State of Face Artistry Reviews

52 | Columbus, OH
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for State of Face Artistry

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

52

4 User photos

State of Face Artistry 1
State of Face Artistry 2
State of Face Artistry 3
State of Face Artistry 4
Order by:
  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy is an AMAZING makeup artist!! She has such a warm and fun personality that made me instantly feel comfortable. My wedding day makeup looked FLAWLESS. I got SO many compliments and I have never felt more beautiful! I added extra time for a small fee and she was able to stay until my ceremony to do touch ups at my venue. Given the fact that I'm a cryer and my husband and I were doing a first look, the peace of mind that came with knowing she was there to make me pretty again before my ceremony was PRICELESS. Joy was so much fun to work with!

    State of Face Artistry 5
    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • J

    Jami · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!!! I stumbled ulin joy after a disasterous trial with a salon and a quick google search led me to her! We set a trial that I used as my engagement photo makeup...and then did another trial for the wedding. I could not have asked for a more talented make up artist! The day of the wedding my hair was done, and Joy did my makeup...when I saw myself in the mirror I started to cry because I looked amazing...like every bride dreams. Make up stayed picture perfect through the tears from vows, and dancing craziness to follow. There is no one better! Thank you for making my day so special! A beautiful soul and a talented artist!!!

    State of Face Artistry 6
    State of Face Artistry 7
    State of Face Artistry 8
    Sent on 11/03/2017
  • S

    Simone · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Joy. She has a great personality, is polite, professional and fun! And she made me feel absolutely beautiful for my wedding day. I was a bit worried about my wedding day makeup as on the day-to-day I hardly wear any makeup at all... and it was important to me that I feel like myself, but I also wanted to feel special and more done up! Joy took my requests and delivered exceptionally. I loved my makeup and she also listened to my bridesmaids', mother's and mother in law's requests and make them look beautiful as well. Thank you Joy!

    Sent on 05/24/2017
  • K

    Kristie · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so grateful to have had Joy apply my makeup for my wedding day! Not only is her technique exceptional, but her bubbly personality made you feel at ease knowing you were in such talented hands. On the morning of my wedding, she traveled a half hour to my house to apply makeup to 11 ladies in my bridal party, as well as myself. With the help of her assistant, Jenny, she was able to apply our makeup earlier than we had originally planned, which allowed us to have plenty of time to eat, relax, and travel to the church for the ceremony. Joy was a rock star! I would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 10/13/2016
  • User5482819 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first met Joy during my trial we quickly bonded over our love for dogs. I showed her pictures of looks I liked and through the trial I quickly realized that was not the look for me, thank goodness for trials. We tweaked the look and the end result was beautiful. All of my bridesmaids raved about their make-up and how much they liked it which says A LOT because a few of them complained about past experiences of having their make-up professionally done and not liking it. One of my bridesmaids even said the day of her wedding her make-up artist made her cry she disliked her make-up so much and had to redo it all herself, but she loved the look Joy gave her :) The airbrush make-up that she used gave me a flawless look the whole day. She also gave me extra lip color to touch up throughout the day which was amazing! I wasn’t feeling very well while getting ready that morning and was upset that I wasn’t feeling 100% on my special day. When it was my turn for my make-up things in the hotel suite were getting a bit chaotic with all of the vendors showing up and extra family around. Joy took charge and asked everyone to go into the attached room, she changed the music to something relaxing, and let me close my eyes and try to relax. I appreciated her doing this and it really helped me to feel better. My flower girl was not getting make-up done but witnessed me getting my make-up done and was really intrigued by the whole process. She is only 3 so mom did not want her having her make-up done, but Joy offered “princess lip gloss” and she just LOVED this. It was so adorable. Thank you Joy for making us all look and feel beautiful!

    Sent on 11/16/2015
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Joy as our makeup artist was one of the best decisions I made during the wedding planning process. She came to our hotel at 8 in the morning and airbrushed the whole wedding party. We all looked and felt gorgeous! She is extremely talented, and super easy to work with. Very professional but was still joking around with us, she was just like one of the girls :) My makeup looked flawless all day long. I have never felt so beautiful! Joy truly is the best, I absolutely recommend her services!

    Sent on 11/22/2015
  • E

    Emma · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Joy from State of Face Artistry! She is such a talented artist, very professional, kind, and it was simply a joy to have her part of our special day. I did a trial with her about 8 months before and she worked with me to give me the exact look I wanted. I do not wear very much makeup and was nervous about airbrush and false lashes and all I can say is: if Joy says it will look good, DO IT! I had a small touch-up with her before the ceremony, but other than that my makeup was flawless until 2 am! Whatever look you want for your special day, Joy can make it happen and it will look better than you ever could have imagined.

    Sent on 09/12/2015
  • User5546506 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    State of Face did an amazing job! Everyone looked great on our big day. They were professional and easy to work with and collaborated with the bride and bridesmaids to make them look how they wanted to look. We would definitely recommend them to others.

    Sent on 01/13/2016
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy was a superb Make up Artist for our wedding day! She did a practice run with me and was willing to keep changing it until it was exactly what I was looking for and then made detailed notes so that they day of she was able to recreate it flawlessly! She showed up ahead of schedule and had extra time left over to do touch ups on everyone. Furthermore, my mom completely changed her mind about what she wanted done and Joy was wiling to redo her make up until she felt comfortable. She did a phenomenal job and I would recommend her to anyone looking!

    Sent on 03/18/2015

    State of Face Artistry's reply:

    It was my pleasure to work with all of you. You were radiant. Furthermore, it's always so easy when a bride is organized and you are on top of your stuff. This review came so quickly! I hope to work with you again sometime. Congrats on this milestone and cheers to wonderful things ahead.
  • S

    Shoshana · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was a bit of a difficult bride, never had my makeup done, full of insecurities, and unsure how exactly I wanted to look. Joy put me at ease, immediately. We did two trials, at my request, only because I was so conflicted about how i "should" look. Both times Joy did an amazing job and listened closely to me. By the second look, I was SO comfortable and happy and just couldn't wait for the big day.

    On the wedding day, I was shocked and amazed that my makeup stayed on ALL DAY LONG. We did pictures early, so i was in makeup from 2pm til midnight, and it looked amazing the whole time. I just loved it. Heck, i'd use Joy again just for a fun night out! :)

    Sent on 02/18/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy was absolutely amazing. She came to my hotel and took such amazing care of my entire wedding party. From the moment I went in for my trial I knew we would be a good match. Joy is so easy to work with and extremely professional. She listens to your ideas and is able to capture your vision perfectly! Thank you so much State of Face!

    Sent on 10/17/2014
  • K

    kasie · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hi Ladies,
    I tried 3 different makeup artists before I met Joy. I normally wear makeup so I was not looking for a very natural look but I still wanted an "elegant wedding feel." I have acne scars. Joy had me covered without looking orange, or overdone. She is fabulous!! She is artistic and skilled at her craft. The day of my wedding she showed up early, ran on time with a large bridal party, never made me feel rushed, accepted feedback and special requests from all the maids/moms, and was very patient with the group. She is fun and keeps the conversation going (which was fun to see in the wedding video!) She helped make me feel beautiful and I thank her. Would 100% recommend!

    Sent on 01/20/2014
  • A

    Angie · Married on 10/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy is a fantastic make up artist! She did my moms, bridesmaids, jr bridesmaids and of course my make up for my Oct 10th wedding. Joy is very professional and down to earth. My bridesmaids, jr bridemaids and mom looked gorgeous. They were all very happy with their make-up.
    For myself I was beyond happy. I have never felt more gorgeous then I did on my wedding day.

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • User2637045 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy is amazing. She airbrushed me and my bridesmaids for my wedding and everyone looked so gorgeous! She also gave us a touchup kit to use the rest of the day, which was a nice "touch" ha!

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • J

    Jill · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy did an absolutely amazing job for my 8/3/13 wedding! She made my 7 bridesmaids, 2 mothers, and myself look so beautiful. I was receiving compliments all night about how great my makeup looked. She really captured my vision and everyone was very pleased. I really liked that everyone was able to get airbrush and lashes included in the total package. I would definitely recommend Joy for a wedding or special event. I will be using her services again when I need professional makeup!

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • BethPrice

    Beth · Married on 02/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy at State of Face is a true genius! I hired her to do my makeup and my bridal party's makeup for my wedding. She made my already beautiful bridesmaids look stunning and flawless. She used airbrush foundation and false lashes to complete the look and make their eyes pop in photos. My makeup was absolutely perfect - and I'm a control freak with my makeup as I've been doing my own for years as well as friends and family, so I knew what I wanted and wouldn't have settled for less than perfect makeup. Well guess what, she delivered exactly that! My eyes were beautiful and the false lashes were perfectly (and comfortably) placed. My skin was flawless and the makeup was so light and comfortable. Joy is a professional, talented, sweet, artistic person and I highly recommend her for all of your makeup needs. She truly is a gem!

    Sent on 02/13/2013
  • E

    Enjoli · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I contacted Joy in november and scheduled my trial later that week. She finds out what you want and its not about how she wants you to look. Words cannot express about happy I am that I went with joy. She made me and my bridesmaids feel amazing on my special day!!!

    Sent on 09/10/2012
  • P

    Purvi · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy did my make up for all 3 of my events absolutely perfectly! She knew exactly what I wanted and met my needs and expectations 100%. She understands the colorfulness of indian weddings, and was able to incorporate stunning eyes that really brought out the colors of the outfits. She and her team were able to handle 1 bride, 11 bridesmaids, 2 moms, and 3 other people in 3 hours! Everyone, including myself was very satisfied. I truly recommend her!

    Sent on 09/13/2012
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 07/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy was such a pleasure to work with. She was attentive and professional. I wasn't sure I wanted wedding makeup but Joy did such a great job of making me look and feel beautiful and flawless. She is HIGHLY recommended for anyone in your wedding party. She was able to capture everyone's personality and look to perfect it.

    Sent on 09/06/2012
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Joy do makeup for me, my four bridesmaids, and the two moms for my July 7, 2012 wedding. Joy was fantastic to work with and here's why:

    1) It was 103-106 degrees the day of my wedding, the A/C was not working 100% at our venue the day of our reception, my bridesmaids, the moms and I all danced in the heat almost the entire reception, and our make-up was still perfect at the end of the day! I usually sweat through everything, and Joy's make-up stayed.

    2) She was fun to work with. We had a Disney sing-along while we got ready, and she and our hairdresser told us about some of their crazier experiences working weddings (ask her--they are funny!).

    3) She was happy to adjust the make-up for my style. I don't wear much makeup, and in the trial, she started me with darker and heavier make-up than I was comfortable with. She adjusted it during the trial, and it was much better, but still a bit darker than I liked. For the day of my wedding, it was perfect. I looked like me, just a little fancier--exactly as I wanted!

    4) My mom was skeptical about having her make-up done and when I told her Joy would include lashes for all of us in the package, her first reaction was "I don't want those." When Joy applied the lashes for me at the trial, my mom's opinion changed. She loved the lashes and the make-up as a whole. She looked gorgeous for the wedding. She has already booked Joy to do her make-up for my brother's wedding.

    5) My 17-year-old sister was one of my MOHs. Joy gave her a beautiful age-appropriate look.

    6) Joy gave all the bridesmaids a cohesive look while still being sensitive to what type of make-up made each woman comfortable and look her best.

    7) Joy is professional, responsive, arrived on time (maybe even a little early), and finished early. I did a lot of researching and her prices are very competitive.

    I really loved working with Joy, and I look forward to having her do my make-up again for my brother's wedding.

    Sent on 10/15/2012
  • K

    Kerry-Ann · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy did an excellent job! She made me, my bridesmaids and my mother (who had never worn makeup before) look flawless and Gorgeous. One of my bridesmaid actually said after Joy was finished with her "I have never felt more beautiful in my life". Joy also created a fun atmosphere while doing our makeup. Don't believe when she says that she doesn't like 90s pop because she was singing to every 90s pop song that was playing on Pandora :) I wish I had another event where she could doll me up again...

    Sent on 06/28/2012
  • T

    Tina · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy was able to give me the dramatic Hollywood movie star look I wanted with red lips and purple eye shadow! But give my bridesmaids the more natural look they wanted! She also made my 65 year old mom look 20 years younger, and she felt so beautiful she danced the night away! Joy was able to do a wide range of make-up needs and make EVERYONE look amazing!

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy at State of Face did a fantastic job for my wedding on 4/28. She did the make up for my entire bridal party and both mothers. We all loved how we looked and loved her! She is professional, funny, and very good at what she does. You can tell she loves her work. I highly recommend Joy at State of Face for any special event or wedding.

    Sent on 05/30/2012
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy, from State of Face, is an amazing makeup artist! She made my girls, my mom, and me look stunning! I loved, loved, loved the air brush foundation and it stayed on all night! She brought music and we jammed along with her while getting ready. She makes the nerve wracking, pre-wedding process very relaxing. She is so sweet and I would recommend her 100%!

    Sent on 06/24/2012
  • S

    Maggie · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joy was wonderful! I decided a week and a half before my wedding that I wanted airbrush makeup! She fit me in for the consultation within a few days and was able to make arrangements for my wedding day. The makeup lasted all day and I had so many compliments on my makeup...the most important being my husband! He met me at the end of the isle and his first words were, "you look beautiful!" Enough said!

    Sent on 05/30/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review