Skip to main content
Weddings

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City Reviews

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City

Independence, MO
4.7 out of 5 rating, 31 Reviews
View more information

31 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 31
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

13 User photos

  • Maria
    Maria E. Married on 06/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect for this out-of-town bride!

    Where to begin... I loved working with Stoney Creek. The hotel is beautiful, both inside and out. Their venue rental was very reasonably priced as is, but they also included so many extras that made the entire experience very enjoyable. As an out-of-town bride, I appreciated getting catering and bartending through them, as I didn't have to coordinate with those vendors at all! I also appreciated working with their events coordinator, Kaylie. She was very responsive and went out of her way to make my event exactly as I wanted it. Having our wedding at a hotel was also nice for our guests, as they were able to come and go as they pleased! Highly recommend to future brides!
  • Janet
    Janet F. Married on 02/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Hotel and Excellent Staff

    My daughter got married on August 14th and Lexsie from the Hotel did a fabulous job with all the details. I was able to check early and it was a really big help for my 94-year-old Mother. Great room, great amenities, friendly staff and very clean. Highly recommend!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much, Janet! I appreciate your kind words. We were so happy to have your party stay with us! -Lexsie
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kara B. Married on 01/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best place for any events

    The wedding coordinator Kaylie was absolutely amazing with helping me plan my wedding. I couldn’t have had a more beautiful and happy experience if it weren’t for her. We were given a complimentary honeymoon suite and it was stunning to say the least. I would recommend this place for any event in the future.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much Kara! It was so fun working with you and you had such a beautiful wedding! I wish you the best and hope that you come back to visit us! - Kaylie
  • L A
    L A M. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional

    Lexsie Ditter was simply amazing!! She was very responsive, hands on, and very professional. She had answers for every question we had. Whatever we needed she did her very best to make it happen. If you ever used this hotel ask for Lexsie ditter

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much L.A., I am so glad I got to be a part of your special day! I hope you and Grace enjoy married life, you were so much fun to work with! -Lexsie
  • M
    Melissa V. Married on 08/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Covid-19 wedding

    I had to change my wedding date 2 times because of covid-19. And lexi was always there helping me out and making it stress free much as possible. My wedding turned out great. I would highly recommend this hotel for any wedding day. Great people and really professional.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much Missy! I am so glad we were able to make your day perfect even during these stressful times. I hope you and Jason are enjoying married life! -Lexsie
  • Lauren
    Lauren F. Married on 08/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great to work with

    Stoney Creek was great to work with! The hotel is beautiful. We had a great view in our suite with a lot of natural light so it was perfect to get ready the day of the wedding there. They were very nice and flexible when COVID caused us to need to reschedule, too.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Lauren, I am so happy that everything worked out just as you had imagined! Your group was so sweet, we loved having them here with us! -Lexsie
  • M
    Melissa Married on 06/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mataya is amazing

    We loved working with Mataya. I would recommend her to anyone

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review and kind words! I loved working with you and your family as well! - Mataya
  • L
    Laura B. Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best place for a total package wedding

    Wow! The Stoney Creek did an amazing job and was the perfect venue for our wedding day. Mataya the events coordinator went above and beyond to make sure that all of needs were met and the day of went smoothly. The venue is the perfect place for an all inclusive reception, has beautiful spots for photos and the hotel staff is just as amazing. I would book them again in a heartbeat and highly recommend them if you want the total package for your wedding day.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much Laura!! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. You were a blast to work with! Thanks again for letting us be part of your big day!- Mataya
  • K
    Katherine Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Wedding Venue!

    I highly recommend Stoney Creek as your wedding venue! The event coordinator, Mataya, made the whole experience stress free and was so easy to work with. She always responded to emails quickly and took care of any worries I had. The reception space was perfect for our big wedding. Guests were not crowded at tables and there was more than enough room for everything we wanted to incorporate. My husband and I were able to design the floor layout for the reception, so we had the choice to put tables, Dj, dance floor, and etc. where we wanted! Out of town guests were able to go straight to their rooms after the reception and didn't have to worry about driving to a hotel. If you choose Stoney Creek for your big day, you won't regret it!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation! It was such a pleasure working with you, Stu, and Suzi. I can't wait to see pictures!- Mataya
  • D
    Dawn C. Married on 04/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding at Stoney Creek

    I would like to give a big shout out to all the staff for helping us enjoy a great wedding. We had to make changes at times and Mataya really stepped up to make it all work out smoothly. Management fulfilled all our request in a timely manor without questions and were very anxious to make things perfect for our event. Thank you again for all involved and highly recommend Stoney Creek for future events.
    Dawn Cox

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much, Dawn! I had the best time working with you and your family. I hope all is well!- Mataya
  • E
    Emily L. Married on 04/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing hospitality!

    Mataya and her team were fabulous to work with! They went the extra mile with communication and service and the event was flawless under their care!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much Emily! I loved working with you and hope to work with you again in the future!- Mataya
  • Bhaa
    Bhaa E. Married on 12/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stoney Creek- Top Service. Facility and Experience!!

    I really wanted to thank the Stoney Creek team for their dedication to making our events a tremendous success. I have been event planning for over 17 years and they were one of the best, most helpful and responsive teams that we have ever worked with!! The Stoney Creek team is amazing to work with!!

    We highly recommend hosting your events there and thank Stoney Creek for making our family events beautiful memories to remember forever!!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Bhaa! It was a pleasure working with you and I look forward to working with you again someday! - Mataya
  • A
    Ameena A. Married on 12/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing in all ways

    Stoney creek hotel was amazing! I loved everything about it. The hotel its self was very nice and cozy, the ballroom was very elegant. The staff there was great, they did everything they can to make my night go smoothly.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you Ameena! I had such a great time working with you to make your special day memorable! I wish you and Najm all the best. - Mataya
  • D
    Desiree Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Becca provided excellent service to me and my husband during our wedding planning journey. She was very thorough when going through all of the details for our big day. She went above and beyond to ensure our day was absolutely perfect, and it was! Conference manager, Kapena, and his staff were on site for our big day. They made sure everything was how we had imagined it and encouraged us to come speak to them if we needed anything. Kapena and his staff were easily approachable and understanding of our needs for the big day. We could never imagine having our big day anywhere else, and we are so happy we chose Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center Independence to host the best day of our lives! Thank you Becca, Kapena, and Stoney Creek staff!!!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review! Our team absolutely loved working with you and we are so happy we could be a part of your big day! You and your family are the sweetest and we wish you the very best!
  • C
    Crystal Married on 06/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the best reception that as a parent could ask for. They were so easy to work with, they made or experience great. We had so many compliments on the food, and service. They were helpful in every area!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Crystal! I am so glad you had such a great experience with us! I absolutely loved working with you and wish you and your family all the best. - Mataya
  • S
    Shaynie Married on 03/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our experience at Stoney Creek for our daughter's wedding reception was amazing! Mataya, our coordinator, went above and beyond with any need we had. She responded to questions in emails quickly and ALWAYS cheerfully. The morning we arrived to decorate everything was ready to go. Anything we needed was responded to immediately. The options and what is included with the event is above any other event space we looked into. The ballroom is big enough to hold around 500 so with our attendance of around 225 we had plenty of space. When we arrived from the ceremony everything was ready to go and as promised. The wedding suite was an extra perk that helped when we needed to get ready before going to the church for the ceremony and then for that night after the reception. There are so many things that are included that we didn't find with other event space that helped with cost and time. The hotel is tastefully decorated and in a nice location for people traveling from many different locations. Nothing could have made our experience any better!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Shaynie,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We loved having Markie and Keaton's wedding at Stoney Creek and wish them nothing but a lifetime of happiness. Thank you for choosing us to take part in such special day and I'm so glad to hear everything went smoothly!

    Sincerely,
    Mataya
  • P
    Paula Married on 03/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very nice wedding venue, reasonably priced. Very helpful staff. Our out of town guests said the rooms were comfortable, and the location was excellent right off a major interstate.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Hi Paula! Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that your guests enjoyed their stay. I loved working with you to make Nellie and Jake's wedding so special. Thanks again for choosing Stoney Creek!- Mataya
  • G
    Gilda Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stoney Creek is a beautiful venue and Becca and the entire staff was very helpful with the planning. They made sure everything ran smoothly and the night was perfect.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Gilda, thank you so much for your review! I am so happy the night of the reception was perfect! It was such a pleasure to work with you during the planning process! -Becca
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stoney Creek was absolutely AMAZING! They were always willing to work with us, and even let us set up for the reception early. All of our friends and family were super impressed with the venue, and our out of town guests loved the hotel rooms as well.
  • S
    Sheree Married on 04/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so thankful I choose Stoney Creek Hotel for my wedding ceremony. I also choose them for my rehearsal dinner which was amazing to allow my family and friends antiquated to the ceremony location. The hotel and the ceremony was so beautiful. I am still getting compliments on my location I choose. I would high recommend Stoney Creek Hotel to anyone and everyone!!!!!
  • R
    Ryan Married on 12/31/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was a beautiful place to have a reception and the staff was 1st class. I would recommend to any couple planning a wedding reception.
  • Adina
    Adina S. Married on 09/12/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect place to start our new life together

    Beautiful hotel and a great location. Lexsie was a great help. The staff was amazing during setup to make our wedding perfect!!!Best day ever!!!

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much, Adina! I wish you and William nothing but the best for your future together! I loved working with you both! -Lexsie
  • A
    Amanda M. Married on 06/22/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Overall Great Experience

    Overall we had a great experience having our wedding and reception at Stoney Creek. Mataya was wonderful to work with. She was very professional and prompt with responding to our many questions. The workers who helped to set up were polite and helpful. Many guests complimented the venue, especially those who stayed at the hotel. Be aware there may be another wedding on the same day at the venue. We did not realize that was a possibility until close to our wedding, so we were caught off guard and a little worried about that, but it ended up not being an issue at all.
    Unfortunately we did receive several complaints about our bar situation. We paid for 3 kinds of wine, 2 kinds of beer (in kegs), and well liquors. The beer and wine were to be distributed at one bar and the liquor at the other. However, they had complete bars set up (with different types of alcohol, wine, and beer) that guests could pay for at each bar. The bartenders did not make it clear to guests they had to pay for it until after giving them the drink. We had a guest ask for Michelob Ultra at the "liquor bar" and they just gave him a bottle and told him to pay for it rather than directing him to the keg of Michelob Ultra at the other bar. It would have been less confusing if we could have just had the alcohol we were paying for.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Hi Amanda! You were wonderful to work with as well! I really appreciate you taking the time to fill out your review and giving future brides your feedback. I will definitely communicate this with our bartenders and conference team to ensure this isn't a problem moving forward. I am glad you enjoyed your experience overall! All my best to you and Will! - Mataya
  • S
    Suzi H. Married on 05/04/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stoney Creek was a wonderful place for our daughter’s wedding reception. Our experience was very pleasant

    Stoney Creek was a wonderful place to hold our daughter’s wedding reception. The wedding coordinator, Mataya and the staff were outstanding. Communication was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and fulfilled our requests when setting up the venue.

    Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center Kansas City's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review, Suzi! It was so fun working with you to make Katherine and Stu's big day so special!- Mataya
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message