Chaplain Stephen Macht Reviews

32 | Beverly Hills, CA
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Chaplain Stephen Macht

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

32

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Marcus

    Marcus M. · Married on 01/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best In Class Creator of a Memorable Wedding!

    Stephen was there every step of the way to coach us through sharing our unique love story. He is very responsive, detailed, and, most importantly, genuinely cares about creating a unique and memorable experience. Each of our guests stated, "Best wedding ever attended," with Stephen's officiating as a significant highlight. I highly recommend Stephen!

    Sent on 12/11/2019
  • Anna

    Anna · Married on 03/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Experience with Stephen

    Stephen was a pleasure to work with. He helped us create a personalized ceremony which was very sweet with a touch of humor. We went back and fourth a couple times until we got it just right. He recommended different things to make it work for us. We wanted it very simple - we wanted to keep out religion and just make it about us. He helped us do that, he told our love story and kept the guests interested during this time. It was beautiful. Here is a short clip of our wedding, you can hear him speak in it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvKgdWWXBg8
    Thank you very much Stephen, highly recommended :)

    Sent on 05/02/2020
  • Roy

    Roy D. · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flexible and funny, Stephen will help deliver your dream ceremony

    Me and my (new) wife, Allie, recently worked with Stephen as the officiant for our wedding in September 2019. My mom referred him as we were looking for an officiant, and thought he'd be great for our ceremony. We became inclined to agree.

    We first met with Stephen in-person soon after I proposed. We discussed our vision for our wedding, and our "complicating" factors. I am Jewish, and Allie is half and half Catholic. We wanted a semi-casual ceremony that didn't lean too far in either religion, but paid homage to both.

    Stephen was understanding and easy to work with throughout. He first sent me and Allie a questionnaire to answer about the other, with questions like how we met, and what we thought was special about the other. From these answers, he crafted the "script" for our ceremony. We worked with him over the next year, sending revisions back-and-forth every couple of months until we got it to the point where it felt just right. That point, funny enough, was just days before the ceremony, but Stephen was fantastic in being so flexible and up for anything with it.

    The ceremony itself was phenomenal, with Stephen playing a large part in it. Many people came up to us at the reception to say it was the best wedding ceremony they've been to, and that they loved the officiant. That he delivered the words of our love story with wit and eloquence, and they were blown away. Yes, yes, some of it was the stunning and amazing bride and groom, but Stephen helped them come off that way ;).

    In all seriousness, it was a pleasure working with Stephen, and we wholeheartedly would encourage others to do so as well for their weddings. He has officiated countless weddings, and with his background as an actor, he is able to deliver them with class.

    Sent on 09/19/2019
  • L

    Lauren L. · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have been better!

    Getting married was the easy decision. After a short engagement the decision was who to find to host a small service in a back-yard garden in Topanga Canyon. I wanted a Rabbi but, someone who was reform, open-minded and comfortable with an extremely relaxed and short service. My husband-to-be wanted someone who was ‘not religious at all,’ which I understood and respected. We are both from Jewish families but, for us, it was about honoring the traditions while leaving the g-word to a minimum (if at all.)

    Once I placed a couple calls to Rabbi’s in the LA area it was quickly pointed out that our wedding day was on a Jewish holiday. Well… not on a holiday exactly. It was the eve before a holiday and that was going to be a problem. One Rabbi, who I found first through a quick google search, told me point blank “no one is going to do this; you should move your wedding day.” What else could have been more calming to hear for a bride doing all the planning herself and people already scheduled to fly in from out of town!

    We asked around and eventually found Chaplin Stephen Macht. I emailed him on several different sites in my desperation. He quickly contacted me and said he would be available on that day.

    Choosing Stephen was one of the best we made. He sent us a list of questions to fill out. In the midst of major life changes (apart from the wedding planning) we were really slow in getting back to him with this. He was always incredibly patient with us. We really took our time and thought about our answers. These answers help craft your service so really give it some thought. Stephen, myself, and my now husband really worked together as a team to craft the ceremony with all the things that are important and not important to us. We never felt pressured to do anything that wasn’t ‘us.’

    My sister-in-law got a quick sneak peek at the script before the wedding and was crying. She has been to more weddings that I can count, and said this was far and away the best (most personal) service she has ever read. The service was perfect. Even before the ceremony, Stephen told us that if we needed anything we could call him. Although, we didn’t really need much it was nice to offer.

    We really couldn’t thank Stephen enough for all he did. There are a few make-or-break things in every wedding. Having a skilled chaplain was one of essentials, and we can’t recommend him more highly! Stephen enabled my husband and I to have the wedding that was right for us. Our ceremony truly was the right blend of honoring our Jewish heritage in a non-religious way which was just right for us. We are so thankful!

    Sent on 08/07/2019
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen did an amazing job officiating our wedding! Not only did we love our ceremony, we got so many compliments from our guests. We gave him the challenge of a non religious ceremony that incorporated traditional Jewish elements. Stephen found the perfect balance and also found a way to make it very personalized to us. He is also very professional and very responsive.

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 07/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen filled our wedding ceremony with warmth and laughter. We could not recommend his services enough!

    Sent on 08/04/2018
  • S

    Scott · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen is the absolute best! We couldn't have been happier with him as our wedding officiant. We were initially supposed to marry in January 2017, however, due to an unexpected death in the family, we had to delay the wedding a year. Stephen graciously stuck by us for the three-year period that we worked together. He was incredibly kind, attentive, conscientious, thoughtful, and supportive throughout the process. He was very organized, thorough, and collaborative as he guided us to put together a beautiful, thoughtful, personalized ceremony. It was very clear to us that Stephen loves what he does and has a true gift.

    When the big day came, he delivered with flying colors. Our ceremony was everything we could have hoped for and more. Stephen was able to perfectly articulate and express why our relationship is beshert. It was like having an old friend marry us. His delivery was perfect. Stephen captivated the audience throughout the ceremony and received rave reviews from all who attended -- we've lost track of how many people have told us that it was the best ceremony they have ever attended. When we reflect on our wedding the two of us ultimately agree that the ceremony was the best part of the entire wedding. We could not recommend Stephen more -- snap him up!

    We love you, Stephen!
    Maggie Shackelford & Scott Pearlman

    Sent on 07/04/2018

    Chaplain Stephen Macht's reply:

    Your words move me deeply and energize me simultaneously. Your depth of understanding of each other and your loving — were as much a gift to me as my my service on your behalf. You know Maggie and Scott, you did me a blessing by allowing me to serve as your Officiant, and your friend.
  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Stephen was awesome. He answered every email and phone call quickly and came through with everything he promised. He worked very hard to make our ceremony very us. We got so many complements after.

    Sent on 04/21/2018
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't want to make this too emotional, but it's impossible (I guess) to talk about one's wedding without SOME emotion. My father (who has been absent from most father duties since I was 7), called me the day BEFORE my wedding to say that he would not be able to attend. No worry. The relationship that I had built with Stephen leading to the wedding was so caring and warm that I was instantly comforted when I showed up the ceremony (given my "tense" emotional state). The work Stephen put in before the special day was that of an artist working on a masterpiece. Just the process of understanding the relationship between my-then-fiance was a ton of fun but also insightful as we were bringing Stephen into our love story. I can't say enough good things about how great the whole thing was. By-the-way, everyone in attendance said it was the best ceremony they've ever witnessed, which I credit to Stephen 100%.

    Sent on 01/01/2018
  • T

    Todd · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Due to marriage laws in Australia not allowing same-sex couples to wed, my partner and I were required to travel abroad in order to get married. We chose the United States and Los Angeles in particular, as our destination. Obviously, coming from across the other side of the world and not having any chance to meet with any of our service providers for the wedding is a bit risk but thankfully for us, the risk paid off; especially in regards to our officiant, Stephen Macht.



    We found Stephen using the website thumbtack.com from which we had a number of different officiants send through quotes. What made us choose Stephen was his emphasis on, not only the deep and meaningful parts of a relationship, but the humorous, light hearted side too. We both value humor in our relationship, so only felt it was right to have somebody marry us who also places an emphasis on this.

    The process of working with Stephen could not have been easier, even considering the distance between us. We started off by individually completing a questionnaire that Stephen sent through answering questions about ‘our story’. Stephen encouraged us to answer these on our own and not share with each other until they were done. We decided to wait until Stephen sent back the first draft of his speech and were so glad we did, as he really captured everything of importance, mixing the romantic and humorous factors. There were only minor changes that needed to be made to the first draft, but these were mostly due to unfamiliarity with place names and locations in Australia- which obviously Stephen is not expected to know off. Once these corrections were made, the final draft was complete.

    Even though we had read through Stephen’s remarks numerous times before the ceremony, hearing them on the big day with Stephen’s passion transformed them . We could not have been more happy with our choice to have Stephen as our officiant and could really feel the importance he placed on working on our ceremony.

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephan worked with us to create the beautiful script for our non religious ceremony. He added humorous elements as well as more emotional, touching elements. He was always responsive to emails throughout the process. At the reception and after the wedding, all I heard was compliments on how moving the ceremony was. I highly recommend Stephen as your officiant!

    Sent on 04/19/2017
  • J

    Jill · Married on 04/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    excellent service....and keep up the great work!!!

    Sent on 12/25/2016
  • Azadeh

    Azadeh · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were introduced to Stephen by a friend of my mom and we had a short time in LA to meet with him to discuss him officiating the ceremony. The moment we met we knew right away this was a perfect match. He explained to us his unique way of sharing our love story, in a way it was our perfect script on how we met and where we were going. The process was quite fun and different. We were sent a questionnaire my husband and I both filled out separately and then sent it to Stephen to develop our story with our own words. The night of the ceremony was the most amazing experience. We received so many compliments that our guests were able to live out our story, the way me met through his words. One of my cousins came up to us and said I have been to 8 weddings the last year and this by far was the most amazing, heartfelt, genuine and real experience they have witnessed. We cannot thank him enough and have already been sharing his information with our guests. He was a great part in making our wedding memorable.

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • M

    Michele · Married on 12/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we read Stephen's profile we wondered "would this ceremony be traditional" "would it be warm, touching and yet memorable"......all we can say is WOW.

    From our very first conversation, Stephen made us feel like family....it was as if he were a longtime family friend.

    We live on the east coast, so we had a lot of moving parts coordinating our wedding long distance. Yet Stephen made himself available to meet during our jam packed trip to LA finalizing plans.

    It was a pleasure working with him on our ceremony and vows. Stephen employs an ingenious technique when writing a service. He had us answer questions which helped him weave our story together in a seamless manner.

    The end result was a beautiful, touching and, at times, humorous ceremony which was meaningful to us as well as our family and guests.

    We would highly recommend Stephen for anyone looking for a personalized ceremony.

    Michele and Jeff Strumeier

    Sent on 02/16/2017
  • S

    S · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words can not describe how thankful we were to have Stephen perform our wedding ceremony. It was such a pleasure to work with Stephen, from the first exchanges through email, to our in person meeting, to the day of our wedding. Stephen was professional, engaging, personable, genuinely excited to help us create our ceremony, and just made us feel like we could have someone on our side through all the crazy planning process.

    When we searched for an officiant we were looking for someone who was going to engaging, providing the audience with a presence, someone who could tell our story and not make it boring. We had searched online with a few other individuals, but we knew he was everything we were looking for.

    During the process he answered questions in a very timely manner and made himself available to us. Meeting him for the first time was like meeting a old friend. He was very kind and engaging, patient, and our discussions were very easy and free flowing.

    On the day of the ceremony he arrived on time as we had discussed and he made us feel at ease. After the ceremony, so many friends and family came to tell us how much they loved hearing Stephen tell our love story. They laughed and definitely had a few tears, but everyone said how beautiful and amazing it was. It was definitely thanks to Stephen. He truly had the crowd wanting more and he had this amazing presence which made everything seem prefect. It flowed very well with our sand ceremony as well as our vows.

    If you are looking for an amazing ceremony, someone who can truly tell your story, someone who is going to deliver what they promised and then some, Stephen is your guy!

    Thank you so much Stephen for such a magical, beautiful, amazing ceremony. We are are so grateful that you were apart of our special day!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen played a key role in making our wedding special and memorable. This started well before the wedding day, though, when he got to know the foundation of our relationship through conversations and questionnaires in person and through emails. He was patient with us and helped us to explore what made our relationship strong and what we saw for ourselves as a family in the future. He then applied that knowledge to create a unique and intimate ceremony. To this day friends and family remark on what an engaging and personable officiant he was. And the most beautiful part of the experience is that there is and will continue to be a relationship between Stephen and us. He genuinely cares and it shines through in his work.

    Sent on 09/11/2016
  • A

    Angelica · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Stephen was our wedding officiant for our wedding this past June and everything about the experience in working with him was an absolute joy. He was professional, kind, fun to work with. Stephen made our wedding so personal and special that he had everyone in attendance laughing and crying. It was so amazing and couldn't have asked for anything better. He definitely took the time to listen to our needs and wants to make the ceremony our own, which really meant a lot. Everyone after asked us how we found him and that we had the best wedding ceremony they had ever been to.

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • User6800040 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for an officiant that was different and that could tell our love story the way we lived it. We didn't want the same cookie cutter officiant and when we first visited wedding wire, we came across Stephen's profile and reviews. We came across his contact information and when we first called Stephen, it was apparent we found our guy! He is energetic and his genuineness come across clearly over the telephone. Stephen is a romantic at heart and embodies what every officiant should....a passion for love and romance! Did I mention he was the only person we called?!

    We had a small window of time to work with Stephen due to the change of plans we had and he was readily accessible, available, and flexible. It was as if he was a close friend.

    Through the process, we spent much time together discussing our ceremony but also just getting to know one another. Stephen is knowledgeable and a great person to ask for advice.

    Come to the ceremony, Stephen was PURELY AWESOME!! He was funny, exciting, and serious all at once and our guests loved it as much as we did.

    DONT THINK TWICE ABOUT HIRING STEPHEN HAS YOUR OFFICIANT! YOU'LL REGRET IT IF YOU DONT!

    Sincerely,

    L&M

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • J

    John · Married on 04/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's simply going to be impossible to convey with words...what an amazing job Stephen did on our big day...but I'll try.

    From the very first phone call between Stephen, Jen and myself...we knew instantly we found our man. Charming, witty, and comforting are the words to best describe his demeanor and style. From start to finish it was a seamless and enjoyable process...all thanks to Stephen and his guidance.

    Our first phone call with him lasted over an hour...it was as if we had known each other for years. He was engaging and asked the best questions. Like he really did care...not just going through the motions. He took interest in our lives, our paths, and how we got to the point of saying ' I Do '

    I won't go into details about how he goes about getting to know you both better...I will let it be a surprise...just know it was a fun task...sort of like Bride and Groom homework. And the information he culls from your homework will make your big day personal, witty, and a lot of fun.

    Jen and I could not have found a more perfect person to marry us...The way he took the time to know us, communicate with us, and guide us was memorable. We can never thank him enough...for making our wedding day not only amazing for Jen and I...but for our guests as well. Everyone fell in love with him!

    So...I'm going to tell you all now...this is your man.

    Trust me...not only did he marry us...it's like we have a friend for life in Stephen.

    Sent on 05/17/2016
  • H

    Honey · Married on 01/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen is amazingly talented, professional and personable. He is just plain and simple awesome! My husband and I could not have asked for a better person to officiate our one love interfaith wedding.

    Stephen took his time to get to know us. He met with us, had a clear understanding of our desires and what we wanted our guests to take away from the ceremony. He delivered a truly memorable, heart felt opening speech and overall ceremony.

    He worked well with our second officiant and managed to keep everything short and sweet, just like we wanted!

    Our guests raved about him. He was generous in his rate and flexible with with his schedule. He stayed involved in all aspects of our wedding and even managed to bless us with a wedding rehearsal.

    We could not have imagined our dream wedding without him and are happy to be able to call him our friend.

    Thank you Stephen!!!

    Love Honey & Ross

    Sent on 03/18/2016
  • User6305187 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW - So happy we used the wonderful Stephen Macht to oversee and officiate our wedding ceremony. He was kind and fun in all the prep. He asked the sweet, hard, wonderful questions that helped him work with us to create a warm and very special wedding service. It was a treat for us and all our guests. Many thanks always Stephen!

    Sent on 02/01/2016
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Stephen officiated our wedding recently and did such a wonderful job. All of our friends kept saying how beautiful the ceremony was. Stephen was so easy to work with and help us collaborate a ceremony right for us. He is warm and friendly and a fabulous officiant.
    Thanks Stephen!!

    Sent on 02/24/2016
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen prepared a unique speech for us, embodied by laughter and emotion, and created such a great sense of warmth and comfort. He helped to make the wedding a truly amazing experience. It was such a pleasure to work with him. I'm happy to call him our friend, and someone with whom we will always share the memory and remain in contact with.

    Sent on 01/31/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen was such a pleasure to work with. Although initially we had never met him, there was an instant connection and he made us all feel very special. He crafted the most beautiful ceremony, with our personal stories and input. His passion for what he does is very evident in his writing and delivery. He is a true professional yet the entire process felt very personal and attentive. I received phone calls and text messages the next day to say how beautiful and touching the ceremony was. I would gladly and highly recommend Stephen to anyone I know who's planning a wedding.

    Sent on 02/03/2016
  • V

    Vlada · Married on 01/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Stephen,
    Thank you so much for officiating our wedding on 1/23/15. I'm very pleased with your service and your professionalism.
    We will definitely recommend you to all our family & friends.
    Thanks a Million,
    Vlada & German

    Sent on 02/01/2016