114 Reviews for Sowa Entertainment

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Do-Not-Play List (16)
Microphones (15)
Sound/PA System (15)
Consultation (14)
MC (14)
One Event Per Day (8)
Photobooth (3)
Uplighting (3)
Liability Insurance (2)
Sort by:

5.0

We hired Sowa Entertainment for our wedding in NH, and it was absolutely the right choice. Greg met us twice before the weekend of our wedding to get a feel for exactly what we were looking for, and he nailed it. The personal touch he brought to our reception (introducing each member of our wedding party with personalized introductions he wrote based on questionnaires we filled out) was perfect, and all night we had guests coming up to us and saying how much they loved it. Greg took the time to get to know my wife and I as a couple and, as our MC, he had our ceremony running seamlessly. He even helped us build out our timeline for the day-of, and made the entire process as stress-free as possible.

As a DJ, Greg had our guests on the dance floor all night. Song after song, he gave our evening the right flow, just what we were after, and it was fantastic. He provided the perfect soundtrack for our night. I can't thank Greg enough, he was a rockstar.

I highly recommend Sowa Entertainment!

Profile Picture Sean, 6/2/18, 1 Review
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

We booked Sowa Entertainment for our wedding day photobooth and Greg as our MC and DJ for our August Wedding in Waterville Valley, NH and were not disappointed! Greg was always upbeat and made plenty of time for us to meet and discuss the details of our wedding day (he literally drove in a snowstorm to meet with us!!)! Greg was crucial in us helping to build our timeline for the day of, which made everything so much more stress-free! Sowa Entertainment sets up an easy-to-use website where you can organize all the songs you want to hear at your reception...and when you've gotten that far in wedding planning, you seriously just want things organized and easy! Greg took our ideas and threw in some of his own and helped make for a really fun night, with plenty of people on the dance floor until we got kicked out!

The photobooth was a big hit and we loved the album/guestbook that we were provided at the end of the night! I think that was our favorite thing about the next morning, getting to look through all the fun pictures and messages that our guests left for us.

Thank you so much for everything, Greg!!

Profile Picture Amy, 8/19/17, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Microphones, Photobooth, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Sowa Entertainment was recommended to us by family friends, and we are so happy we used this company for the DJ and photobooth services. Doug was our DJ and he was great. We met with him multiple times and he had some great suggestions for music selections. He was also very open to anything and everything we wanted. He provided the ceremony and reception music. He's also an MC, which was great to have for the reception. He kept the flow of the reception and transitioned well between cocktail hour, special dances, dinner, and dancing. Our guests loved dancing!

The photobooth was also a great addition. There an attendant for the photobooth, which helped guests figure out what to do. The attendant was very patient with our guests. She also went over and above expectations, as she assisted guests with our GoPro (guests left video messages for us). We also received a flashdrive with all the photobooth images, which were fun to look at after the wedding.

We highly recommend Sowa Entertainment.

Profile Picture Kelly, 7/1/17, 8 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

Doug is a local celebrity and I love working with him at weddings! He has that awesome radio voice that really takes a wedding/event to the next level. I've worked with him at weddings and he's always keeping photographers in the loop. I've always worked with Evin and he does a great job as well. - Allison, Kiss the Bride Wedding Photography

Profile Picture Allison, 12/22/16, 33 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

Greg and Evin were a big reason why we had the most incredible time at our wedding. From the beginning, Greg was very professional and responsive to all of our questions and wishes. We were so happy to have him working with us throughout the process to ensure that we were getting the best service for our money, and we are so grateful that he recommended Evin as our DJ for the event! Evin took the time to meet us more than once to go over our music requests and the schedule for the event. He acted just as much as a wedding coordinator as a DJ, and for that we are extremely grateful. Because of Evin, we didn't have to think about any of the logistics on the actual day and we could relax knowing that everyone was having a great time. Not to mention his great taste in music! Evin incorporated all of our unique (and sometimes a little out-there) requests while adding in his own selections that we absolutely loved! Everyone danced the entire time! Hiring Sowa Entertainment was the best investment we made for the wedding and we could not be happier.

Profile Picture Emma, 11/12/16, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Greg has been DJ-ing for a long time and he knows what he is doing (and it shows!). He did an absolutely fantastic job at our wedding and reception--we never had to worry about a thing related to entertainment, because he handled it all seamlessly. He knows how to keep the energy of a party going and also just seems like he's having so much fun, which is infectious for everyone in attendance. He also does some really cute personalized introductions that help your guests learn more about how you found each other and how you know the loved ones you've included in your parties. This was a big highlight for everyone, and even our coordinator (who doubtless has been to hundreds if not thousands of weddings at this point in her career) commented on how unique and sweet it was. Definitely the perfect choice for our day.

As for the planning process, Greg is super organized and uses an online planning tool that makes the whole process really easy. You'll be really glad you chose his company to handle your wedding entertainment!

Profile Picture Benjamin, 10/16/16, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Greg did a phenomenal job! He took the time to meet with us on multiple occasions to go over music selection, dance songs, entry speeches etc. One of our biggest fears was that people wouldn’t be able to hear us during our wedding vows, but Greg ensured that didn’t happen which we greatly appreciated. He had everyone hysterically laughing with his introductions to the bridal party and there wasn’t any point in the night where the dance floor wasn’t packed. He played all the music that we specifically requested before the big day and made sure he avoided the artists we said no to. Everyone had an absolute blast and it couldn’t have happened without him.

Profile Picture Tara , 10/8/16, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC
5.0

Greg was an absolute blast at our wedding. Our dance floor was packed the ENTIRE night and we couldn’t have asked for a better experience. During our meetings we would explain our quick vision and Greg knew exactly what we were looking for and delivered 100%. The above and beyond touch of the wedding introductory performance he now seems to be known for had us laughing for days after. We would highly recommend this company!

Profile Picture Lisa, 9/10/16, 6 Reviews
Category: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones, Sound/PA System, Uplighting
5.0

DJ Greg Sowa provided the entertainment for our wedding last month and he was amazing! From the planning process right up until the very end, he exceeded any expectations that we had. During our planning meeting we needed some guidance when choosing some of the music and the order of how things should be and Greg didn't hesitate to give us his honest opinion and give us some different options to choose from. Greg kept our guests on the dance floor the entire night and he even joined us quite a few times! I think my favorite part of our reception was the bridal party entrance; Greg had us fill out a questionnaire about each member of our bridal party and then wrote a light hearted and funny blurb about each of them that he read as they were walking into the reception! Everyone at the wedding complimented us on choosing an amazing DJ and even a few had said that they had wished that they had booked Greg for their wedding! Book DJ Greg Sowa, you won't be disappointed :)

Profile Picture Jennifer, 8/27/16, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

We had Doug as our DJ/MC for our wedding and couldn't be happier. Sowa Entertainment was great to work with and always quick to respond. We were planning our wedding from a distance so we went by online reviews and Wedding Wire to choose a DJ. Doug is very professional, fun, and accommodating. We highly recommend him! Everyone was on the dance floor including the children.
Doug thanks for a great wedding! Christine and Chuck

Profile Picture Christine, 8/12/16, 8 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

Evin from Sowa Entertainment was our wedding DJ, and he was amazing.

Pre-wedding, Evin was friendly, responsive, had some great ideas about timeline, and very easy to work with.

Day-of, Evin arrived on time, and had everything set up at both our ceremony and reception locations before I knew it. He played pre-ceremony music, "Marry me" by Train for our processional, and "Brighter than the Sun" by Colbie Calliat for our recessional on guitar for us. It was so nice to have the option for live music, and we and our guests really enjoyed that aspect of the ceremony.

Evin was fantastic at our reception- he played every song we asked for without issue (which might seem like a silly thing to say, but I've heard some nightmare stories about the the father-daughter dance going horribly wrong from other brides), and was great at "reading the mood" of the room. Our wedding was very small (only 35 people), and I think Evin might have been skeptical at first, but he helped us keep the dance party going all night. He was very accommodating with all of the requests from us and our guests, and really made it a great event.

Profile Picture Lindsey, 8/6/16, 7 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC
5.0

DJ GREG SOWA IS HANDS DOWN THE BEST MASTER OF CEREMONIES! Entertainment was one of the most important things for our wedding. We searched and searched, watched DJ video after video and found a lot of DJ's had an ego and weren't interested in us but rather more about the music and hearing their own voice. That is until our wedding officiant recommended Greg. As soon as we watched his video we knew he was for us. He was a bit over our budget but worth every penny!
He played our music at our ceremony, put microphones on our officiant and groom so that everyone could hear us, and made sure everything sound wise was perfect.
Greg really got to know us and our story. It showed when he spoke of us at the reception and in our introduction. He also made our parent's and wedding party's entrances heartfelt and funny. He had all the right equipment and kept us dancing all night long.
We changed things up and he was totally go with the flow. Our best man and bridesmaid gave a surprise performance and didn't skip a beat. He checked in at multiple points to make sure we got to do all the things we wanted and was singing and dancing as much as we were.
We also got a photo booth from Greg. Our photo booth attendant, Oral was soooo fun. He made sure everyone signed our guestbook and it was by far the highlight of the wedding. At the end of the night we got a thumb drive of all the photos, instant awesome!
For anyone that wants their guests to have a memorable and really fun time, Sowa Entertainment is the way to go!!

Profile Picture Christina, 7/3/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony Music, DJ, Entertainer, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones, Photobooth, Sound/PA System, Uplighting
5.0

Doug did an excellent job and everyone had an amazing time at our wedding! We couldn't have asked for more from him. From our initial conversation with Doug, to our meeting a few weeks prior to our event date, to the actual day of, Doug was super quick to respond, was very helpful, and truly listened to what we were looking for. Many of our guests have complimented our DJ, he really did a great job of getting a feel for what our guests wanted to listen and dance to, but stayed true to what my husband and I had asked for. Doug is a true professional, and you can tell that he takes a lot of pride in his work and is dedicating to making sure that he provides the best service and that everyone has a great time. Thank you so much Doug, and SOWA - you made our wedding planning and wedding day easy!

Profile Picture Tara, 6/4/16, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Evin was our wedding DJ and couldn't have been better! He was very attentive in our meetings and a pleasure to work with. Evin maintained the flow of the reception from his announcements and was great at crowd reading to keep the dance party going all night long! We also received many compliments on how well Evin DJ'd and couldn't thank him enough!

Profile Picture Bobby, 5/29/16, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Greg was our wedding DJ and he was amazing. My husband and I didn't have a lot of specific music picked out. We had the important moments music chosen, but not really anything for all the other spots that need music in a wedding. We told Greg a little about our taste, as it is pretty wide. As well as what we didn't like. Greg nailed it. All of the songs he played were perfect! The timing of the songs we did request was also fantastic. We got so many compliments about Greg! Greg was laid back, professional and funny. We wholeheartedly recommend him for your wedding or anything else where you'll need a DJ!

Thanks again Greg!

Jill and John Murphy

Profile Picture Jillian, 10/25/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ
Services Used: Microphones, Sound/PA System, Uplighting, Do-Not-Play List, MC, One Event Per Day
5.0

Greg and Michael his photo booth assistant were amazing during my wedding. We had a BLAST at our wedding, everything went so smooth and we couldn't of asked for a better night!! Everyone raved about the how fun the photo booth was and how great the music was. The music selections all night were perfect, it got everyone on the dance floor having a good time. Everyone still to this day keeps telling me that it was the best party they have been to!!! Our wedding night was the best night of our lives. Thank you Greg and staff for an amazing job, you guys rock!!!

Profile Picture Melissa, 10/24/15, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones, Photobooth, Sound/PA System
5.0

Do you want the party of the year? The most fun wedding ever? A full dance floor? A reception people will talk about for weeks to come? We all know that a DJ can make or break your wedding. If you answered yes to any of the above questions trust when I say you have to hire Greg!! After I got engaged, before I even booked my venue, I contacted Greg to DJ my wedding; he is THAT good!! Our two meetings with Greg were seriously so much fun. His office has a large TV with surround sound to be able to sample songs as they are discussed (bouquet toss, first dance, bridal party announcements). One of the great perks too is that you will have your own online account through his website where you can pay your balance and create a running list of plays/do not plays, etc which is helpful to stay organized. In terms of bridal party announcement leading into the reception I guarantee you will not find anything as creative or fun as what Greg offers. After signing on as a vendor, Greg gives you homework to fill out for each bridal party members. It contains questions such as how you met, a funny thing about them, etc. From there Greg crafts introductions that you don't get to hear until the reception. Makes for SUCH a fun entrance and a piece of the wedding I guarantee your guests will not forget!! It was obvious Greg was having a blast too, as he stepped away to do the Cupid Shuffle with us! Do yourself a favor and hire Greg!

Profile Picture Jeanne, 10/10/15, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Doug Boucher from Sowa was our DJ for our October wedding. Doug was super professional, friendly, and easy going. He made us comfortable from the very first time we met him. Everyone commented on how fun our wedding was and it was largely due to the great music! People danced from the very first song to the very last. You can't go wrong w. Doug! I'd choose him and Sowa everytime.

Profile Picture Taryn, 10/3/15, 5 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

We booked with Greg and got Evin as our DJ and we couldn't have been happier. They were both very helpful during the booking and planning process and very accommodating about Skype calls as we were living out of the country at the time. We didn't meet Evin in person till the day of the wedding, but it felt like we'd be friends for a long time. He took the time to understand our style and matched it perfectly. All of our guests commented on what a great DJ we had and said it was definitely one of the most fun weddings they had ever been to. Evin was our MC and kept the whole night moving smoothly and was very knowledgeable about suggesting timelines for the reception. And he was able to get any song requested during the reception which was awesome and not every DJ can do. We would definitely recommend Greg and Evin for any wedding!!

Profile Picture Sarah, 9/26/15, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event Per Day, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

I cannot recommend these folks enough.
After inquiring via email I was contacted by Greg who was a pleasure to speak with. He asked a few questions about my husband and I to try to get a feel for us to figure out what services would be best. Very personable and professional. After reviewing the MC videos on their website and reading reviews we decided to go with Evin. From there, we met at their office and Manchester and hashed out some details. Evin really "got us" and knew exactly what we were looking for as far as music and a general feel (our wedding was a pretty back yard kegger with 120+ people of all ages). Not only did we book Evin to MC the event but we were also able to add a ceremony service to our booking. So, he was able to hook a mic to our officiant (which was essential for our field wedding) and he also played the precessional and recessional music. I want to bring attention to a small but helpful detail... their client portal. They have a wonderful client portal that you can log on to and read your booking information as well as plan your event. I also appreciated the "make a payment" feature which allowed me to login and make payments in advance. About a month or so before the wedding we met with Evin via skype to further plan our day as far as music selection and timeline goes. His help with our day of timeline was HUGE. He helped us make sense of something that was a little scary! OH and we also booked the photobooth and it may have been my favorite part of my own wedding!! It was so much fun and it was great for the kids and adults alike. An absolute blast . I believe we had Angie as our attendant and she did a great job. As the night went on Evin kept the dance floor packed. I can't remember a time that it was empty. He did a great job at feeling the crowd and keeping us all moving. I truly can't say enough good things about the folks at Sowa. as a mostly DIY bride I'm so glad I left this to the pros. They go above and beyond.THANK YOU!!!!!!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Krista, 8/15/15, 2 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Evin was the DJ for our New Hampshire wedding at Bishop Farm in August and he was GREAT! Leading up to the wedding, we had a handful of conference calls to discuss our vision for music and wedding flow, and he was an absolute pleasure to work with - very responsive and resourceful.

We had been toying around with the idea of doing a first dance remix of all our favorite songs, and he was so on board he actually helped make the remix. It turned out absolutely GREAT! We loved it, and so did all of our guests.

Although we didn't use his DJ services for the ceremony, he helped our acoustic guitarist with the sound system and also provided a microphone for the pastor. We found out after booking the guitarist that Evin actually also plays the guitar and would have been open to playing at our wedding. If we had known, we totally would have worked with him.

Overall, he helped ensure the night went off without a hitch. He was so on top of the wedding flow - making announcements on when things should happen, etc. that we didn't have to worry about a thing. We'd recommend him for ANY wedding!

Profile Picture Katie, 8/8/15, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ
Services Used: Do-Not-Play List, MC, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

We were so incredibly lucky to have worked with Greg. In the months leading up to the event, he was **always on the ball**. First, he was **proactive ** (not always the case with wedding vendors) and scheduled a planning meeting and approached that meeting with precision: taking into account our preferences on music, vibe, and event flow 100%. Over the 6 months of planning, he reminded us that, above all else, our wedding should be memorable and fun.

When our wedding night came, he **executed flawlessly** -- and went above and beyond in making sure everything was perfect. We could tell that he really enjoy the evening, too; his **enthusiasm** and **energy** were noticed by several of our guests as well, and that really added to the vibe. (But not at all in a cheesy DJ kind of way -- which we dreaded, but Greg is the absolute opposite).

Greg, runs an incredibly **professional** shop, and strikes the perfect balance between the fun/creative side and the business side. Highly recommended!

Profile Picture Matt, 7/18/15, 1 Review
Category: DJ
5.0

My husband and I had the great pleasure of working with Evin from Sowa Entertainment for our wedding. We knew after the first meeting that it was a great fit. Evin got a great sense of who we were as a couple and the kind of music we liked. He was very attentive and was happy to do our strange and unique requests. Once the dancing started at the reception, it NEVER stopped. We have had multiple people tell us what an amazing wedding it was and I know that a lot of that credit goes to Evin. We had so much fun on our special day and we highly recommend Evin.

Profile Picture Kristy, 5/30/15, 3 Reviews
Category: DJ
5.0

Greg was great. He met with us frequently and helped us tailor the events to be unique for us. He listened to our preferences and what kind of a feel we wanted. He was able to play all the music we wanted and then filled in the gaps with great choices. Our ceremony was lovely with great music, if we got stuck on songs he had several recommendations based on our other choices. He had a pre-wedding list of things to consider and different flows of events as well. When we were announced in he was able to tell our story. He really knew how to get the party started and kept it going the whole time.

Profile Picture Jennifer , 1/24/15, 4 Reviews
Category: DJ