Weddings

South's Specialty Clothiers Reviews

South's Specialty Clothiers

South's Specialty Clothiers

Boone, NC
Rating 4.4 out of 5, 14 Reviews
View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 89% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 14
Sort by:
  • M
    Michelle A. Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond

    I purchased my wedding dress at South's less than a week before I moved to the other side of the state. They went above and beyond making sure the alterations were done in time so that I would be able to take my dress with me rather than have to drive the 5 hours back to get it. On top of that, I received so many compliments on the dress. It fit perfectly and was on sale!
  • F
    Faye Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Found my wedding dress for a great price here. Shipped to Charlotte for me. ❤️
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    South's provided a wonderful experience from dress shopping to ordering to alterations. I felt special and trusted their staff 100%. I found the dress of my dreams and for an affordable price. I loved working with them. My bridesmaids all had a wonderful experience as well, and the South's team worked with my girls who don't live in the area. I would recommend over and over!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolute BEST service in the high country! I went to other bridal stores before going to Souths, and it was a complete waste of my time! After leaving the other stores and going to South's I found my dress that day. I ordered it, they called me as soon as it walked in the door and have been excellent with helping the bridesmaids, trying the dress on, literately when ever I want to, and have gave me so much advice. They are truly the best bridal store in the high country, and are local people who have been around for many years. The staff are so organized, anytime I call about anything they know exactly how to help, in a timely manner. I looked through some of the other poor reviews, and I dont see how any of that is true! They are all great in the store. Brides, look no further, just go to Souths and save you and your bridal party a lot of time!

    South's Specialty Clothiers's reply:

    Thank you so much! We do appreciate your business.
  • D
    Diane Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I bought my wedding dress of the rack and 8 suits here. Trying to get 5 teenage boys fitted is no easy feat. Laura has been absolutely wonderful to work with, including calling to update me on a special order vest that had been discontinued and coming up with a solution. Janet that does alterations was so professional and helpful! I will continue to recommend people to check the store out! Diane Wolfe
  • L
    Loralee Married on 10/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As a mother of the bride, it was instrumental to have such a wonderful group of ladies help me help my daughter have that perfect day. My daughter had a dream gown, and had seen it briefly in the window of South's. South's was very knowledgeable and knew exactly where to go to get her that dream gown! Of course, my daughter wanted to be married in red, so her grooms suit had to be special ordered too. Again South's did the job. We were able to make payments over time. South's stored the gown for us until the day of the wedding. It was steamed and puffed out perfectly at the base. We also bought my daughter's beautiful veil, in white, from South's. The crystals along the veil went very well with the crystals in the gown and made for that perfect bridal touch. Lastly, they offer their own alterations. My daughter's gown was a perfect fit. They worked with me several times to show me how to help her lace up her corset back gown on the big day. They were invaluable.My daughter was a gorgeous bride!
  • User1868648 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    South's is simply incredible. The consultants are very knowledgeable and friendly. I never felt pushed to buy anything. Nor did I feel the terror of a plus-size bride as I did at the larger discount store down the mountain. It was the biggest sense of relief to find a dress that was not only glittery but made me look skinny. I cannot wait for my fittings!
  • A
    Abbey Married on 01/04/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I went to a few boutiques to find my dress, but I would recommend South's because they made themselves very available to me. They let me spend as much time as I wanted looking and trying on gowns and I never felt rushed. I found my dream gown and it was under budget. They helped me with alterations and stored my dress until the big day.
  • E
    Erica Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We really enjoyed every visit we made to the store and the staff was pleasant and very helpful! Thanks for all you did to make my big day perfect!
  • User1927001 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lori was such a joy to work with. She listened to what I wanted and didn't just make suggestions. When I was buying my dress I worked in the mall where South's is located and would go by there just to say hey. They all are very nice, but Lori just went above and beyond and truly made my experience unforgettable.
  • S
    Haley Married on 04/12/2008
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    South's is a wonderful store and has a lot of Wedding gowns to choose from. They have many catalogs to choose from for gowns as well as bridal party attire. I enjoyed my entire experience with them. They spent a great deal of time and effort to assist me and my wedding party during this process. They have an in-house alterations lady who is very good and timely.

    My only advice is to have all fitting done here if you will be using them for Groomsman attire. I had some groomsmen get measured elsewhere (do to living out-of-town) and when the Tux's arrived...some measurements we way off. South's did a great job getting the Tux changes overnighted so that all attire fit correctly by the day of my wedding.

    South's is a little more expensive than most, but overall it is worth the price knowing you are getting quality! My Wedding was wonderful thanks to all their hard work.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These ladies know their stuff. They will make your day great because you will look great in the attire purchased from South's.
  • User2208239 2+ years ago
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    The first time I went in South's to ask questions they acted like I was burdening them. Their paperwork is all by hand and kept in an envelope under the counter. They always had a hard time finding my name. Every time I called about the bridesmaid dresses I got a different answer. First I was told 5 out of 8 dresses came in and I explained that 6 of them should be in because they were the same style. They finally found the 6th one in the back. Then I called about the other 2 dresses several times and they told me that they had already been sent out however my bridesmaids did not receive them so I called back and was accused of never calling. When prying deeper they told me that they received the dresses 2 weeks prior and had not sent them out and I had not received notification that they were even in. One of my bridesmaids was in the process of moving so since they had not sent them out yet I asked them to hold on to her dress so I could pick it up. When my husband went to get it the next day they could not find it. When they finally found it the dress still had a note saying that it needed to be sent out. Their filing system is very unorganized and the customer service is very poor. My mother, husband, and all 8 of my bridesmaids had a terrible experience. One of my bridesmaids called several times about her dress and they told her it was sent out. When she didn't receive the dress she called back a week later they said "I don't know why this wasn't sent out it has a note on it to send it." So 3 of my bridesmaids had to have their dresses altered the week of my wedding because they did not send the dresses out when they got them in their store. It was a big headache for me and my 8 bridesmaids. I was very glad that I did not order my wedding dress from them. And instead of apologizing they basically told us that we had not done what we say that we did. They made this happy and joyous time into a terrible experience. I would never recommend them to anyone!

    South's Specialty Clothiers's reply:

    South's wishes to apologize if you feel like you did not receive excellent customer service. It is South's goal to always have satisfied customers. South's has been in business 31 years and this is the first negative review we have ever received in bridal. The bride had a hyphenated last name which was confusing for filing purposes. South's is computerized but we back up the computer with a paper trail.
    Every bridesmaid was called when their dress arrived in the store. Our phone
    records would show that these girls were called and UPS records show all the dresses were shipped in May for June 20 wear date. The bridal party was finalized on Feb 21 and ordered when last payment was received giving the dresses a ship date of June 8th. Again we worked especially hard to get the dresses early and shipped out in May for a June 20 wear date. All bridesmaid dresses are 10 to 12 weeks delivery time.

    By our phone records Traci was called May 14 that her dress was in. Groom picked up dress June 4 because they requested the dress not to be shipped.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I ordered my bridesmaid dress for my friends wedding way ahead of time and never got a call saying it had arrived. The staff was extremely rude over the phone when I placed my order and the never notified me of it's arrival. My friend (the bride) called several times to check on the dress and they told her it has not arrived then the week before her wedding she found out the dresses had been there for OVER A MONTH and she had paid to have it shipped. The staff is again, extremely rude and due to their incompetence we had to pay more to have my dress altered quickly just days before the wedding. To me this is inexcusable. Worst service ever.

    South's Specialty Clothiers's reply:

    South's did Tracy's wedding back in November 2014 . South's wishes to apologize if you feel like you did not receive excellent customer service. It is South's goal to always have satisfied customers. South's has been in business 31 years and this is the first negative review we have ever received in bridal. The bride had a hyphenated last name which was confusing for filing purposes. South's is computerized but we back up the computer with a paper trail. Every bridesmaid was called when their dress arrived in the store. Our phone records would show that these girls were called and UPS records show all the dresses were shipped in May for June 20 wear date. The bridal party was finalized on Feb 21 and ordered when last payment was received giving the dresses a ship date of June 8th. Again we worked especially hard to get the dresses early and shipped out in May for a June 20 wear date. All bridesmaid dresses are 10 to 12 weeks delivery time. By our phone records Traci was called May 14 that her dress was in. Groom picked up dress June 4 because they requested the dress not to be shipped.