Skip to main content
Weddings

Stephen Bobb Photography Reviews

Stephen Bobb Photography

Stephen Bobb Photography

Takoma Park, MD
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 44 Reviews
View more information

44 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 44
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

11 User photos

  • L
    Lauren I. Married on 04/23/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and relaxed experience!

    Stephen and his colleague Jess were top-notch professionals. From our first call with Stephen we knew that he was what we were looking for in a photographer; he was flexible, accommodating, and has a calming demeanor. While the "traditional" family/wedding photos were a must, we emphasized that we wanted to walk away with a lot of candid photos of our friends + family having a blast and being themselves. Stephen listened and based on the preview he sent us, we are pumped to see the full collection!
  • E
    Emily S. Married on 02/19/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stephen is the best!

    We can't say enough good things about Stephen- he was wonderful to work with and captured the day so perfectly. We will always treasure our photos, especially the candid moments!
  • K
    Kaitlin E. Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!

    Stephen was excellent! He was easy to work with throughout the whole process and the photos turned out better than we could have hoped. Stephen photographed our wedding this September. Through the planning process he was responsive and answered all of our questions. The day of, he was thoughtful and intentional and really eased into the background so it didn’t feel awkward. He even started taking photos before he walked in the door! When we got the photos back (very quickly!) it really felt like he captured the day and us, moments big and small. He also put together a beautiful slideshow which was perfect for sharing with friends and family, especially those not able to attend the wedding. We highly recommend working with Stephen for your wedding.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Photographer

    I didn't think I needed a photographer for my wedding. I was looking for candid shots and thought these could be captured by guests. I am SO happy I found Stephen as he was able to capture poignant candid shots in a stunning way that no guests were able to do. He created a gorgeous brief slide show that captured the essence of our day. I feel so fortunate that we were able to have his talents to memorialize our wedding day!
  • Cat
    Cat D. Married on 05/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Wedding Photographer!!

    I hired Stephen because I loved the photos he shot from the previous wedding at the venue we were planning on getting married. Due to COVID, plans changed and Stephen was completely accommodating. We have loved the photos he took of our family only backyard wedding. He captured everything we wanted and surprised us with some photos that were above and beyond what we ever could have imagined.
  • Carol
    Carol H. Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfectly captured magical moments

    I'm a former TV reporter, so you can imagine how PICKY I was going to be about choosing a photographer for my wedding! Stephen was perfect. My husband I wanted someone to capture the magical fleeting moments at our wedding, and he NAILED it. He melted into the background and made our guests feel super comfortable. And when we looked at the final photos, we both smiled and laughed and teared up. He perfectly captured the joy and happiness we felt on our wedding day.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply Perfect

    Our wedding was a low key affair (courthouse with immediate family). Stephen had photographed a friend's wedding, so when we decided to hire a photographer we immediately reached out to see if he might be free. He was able to arrange his schedule to accommodate us, and we could not be happier he did. He captured so many perfect moments. The photographs are stunning, but the real genius of his work is how he manages to capture the emotions and vibe of an event. That still photographs can radiate so much joy and love is truly remarkable. Not only that, he is incredibly nice and easy to work with. Cannot recommend Stephen highly enough.
  • E
    Erin Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Photographs We'll Treasure for a Lifetime

    Stephen is truly the best and we can't imagine our wedding day without him. We first met Stephen when he photographed my sister-in-law's wedding 2 years ago and reserving him for our wedding was the first and best decision we made after getting engaged. My sincere advice would be to stop searching for photographers and book Stephen!

    Stephen's photos are beyond beautiful and timeless and really capture the emotion of the day. There are SO many photos that take our breath away and each one is better than the last. While his style focuses more on the candid, in-the-moment shots, he is incredibly accommodating about grabbing every group and details shot we wanted. Stephen is a joy to work with and was so conscientious with us both leading up to our wedding and during the entire day. Most of all, he was unobtrusive during all the big wedding moments (nothing worse than the photographer who becomes the main event during the ceremony) but somehow still grabbed every single moment from so many different perspectives. We did the package that included the engagement photo shoot, which I'd highly recommend as a great way to start working with Stephen and start learning what you like most and feeling comfortable in front of the camera. I truly can't recommend Stephen highly enough and am so grateful he captured our special day in a way we'll treasure for a lifetime.
  • J
    Jennifer W. Married on 02/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional; none better; look no further.

    We cannot imagine a better wedding photographer exists. Stephen Bobb listened to and delivered exactly what we wanted. He was everywhere without ever being intrusive or taking away from any moment. His traditional and artistic/creative photographs help us re-enjoy our wedding and see how much our guests did too. Communication was prompt, clear, constructive, interactive, stress-free. He is a pro in every sense. I am a tough customer (high standards, expectations) and knew within minutes of our initial meeting he was "it" for us. And on our wedding day, he brought focus and calm to our pre-ceremony photos, making the experience feel like just my fiancé and i were there; and he captured aspects of our ceremony and reception we could not have possibly seen ourselves. Our photos are stunning, a consensus from all we've shared them with so far. I recommend you contact Stephen Bobb Photography and suspect you will need look no further.
  • N
    Nicole Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Wonderful Experience

    Stephen Bobb's tagline is "joyful photography," and that's exactly right. Our wedding photos captured the emotion and fun of the day, and we really appreciate his eye for artistic, memorable, and timeless shots. When we first visited his website, we were both surprised that looking at strangers' photos made us feel so emotional. His work is really special.

    From start to finish, Stephen was a joy to work with. He went the extra mile, including conspiring on a mini dog portrait session so that I could surprise my husband with a life-sized cardboard cutout at the wedding. Our wedding week had some unexpected twists, and day of we arrived on site about an hour late, a little harried. Stephen's calm demeanor, and romantic attitude helped us immediately get into the zone and transition to being present for the day. We even squeezed in all of the desired family portraits before the guests arrived. His second shooter, Ashley, was also great and immediately put us at ease. Between the two of them, the final set of photos is really dynamic and wonderful.

    We had a pretty casual event-- no wedding parties, garden party vibe, dinner untented on the lawn. Stephen and Ashley were unobtrusive but captured it all, including some really tender and really funny candid moments. The day flew by, but we'll treasure these photos forever. Recommended without reservation!
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    09/15/18 Wedding

    Stephen was amazing! He captured every moment perfectly, and we are so thrilled with our photos! He was so great to work with too- can't imagine having had a better photographer for our wedding!
  • B
    Bob Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't be happier!!!

    Stephen is fantastic! Not only does he take beautiful pictures, he's incredibly easy to work with a pleasure to be around on a day filled with emotion. He managed to be everywhere yet was never obtrusive. He scouted out terrific locations for shots and has a well-developed eye. He captured every moment of our daughter's wedding. A true professional, we give him the highest possible recommendation.
  • A
    Anita Event on: 07/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen did the photos for our wedding, and we loved his work so much that we wanted to have him back 5 years later to photograph our daughter’s milestone event. The event was in 2 parts -- first in my parents’ home, and then a lunch for a large crowd. Stephen is friendly and a gentleman, and there is no one else I would want among my family and friends to record the intimate, important moments in our lives.

    And the photos! He caught every great moment I saw, and many I didn’t. Stephen took all his photos without ever getting in the way. Somehow he managed to never intrude, but always be in a great spot. The day was a bit of a blur, but thanks to Stephen we can relive the happiness whenever we like. The photos are artistic and poignant, and I am so, so glad he was there with us on such an important day.
  • Emma
    Emma Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen and his second photographer did such an amazing job capturing every moment of our wedding. What amazes me every time I look at our photographs, is how much more they are than just pictures. Anyone can snap a picture but it takes so much more to be able to capture the life and emotion Stephen captured in each one. From our engagement shoot to our wedding day photos, we are so lucky to have such an amazing spread of beautiful moments to treasure and allow us to relive such an incredibly wonderful time in our lives. We have received so many raving comments from our friends and family who have seen our photos about what a great job our photographers did! Needless to say, Stephen and his team are priceless! We cannot give him enough praise or thank him enough for being such a tremendous part of our wedding day. If you are looking for the best, Stephen Bobb Photography should absolutely be your choice!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 12/31/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just got our photos back and WOW we are so very happy with how they turned out. I had initially reached out to Eli Turner for wedding photos and he recommended Stephen Bobb. We had met with several other photographers that just didn't have what we wanted--their photos felt stiff and staged and sad. We didn't want a videographer so we wanted a photographer that really captured all the moments of the day/night. Stephen did just that and was also an absolute pleasure to work with! I'm trying to decide now which photos to have printed and there are SO many good ones I don't even know where to begin!!
  • E
    E Married on 12/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We wish we could give Stephen 5,000 stars! He was fantastic to work with from the beginning of our wedding planning process, to shooting our engagement photos, to helping us organize all the photos we wanted taken at our wedding, through the wedding day itself. We knew our wedding photos would be absolutely stunning after seeing our gorgeous engagement photos, but we were still blown away by his ability to capture pure moments of joy and all the other emotions expressed on our, our family’s, and our guests’ faces throughout the night. All of our family and friends have said they’ve never seen such beautiful wedding photos, a sentiment with which we resoundingly agree. Not only are the photos true works of art, but Stephen also was wonderful to work with and a true professional. He was happy to reschedule our engagement shoot with just a few hours notice when the forecast changed and it suddenly was pouring. He and his assistant arrived early and stayed late the day of the wedding to ensure they could capture everything. He patiently checked off photos on the long list we provided him throughout the night and always was available. We can’t wait to create our wedding album. Look no further for the best photographer in the DC area!
  • C
    Christy Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen captured our wedding day perfectly! His photos have so much life and emotion in them; I almost feel like I am watching a video of the day when I flip through. I highly recommend Stephen to any bride or groom-to-be who is looking for an amazing photographer! From start to finish, he's been a joy to work with. Thank you, Stephen! I truly hope to work with you in the future!
  • B
    Ben Married on 09/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen was great! He showed up early, stayed late, and beautifully captured the entire day. He knew just where to be at just the right time, yet was hardly noticeable and never got in the way. Best of all, the composition of the images was breathtaking. Some of the photos brought me tears of joy!

    Stephen worked with our budget and provided exactly what we needed. I would highly recommend him.
  • C
    Charity Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen was so great to work with. He was easy to contact with any questions that arose and already had a working knowledge of our venue which was extremely helpful since we were planning from out of town. Neither my husband nor I are super comfortable in front of the camera but Stephen immediately put us at ease and captured so many stunning pictures of our wedding. We are thrilled with how all of our photos turned out and have received rave reviews from our family and friends as well!
  • J
    Jerald Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen and his assistant/partner Erin were all over the place in a good way. From the photos of my wife and her bridesmaids getting ready to me and my groomsmen laughing it up, they were there for every shot. They captured so much emotion from the evening and this is one instance where pictures can really tell you how the entire night went. I loved how he gave us very little direction when taking our couple shots. He let us be us and really let our love shine through and it shows through our photos. Last but not least the reception photos were so amazing. He captured the emotional speeches and the moments on the dance floor so seamlessly.
  • S
    Sandy Married on 08/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen, and his assistant, Erin, were fabulous! From our first meeting right up to the delivery of the photos, Stephen was professional, responsive & knowledgeable. He was unobtrusive throughout the entire evening, yet he/they were everywhere capturing every moment whether it was the formal portraits or candid shots. And the results were spectacular! So natural & thoughtful & beautiful & celebratory! Stephen was able to beautifully capture the joy & emotion of the ceremony and the reception. The artistry of the photos definitely had that "wow" factor. All those who have seen the initial slideshow have come away with tears. Stephen has provided our family with so many beautiful visual memories of a very special day. Stephen & Erin, we are so grateful for your role in Carey & Jerald's wedding.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had the pleasure of having our wedding photographed by Stephen in September, and we were so pleased with our experience (and the photos!). After lots of online research and a recommendation from our wedding coordinator, we contacted Stephen in late January and knew from that phone call that we wanted him to photograph our wedding. He was friendly, easy to talk to, concisely described his experience and style, and answered all our questions. As others have stated, his style is very photojournalistic, and we often wondered how he and his co-photographer that day (Andrea) got so many great pictures without being noticed (many of our family and friends commented on this too). His style is also very clever and whimsical (without being cutesy), and he obviously takes great care to capture real moments and emotions. During the year, he worked with us to determine our schedule for the day of the wedding, helped us narrow down our “must-have” pictures, and made many thoughtful and helpful suggestions. The day of the wedding he was prompt, calm, prepared for the weather (it rained, so our outdoor wedding was moved indoors last minute), and got all the pictures we wanted. We received a preview of our pictures a few weeks after the wedding while we were on our honeymoon (via Facebook) and it was such a nice surprise to see so many beautiful pictures to remind of us our special day while we were abroad. When we received our thumb drive of all the pictures, Stephen sent the drive in a beautiful wooden box with one of our pictures etched on the front! He also sent us handwritten (!) thank you notes – one for when we signed our contract, and the other when he sent the final product. It is these examples of going above and beyond that really sets Stephen apart (in addition to his phenomenal photography), and we would recommend him to anyone who wants a special time in their lives captured beautifully!
  • S
    She`keena Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiance and I hired Stephen for our engagement photos and our wedding day. From first contact everything went smoothly. Stephen answered all my questions in a timely manner and even made recommendations for shooting locations. It rained on the day our engagement photos and rescheduling wasn't a option due to the fact I had my make up professionally done and our schedule didn't allow it. Stephen made it look as if the rain was apart of our shoot. My mother had an umbrella that we were able to work into a few shots. We loved our photos! What I loved is that we were able to be ourselves, none of that pose, click, pose. We interacted as we normally would and Stephen captured some really great moments. We are so looking forward to our wedding day. If you're looking for greatness with a camera lens Stephen is your man.
  • A
    Amber Married on 11/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Stephen was amazing! I’m writing this review 3 years after our wedding... so I feel it is imperative to specify how significant that is. It means his photographs illicit the memories of our special day, they captured not just a catalog of events, but the mood and emotion. We chose Stephen because we didn’t want the cliche staged photos, we wanted something more raw and real. His photos years later remind us of exact conversations and moments throughout our wedding. Also, I’ll note we did a surprise wedding (everyone thought it was just the engagement party) and Stephen did a phenomenal job capturing the experience as our guests realized the truth. I would have paid anything for the quality photos we received, but Stephen’s prices are more than reasonable.
  • User2785374 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could not have asked for more wonderful photographs from Stephen Bobb. He was very professional and timely with his photos. He did a great job capturing the wedding in every angle. I would certainly hire him again!