Studio Phrené Reviews

50 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

50 Reviews for Studio Phrené

Recommended by 99%

50
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is simply amazing. Has been flexible with the budget and the engagement session date. The engagement session didnt feel super werid. She made it feel natural and I love every photo. I cant wait to see what she does for the wedding. I will always be using this photograph for the rest of my life!

    Sent on 11/13/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa has been such a joy to work with since day one. She is an absolute sweetheart and it so obvious that she absolutely loves what she does! She instantly made my husband and I feel comfortable during our engagement shoot and on our wedding day. We still can't get enough of our engagement photos and CANNOT WAIT to see the photos from our wedding day! An absolute professional and the sweetest person you'll ever meet. I would recommend her over and over again! So glad we chose her to capture such an important time in our lives!

    Sent on 08/24/2016
  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough wonderful things about Phrené! She took our engagement photos and wedding photos, and was so fun, personable, hilarious, and easy to work with. Our engagement session was seriously hot, and our photos turned out so well in spite of the heat. She kept our wedding day running even when a couple things slowed us down (as something always does!) I love her style and knowledge of photography so much and know that paying well for a photographer is SO worth it if you want to remember how beautiful your wedding was. I would absolutely recommend her over and over.

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • N

    Nicholas · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa from Studio Phrene was everything you want in a photographer, and even more. Alyssa was kind, understanding, passionate, directive, professional, creative, adaptive, and a most of all - a pleasure to work with. Alyssa was able to return both our engagement and wedding photos to us faster than ever imagined. Jessica and I, along with our daughter, Brooklynn, are forever thankful for Alyssa and Studio Phrene.

    Sent on 11/07/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 12/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Alyssa! She went out of her way to personalize our photographs. She made everything feel so natural, and she was so comfortable to be around. She was able to maintain control of a very large wedding party (18 people) all with remaining calm and polite, but would also get everyone to pay attention when need be. A photographer really helps direct the day and timeline, and let me tell you, with Alyssa.. This was a stress free day. We look forward to other occasions that we can use her as our photographer!

    Sent on 04/04/2016
  • C

    Cara · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Alyssa to photograph our wedding, and as of now have only had our Engagement Photos completed. Alyssa is absolutely wonderful - she is always speedy in returning any e-mails that I send her, and was so willing and flexible to go all over the town to complete our engagement pictures. She promised us she would have us our full list of photos within one week, and she delivered them promptly at the one week mark. I've referred Alyssa to a few friends, and I would refer her to 100 more. I am so glad that I discovered Alyssa, I don't think I could've found a better photographer for us!

    Sent on 02/24/2015
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not be disappointed when hiring Alyssa Schultz for your wedding. Even though I have only seen two photos of my wedding from a week ago, they are beautiful and I am itching to see more. Alyssa is young but when viewing her photography you would not know it, she takes photos like a pro. Alyssa makes you feel comfortable and at ease while shooting you. My husband hates taking photos and was not looking forward to a full day of photos for our wedding. Alyssa made the process seamless and he actually enjoyed himself. There were no fake smiles because we were both having fun. Do not hesitate to hire this photographer, we plan to use her in the future as our family grows. 

    Sent on 11/02/2015
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Alyssa with Studio Phrene because her pricing was by far the most reasonable we came across for such a high quality photographer. She did our engagement pictures as well as our wedding pictures and she did an AMAZING job! Prior to the wedding she walked me through the timeline for wedding day to determine when all of the pictures would get taken and she took my input on specific shots that I really wanted. We paid a little extra to have a second shooter there with her on wedding day which I thought was totally worth it. We got several hundreds of pictures of the big day, and they all look great! These are pictures that we will cherish for decades so I am very thankful that we met Alyssa.

    Sent on 11/28/2015
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa was our photographer for our wedding and she has been FANTASTIC to work with. From the very beginning with our engagement pictures, she has been so helpful, friendly and professional. Her prices are extremely reasonable. I looked at several who were way to expensive, but Alyssa's pricing was around what I was looking for. We continue to get compliments on our engagement and wedding photos and everyone says what a great job she has done. We got our wedding pictures about a month after our wedding which was very nice! She is awesome!

    Sent on 11/28/2015
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Studio Phrené! Alyssa made living in Colorado and getting married in Michigan easier then I could have ever imagined. She was extremely helpful and great to work with. Her pricing was perfect for our small budget. I feel so lucky I was able to book her on such short notice. Alyssa's photojournalistic approach to her photography was exactly what I had dreamed of. She did a phenomenal job and got our final photos to us no later then she had promised. I am so happy to have these captured moments to cherish forever!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • User5641043 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa is an awesome photographer, and not only did she take great pictures she helped everything run smoothly throughout the entire day!! She also got our pictures back to us extremely fast. We couldn't have had anyone better for the job!!

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • User4026684 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phrene is downright amazing and her photographs are truly a work of art! We absolutely adore our engagement and wedding photos and have received TONS of compliments on how spectacular they are. Phrene is such a pleasure to work with and was approachable and easy to get a hold of throughout the process. She has a variety of packages to choose from so you can tailor to your specific wedding needs. Well worth every cent! Highly recommend!!

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • T

    Tara · Married on 05/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Alyssa from Phrene for my May 1st wedding and was so happy with the pictures!! I got a package that also included engagement photos and once we got those back I knew we made the right choice, she did such a great job! We already got our photos back to review (wedding was only 3 weeks ago) and there are so many great ones to choose from. She did a fantastic job of capturing our special day :)

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • S

    sven · Married on 01/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie always does a wonderful job! She shot our engagement and wedding pictures in September 2013, and we were so impressed by the quality, we recently had her shoot our 6 month baby pictures. The studio has beautiful options for props like vintage couches and chandeliers, plus a big cozy bed for the baby to roll around on. I never feel like I'm posing or awkwardly looking at the camera, she always makes it feel natural and fun. We will continue to use Katie to capture those special moments for us!

    Sent on 03/19/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phrene's associate phtographer Alyssa shot our wedding day in August this past year. From the moment we began organizing our day with Alyssa to receiving our photos, we had no complaints. Alyssa met with us a couple times before our big day to plan our order of events, gather addresses and directions to our church, houses, and reception hall, and go over special photos that we wanted of family, the bridal party, and us newlyweds, providing us with very valuable suggestions that we may have overlooked. Alyssa arrived at my parents' house in plenty of time to capture some candid shots of us girls getting ready, my dress and accessories, along with some beautiful family moments. She fit right in and just began working around us during the hustle and bustle before the church. After the ceremony and through the reception, Alyssa remained organized and managed to keep our large bridal party engaged while also allowing us to have so much fun during our photos. Our pictures turned out beautifully, pricing was so reasonable, and we could not be more happy with our choice of photographer!!

    Sent on 03/04/2015
  • K

    Kayle · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how great it was working with Katie from Phrené Photography. Not only was she fun to work with but our wedding and engagement pictures turned out even better than we had hoped! Katie was very personable, easy to work with, and had such a creative eye to capture all of our special moments. I believe she went above and beyond as our photographer. For example, I had told Katie that I would like a photo in a field or with a willow tree but had trouble finding the right spot. Katie went out the weekend before the photo shoot and found places for every single one of my requested shots (just a note these were not requested poses but requested scenery as we gave her creative control over posing and she did a fabulous job.) She did not have to do that at all but that made the day of our shoot go so smoothly. In addition, she was flexible with scheduling and we never felt rushed working with her. She was timely with photo turn around and after she was done editing all our pictures I was so impressed that we had SO many great pictures to choose from including posed pictures and candid shots! Our wedding pictures are truly priceless. I would highly recommend Katie from Phrené Photography to any Bride-to-be for her big day! You will not be disappointed with your experience and quality of pictures!

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • K

    Kayle · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how great it was working with Katie from Phrené Photography. Not only was she fun to work with but our wedding and engagement pictures turned out even better than we had hoped! Katie was very personable, easy to work with, and had such a creative eye to capture all of our special moments. I believe she went above and beyond as our photographer. For example, I had told Katie that I would like a photo in a field or with a willow tree but had trouble finding the right spot. Katie went out the weekend before the photo shoot and found places for every single one of my requested shots (just a note these were not requested poses but requested scenery as we gave her creative control over posing and she did a fabulous job.) She did not have to do that at all but that made the day of our shoot go so smoothly. In addition, she was flexible with scheduling and we never felt rushed working with her. She was timely with photo turn around and after she was done editing all our pictures I was so impressed that we had SO many great pictures to choose from including posed pictures and candid shots! Our wedding pictures are truly priceless. I would highly recommend Katie from Phrené Photography to any Bride-to-be for her big day! You will not be disappointed with your experience and quality of pictures!

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • User4344632 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are both originally from Michigan but currently living on the east coast. When we decided to get married back in my hometown, we quickly began the search for a great photographer. Phrene's photo galleries were absolutely beautiful - she captured light in a way that produced extraordinary color and managed to catch her subjects in a way that felt very natural and real. After much online research, we decided to contact her.

    We couldn't be happier that we did! In addition to a superior quality of work, Phrene and her assistant, Alyssa, were absolutely wonderful to work with. Phrene is incredibly professional and passionate about her work. You can tell it is more than just a job for Phrene - she is invested in capturing the true beauty of the day and making sure her clients are happy. Despite not being able to spend much time with Phrene in advance of the wedding due to distance, she made us feel so comfortable. She truly made the process enjoyable and the whole wedding party felt at ease. I would highly recommend Phrene to any bride :) We love our photos and will cherish them forever.

    Sent on 08/23/2014
  • K

    Kelley · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa Shultz was our photographer from Phrene Exquisite Photography. She was great! She made us feel very comfortable when taking photos with her, and she captured our wedding day beautifully. She is very sweet, easygoing, and very accomodating of anything that you want. She was great to work with. I love all of the beautiful photos and moments she captured from our big day!

    Sent on 03/29/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie was such a joy to work with! She was easy-going, professional, and our photos turned out BEAUTIFULLY. When I told her we were on a tight budget, she worked out a package that worked for us. I would recommend her to anyone (and have!)

    Sent on 03/03/2015
  • User4894478 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie was so wonderful and helpful! She really made our wedding day special!

    Sent on 03/20/2015
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did a lot of research and looked at several photographers when I was looking to book the photography for my wedding. Being a photographer myself, it was extremely important to have a fantastic photographer for my wedding day. I am SO glad that I went with Phrené for my photographer. She makes the day super fun and comfortable. Phrené helped me with my wedding schedule and made it stress free so that we were never rushed for photos. Phrené was fantastic at knowing where to position our bodies and it really made me feel great about the way I looked in all of my portraits.

    Ohh... and our engagement session! Andrew and I both had a blast... I am pretty sure a few tears of laughter were shed. I loooove all of my photographs and am so glad that I invested in Phrené, a photographer that provided me with timeless photographs that will last a lifetime.

    Sent on 03/22/2015
  • A

    Andrea & Justin · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Phrene on both our wedding and engagement pictures was amazing! Two seconds after we had walked out of our first meeting with Phrene we both knew this was the photographer for us. She was fun, had great ideas, was so excited for us and was just an overall great fit for us. Our engagement session was so much fun, we laughed most of the time which made it hard to do the serious poses. Phrene had great locations that made our pictures truly amazing and something we are so thankful for. When it came to our wedding she was so much fun. Our wedding party loved her and she just made the day go so smoothly. Not once did we have to take lead because Phrene was on top of everything and made it truly a day where all we had to do was enjoy it and get married. If you are looking for a photographer with a fun and vibrant personality, a total professional and someone who will create the memories you want to hold onto for a lifetime choose Phrene, you will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • L

    Leah · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Katie, Associate Photographer, for our wedding, and she was amazing! We got the biggest package that included all day for the wedding and engagement photos. She was wonderful and really got us comfortable with taking photos. She was great at making the day go smoothly and she is so creative--she had so many ideas that we would never think of! We loved the photos, and so did all of our family members!

    Sent on 07/19/2012
  • User4878980 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie was amazing! Wonderful, supportive, friendly personality. Very accommodating. Extremely pleasant. VERY creative. LOVED the photos and the emotions she captured.

    Sent on 03/15/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review