinner. I was pressed for time finding a caterer within the month of my wedding and it couldn't have turned out any more perfect.. Thank you so much ladies from the Surrey House and Gardens.

    Sent on 07/26/2012
  • Kat

    Kat · Married on 03/28/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently had my wedding at the Surrey House- 3/28/2014. Cheryl and Carol were very helpful answering all my questions. They worked with me on several details such as catering, pricing etc. I was on a tight budget so I appreciated this greatly. GREAT value on this beautiful place.

    It was hard to get them on the phone sometimes, but once the ball got rolling, they were very responsive. I had a cake tasting set up with them and when I showed up, no one was there. Somehow it fell through the cracks, which I was upset about, but they made it up to me.

    I went back and forth on a lot of decisions, so their patience was appreciated, and they did not seem upset when I did not choose to go with their catering company to feed my wedding.

    Their workers were very helpful, but could have paid a little more attention (they weren't there when the cake was cut to serve it). I appreciated greatly them packing up all the food and carefully packaging my cake up for me and helping my parents out to their car. They proved very valuable by the end of the night.

    Our bartender was named Scott Wagley- do not book him!! He was slow and surely to several of my guests and dressed too casual for a wedding. A big let down of the evening.
    Thankfully the DJ- DJ Tony Pena, that the SH recommends was fantastic!!
    A cute wagon is brought out for every wedding, which was really fun!
    The house was very clean.

    These people do several weddings a week and have so much to keep up with, but they make you feel important and keep track of things. They will spend time on the phone with you (even after you've paid in full) to help you make final decisions- I've asked their advice several times on things.

    I am left with a VERY POSITIVE feeling from Carol and Cherly and the Surrey House! SH will hold a special place in my heart and I will forever have fond memories. Thank you!!!


    Sent on 04/16/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 02/17/2007

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were great, they had the venue, and catering with a wedding cake of your choice included in the price.

    Sent on 05/16/2008