Skip to main content
Weddings

Specialty Sound DJs Reviews

Specialty Sound DJs

Specialty Sound DJs

Grapevine, TX
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
63 Reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

63
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • Sharon
    Sharon H. Sent on 09/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ! Star of the show!

    Tommy was such a great DJ! He was in constant communication with us before the wedding. He helped our dads as well since they performed the ceremony. He was such an asset. He was even flexible enough to make a last minute change when my groom's mom got hurt and couldn't do the dance so he switched songs for a brother sister dance. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
  • A
    Alexandra M. Sent on 01/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    First class!

    Hiring Specialty Sound was the best decision we made for our recent wedding event! Tommy met with us prior to the wedding, listened to our requests, and followed through with every single detail! It was flawless!!
  • User2609766 Sent on 05/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy matched the atmosphere we wanted very well. At our meeting with him, he was well prepared and professional. He was flexible during the reception when there were many schedule changes and we didn't have to worry about anything
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User1835970 Sent on 09/29/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy was the perfect choice for DJ at our wedding. He chose/played music at the perfect times to keep the guests involved and enthused. His music choices were all clean, and great songs. I would recommend him to anyone needing a great DJ.
  • M
    Mellissa Sent on 04/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As always, Tommy made the night one worth remembering. At first people weren't sure if a DJ was necessary at our event but by the middle of the event people had already begun to ask if Tommy would DJ the next year's event. We have never EVER had people on the dance floor. Tommy, of course, had almost everyone in the room dancing on the actual dance floor! We literally had to have Tommy stop playing so people would leave. The event officially ended at 10pm but no one left until 11pm or later. That has also never happened. He was all people could talk about the next day. This is my second event with Tommy and I will tell you that having him at your event means having an amazing night. Period. We even raised 25K more because people were in such a great mood.
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 12/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy was not just a DJ.. he was a true entertainer at our wedding! He worked with my husband and I and really got to know us to ensure that our wedding day was personalized and everything we wanted and more. Our guests kept coming up to us and raving about how great Tommy was, and how they enjoyed everything he did. And I could not be more thankful for how stress free he made the process for my husband and me!

    Tommy set out a timeline for our wedding reception to make sure that everything ran smoothly. I didn't have to worry about a thing the entire reception, and was able to enjoy the reception and my guests, stress free, thanks to Tommy! He had tons of creative ideas that he shared with us to make our reception more entertaining. Tommy set up hilarious personalized introductions for each of our bridesmaids and groomsmen which had everyone laughing, and provided "get to know the bride and groom" games to release tables for the buffet line. He also set up a Newlywed Game with my husband and I to answer questions about each other for the guests to watch. He was able to provide beautiful up lighting that really changed the atmosphere of the reception room, and he put together a cd to use during our ceremony so we were able to personalize our music.

    There was not one dull moment at our wedding, and I am extremely grateful that Tommy made that happen! He created an envorinment that was fun, comfortable, and memorable. I would recommend him to everyone!
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 08/09/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy Evans did an amazing job at my wedding! He literally is responsible for making it so magical. His ideas on getting guests involved and engaged are so creative and not cheesy like other DJs proposed. The preparation for the production is very comprehensive. He assigns you and your soon to be significant other a wedding reception book to fill out so that he can get an exact feel for what you want out of your reception. He will meet with you as many times as you want so that you feel totally comfortable and prepared for the big day. The music during the event was perfect. He knew exactly what to play and when to play it. I honestly didn't think that my guests would be into dancing on the dance floor, but I was SO wrong! My guests were itching to get out on the dance floor and Tommy had them going until our time was up. He also made the night flow perfectly. He is definitely a Master of Ceremonies and used music and his presence to direct the night in the direction I wanted it to go. Tommy did an amazing job at my wedding and I would have paid double of what he charged! He is that AWESOME!
  • B
    Briton Sent on 09/27/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy with Specialty Sound did a phenomenal job DJ'ing and providing lighting for our outdoor wedding reception. He was very attentive throughout the planning process and offered suggestions on ways to enhance the evening to ensure it was everything we had envisioned. He was able to incorporate the music we wanted, and also remained flexible enough to utilize his own expertise in monitoring the crowd and making the necessary changes to ensure everyone enjoyed the evening. The lighting Tommy provided created the perfect ambiance. We couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. Everything was handed in a way that allowed us to sit back and relax, without worrying about anything. We have been told by many of our guests that it was the best reception they have ever attended. We are the 3rd wedding in our family that Tommy has been part of. Every single time, his work has been perfect and individualized to meet the bride and groom's wishes. No reception has ever been the same. I would highly recommend Tommy and his team to anyone.
  • K
    Kimberly Sent on 09/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy is great. He works with you to find the right tone and pace for your event, and even if you are not sure what you are looking for he can. I was having trouble picking songs for the ceremony, I didnt want the traditional "here's come the bride" (Canon in D) type song but I didnt want to get too crazy. And Tommy helped me find the perfect band that I chose my ceremony music from. Tommy's wife did the photo booth at my wedding. It was amazing, everyone loved it, she did a wonderful job, even had my guests write notes to my husband and I in the photo album she put together. That was one of the best things about how she setup, not only did i get the pictures my guests took, but everyone that posed in a shot, got a copy too. The two of them did a wonderful job, and helped make our wedding a little more memorable.
  • G
    Gregory Sent on 05/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy did an incredible job at our wedding and reception. We had so many people tell us what an incredible experience they had and I believe this was partially due to his part in running the sound and helping the service have smooth transitions musically.
    Our reception was also great especially because of his professionalism and fun nature. He was very flexible with all our request and always wanting to please and know our wishes. He also created a very fun family friendly environment during the reception time which was very important to us.
    I would highly recommend him to anyone who might need his services.
  • S
    Shane Sent on 04/17/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was as promised, timely and professional. Highly recommend. Entertainer that flew in for the event also commented on the quality of sound production and lighting. Thank you again!
  • D
    Doris Sent on 04/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy Evans of Specialty Sound was just fabulous!  From day one, he worked closely with me on the playlist and guided me through the steps for a slideshow and other video. One thing that made it so nice was that he dresses handsomely for your event and thus sets a tone of festivity and youthfulness, even for a milestone birthday party such as mine! The lighting he uses is very pretty and adds a great deal to the elegant and fun-loving atmosphere as well as to the photographs.  My guests are saying they now wish to have a dinner dance for their birthdays...and they want Tommy Evans to be the DJ!  He has ways of helping the evening to stay organized (I won't give away his techniques here online, but you can ask him what they are when you contract with him)!   His pleasant and kind demeanor mean so very much when it's your one-time event and you want everything to be perfect!  I highly recommend Tommy and Specialty Sound.  It was indeed a pleasure to work with him
  • User1076580 Sent on 01/24/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great to work with and everyone at the party loved the music!
  • S
    Sira Sent on 01/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thanks, Tommy, for a well executed corporate holiday party with short notice. The paperwork was easy, your timing, punctuality and set-up was great, your crew was professional and everything went off without a hitch. You really know what you are doing and your equipment is top rate. I enjoyed the music and watching the dancers! PS-your wife's photo lounge company provided the hit of the evening~! EVERYONE loved the pictures!!
  • A
    Amanda J. Sent on 12/31/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy Evans of Specialty Sound was the dj at my wedding in 2009 at the Stoneleigh Hotel in Dallas. Our experience was so incredible, my cousin and her now husband opted to have their wedding November 10th at the same venue and enlisted Specialty Sound, as well. While the venue is beautiful, it is a large space, with several rooms and corridors; which makes it tricky to keep guests engaged and the celebration flowing. Tommy did an AMAZING job at both of our weddings, and I truly believe both events were such a blast BECAUSE of his professionalism, attention to detail, and passion for what he does. As a bride, there is much to stress about, especially with vendors. Throughout the planning process, my interactions with Tommy kept me excited and gave us peace of mind that he would deliver and make our "Big Day" everything we hoped for. I highly recommend Specialty Sound, and can't say enough about the caliber of service and integrity of this company!
  • C
    Casey Sent on 12/31/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy was great. He kept the guests engaged and kept the dance floor full all night. He was also very helpful in ideas to make the reception fun and keeping the guests participating.
  • M
    Mathilde Sent on 12/31/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Tommy was 100% pleasure. He is a master at matching the music to the type of guest and party. The result being everyone was out on the dance floor. I was very impressed by his Planning Program he gives the client. It does not miss a detail and makes the planning easy. He gave lots of suggestions for extra fun details you can add. For example we had a special birthday guest. He worked into the cake cutting the Bride giving first piece to birthday boy with a candle. This was our second wedding that we used Tommy. 5+++
  • E
    Erin Sent on 12/31/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy is incredible! He gave our wedding the fun factor and incorporated some really great extras, special introductions, etc. My husband had been to 5 weddings that Tommy had DJ'd over the years and there was no question that he would be our DJ. We were so lucky to have him!!!
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 10/09/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was worried that because my family and my husbands family were not dancing type people that no one would dance. I couldn't have been more wrong! As soon as Tommy started up the reception music people were out on the dance floor until the wedding ended; it was absolutely perfect. I would recommend Tommy in a heartbeat. He made the wedding I envisioned into reality. Thank you Tommy!
  • T
    Triwanna Sent on 09/28/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got so many compliments about Tommy. Everyone had a wonderful time.
  • J
    Jonathan Sent on 09/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Specialty Sound DJs was amazing!!!! They provided the exact kind of services we were wanting and they made our wedding reception come to life. We were told by most of our guests that the reception was amazing and the DJ was awesome with his music selection. Our DJ, Tommy Evans, did a great job keeping the reception schedule on track, but also providing me and my wife with the flexibility to make any changes we wanted. We came into our wedding not knowing anything about successful DJ's or exciting receptions, but Tommy gave us so much information and helped us choose exciting songs and activities that were perfect for us as a couple and our wedding. We recommend Tommy and Specialty Sounds to anyone who is looking for a reception that will have people talking about it months and maybe even years later. Specialty Sounds was such as great blessing to our wedding and we pray that it will be to yours as well!
  • User842602 Sent on 06/26/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy took over our event after unforseen circumstances occurred with another DJ. During our initial meeting, he was professional and had great ideas on how to keep the flow of the ceremony and reception going. The music during dinner that we left up to him to play was PERFECT! During the reception, he kept us all informed of what was next and everything went so smoothly. He was a great asset to our event and we are thrilled with the way it all turned out. We would most definitely recommend Tommy as a DJ and would like to thank him for stepping in and making our event perfect and memorable.
  • V
    Valerie Sent on 07/13/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved our DJ Tommy Evans. He was so interactive, friendly, and outgoing. He really kept the party going while staying on our schedule. He gave me reminders of when we were going to do certain things during the night to make sure that the vibe was right. He had people out on the dance floor constantly. It was so FUN!!! He did a great job announcing everything and everyone with such ease. He was a great DJ and very responsive and professional. He stepped in at the last minute and I could not thank him more for making our day so great.
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 09/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy was the best DJ. Our reception was perfect and we never had to worry about anything because he took care of everything and it went so smooth. From the planning before hand to the actual day, Tommy was very professional and wanted to make sure "our day" was about us and that we got exactly what we wanted. We really appreciate Tommy and would recommend him to all of our friends. Thanks Tommy!
  • M
    Molly Sent on 10/08/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tommy, you were awesome! Everyone had so much fun at the reception! It was so cool that some other people at my reception used you as well!!! Thank you so much for everything you did.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message