Chaplain Stephen Macht Reviews

32 | Beverly Hills, CA
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Chaplain Stephen Macht

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

32

9 User photos

Sort by:
  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We truly enjoyed collaborating with Stephen throughout the planning process. Stephen carefully tailored the ceremony program to our personalities, which received many complements from our friends and family. Very nicely done, Stephen!

    To give some perspectives, we had interviewed several other officiants before Stephen. Whenever we asked the possibility about having a rehearsal, most of these officiants were not as enthusiastic and hinted that a rehearsal is not necessary as they had officiated 30+ weddings. With Stephen, is different. During our first conversation on the phone, his focus was about getting to know us AND for us to get to know him. We chatted about what is really important for the wedding. There was no rush, no pressure and no hassle. Stephen will express what he thinks it’s best, yet open to our ideas. Stephen came to the rehearsal prepared with what we have discussed as a team, and was able to direct the rehearsal and ensured our parents and bridal party understand each steps in the ceremony.

    The lesson we’d like to share to you (soon-to-be bride & groom!) is to not be afraid to ask fundamental questions at the interview. This is no business, it’s your wedding. In our experience, some officiants have a difficult time answering why they enjoy officiating a ceremony for a couple they don’t know such as yourself. When we chatted with Stephen, he gave a bright, passionate answer – a philosophical answer which stemmed from his own experience. We always feel like we could relate to Stephen and learn from him.

    We had a great time working with Stephen and getting to know him. Good energy. Not overwhelming, but enough to keep the wedding in a fun tone, yet meaningful. Great job, Stephen!

    Sent on 02/22/2016
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 09/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Working with Stephen Macht in developing our wedding ceremony was really extremely easy and stress-free. He didn't know us very well to start with, so he asked via e-mail some brief questions about our relationship and how we have grown to feel about each other. From this, he created his first draft for our ceremony. We were encouraged to modify, add and subtract whatever we wanted from this starting point. And he was always very respectful and attentive to our desires. What was exceptional about Stephen was how he was able to expertly weave in the traditional Hebrew and Jewish prayers along with our very modern (and lesbian) remarks. he also modified the traditional Seven Blessings so that they fit perfectly with our overall theme and felt really right for everyone who participated in the ceremony. He is a great speaker and really held everyone's attention during the entire event. He also walked us through our rehearsal perfectly putting us at ease despite the pouring rain. Throughout the ceremony he seemed to really enjoy teaching everyone present about the rituals, engaging everyone, and making all the invited guests feel a part of our marriage vows. We would highly recommend Stephen Macht as a Chaplain for your wedding, Gay or Straight.
    Debra Shapiro, MD
    Debra Renee Mosk"

    Sent on 01/30/2016
  • User6292987 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everybody loved what Stephen created with the bride and groom. It was inspiring, beautiful, personal, and we were so happy that our son and daughter-in-law decided to work with him. The meaning behind all the individual moments was clearly and beautifully explained by Stephen. He made the ceremony live forever in our hearts and minds. He was totally flexible in working with and incorporating the bride and groom's ideas for the ceremony, as well as giving them creative options. He was available and helpful by phone for months before the wedding (since the bride and groom were on one coast and Stephen on the other) and then was at their disposal even before the rehearsal. The couple are Jewish and Catholic background so Jewish traditional rituals were observed and modified to incorporate the bride's grandmother and family, and he fashioned a deep and beautiful honoring of the groom and his family's traditions as well. Couldn't have been better!

    Sent on 01/29/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Stephen lead a brilliant service. Our wedding was truly magical. He is a gifted chaplain and we were thrilled to work with him."

    Sent on 01/30/2016
  • Dana

    Dana · Married on 05/05/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen Macht officiated our wedding ceremony, but he was much more than just an officiant. He gave our ceremony—and the entire day—the feeling of warmth, openness, personality, and distinctiveness that we wanted.

    We wanted a wedding based in Jewish values, but we did not want a traditional ceremony, and Stephen was very open to this, working with us to make our ceremony customized to our blended family background. Stephen worked with us to come up with vows that were humorous, offbeat, personalized, and true to us and our values.

    It’s no coincidence that Stephen is a classically trained actor with a years of stage, film, and television experience, and a PhD in dramatic literature. He has charisma and stage presence, and he captivated our guests—even the kids! He injected humor and personal stories into his words, and made everyone feel at ease.

    We felt that our wedding was unique and memorable, and it wouldn’t have been the same without Stephen!

    Sent on 02/14/2016
  • B

    Bill · Married on 06/29/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is with great pleasure and our sincere appreciation to praise Steven as our wedding officiant. His experience was invaluable guiding us through our special day. Our event coordinator recommended you, wow, how lucky we
    were. From our initial conversation he showed us the comprehensive and detail
    process it was to develop such a meaningful ceremony. He did it all with sincerity , plus some laughter, always with a smile in his voice.

    Sent on 08/02/2017
  • Tina

    Tina L. · Married on 06/06/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Disrespectful

    He is very cheap and he gets very nasty. He gives you a deadline to answer back once it gets close to the deadline and you don’t respond back he assumes that the wedding is off and gets really nasty and talks about the kill deal and that now u owe him a 200 dollar or 300 dollar to kill the deal when the wedding is not even off. Its just his assumption cause he is very nasty when it gets to money. The story that he says he is gonna make for you. Its basically the answers you write to his questions and he just ends up saying he said this, she said this, he said this, she said this.... and the he said/she said just continues.
    He cancelled on me, writing me an email about how sick he is and that he will pay my money back. When I contacted him for my money that I never received from him, he got nasty again, saying I should pay him for the he said/ she said story he made.

    Sent on 06/04/2020