Special Events Reviews

43 | Lexington, KY
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for Special Events

Recommended by 97%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was incredibly helpful, made great suggestions and worked with our budget and vision for our special day to make it everything we could have wanted.

    Sent on 09/12/2016
  • User6895136 · event on 06/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I called Kim at Special Events, last minute, for a 40x20 tent. She was the 4th vendor I called, as all the others were booked. She had a tent available, and delivered and set it up same day! The young men who delivered it were professional and courteous, and they set it up quickly and efficiently. Same with tear-down. We received many compliments from guests when it started raining! I'm so grateful for Special Event's quick and professional service. I would highly recommend them for your event!

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the second wedding Kim has done for our family. I would use her company again and again without hesitation! She is prompt, courteous, and does what she says she will do. She's the best!

    Sent on 07/11/2016
  • User5637757 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was absolutely amazing. She is such a happy, positive person it made any stress that I was having go away. Her team was wonderful to work with, we even gave a couple of the team hugs good bye! The pricing was great as well. I will in the future always use Special Events for rental needs.

    Sent on 11/23/2015
  • User6029834 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just as it was in 2012 when we used your company, our conversation today was
    as though we were best friends and that's why we have returned to your
    company for this special wedding event.

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • D

    Donna · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the great service we received from Kim and her team at I Do Events of Special Events out of Lexington KY. She came with her assistant to see the farm and sat with bride and mom at the site to offer her suggestions. We changed our minds about the set up several times over the next couple of months and she was always ready to accommodate. The night before the tent and tables were coming rain chances increased and we decided on a larger tent. They actually unpacked the truck the next morning to meet our request. They also collaborated well with our caterer. Kim came with the set up crew to oversee the assembly of tent, lights, etc and they were all just as great as Kim. Just having positive folks around when I was a bit stressed about everything coming together was worth so much to me. Kim never tried to push any services but just explained what they offered and was happy to serve in whatever plan we wanted. Thanks so much!!
    Donna-Mother of the Bride

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the engagement to the very last moment on the wedding day Kim was positive, professional, calming and exceptionally organized. As a typical Type A personality it is difficult for me to relinquish control and trust others to get the job done, but Kim met and exceeded every expectation and helped make our special day everything we dreamed it would be!
    Special Event's staff was friendly and very easy to work with! Their rentals were clean and all in great condition! I can't say enough nice things about this company & I would highly recommend Kim & Special Events to everyone!

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was absolutely wonderful! My mom and I truly believe that Kim was easily the best decision we made about my wedding planning process! And my mom still brings up the fact that out of everything we spent money on for a wedding of over 200 guests, having her was well worth it and the best money we spent. Kim was very positive and responsive and she even met with me and my family on several occasions to go over details. I was so happy I had her and Kayla to help keep things organized and going smoothly throughout our wedding weekend. They bent over backwards to make our wedding perfect for us! It was flawless and I cannot describe how thankful I am that I had them there to help set up, decorate, direct guests/bridal party, explain everything to us and coordinate with our vendors. Kim sent me a schedule in advanced to send out to my bridal party, which was extremely helpful! She let me "hide" in her car and stay in the AC before the ceremony starterd (it was 91 degrees and our ceremony was outdoors) and then let me cool down in there before the reception. She is fabulous at what she does and I HIGHLY recommend her for wedding planning/ wedding rentals. She helped with things you wouldn't even think about and had all the details taken care of. I was able to actually enjoy my wedding day thanks to Kim and Kayla! Thanks again for everything! :) -Lauren Shipp

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was an absolute blessing to work with. I needed to book a tent early in the wedding planning process and she was very helpful and knowledgeable with recommendations on tent size, layout, etc. We were very fortunate the weather cooperated and the tent was able to go up several days before our wedding (which was a huge perk of going with Special Events), allowing us plenty of time to decorate and situate everything. Kim's team is the best!!

    Sent on 07/24/2015
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim with Special Events was amazing! She was my wedding planner and I used them for all my rental needs too. She was so organized and helpful in every step. She was always available and got back to me super quick, even on little things that (in hindsight) prob weren't that big of a deal :). She helped me stay on track and on a good timeline too. Especially the wedding day, we had pouring rain all day until 1 hour before the wedding, and she made all my outside visions sill work in such a short time! She took all the stress off me and I would definitely hire her for my planner and them for rentals all over again!! Couldn't have asked for a better planner! Thank you Kim and everyone at Special events for making my day so amazing and stress free (even with all the weather issues and everything else that day! :) )

    Sent on 08/31/2015
  • G

    Gretchen · event on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Kimberly! Have worked with her in the past and will in the future :)

    Sent on 06/12/2015
  • G

    Gwen · Married on 05/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was great to work with and responsive to all my questions. Chairs were great quality for good price.

    Sent on 06/03/2015
  • K

    Kathleen · event on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was most helpful in guiding us through setup and configuration for a complex event.

    Sent on 06/03/2015
  • M

    Marian · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim made it very easy - to make selections from a myriad of choices. She was flexible, responsive and open to questions. Her proposed layouts were very helpful in helping us think about how the tent would look and the event would flow.

    Sent on 11/21/2014
  • User4569102 · event on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Year after year, the service is always excellent!

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • B

    Beautiful You Medical Spa · event on 10/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Love Love Kim!!! Thank you so much for everything. You will be the first person we call next event we have.

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim is such a professional and wonderful to work with. She is on top of everything! All of our guests loved how our wedding and ceremony flowed throughout the evening - everything was seamless and Kim was responsible for all of that. Thank you, Kim!

    Sent on 11/22/2014
  • K

    Kaelyn · event on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was very responsive to our request for rentals. When we had to adjust because our attendance was low, she adjusted with no problems. Her delivery crew was right on time making set up and load in run smoothly. They are a great group to work with and we highly recommend them to all our clients!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • L

    Lori · event on 09/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The vendor is terrific, flexible and available for consultation. We will ask them to return for next year.

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our very first phone call to the last email a few days before the wedding, Kim was fantastic! She gave us exactly what we wanted even after we changed several things because of weather and larger numbers and made sure everything was to our satisfaction at set up! The whole experience was so less stressful due to Kim's professionalism, she had absolutely everything under control, we would use them again anytime!

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • User4421954 · event on 08/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When faced with a urgent need for a temporary shelter for construction materials, the team at Special Events responded and had a 40'X60' tent erected before the end of the day. Kim and her crew are best in class when it comes to meeting the needs of their customers.

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I describe to Kim Gaunce what I was needing and I rented tables, chairs and tents from Special Events. Kim was very easy to work with. There were several style selections offered. Everything was delivered and picked up in a timely manner. I was asked by one of the guest for contact info and I gladly gave it to her.

    Sent on 08/07/2014
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim was fabulous! She helpedy wedding go smoothly and kept me from worrying about the small details.

    Sent on 07/01/2014
  • User4236407 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim G. and crew are awesome! They set up tents in hot humid conditions and were pleasant and helpful the whole time. They even changed some of the tent support ties to accommodate our wishes. Our daughter's wedding was beautiful. Thank you Kim and Special Events!

    Sent on 07/09/2014
  • C

    Carla · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim at Special Events was the perfect person to help me with my daughters wedding. Half way through the planning process I knew I needed professional planning help. Most of our vendors were selected at that point but it was all the little details that we had questions about.
    I had used Special Events for larger fundraising events so I knew to call on Kim for rental needs. Seeing she was an accredited wedding coordinator made Kim the perfect choice for our needs the day of the wedding too.
    The wedding events ran flawlessly and were stress-free! There is no way that would have happened without Special Events and Kim Gaunce being there for every detail!

    Sent on 05/19/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review