Stephen Ludwig Photography Reviews

19 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Stephen Ludwig Photography

Recommended by 99%

19

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

4 User photos

Stephen Ludwig Photography 1
Stephen Ludwig Photography 2
Stephen Ludwig Photography 3
Stephen Ludwig Photography 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Angie · Married on 05/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were in town for vacation but hired and booked Stephen to do my sons graduation pictures on the beach. The process of booking, paying, signing the contract and receiving the photos went smooth. They are all beautiful and I’m so glad I planned ahead for this. I knew he was mainly a wedding photographer but I’m glad I reached out to see if he would do these graduation pictures for my son. During the shoot he also shot some of our family for fun and I’m so glad he did. They are some of my favorite. It was money well spent!

    Sent on 09/30/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best photo in Oahu!!! He was super easy to work with and had amazing direction for providing us with the perfect shoot. He was extremely responsive and accommodating to our needs. Would definitely recommend!!!

    Sent on 05/25/2018
  • Meg

    Meg · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen simply blew our minds. He is an artist, and so incredibly talented, this review won’t be able to do him justice. He is so sweet, showed up early, stayed late. My photos are so phenomenal. Due to his skill, my photos belong in a bridal magazine. I also feel he was very reasonable, especially given his skill set. Please do not look further and book with Stephen!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 03/17/2018
    Stephen Ludwig Photography 5
    Stephen Ludwig Photography 6
    Stephen Ludwig Photography 7
    Stephen Ludwig Photography 8
  • Kat

    Kat · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad that we booked Stephen for our wedding photography. When we came across his photos and website, we immediately loved his style, and how vibrant lively his photos are – the photos seem to jump off the screen! We love that his work really captures the beauty, joy, and simplicity, and character of Hawaii.
    Communication with Stephen was a smooth and seamless process. He is super punctual in replying to emails, phone calls, and even text messages. When he’s in a slam or is busy, he takes the time to tell you just that…so that you’re not left wondering why the lag in response time. Leading up to the wedding day, Stephen was instrumental in helping to come up with ideas for shooting locations and finalizing a timeline for our wedding day that would make things run smoothly. We felt at ease with Stephen right of the bat and felt he was a great fit for our personalities. Stephen has a laid back demeanor, and was cool, calm, and collected the entire day of the wedding. It was important to us that we hired a photographer that we were 100% comfortable being around…I mean, this person basically follows you around for 10 hours and takes pictures of you – you’d better like them!
    When shooting, Stephen was present enough to give his input on shots while still allowing us to do our thing, as he captured our day through his lens. The morning of, Stephen arrived earlier than his contracted time just so that he could get some shots of the groom who was getting ready in a different hotel. It was such a kind gesture, and one we greatly appreciated! Stephen was so great working with and sticking to the timeline we created, and made sure to get us down to the beach for the sunset photos that were so important to the groom. Stephen is not afraid to get dirty – he literally rolled around in the wet sand and stood out in the rain with us to get some of our shots. We have not received our photos yet, as our wedding was only a couple weeks ago, but we're excited for them!

    Sent on 11/28/2016
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    [Posting a review on behalf of my groom, since Stephen actually made this fellow like getting his picture taken]

    Incredibly talented and wonderful to work with. While my wife is quite photogenic, I know that I'm rather camera shy. I don't think that's uncommon for many grooms, but Stephen is so gifted at getting people into their comfort zone. As we were deciding on a photographer, my wife and I wanted someone who was gifted at creating beautiful portraits with vivid colors but also captured our fun, free-spirited personality. The vibrant colors in his pictures really popped in so many of his shots. From a logistical point of view, Stephen spent an entire afternoon and part of an evening doing an engagement photo shoot in multiple locations. On the day of the wedding, Stephen and his crew worked seamlessly with other vendors and were very professional. All in all, I would recommend Stephen to anyone looking for a photographer who can make the bride and groom shine on the day of their wedding.

    Sent on 10/30/2016
  • S

    Steph · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love our photos! Stephen is seriously the BEST! The whole process of coordinating a time to meet etc was easy and made this part of wedding planning less stressful. We loved working with him because he is super easy going and made us feel comfortable during the shoot. It was my first time being professionally photographed so I was very nervous but his personality and energy made me feel at ease and made our photos look natural. I liked how he directed us but was also open to letting us try the ideas we had. He goes above and beyond for the client to ensure they get the shots they want. Hope to work with him again one day

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 07/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married in Hawaii in 2016 and though life has been very busy, I always told myself to make sure that I give the review that Stephen deserves. When we decided to get married in Hawaii, I went through a list of potential photographers and narrowed down my list to 2. Stephen stood out because of his flexibility and suggestions that he gave to us. We had a Traditional Chinese Tea Ceremony in the Moana Surfrider and had to travel to Lanikuhonoa for an early evening reception and dinner, and Stephen joined us for both. We loved him from our first meeting when we arrived in Hawaii, that my husband asked Stephen if he was free the following day to take pictures for us at our post-wedding brunch.
    Very friendly and personable, as a photographer Stephen does not count the minutes that he's on the job, but puts his whole heart into each photo that he takes. We even had to remind him to eat during the dinner reception and brunch. :) Through his excitement and energy, you can sense his passion and love for capturing your perfect moments on camera. From start to finish, we loved every picture that he took and enjoyed working with him. Thanks a million Stephen!

    Sent on 07/30/2018
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 06/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen was super duper awesome! The best wedding photographer ever. He is very friendly, easy going, flexible, professional, hardworking, and creative. We met Stephen day of the wedding and felt comfortable with him right off the bat. The poses he suggested was not awkward at all and he was open to any requests. We didn't have to call him over to take a photo of us at all because he was always right there ready to take the shots. Thank you Stephen for being such a talented photographer, we couldn't have asked for a better person to document our special day.
    -Mindy & Tommy

    Sent on 07/17/2015
  • Tiffani

    Tiffani · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we decided to have destination wedding in Maui, HI, my rigorous research began. I searched and researched several photographers in Maui, but I didnt feel like any of them really captured what I had in mind. Our wedding pictures were important to us, especially since we were having a destination wedding and our photos would really be all we could share with guests that could not attend. I expanded my photography search to all of Hawaii and I knew instantly when I came across Stephen Ludwig's website that I wanted him as our photographer. I reached out to him and communicated mostly via email, and he was always professional and responsive. Closer to the wedding I sent him some of my own Pinterest inspired request and he welcomed them. On the day of the wedding, he went above and beyond, he made the best use of the 3 hours we budgeted for his services. His natural art for photography was very apparent the day of the wedding and I knew then that our pictures would turn out great. When we were able to view our pictures on the online gallery, we were blown away by how great they were. We definitely recommend his services and would use him again in the future.

    Sent on 04/12/2015
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 04/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have not seen the final product of our photographs yet but Stephen was a fantastic photographer to work with. He flew to Kauai from Honolulu and was very efficient and professional. He made posing and smiling in front of a camera seem natural and fun and he was very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to seeing his finished work!

    Sent on 04/20/2014
  • User3988246 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen was awesome to work with!!!
    He responded in a timely manner and his work is impeccable :)
    He is easy going and friendly.
    I'm so happy we went with him for our photography!!!

    Sent on 03/28/2014
  • M

    Monique · Married on 11/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen was amazing. The photos are absolutely incredible. No wedding photography that I have seen even comes close. He was so easy to work with, he went above and beyond expectations and has such an amazing eye for detail. We can not thank him enough for his services! We did a few engagements shoots with a few different photographers so we could choose one for our wedding and none even came close to the quality of Stephen's work.

    Sent on 05/30/2014
  • K

    Kaori& · Married on 10/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have yet to receive our photos as the wedding was only a few weeks ago but we are so pleased that we went with Stephen! He was extremely friendly, helpful and attentive during the planning process with his prompt responses and kind suggestions on how to proceed when we came up with questions or inquiries. He was also incredibly professional when shooting for us and we could really see that he has a passion for what he does which is great because it made everything seem so fun and enjoyable. We really liked how Stephen would think on the fly and incorporate various things that he would notice on-site. For example, he noticed that we had little plush pigs that we had our guests sign for us and so he suggested we take several pictures with the pigs. Stephen also picked up on some of the more interesting cultural decor / permanent fixtures there were at the venue and had us strike a pose or two nearby to make for interesting and candid shots. All of our guests praised Stephen for how great he was and we even noticed that he stayed beyond the four hours that we had contracted him for so that was really nice of him! In addition, he kindly offered to expedite the setting up of a mini gallery for us so that we could print out a few shots for inclusion in our thank yous which was a very nice touch. We are so glad we went Stephen and are confident that he successfully and beautifully captured our special day. We would 100% recommend Stephen.

    Sent on 10/21/2013
  • User5220848 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen is absolutely amazing! We looked at many photographers but found that after looking at 3-4 sample weddings that all of the pictures started to look the same. We were looking for something different, something artistic, filled with color and life and energy and that is just what Stephen gave us! He was so open to our ideas and really took them on board, we even brought along our surfboards for a few shots! Looking at Stephen’s sample weddings I could tell right away that no two weddings were the same each was unique to the couple and this was so important to us. We were overseas at the time we were planning our wedding and even over Skype Stephen made us feel really comfortable and it was so easy to talk to him and share our ideas. On the day of our wedding it was such a pleasure to work with him, he was so positive and kind and genuinely seemed excited for us and that we weren’t just another wedding. He captured everything we were hoping for and so much more! Our photos turned out fabulous and the fine art images even more amazing. We received them as agreed upon and on time and Stephen was always very responsive with our questions. Three years later after our wedding we still love our photos and couldn’t be happier with the experience!

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • F

    Franci · Married on 06/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've been a bridesmaid four times so I knew what I was looking for in a photographer. One thing that was important was personality because I wanted someone that we felt comfortable with and also interacted well with our guests. Stephen was the perfect man for the job. We met with him before we booked his services and within the first minute I knew he was a perfect fit. He was nice, warm, friendly, professional and very knowledgeable. I had a lot of questions and he patiently answered all of them and gave me pointers on the timeline and how things usually flow on the wedding day. Another thing that was important to us was his involvement from beginning until the end as far as taking the photos and editing them himself. Just because a company is named after someone it doesnt guarantee that you will get that particular person to photograph your wedding. Usually you have to pay extra to have a particilar photographer and a lot of the time they don't edit their own photos. I didn't know this until I went through the wedding process with my girlfriends who got married before me. Stephen edits all of the photos himself which was definitely a deciding factor for me because I fell in love with his work online. I could not have been more happy with my decision and would definitely recommend him as a photographer for anyone getting married in Hawaii. My photos are gorgeous and all of my friends and family love them. I had a hard time selecting photos for my prints because there were so many good ones to choose from. One last thing to point out is the freedom in the use of our photos. He gave us everything and shared copyright to use the photos however we wanted. Our friends and families downloaded the photos from the online gallery to make their own prints and I even made duplicate cd's for my grandparents. It was really nice to pay for photos and have it actually be yours. Thank you Stephen was all of your hard work and amazing talent!

    Sent on 05/11/2012
  • M

    Monique · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Upon meeting Stephen Ludwig, my husband and I were immediately thrilled to have finally found a photographer to meet our needs for our wedding. Stephen was professional and friendly from the very beginning. He was quick to respond to our initial inquiries and was easy to work with from the get-go. As soon as we saw his portfolio we were amazed by his talent. Stephen has an amazing ability to bring out deep colors and depth in scenes, creating a rich quality in his photos that you don’t often see in every wedding album. We decided at our initial meeting that Stephen was the perfect photographer for us and we were so happy with our decision. Stephen worked with us to customize a package that worked for our longer day and various locations, as well as providing us with two photographers to accommodate the two parties getting ready in separate locations. We ended up moving away from Hawaii in the midst of our wedding planning, but my communication with Stephen was never difficult. He stayed in contact and made me feel comfortable, even when planning the wedding from across the ocean.

    The day of the wedding, Stephen was prompt and professional. He came to our hotel where I was getting ready with my bridesmaids and busied himself with taking pictures of us, as well as showing the initiative to go around the room, independently photographing dresses, shoes, favors, and whatever else caught his eye. There were so many touches and moments he captured that never would have crossed my mind. I’m so glad to have found someone to show this kind of motivation to make our day perfect. When we arrived at the wedding, I met the second photographer, who was also Stephen’s wife. Needless to say, the two of them worked seamlessly together. They were not demanding of staged photos, rather they gave great suggestions to enhance the pictures we wanted. They took opportunities to capture some incredible candid shots and all throughout the day seemed to read my mind as to what to photograph. They were friendly and courteous to all of our guests and seemed to fit right in with the party.

    When planning a wedding in Hawaii, I was nervous that our pictures would be focused more on the fact that we were in Hawaii, rather than the wedding itself. Stephen used the beauty of the island to enhance the wedding, rather than overpower it, resulting in some of the most incredible pictures I have ever seen. I am so incredibly happy with the way my pictures turned out. Everyone that sees our prints and albums comments on what an amazing photographer we had. We constantly hear how the pictures are so vivid and beautiful that they almost look fake. Stephen and his wife took an amazing variety of pictures capturing all of the important moments and objects, as well as the little happenings and facial expressions that will forever touch our hearts. I can’t say enough how happy I am and how thankful I am that I found two talented and professional people to help craft the memories we will always treasure.

    Sent on 11/22/2011
  • K

    Katie · Married on 03/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen Ludwig's wedding photos are stunning. My husband is an amateur photographer and was unimpressed with all of the boring, overpriced vendors we stumbled upon in our search throughout Kauai, where our wedding was being held. Dismayed, we then found Stephen’s website through a friend, and even my husband was blown away by Stephen’s dazzling use of light and color grading.

    Stephen’s ability to capture a beautiful, simple moment is rare. For example, after we were pronounced “husband and wife,” my husband quite unexpectedly picked me up and spun me around; Stephen captured this joyful shot while I was still in mid-air, which couldn’t have been more than three seconds. He took a number of sweet and stunning photos of my husband and me in our separate locations before the ceremony began; playful and heartwarming pictures during the ceremony; and afterwards he had us walk out on the beach to be photographed against the sunset. He even took fantastic portraits of our guests, which we’re framing and giving to some of them as gifts.

    Stephen was able to use anything that we stumbled upon to create fun, interesting shots: logs, old boats, beer bottles, and even the golf cart we used to scoot around the huge property. He is an undoubtedly excellent editor—heightening the color and interest of each shot—but in my opinion so much of Stephen’s artistic talent lies in his ability to frame each individual photo so beautifully. No computer can match what Stephen’s masterful eye can do with a camera lens.

    Though Stephen’s talent speaks for itself (check out his blog or his website), he is also a pleasure to work with. He was very professional in all of our pre- and post-wedding exchanges and responded promptly and politely to email. I’m not the kind of gal who loves the spotlight, and was admittedly nervous about having my picture taken so many times. Stephen was so warm and accommodating and helped me loosen up in front of the camera, offering lots of friendly guidance.

    Ultimately, Stephen *knows* weddings. He helped us move smoothly from the ceremony to the photo session to the reception, all while capturing each memorable moment. He even whispered some much-needed advice to us about how to cut the cake when my husband and I found ourselves standing up there at a loss. He took beautiful photos of things most wedding photographers overlook—the food, the centerpieces, the venue, tender moments between other couples—from our portfolio, you’d think that Stephen somehow managed to be in ten places at once. Since the wedding day is an absolute whirlwind, Stephen’s photos of each of these points are priceless; they beautifully capture the tiny but extraordinary details that had already begun to fade from our memories.

    Even though we had to pay a little extra to fly Stephen to Kauai, his price was reasonable and he was able to customize a package for us that gave us everything we wanted. We couldn’t be happier with our photos and are delighted that we chose Stephen to photograph our special day.

    Sent on 08/29/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't write reviews too often but had such a great experience with Stephen that I have to let people know how great he is. Oh I guess I should introduce myself...my name is Sarah and I got married on the beautiful island of Maui. I have a feeling this will be long since I am going to start from the beginning.

    I found Stephens' blog/website and fell in love with everything, his fine art site added to the appeal. I contacted Stephen to ask for his availability for a date I had in mind but he wasn't available. I was surprised when he emailed me back that although he was unavailable he listed a few photographers who he thought I should look into. I don't even think he knows them personally but just respected them as fellow photographers. I thought photographers were competitive so to see this side of him made me respect and appreciate him more. Don't get me wrong, you have to have an amazing portfolio but he just seemed to have so much character.

    Since my date was still flexible I called him to ask for availability on multiple dates. He was very friendly and easy to talk to on the phone. He answered all of my questions in regards to photography and I ended up asking him about catering, coordinator, locations and so much more. He is very informative and gave me great suggestions. Of all the vendors along with my day of coordinator I would have to say he was the most reliable.

    Of course I hired him to photograph my Maui wedding. His travel fee is less than others I've seen so that was a plus. The process went very smoothly, I checked in with him two weeks before the wedding to go over last minute details and time-line. The next time I spoke with him was at my wedding and the day went by so quickly. He did an amazing job and gave us directions when it was needed. There were fun shots, posy shots, candid shots. I felt like a friend was taking pictures of us which was very nice. Don't get me wrong, he is very professional and gave lots of instructions/directions but there was something about him. It just seemed so natural to him. I can't put my finger on it but it was different than my other vendors. He is definitely in the right line of work. He was always photographing something or someone and my dad just loved him. Later I found out my dad asked him for a business card which I found to be interesting. Maybe my parents are planning a vowel renewal, it would be awesome if Stephen could photograph it!

    The post processing time is what I expected for wedding photos and compared to other photographers I inquired with it seemed to be normal. I was surprised to read the review before me...one month is not long at all to wait for wedding photos. It was written in the contract so I knew what to expect. Stephen sent me an on-line gallery of edited photo and OMG they are fantastic. The one thing I really liked was the variety of vivid photos, B&W, sepia, antique, etc. There was a lot of variety and more edited photos than contracted...thanks Stephen!

    I shared the link with my family and friends and it just brought back so many happy memories. He really captured every moment. After selecting my prints, I received a box shortly after and it was a joy to open. Everything was so beautifully packaged, I thoroughly enjoyed peeling away the layers of tissue paper, ribbons and some sort of organic shredding which was my favorite part. It was as if my photos were nestled in the middle of a nest...very adorable and creative! My husband enjoyed it too.

    Overall...My husband Nate and I heart Stephen Ludwig Photography.

    Stephen - If you are reading this review we just want you to know that this is a small way of showing you our gratitude for doing such a wonderful job capturing our day and also for answering all of my questions prior to the wedding. You really are the best.

    ~Sarah and Nate





    Sent on 07/21/2011
  • ashley022marie

    Ashley · Married on 11/13/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephen has an amazing portfolio! I haven't seen all my photos yet but from what I have seen I feel my photos don't live up to his portfolio which has made me feel a little disappointed but everyone that has seen them has loved them. My only complaint would be that I wish he gave more direction when shooting and that it's been over a month since the wedding and I am still waiting for the rest of the pictures.

    Sent on 12/29/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review