Skip to main content
Weddings

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St Joseph Reviews

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St Joseph

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St Joseph

Saint Joseph, MO
4.4 out of 5 rating, 21 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.4 out of 5 rating
4.4 out of 5 rating
21 Reviews
87% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.2 out of 5 rating

Awards

21
Weddingwire
4.4/5 21 reviews
Google
4.4/5 1294 reviews
  • L
    Lisa S. Sent on 09/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great to work with

    Working with Stoney Creek was very nice. They set up everything, we added our decorations and did the cake table—but it made it so much easier not having to worry about anything else. The staff was easy to work with and I felt like the whole night moved so smoothly!
  • N
    Nikole P. Sent on 07/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Big Day

    Everyone at Stoney Creek was absolutely amazing. My day wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for my mother and everyone at Stoney creek also Anne Eaton and Brandi Abbott.
  • Daryl
    Daryl Sent on 11/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    If i knew people getting married ill tell them to go there

    Overall everything was good i only like to deal with one person but i was dealing with 3 people but still overall not bad
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sayre Sent on 04/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding day

    Stoney creek was so wonderful to work with! They were so accommodating and worked with us to make our day exactly what we wanted!
  • S
    Smita Sent on 08/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recommend Stoneycreek strongly as a wedding venue. Special mention to Katie Brown as a wonderfully professional wedding planner! And all of the courteous staff from front desk to housekeeping.
  • H
    Hillary Sent on 11/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding was simply beautiful and very intimate. Thank you for your hard work.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St Joseph's reply:

    Hillary-
    Thank you for allowing Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center be a part of your special day! It was truly an honor! Congratulations!
  • M
    Meghan Sent on 11/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I are so happy we selected Stoney creek for our reception venue! We loved working with the staff and having a beautiful and clean hotel room the night of our wedding!
  • H
    Hannah Sent on 11/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stoney Creek was a wonderful place for our wedding!!!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St Joseph's reply:

    Thank you, Hannah! It was a pleasure to be a part of your beautiful day! Congratulations to you both!
  • C
    Connie Sent on 07/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect. Staff was very helpful they made sure we had everything we needed. We had rehearsal and reception dinner here. We had many out of town guest who said they loved their room and venue. I would definitely recommend stony Creek for your hotel stay and your events
  • User6775841 Sent on 09/02/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were amazing. They worked around what we had and were willing to talk to me at any point in time. I brought my own tablecloth for the cake table in early and they went ahead and put it on for me. They did the clean up for everything that they supplied and anything that we didn't want to keep. The people are great to work with as well!!!
  • T
    Tifanee Sent on 11/17/2007
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They had so much to offer it was a hard decision!
  • T
    Tara E. Sent on 07/14/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue!

    We chose Stoney Creek after looking at a couple of other places in St. Joe for our reception. They definitely had the best value and the convenience was unbeatable given both of our families were traveling and would’ve needed a place to stay. We wanted everyone to be able to have a good time and not have to worry about driving. Anne provided our wedding planning and coordinating and she was awesome! She was very light hearted, professional, responsive and helpful throughout the whole process. Everything went off without a hitch and it was literally the best reception I could’ve asked for. We had so many compliments from our guests about the convenience and the venue. The food was great (Spanky and Buckwheat’s Italian buffet). The bartender was very accommodating as well. We got cupcakes from Jackie at 3 Wishes Bakery, also in St. Joe and they were DELICIOUS;
    Jackie is wonderful to work with. Lastly, and most importantly our decorations were provided by Linda and Bruce Jeschke & Fox Creek Designs. Linda and Bruce worked tirelessly and the ballroom was absolutely breathtaking. They added the pergola around the head table as well as the gazebo and fountain in the center of the ballroom. They did everything I asked and more!
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sent on 12/26/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I and most of our guests stayed here while in town for the wedding. Just to clarify, we DID NOT have our actual wedding here, we only spent the night and got ready here.

    PROS:
    -Very friendly/attentive staff (even gave me a free tube of toothpaste when I forgot mine, haha)
    -Good amenities (i.e. indoor heated pool)
    -Very close to food and shopping
    -Very clean, decorative rooms. Doesn't look like your standard hotel. Lots of different types of rooms to choose from. We chose a theme suite and LOVED it -perfect size for all the girls to get ready, along with the photographers and videographer

    CONS:
    -Limited availability due to the large numbers of weddings held at the actual hotel
    -Mix up with wedding party reservation, but quickly fixed the problem
  • P
    Patsy Sent on 10/07/2018
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It rained all week, so we moved the ceremony inside. Our wedding coordinator had a medical issue and was out of the office; Brandi stepped in and took charge and helped us have a beautiful wedding for our daughter. Thanks Brandi for giving up your day off to be there for us to keep this mother of the bride same.
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 11/09/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Everyone was so nice and willing to work around my schedule to help me get things done, they were awesome about making sure people kept with what I wanted and what my vision was. I really appreciated this, as sometimes during a wedding others try to take over, they didn't let this happen. They explained everything in great detail and I was never in the dark or confused about where our money was being spent or if there was going to be a cost for something. Not having any hidden fee's during a wedding is a life saver!!! Anne is so pleasant to work with, along with the others, I just spent more time with her!! Would recommend the venue to others!
  • M
    Makayla Sent on 01/29/2019
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Satisfied, with only one complaint

    The only complaint we have is how our catered food was handled the night of our wedding. Stoney Creek had advised us that the food would be served by the catering company and they would also be picking up plates at the tables when people were finished eating. No one served our guests their meal which caused us to almost run out of food, and there were many plates still left on the tables at the end of the night. We are not sure who is at fault, but for the amount of money we paid Stoney Creek and the promise that was made by them, this was extremely upsetting. Besides that, Stoney Creek is a great place for a reception!
  • C
    Carol Sent on 11/08/2017
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Our event went off without any issues. Your customer service was great. When you were out Brandy took care of us. Our bartender was attentive and made sure that our guests had a wonderful time.

  • Danielle K
    Danielle Sent on 07/08/2019
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Overall dissapointing

    Overall I loved my wedding but almost everything that went wrong could be traced back to the venue.
    While planning, pricing for different add on's constantly changed.
    The way they do their catering is so confusing, restricting, and frustrating.
    We dealt with a lot of inconsistencies, misinformation, and attitude.
    If you are going to book this venue, know that the bar is overpriced and no good way to pay except put a card on file with a specific amount. also make sure you give them the card info ahead of time. our bar bill was added to one of our guests rooms!!!

    All of that said, some of the people we worked with were actually pretty nice and helpful, the venue is a pretty nice space, they do include linens (no upcharge for me but multiple times I was told there will be) and it is very convenient to be able to go to your hotel room without transportation (oh also the hotel room they give you for free is amazing and would make a great space to get ready before if you don't have a large wedding party) Overall, even though there are some good points, I would not recommend this venue. There are many more better options in St. Joe and surrounding areas.
  • S
    Shannon Sent on 05/16/2008
    2.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    This is not a good venue if you have specific decorations or catering in mind. They have very strict rules regarding both.
  • A
    Amiee Sent on 10/05/2010
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    When my new husband and I were asked the usual question of, "If you could change anything about your wedding what would it be?" We undeniably agreed on NOT having our wedding at this venue. In the beginning things seemed great and stress free. We were delighted to know we would have an event planner that would ask us some questions and then take care of the details for everything. She told us she would coordinate the vendors, set up everything and be there until we left the reception. This package we paid for also included the rehearsal and a place to host the rehearsal dinner. A month or so my guest began to call me panicking because there wasn't a reduced rate block at the hotel like we were told and had told them. I had to call Stoney Creek and they said they would take care of it; needless to say, it wasn’t taken care of until I came to the hotel to check in on the day of my rehearsal. Once this issue was taken care of I asked to speak with the wedding coordinator so I could get piece of mind about seeing her take care of everything and everyone. At my disappointment, I was told this was her weekend off and she would be back first thing on Monday. So I thought maybe the front desk worker didn’t realize she had a wedding this weekend and pushed this comment out of mind. Well….she never showed up. And she, in fact, had the whole weekend off and didn’t come to our wedding day either. Instead of my maid of honor’s and bride’s maids being with me while getting ready, they were running around taking care of the vendors as they arrived. Then about half way through the pictures (outside) it began to rain. We were told by Stoney Creek if this happened they would move all the chairs into the reception hall onto the dance floor and we would get married on a platform in front of them. It sounded perfect until the guys working that day refused to move the chairs for us. So this meant the groomsmen had to move the chairs. As you can imagine, I wasn’t a happy bride at this time. At cake cutting time some of my guests had to get up and cut the cake because Stoney Creek wouldn’t do it. And then during clean up Stoney Creek threw away items from the cake that needed to be returned to the baker. And I am still trying to locate a crystal rose vase that has ‘disappeared’ from a locked room where it was stored with our gifts over night after the wedding.

    I would highly recommend you DO NOT use this venue when deciding on where to have your wedding. The last thing you want as a Bride is to have to deal with all these issue on your wedding day.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message