State Historical Museum of Iowa Reviews

17 | Des Moines, IA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for State Historical Museum of Iowa

Recommended by 93%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

3 User photos

State Historical Museum of Iowa 1
State Historical Museum of Iowa 2
State Historical Museum of Iowa 3
Sort by:
  • Matthew

    Matthew Sitzmann · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A unique venue with outstanding customer service.

    As a person who works in the event coordination industry, I cannot understate how impressed I was with the customer service and professionalism of the staff that assisted with our wedding. Leading up to the big day they answered all of our questions and gave recommendations, that really put our mind at ease. Even though we had planned for an outdoor wedding on the patio overlooking the city, Mother Nature had other plans. The staff gave us until noon the day of to decide, and made the switch for the ceremony / reception to take place inside on the main level seamlessly. Baratta’s catered an outstanding meal with enough options for everyone to enjoy. During the reception they made sure the wedding table and guests were taken care of though the whole thing. Finally at the end of the night they took care of cleaning up without us having to lift a finger. I would highly recommend this site to anyone looking for a unique venue with amazing staff included.

    Sent on 06/18/2019
    State Historical Museum of Iowa 4
    State Historical Museum of Iowa 5
    State Historical Museum of Iowa 6
  • User4467126 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception here and it was wonderful. The staff went above and beyond our expectations. We worked with Vania and she was awesome in helping us get our reception planned and set up. I would highly recommend using them!

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the State Historical Building. The staff--particularly Peri and Vania--were very in tune with how we wanted our event to look and feel. Their flexibility and professionalism were huge during a time that can be very stressful for a bride and groom. In many cases, we asked for their candid opinions on what to do or how to set something up, and they always provided great options to make the whole event catered to our guests. I would highly recommend the State Historical Building for a wedding, and any other event that is in need of a 'wow' factor. Thank you for making our day so memorable!

    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • B

    Brianne · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peri and Vania were wonderful to work with and very accommodating! I planned our wedding from California, which was a bit stressful. But Peri and Vania were patient and kind. Our wedding day and night went very smoothly and worry-free. And, our guests LOVED the venue and had a great time! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • S

    Shaunelle · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank the staff at the historical building enough. Peri worked with us from day one and made sure our day was everything we dreamed. Very easy to work with. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone. The views are stunning too!!

    Sent on 07/03/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peri was great and answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly. Zenia was easy to work with and made the ceremony run smoothly! Great team!

    Sent on 11/24/2013
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Zenia was so helpful in all of the planning and question-answering leading up to the day of the wedding. She couldn't be there the day of our event but had a qualified "replacement" -- so helpful in getting things set up, and was a rockstar when it came to moving our outdoor ceremony inside at THE LAST MINUTE. couldn't have more great things to say about the service we received - loved it, and we loved having our wedding at the Historical Building. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • User4570640 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent atmosphere for a party. Loved it! Decorations are definitely needed, however, and do provide an additional expense. People at the Historical Building were fabulous to work with. Lighting was a bit of a challenge in the large room---too bright or too dark...

    Sent on 11/25/2014
  • P

    Pooja · Married on 05/24/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This venue was absolutely fantastic for our Wedding day. The catering company exceeded our expectations and was extremely professional, honest and fun to work with. Both Zenia and Peri were excellent to work with and made sure our wedding reception and wedding party was in the most excellent of hands and taken care of. Our only criticism has to do with something that was out of everyone's control, that being the lights. Not only would we have liked to have seen examples of the lighting settings beforehand, but it would be nice if there was some flexibility in when the light changed through out the night. The lighting was a touch dark near our food for the event, but other than that it worked out okay. Like I said, in the big picture this is the smallest detail; however it would be nice if there was some flexibility with it. All in all, I give the Historic Building a 110%. Thank you SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING!!!

    Sent on 06/11/2014
  • User3375123 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Historical building was gorgeous! The staff was amazing, they did everything that we asked and helped us in so any ways! They were able to help us with ideas of ways to do our ceremony and reception! Great people to work with!

    Sent on 04/12/2014
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the planning staff was easy and they were flexible with our wishes. the wedding was perfectly coordinated! Staff on the night of the wedding were incredible! We felt very special and people went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, and an all-around fantastic wedding!

    Sent on 10/13/2013
  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/09/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We loved the beauty of this venue and the fact it was a unique space for our event. The only problem we really had was that we had a full layer of cake left over after the event that got thrown out or taken. It was boxed up and left in a room where we could safely keep our things over night however when we arrived the very next morning (before noon) to retrieve it, it was gone. We were very disappointed not only because we had paid for that but also because we hadn't gotten to eat any cake during the reception. We were so disappointed but things happen I guess! We really loved the venue overall!

    Sent on 05/22/2015
  • S

    Shanna · Married on 07/13/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the State Historical Building was wonderful. They were always very responsive and quick to answer any questions I had. They were open to any ideas that we had and were very flexible to let us make our event the way we wanted to as best as they could. I thought the price was a little expensive, but the space and the 3rd floor terrace where we had our wedding reception was absolutely beautiful that it was worth it.

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • User4258315 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This was a great venue to work with. It's a unique space that all of my guests loved. It has both inside and outside space which is very flexible. Definitely recommend having a wedding here!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/19/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was absolutely beautiful. I had my wedding ceremony and reception here. The scenery was ideal for outdoor photos. I was relieved to know that they would make the call in case of inclement weather of if my ceremony and reception would be held outdoors or not, so that was one less thing for a bride to worry about. I graded lower on value for cost because it was a little pricey and not everything was included in the building rental price. I also graded low on flexibility because of the guidelines of the building rental contract. You must use their food venue which was also very expensive but very, very tasty, high quality food. You also could not bring any outside drinks (such as cans of pop) so that was more money added on to the food bill. Lastly you couldn't bring any food into the building during the wedding day which made for a very hungry wedding party that wanted to run and get food in the midst of getting ready for the big night. I WOULD book this venue again because it was an absolutely beautiful wedding and reception but I do wish I could have spent less money and got a little more perks with the rental.
    --Highly recommend for a beautiful ceremony.

    Sent on 10/06/2008
  • C

    Crystal & Justin · Married on 08/21/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were recently married on the terrace at the Historical Building. The view is amazing and it was the perfect place for our wedding ceremony. We had some trouble getting into contact with the Historical Building through the process and no one was there on our wedding day to make sure that the things they had promised us were followed through, however, everything worked out in the end. We feel it is a little overpriced for the value provided, but I do not regret our choice.

    Sent on 09/13/2010
  • D

    Dori · Married on 09/29/2007

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The site was beautiful. We used the terrace for our ceremony. The staff was helpful for setup and prior to the wedding. But they overbooked their facility and they were unable to provide enough security for privacy. They were not prepared for the size of crowd the two venues brought in and did not provide the same level of professionalism to both groups. We were told because we were the 2nd event planned that if they needed chairs brought in we would have to pay for them although the booking included chairs. They were also not prepared to handle issues w/ weather. If it rained we had nowhere to go, the chairs they set up did not hold up in the wind and blew everywhere. They had a meeting going on in the rooms they agreed we could use to get ready in up to 1 1/2 hrs before event. Beautiful site but event planning service needs work.

    Sent on 10/16/2007

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review