Skip to main content
Weddings

Southern House & Garden Reviews

Southern House & Garden

Southern House & Garden

Knoxville, AL
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 39 Reviews
View more information

39 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 39
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

23 User photos

  • Mark
    Mark H. Married on 11/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazingly Beautiful

    Breathtaking venue with an awesome team. All I had to do was show up. They literally took care of everything else!
  • A
    Amy Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Day and Best Venue

    SHG did an amazing job with my wedding! I loved how they attended to every detail and tailored it to what we needed for our big day. The food was great and everyone enjoyed the venue! There are so many different spots for pictures and it is definitely a beautiful view. I couldn't have survived wedding planning or the wedding day itself if it weren't for Angie and Chelsea and the rest of the amazing staff!!! I highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants to keep wedding planning easy by using one vendor for everything. They truly are experts and know how to plan it all perfectly.
  • C
    Coleen D. Married on 10/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Benjamin & Coleen's wedding

    Everything about our experiences with you was incredible! I am beside myself with how everything turned out!
  • E
    Emma Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So glad I picked Southern House and Garden as my wedding venue! Everything was stunning!! It was a little more pricey than we hoped but it was worth it! You can pick from a variety of different packages and you can substitute for certain things if you would like. All of th staff is wonderful! I would not have changed anything :)
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Southern house and garden was wonderful. They made everything so easy and were incredibly helpful. I could get in touch with them very quickly. They made our wedding day stress free! Y’all are the best!
  • K
    Katy Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Southern House and Garden was a wonderful venue for us to have both our wedding and reception. Terri and Angie were a pleasure to work with during the planning stages and the staff were very professional and accommodating. Our day came together perfectly (even with all of the rain) and I would definitely recommend Southern House and Garden to any future newlyweds for their wedding venue!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 03/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They gave me everything i wanted when I tried to describe my dream wedding. I dont remember much because the day went by so fast, but I have beautiful pictures of the beautiful flower arrangements, cake and decorations they created for me! They were very helpful and understanding about things I wanted for my big day, even if they were a little... different (tehe)! We had a short 5 month engagement, so we were very lucky to get a Spring wedding date AND having the stress of plannning flowers, catering, cake, decorating, AND cleaning up after off of mine and my mom's shoulders was a HUGE relief and SO worth it.
  • C
    Casey D. Married on 03/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Dunlap's Loved Southern House & Garden

    This venue was great! They handled everything and made the bridal experience stress free so we were able to enjoy our big day and not worry about a thing. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking for a pretty country side location with excellent, accommodating staff! My only advice is if you plan to have over 150-200 people or more, it can be crowded.
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They took the stress out of planning!!!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is an excellent venue! The grounds are so beautiful and everything was perfect. The friendly and helpful staff make the planning and the big day a breeze. I absolutely loved my wedding and reception here, everything down to the last detail. You won’t be dissapointed!
  • J
    Jodi Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Terri and Angie were wonderful with making my special day truly amazing!! Everything was completely perfect!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 06/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    i will be the first to say that I was not easy to work with!!! I really didn't have any opinions on flowers, music, decorations, etc. I just wanted to be married. EVERYONE at SHG was AMAZING and made everything look perfect and beautiful!! I didn't even have a rehearsal and everything still went off without a hitch! (Thanks Chelsea!). I would recommend this venue to EVERYONE!!! My wedding day was everything I could have hoped it would be.
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 05/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They do it all! They're so helpful, sweet, and caring to make the special day perfect!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 05/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Southern House and Garden is definitely the route to go for a stress free wedding! They have different packages to help you stay within your budget, they are very professional and responsive to any questions you may have. I loved that the venue included everything you'd need for your perfect day. I highly recommend!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 03/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had an absolutely WONDERFUL experience!!!! Chelsea did an amazing job! Couldn't have gone smoother! Very easy and organized. Every detail was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more on our special day! Angie and Terri were extremely helpful and made us feel right at home. Venue was beautiful!!!!!!
  • K
    Kayla Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I knew the moment I found Southern House and Garden I had to have my wedding here. I knew I wanted a outSide wedding with a barn and this was perfect.Angie, Terri, and Chelsea made everything stress free and enjoyable. Everything from the flowers to the food was perfect.

    Southern House & Garden's reply:

    You are so sweet! We just saw a couple of your pictures! They look amazing! You were so beautiful! Best Wishes!
  • Tabitha
    Tabitha Married on 01/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After getting engaged, the search for the perfect venue began right away. Because I was still working on my nursing degree, we needed a venue that was all inclusive but also had the "look" I was envisioning. After contacting Southern House and Garden, I received a phone call right away and scheduled an appointment. To say we fell in love with the venue, its charm and the southern hospitality displayed by its owners and employees would be an understatement. After the first appointment, we never looked back. I emailed back and forth with Chelsea (the amazingly talented wedding director employed by Southern House and Garden) with pictures and links to my dream wedding Pinterest boards, and she nailed every bit of it. I have an uncle with Parkinson's Disease, so, my main priority for the wedding day was ensuring he would be able to get around easily on the grounds. Angie, Terri and Chelsea really paid attention to this detail and went above and beyond to make accommodations. I can honestly say that I have never been as laid back and stress free as I was on our wedding day. Things ran so smoothly! Even with the rain, I never worried about things being taken care of. It was the perfect day!! The flowers were beautiful, snacks were provided for the wedding party (Chelsea even chased me down making sure I at least ate a few crackers), music was playing in the background while everyone was getting dressed, our grandparents had a place to relax until the ceremony and the food was delicious!! One of my favorite things about the entire wedding day were the few minutes my husband and I had to ourselves behind closed doors to eat our first meal as husband and wife after the ceremony. It was really special and something we appreciated so much. It was details like this that made our day truly unforgettable. If we had to do over again, we would choose Southern House and Garden a million times over!! Thanks so much to everyone involved for making our day a true fairytale.

    Southern House & Garden's reply:

    We miss you and JAS dearly!
  • T
    Tanner Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could not have picked a more perfect wedding venue. The ladies at Southern House and Garden are so sweet and helpful. They did such an amazing job with all the flowers and decorations. The food was delicious, and all the wait staff were so nice and fun! My husband and I are very happy with how everything turned out. Thank you so much Angie, Chelsea and Terri!!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so happy I chose southern house and garden for my wedding. The venue is absolutely beautiful, the people who work there are wonderful. They do everything, the ceremony, reception, food, flowers, cakes, decorations, wedding planner. It was a perfect experience. My husband and I are so grateful, we had so much fun, didn't have to worry about anything, and there is nothing to complain about. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone, and if I had to redo it we would still have it there, I loved it!! Thank you again, Angie, Terri and Chelsea. ❤️❤️
  • A
    Ana Married on 08/08/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The ladies at Southern House and Garden truly made all my wedding dreams come true. They spent countless hours listening to my vision and executed each detail perfectly. I truly appreciate how open they were to all the unconventional ideas my family and I had. Everyone is still raving about the flowers, table settings and location. My husband and I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. Thank you!!
  • S
    Susie Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at Southern House are wonderful! They did a fantastic job making my day perfect!!!
  • S
    Stormie Married on 06/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    You guys were absolutely amazing and I couldn't of dreamed of anything more perfect! Thank you so much!
  • T
    Terri Married on 05/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Angie, Terri, and Nancy were amazing to work with!! They made planning a wedding so easy and fun! I was beyond pleased with decorations, food, cakes, and flowers! It was a beautiful wedding and very much exactly what I wanted! I loved having our wedding there and wouldn't have changed a thing!!
  • H
    Haley Married on 05/24/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was perfect for our wedding day!!! It was pretty than I had imagined, the food was delicious, the day went extremely smooth, I can't say enough good things about the ladies at Southern House and Garden!
  • P
    Paige Married on 10/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was the best day of my life so far, and I have the wonderful ladies and staff at Southern House to thank for that.