Sterk's Catering, Inc. Reviews

20 | Oberlin, OH
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Sterk's Catering, Inc.

Recommended by 86%

20

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.3
Sort by:
  • Kristina

    Kristina · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best roast beef ever!

    I highly recommend Sterk's. They are very flexible and responsive and they have the best tasting roast beef I have ever had!

    Sent on 07/16/2019
  • D

    Dan · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't go wrong with sterks all of the food on our menu was spectacular. All of our wedding guests loved the food and the staff were very professional. Thank you sterks!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was great. Would definitely recommend upgrading to the Formal Banquet, it alleviates a lot of planning stress. The Roast Beef, Paprikas and Italian Sausage were phenomenal.

    Sent on 05/09/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The reception hall we booked used this caterer exclusively. Although we could have booked any caterer, we decided to go with Sterk's because you cannot beat their prices! We decided to do a pig roast, which they carve at your event for you. The food was excellent and they were easy to work with. We got lots of compliments on the food from our wedding guests. Oh, and they packed up all the leftovers for us to take home too! I would definitely recommend checking out Sterk's!

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Sterks cater our "rehearsal dinner", which was supposed to be an outdoor BBQ at some lakeside cottages where our guests were staying. On the day of the event, the skies opened up and we had a serious storm to deal with. Our plan to grill outside beginning around 7:30pm was definitely out. I talked to Shelly around 4:30 to try to figure something out and she was SUPER helpful and understanding of our issue. She offered to bring the food to our event already prepared, give the grilling a try or even offered to let us use their banquet hall which was unoccupied that evening. We went with the first option.

    Food arrived on time and was tasty and hot (especially the boneless ribs). The server was super friendly and helpful and kept the line going and the dishes full. I'm very grateful to Shelly and her crew for helping us navigate a tricky situation and being so flexible and giving us several options. Highly recommend this caterer!

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterk's catering was the hit of our wedding. We are polish, so we had a formal buffet with kielbasa, pierogies, sauerkraut, parm chicken, rigatoni, roast beef, green beans with bacon, nantucket blend veggies, and salad. The food was RAVED and is STILL talked about! Everyone says that people remember the food and the music and let me tell you, the food was AMAZING. Shelly was great to work with and very detail oriented. I couldn't be happier. This is such a value for everything you get and we were concerned about food quality from a buffet but this was exceptional! They are true professionals!

    Sent on 06/02/2015
  • A

    AMBER · Married on 06/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was delicious and John the owner was amazing!

    Sent on 07/22/2014
  • User3717773 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterk's Catering catered our casual June 2014 wedding of just over 100 guests. They arrived on time, staff was presentable and friendly, and most importantly... the food was DIVINE! Some of our friends and family are serious food critics and picky eaters and we got rave reviews from all of them. We got the Western BBQ, which was tri-tip (sooooo tender and seasoned to perfection), BBQ chicken (some with sauce and some without), potato pancakes (amazing), redskin potatoes, fruit salad, coleslaw, baked beans, green beans with bacon, and dinner rolls. They also brought coffee (regular and decaf), iced tea, lemonade, and water. We got the classic buffet, so they provided silverware, plates, table linens, and cloth napkins. We purchased our own gold solo cups for drink ware. It ended up being $17/person, which is incredibly affordable for the amount of food they provide. I would highly recommend Sterk's Catering for your next event!

    Sent on 06/19/2014
  • User2545663 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious! So good yet so bad for you--which is what makes it taste homemade and SO GOOD! They are so sweet, treat you like family, and are just willing to help you out! I ran into some issue while getting ready for my wedding and John made sure to go out of his way (even though he was about to go out of town) to help me out and accommodate my schedule. I was so fortunate to have them as caterers and you CAN NOT beat the price for the amount that's included and the quality of the food!

    Sent on 08/01/2013
  • M

    Allison · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterks food is absolutley amazing!!!! I have never heard so many guest rave about wedding food in my entire life and I've worked and been to may weddings. The roast beef is mouth watering and out of this world. All their food is exceptional. The price and value cannot be beat. Call them...you will nto be sorry, I promise.....AAAAAA+

    Sent on 02/16/2012
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a buffet style wedding catered by Sterk's. The owner was easy to work with. We were provided table clothes/napkins etc for the tables. He came to the reception hall and set up each table! The food was great, everyone had something great to say about it! I would recommend this catering business to anyone!

    Sent on 03/06/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have had nothing but positive comments about the food at our wedding! We chose a buffet and were given a lot of food options. We were able to taste the food prior and were given plenty of time to make a final choice. They provided our linens as well, which is a great option for an outdoor wedding! They are amazing food for a great value!

    Sent on 07/24/2015
  • User3034832 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sterks was great! I wanted a taco bar at my wedding and they provided it. It was a hit! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars all around is because they did run out of the meat which was a little disappointing. But everything else was great!

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/19/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best darn food in the Cleveland area! My wedding guests are still talking about how awesome the food was 2 months later. I can't wait until my next party that needs catered! Sterk's has gained a customer for life in me!

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • Laurie

    Laurie · Married on 07/17/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Sterk's Catering was perfect for what I needed at my wedding. I chose the silent service buffet service, which included 3 meats, 2 veggie sides, 2 potato sides, and 2 salads served on styrofoam. It also included coffee, iced tea, and punch, and when they left they let us keep the containers and return them the following day. This was $11 per person, and there was enough for everyone to have seconds, and even thirds if they wanted. The food was delicious and I recieved praise from guests on it. Everything was very positive and affordable. The only thing I didn't love was the set-up crew. It was a boy and a girl and they both looked very young. They did a very good job with everything, but they did not look presentable for the event. The boy has unkept hair and they wore uniforms consiting of greasy t-shirts. They did a great job with everything, though. And they mostly stayed in the kitchen area. Overall it was a very good experience.

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • User3235550 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Sterks Catering has wonderful food, but they do not follow through 100 percent on what they say they will do.

    Sent on 05/03/2013
  • J

    Jean Marie · Married on 05/03/2014

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Their food was great. We had many compliments on the food and how delicious it was.
    If you are looking for a value with great food, this is it.
    However, I think their presentation could use some help. My wedding planners ended up washing linens that were stained and silverware and plates that had dried food on it. If they had not done this I would have been greatly embarrassed to serve yummy food on dirty plates and dirty linens.
    Overall, great food, prepare yourself for some pre-wedding cleaning.

    Sent on 05/08/2014
  • User1368301 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Sterks has great prices, but they don't always do what they say.

    Sent on 10/28/2012
  • M

    Missie · Married on 05/19/2018

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We used sterks for a gathering and we were told that we would be given any food that was left over.
    Right before the food was taken down, my son went by the buffet and there were whole pans full of food not touched. When John (the owner) finishing packing up, I told him that we had a lot of people that did not show up and there should be all of food left over.
    He said it was all eaten. I did not know until later that my son had seen full trays of food untouched. They took back most of the leftovers and left us with the little bit that was left in the pans.
    In short, they stole the food that we had purchased. Of corse John the owner denied it, but where did the leftovers go?!?!?!? Certainly not with us!!!!!!!
    The food was good,,,,, too bad they have no integrity!

    Sent on 05/19/2018

    Sterk's Catering, Inc.'s reply:

    I am happy that, as you told me oiver the phone last night that you enjoyed the food. We also received many compliments from the guests.

    As.for stealing your food, I'm sorry but that is absolutely untrue. For this size event, there was a full pan of each menu item, not extra pans in the back.

    When you called me last night, I most certainly offered to have you come to our facility to prove that we did not take the food. Had we taken it, it would have been there for you to see. If you would like to come this morning, the offer still stands.

    I'm sorry you feel this way, but your accusations are simply misguided.
  • User6118899 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I choose Sterk's because of the great reviews they received, but i guess everyone has their day. The food was great but their customer service was horrible. Based on their food yes i would recommend them, but if you want your day to be smooth and free of headaches go somewhere else!!!!!!!

    Sent on 12/31/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review