Sterling Weddings and Events Reviews

32 | Tempe, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Sterling Weddings and Events

Recommended by 100%

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Chelsey & Rhett · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a fairly large wedding in Phoenix with several events. It was a daunting planning process and the single best decision we made was hiring Sterling Weddings and Events first. We worked with Care Schmidt from day one and she made a potentially stressful year very manageable and fun. She’s exactly what you need in a planner - meticulous with details, considerate with family and friends, connected to great vendors and full of creative ideas. As the event drew closer, Dawn and Kristen came onto our team as well and they reflected Care’s level of professionalism and style. Our wedding weekend couldn’t have been easy for them - it was chock full of logistics and long hours, but I never saw a single one of them sweat. Not only was the weekend perfect (literally, every detail!) but when it was over, I had countless guests comment about how amazing our coordinators were when they interacted with them. It’s worth mentioning that my husband and I don’t live in Phoenix, so they were our eyes and ears on the ground for the whole year of planning; having them was a priceless investment and we were so lucky to get them on our team. I honestly can’t say enough about this company.

  • A

    April · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care at Sterling Event Design offered me help when she found out I was getting married and was having trouble picking a DJ. She recommended a few to interview and gave suggestions as to what to look out for and how to choose our perfect DJ. We ended up going with one of her suggestions and were very pleased with the outcome. Any time I had a question, Care was there with helpful hints and suggestions. Planning a wedding is difficult because most likely you have never planned a wedding before and there are so many choices and options. Care is a valuable asset to anyone planning a wedding as she has tons of creative ideas, knows how to negotiate costs, and is always very responsive to calls and emails. I highly recommend Sterling Event Design to anyone planning a wedding!

  • K

    Kayla · Married on 11/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care was super responsive, respectful, & professional! She came into our wedding near the end but was able to pick up all the pieces and help put it all together the way we had imagined it to be!

  • User6535210 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better planner. Dawn was there, always, to answer calls, probably a few hundred emails, find quality vendors within my small budget, listened to my every need, was there for me for every crazy last minute favor I needed the day before the wedding (think driving around town at 7pm driving to each of the vendors to drop off checks that required payment and then running around town the next morning to find my veil, my dress, bring food to bridesmaids, bring my flowers, etc), and ran the wedding itself seamlessly, without any problems. And our wedding was NOT an easy wedding to plan, from the acrobats, to the backup dancers, screen dancers, choreographed music, break dancers, live art, multiple locations, and everything else going on all day, Dawn handled it all. I didn't even know it, but guests were going to her throughout the day for help and advice, including helping grandparents secure transportation home early, helping to shoot off confetti poppers at the right time and direct the cleaning crew. She helped set up all of the decorations, with her assistant, which was a huge cost saved, along with negotiating down the other vendors. I couldn't have asked for a better planner!!! Dawn is the best. A life saver. Everyone should have a Dawn.

  • T

    Tonya · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carrie and Sterling Event Design took care of all my day-of decorating. She turned a rustic, renovated barn into a sparkly, intimate room that doubled as ceremony and reception space. She is very easy to work with and has lots of great ideas. I definitely recommend!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care and her team were nothing short of amazing from the day we had our first meeting until we left the venue after our wedding day. I honestly cannot imagine planning a wedding with our Care; she was professional, kind, funny, and a great advisor. She listened to what Tim and I wanted for our wedding and then took it a step further. The 14 months of planning flew by without a hitch and everything was flawless on the day of. She was always open with communication no matter how large or small the question. Care assembled a great group of vendors for our wedding which fit into our budget and the end result was perfect. Our “modern southwest” wedding was just what we had envisioned from the start. If you are considering a planner, look no further than Care with Sterling Weddings and Events.

  • L

    Leah · Married on 05/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Care and Sterling Wedding Design was a last minute decision for one, but one that I am so happy that I made. I literally had nothing to worry about for my entire wedding day. Care and her team took care of everything and made me feel extra special on my special day. I was so happy each and every time I got a call or email from Care during the planning process because I loved knowing that she was in charge of everything and I knew that if she was taking care of it, it would be handled. I would recommend Sterling Weddings to anyone who is hoping to have a day with no problems and have everything handled and well done. Thank you to Care for making my wedding even more beautiful than I ever could have imagined. You made my visions a reality!

  • M

    Morgan · Married on 04/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recommended to Care Schmidt by my work because we had done some short videos with her, and I am so glad we found her! I got in contact with her over a year before our wedding, and I chose to do the "part-time" option for her, since I didn't need someone to hold my hand every step of the way, just someone who I could call with any questions I had.

    She was always willing to meet whenever I was uneasy about something, and always gave me a call or email back regarding any questions I had. She is a busy woman, and I really appreciate all the small details that I had no clue about that she helped me out with...like who is "presenting" the couple on the invitations, where to go to get various things, and when dress shops weren't telling me the whole truth.

    On the wedding day, the groom was very nervous about how things would run, and I tried to explain to him that that is why we have Care, but he wouldn't listen. But, he soon found out that she was worth every penny! Anything we had questions about or needed help with, it was done before we could even finish our thought about it. She knows her stuff very well!!! My father was really happy to have her on board so that he could ask her about anything as well throughout the wedding as well as any time before. She made sure that all of our belongings were packed up and ready for us to pick up the next day before she left, which was a very big help in the morning.

    I was so happy with Care's service and calm attitude about everything, it made us feel very well taken care of! I would recommend her to anyone I know that is getting married, or even just throwing a big party! Totally worth it!

  • User4084969 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care Schmidt, owner of Sterling Event Design, is the ultimate in a Wedding Planner. We had a destination wedding in Phoenix to plan, with the bride and groom in Seattle, the groom's parents in London, England and the bride's parents in Tucson, AZ. None of us had a clue regarding Phoenix wedding vendors and resources. Choosing Care Schmidt and her associates was all we needed to do, since she had extensive experience and contacts in Phoenix. All vendors she introduced to us were very professional and well-known in the area. Care outlined the choices available in each category and we made the decision.
    She was especially good in introducing us to on-line spreadsheets for timeline planning and budgeting. Care acted as an intermediary with the bride, groom and parents, so that decisions could be made amicably. She helped schedule items, so we could split the responsibilities among us and she made sure everyone met their due dates with her organized, but diplomatic manner.
    Of course, the wedding was wonderful, no glitches were encountered, all was so seamless that all of us really enjoyed ourselves without worry. An important reason we chose Care was that she has a solid staff supporting her, so that we were not depending on only one person to coordinate such an important event. She was also thought very highly of by every one of the vendors we used. Especially important to our affair, was that there were unique dietary and cultural issues that needed to be addressed. Her suggestion of a venue which could handle these special needs was on the mark. I would recommend her to a friend without hesitation.

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 03/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My number one piece of advice for any bride/groom: get a planner. But not just any old planner, you want Sterling Wedding and Events! We hired Care to help us with planning (partial planning package) and she was a life saver! She was incredibly helpful in the planning stages of the event: she had great suggestions for vendors, good tips for saving money (and she saved us a lot!), and would always respond to questions quickly. I knew that if I had a question, no matter how big or small, Care would reply to me immediately and with great insight!

    In the days leading up to our wedding, Care was on the ball: sending reminders, finishing up last minute details, and making sure everyone was organized. She sent out detailed timelines to all our vendors, bridal party members, and immediate family so everyone was on the same page. (Several of my recently married friends marveled at that timeline!) On the day of our wedding, Care was so calm, even though we were running late, and everyone who interacted with her (family, friends, vendors) had fantastic things to say about her! Perhaps the best endorsement I could give her is that I had complete confidence in her abilities to make the wedding day move smoothly. I was not stressed at all about the details of the big day because I knew if there was a problem, Care would handle it…and her judgment is impeccable so I knew she would solve it appropriately! If you are looking for someone organized, knowledgeable, professional, and connected, she is your gal! Thanks Care and the Sterling Wedding & Events Team for making our wedding day perfect!

  • C

    Cathryn · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care at Sterling Events was phenomenal. I hired her over a year out from my wedding as a partial planner. She was there every step of the way. She would let me know when I needed to have things done and was very responsive to any needs I had. As the day got closer she put together all the small details, contacted each one of my vendors, and made sure that everything was in place. The wedding day was a dream come true. Care showed up and made sure everything was in place and. I did not have one ounce of stress and got to completely focus on the moment. I highly recommend Care and her team to anyone looking for a wedding planner. Care is attentive, flexible, and always one step ahead. I am thankful for all that she did for me on my wedding day.

  • J

    Jeannette · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care was a pleasure to work with. She is kind, thoughtful, organized, communicates promptly, and professional! My family and guests loved how friendly and easy going she was. Care and her team were invaluable to the success of our wedding. I couldn't imagine being able to pull off our dream wedding without Sterling Wedding and Events! Thank you for all your hard work!

  • G

    Greg · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a bride, I chose to hire Care three months before the wedding because I was overcome with stress. The minute I met her, I knew that she was going to do a great job. She felt more like a friend than a vendor with her flexibility and always knew the right thing to say to calm my nerves. I didn't have to worry about anything.

    We absolutely loved Sterling Weddings and Events!! Our wedding was not the easiest and had a ton of moving parts. Care and her crew were there every step of the way, providing valuable insight and made sure all of our ducks were in a row before the big day. We'd have to say that we were most impressed with great attention to detail, and fast, heartfelt responses to all of our questions before the wedding.

    On our big day, the staff was there early to ensure that the day we waited our lives for would be perfect, and it really was! Most weddings have glitches, but we can honestly say that we aren't aware of ANY. That is more proof that you can't go wrong with Sterling Wedding and Events.

    We received so many compliments during and after the wedding from our guests who were very impressed with the outcome of the coordination and effort put forward by Care and her team.

  • R

    Roz · Married on 03/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterling was the best event planner I have ever worked with and this is my third wedding. The quality of service was excellent as was the responsiveness, professionalism, value and most importantly the flexibility. We had a few issues the day of the wedding( sick bride) and they handled the change of plans, calmly and easily and made us feel confident and secure that all would turn out well.It was a beautiful wedding and I would not have changed one thing. The suggestions of vendors could not have been better and we stayed within our budget.

  • H

    Helen · Married on 03/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care and her staff are wonderful!!! Care transformed my not so cohesive vision into perfection. She was organized, efficient, and always responsive no matter the time of day. On the day of our wedding we encountered some unexpected hurdles and Care took care of everything. She was flexible and accomodating in everyway possible. The day went on without a hitch. Amazing!!! I would recommened Care and the entire staff at Sterling for any event.

  • L

    Lynn · Married on 03/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care Schmidt was a tremendous help to my daughter as she was planning her wedding. Care exhibited both a high degree of professionalism and also a very genuine sense of caring. Having Care take care of the details the day of the wedding was extremely helpful and allowed me (mother of bride) to fully relax and enjoy the celebration.

  • B

    Ben · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thoughtful. Caring. Kind. Diligent. Organized. These are but a few of the adjectives that describe Care Schmidt and Sterling Event Design. Quite simply, we cannot imagine a better event planner. Not only did Care help us from top to bottom with a smile on her face, she helped calm our nerves when need which was infinitely important looking back. Though, we never really worried about anything since we adopted the mantra, “If Care’s involved, everything will be fine.”

    Perhaps the best part about Care and Sterling Event Design is that she managed to accomplish planning such a complicated wedding with multiple vendors and organizations while maintaining a friendly, positive attitude. If there were any roadblocks, Care would navigate through them assertively and professionally. To us, that meant more than anything. In fact, we now consider Care a friend. We came into the planning process fairly naïve and uninformed but Care walked us through everything.

    If you want an event planner that will go out of their way to make your day/event special, Care and Sterling Event Design is the only choice.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was a bridesmaid at a dear friend's wedding recently, and Care Schmidt did an amazing job with not only the wedding planning, but Care acted in the capacity of a truly dedicated and caring person to the bride and groom as well as the wedding party. Great job!!!

  • J

    Julie [NaNa] · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care is an absolute darling. At a wedding, things can easily get extremely stressful. However, I know that for Aubrie and Benjamin, their experience was truly a joy, pleasure, beautiful, and everything went so smoothly. It was such a pleasure to meet you. You are a true angel for everything you did for Ben & Aub, family and friends. I am eternally grateful that you touched our lives. My very best to you always, NaNa [Benjamin's Grandmother]

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a member of the bridal party, I was very impressed with the friendly, yet professional way Care organized everything, kept us all on schedule, etc. I’ve participated in weddings where nobody knew what they were supposed to be doing, which often led to chaos, but that was not the case here – we were all calm and excited and were truly able to enjoy the pre and post wedding celebration. She even had a basket filled with things we might forget, which came in hand y with last-minute prepping. Talk about being prepared! Thank you Care for everything!
    Brittany L., Tempe

  • M

    Camila · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterling Event Design was invaluable to the success of our wedding!! I cannot imagine not having Care and team there to make sure every detail was perfect and running smoothly. Sterling Event Design was one of the best investments we made to guarantee that our night was amazing!

    At the start of our planning, we thought that between our families and friends, that we would be able to take care of things. We then realized that they would also be guests at the wedding, and would be unable to take care of vendors setting up correctly, or deal with something like a random wedding crisis. I am so glad that we found Sterling Event Design! Care and her team took the time to prepare, and knew every single detail so that we could enjoy our entire night! She coordinated with all of our vendors (before, during, and after), reminded us to eat (very important), took a picture in the photo booth before it left, and when we had a small hiccup with the seating during the reception, she was right there to fix it.

    There are so many things that Care and her team did that night that, and I cannot thank her enough for making our wedding perfect, beautiful, and so much fun! We highly recommend her services!

  • User2725898 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a bridesmaid for my sister's wedding, I was worried that I would have to take on the load of stress to solve every little problem that may have arise during the event-- but Sterling Events made it so I had NOTHING to worry about! My sister was able to enjoy her wedding, and so was I! It was incredible.

  • J

    Jeniece · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Initially I wasn't sure if we needed a day of coordinator, I thought I have enough family and friends that can help with the wedding. But when I first met with Carrie, she won me over! I had met with a few other coordinators but Carrie stood out from the others. She really seemed interested in our wedding plans and how she could help.
    Carrie and her team of 2 handled our huge wedding superbly! It was a great relief to not have to worry about the reception set-up and handling vendors, we just showed up to the reception and everything was ready! Even better was how organized and smooth the reception ran. Most everyone we talked to commented how fun the wedding was and how smooth it went. With over 300 guests and 30 something guest tables, I cannot imagine this happening without Carrie and her team. From start to finish, they were there making sure everything was going according to plan. I'm sure there were a million behind the scenes tasks too that got done! I'm totally blown away by her experience, professionalism and creativity. Our wedding was everything we hoped it would be and more because of Sterling Event Design!
    If you are questioning whether or not you should have a wedding coordinator, don't! Make that a top priority and definitely contact Sterling Event Design!

    Sent on 05/01/2012

    Sterling Weddings and Events's reply:

    Thank you SO MUCH Jeniece, it was so great to work with you and Mikel!
  • C

    Cherilyn · Married on 04/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Care Schmidt was the backbone of our wedding day. As our Day-Of Coordinator, she executed our vision with such precision that my husband and I enjoyed every moment.

    As the big day drew near, Care offered wonderful budget-friendly recommendations on how to create a lounge vibe at our reception. We followed her advice, and it looked great!

    Her expertise and professionalism were evident in the weeks leading up to the wedding when she personally called all of the vendors, introduced herself, and asked if there were remaining fees or concerns. This made for a very smooth day without any loose ends.

    Many of my bridesmaids mentioned to me that this was the most organized, stress-free wedding they had ever been a part of—including their own! They attributed it to the detailed schedule Care prepared, which included everything from vendor arrivals and departures to a note that reminded the groomsmen to turn of their phones at the church.

    Although my fiancé had initially resisted paying for a Day-Of Coordinator, he now couldn’t imagine our wedding without her. I feel the same. Thank you, Care and assistants, for creating the day of our dreams.

  • B

    Brandee · Married on 11/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is simply not enough space to say all of the wonderful things about Care! Hands down, she and her team are the reason that my wedding went as smoothly as it did! As someone who loves DIY projects, Care was able to take all of my visions and creations and make sure that every detail was executed the way I had hoped. She was spectacular with her responsiveness, ideas, support, encouragement, and advice. I could not have asked for a better day of coordinator. She took the time to get to know my family and friends and we feel like we have adopted her into the family! Thank you so much Care for helping to make our wedding such an amazing event!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review