Skip to main content
Weddings

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area Reviews

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area

Duluth, MN
4.9 out of 5 rating, 12 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
12 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

12
Weddingwire
4.9/5 12 reviews
Google
4.1/5 529 reviews
  • S
    Sky Sent on 07/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue!

    Spirit Mountain was the perfect venue for our wedding. From the gorgeous views overlooking Lake Superior in the MooseHead room to the lush greenery which served as a stunning backdrop for wedding photos, this venue truly left us amazed. We had a very good experience working with the venue staff throughout our entire experience, from planning to the day of. Overall everyone was very responsive, friendly, and professional. We especially want to highlight the efforts of the head chef who not only worked with us to create a new dish to accommodate our guests who subscribe to more plant-based diets, but also his leadership and great care which led to everything tasting AMAZING (e.g., prime rib, potatoes, vegetables, etc.). Our guests repeatedly gave us the feedback that the venue food was SO GOOD which was great to hear. We absolutely recommend Spirit Mountain for a lovely wedding venue!
  • J
    Jamie Sent on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Johannah at Spirit Mountain is wonderful and made us feel at ease! Johannah was the new director of events so I was quite nervous (the previous last retired after we had already booked the venue) but Johannah was absolutely amazing! Johannah responded quickly to every email and addressed every concern. The staff is also wonderful and kept asking if we needed anything when we went up to decorate. The day of the wedding went flawless thanks to the staff and took care of everything for us! They were like our own personal wedding planners! The venue and location is beautiful and provides an awesome back drop for pictures!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User2352608 Sent on 10/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All of the staff were great to work with at Spirit Mountain. Despite having some turnover in wedding coordinators, every person I worked with was great and quick to respond to questions. We had our ceremony outside and it was hands down the most gorgeous place in Duluth we could have held our wedding! We used the Bear Paw and Eagles Nest rooms for our reception. Even with minimal decoration on our part, it was beautiful. We had the vegetable lasagna and chicken options for dinner and they were delicious. We had so many compliments from our guests on the venue and food. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to hire them again. The only snafu we had was that they put the 2015 pricing on our invoice, when it should have been the 2014 pricing that was quoted in our contract. But, they were quick to correct it without any hassle.
  • User1439804 Sent on 11/15/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Spirit Mountain did a wonderful job planning with me, making sure things were exactly how I wanted them, it was very affordable, and all of the catering staff was helpful, friendly, and having a good time at the wedding. The view was beautiful for the ceremony and reception. So happy I had my wedding here.
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 07/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We worked with Jodi Nelson at Spirit Mountain as we planned our wedding. Jodi did a fantastic job helping us make arrangements for the wedding. She helped answer any questions we had in a timely manner and gave us several opportunities to sample our dinner options.

    Due to inclement weather, we had to decide an hour prior to the ceremony to change to an indoor ceremony instead of an outdoor ceremony. The staff did such a phenomenal job having our back-up room prepared and looking beautiful that it didn't even put a wrinkle in our day. The food was delicious and everyone had a great time. We didn't have to worry about a thing because the staff had every detail under control! It was a beautiful venue.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 07/19/2011
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nancy is the wedding director over at Spirit Mountain and such a wonderful person to work with. I was planning this wedding out of state so we communicated through emails and everything went as planned. She ensured that everything was set the way I wanted things and even the day of, was there and making the changes I wanted done happen.
    The backdrop for the ceremony is Lake Superior and the city of Duluth and it is completely amazing. The wedding deck is beautiful and any kind of decorations you want to put up on the deck is completely fine. They had water stations out so people could get water before the ceremony. We needed an extra table to set the programs out in Nancy and her staff got it done right away and even put some linen down without us having to ask.
    The reception food was delicious! Completely amazing. We requested fruit be added on to our dinner a week before the wedding and Spirit Mountain made it happen and it only added an additional dollar to each plate. Speaking of prices, completely affordable a Sunday wedding (110), with a late night nacho bar in July ran about 3,500 for everything.
    Anybody looking to get the most bang for you buck this is the place to go. Amazing service, incredibly flexible and I'm so happy we went here for our ceremony and reception.
  • T
    Terese Sent on 10/16/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Spirit Mountain was amazing!! Many guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The views are breathtaking and the food is delicious. I would have given 5 stars but there were a few minor details missed on the day of the wedding, but everything worked out in the end.
  • User2228323 Sent on 07/15/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This place was fabulous. They treated us with respect and even though it was another day to them they made it feel like OUR day. The food was delicious with huge reviews. I could list numerous things that we loved.
  • K
    Krystle Sent on 10/09/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony and reception in the Moosehead room at Spirit Mountain. It was soooo gorgeous and Nancy the Director was wonderful to work with. The food was really good and they offered a nice variety. Yes it's a bit pricey but it was totally worth it all!!
  • C
    Cassie Sent on 08/20/2008
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This site was perfect for the ceremony and reception. The view outdoors made a beautiful backdrop for the ceremony and the reception hall was great. They did a great job setting the tables and the food was delicious! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The banquet coordinator, Nancy Waters, was really helpful and great to work with. I couldn't have asked for a better place for the money that we paid.
  • J
    Jenna Sent on 10/08/2018
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Spirit Mountain was the perfect venue for our wedding day! The ceremony sight is beautiful and the reception area is great as well and has wonderful views of Duluth! The staff were wonderful and helped guide guests from one area to the next. They were also great at dismissing everyone for dinner. The buffet meal was wonderful and everyone got their food quickly. The bartenders were wonderful as well. Our guests also complimented us on how wonderful the food and venue was. Jennifer was also wonderful to work with and extremely helpful. We highly recommend Spirit Mountain for weddings!
Responds within 24 hours