Soundwavz Entertainment Reviews

19 | Kitty Hawk, NC
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Soundwavz Entertainment

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

19
Order by:
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer McBride Sabedra · Getting married on 05/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don is awesome!

    We met with Don to discuss our wedding and he is simply awesome. He was so flexible with the timing of our meeting. He is very responsive and sent me the wedding packet before our meeting so we could be prepared. He asks questions and really gets to know his couples. I can't wait for our wedding. It's going to be so fun with Don leading the way!

    Sent on 04/28/2019
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely adore Don and he made our wedding amazing! Every step of the way Don was just wonderful. He was super responsive to all my emails/texts and even helped create our timeline for the evening with my DOC. He even was able to accommodate our requests for some more obscure songs! He had me approve all the important songs before he added them to his list to make sure he had the right version, which was great! My husband and I met with him for coffee (Don's idea!) a couple days before our wedding just to get to know him and talk to him about how we wanted the day to go. It was so nice to get to know him on that level and to make sure we were all on the same page. He even was able to shorten the songs for our mother-son and father-daughter dances, which apparently not all Djs will do! I would recommend Don to anyone getting married in NC because he is incredibly organized and on top of things, and everything you want your Dj to be! His rates are also super reasonable, and he has great lighting that makes the dance floor shine! The best part about Don is that he really knows how to read the crowd and knows how to anticipate what songs to play next to keep everybody on the dance floor. We had the best night!

    Sent on 12/05/2017
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was great to work with. We found him through a wedding vendor weekend at the Sanderling Inn, and out of all the DJ's there, he definitely was the right choice. He was the only one to fully explain what he does, even providing a sample itinerary. He really takes the time to get to know you, including meeting with you before the wedding to review everything - down to name pronunciations. He researches songs that you want, wants to make sure everything is perfect, and it was. He caters to all age groups, and adds really nice personal touches. He was also flexible with us when we were slightly delayed with pictures, and flexible when we ended up taking a few things out of the reception (garter/bouquet toss). He keeps things moving, and was just wonderful to work with.

    Sent on 06/21/2016
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was absolutely amazing. The music was perfect from ceremony to the end of the reception. He actually had people up and dancing during dinner the music was so good. It was the most epic dance party I've ever participated in, and many of our guests said the same.

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • S

    Sasha · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish I could give Don more stars! From the beginning, he kept us on track and focused with not only selecting our wedding music, but also planning and scheduling our reception. At the last minute, Don had a health emergency and was unable to DJ our ceremony and reception. However, in the midst of his health situation, he called us and let us know that he had booked us not only 1 but 2 other DJ's to cover our ceremony and reception. He was diligent in giving them all the information they needed and followed up with them by phone - even as he was going into the hospital. I only met with one of the DJ's literally the day before my wedding and it was clear that Don had been very specific with him. Not many folks would look out for a bride and groom the way he did. We are forever grateful and will always recommend him with the highest of praise

    Sent on 11/17/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was excellent to work with. He got to know us on a personal level, including our music interests and style. He did a terrific job balancing music to the age differences of our guests and keeping everyone entertained. Don played a key role in facilitating the event and worked very well with our venue coordinators. We could not have asked for more from Don.

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • J

    Steve · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was our officiant and the DJ for our reception (including cocktail hour). He went out of his way for us, and made us feel comfortable throughout the planning process and during our wedding. Our ceremony was outside on a deck over the dunes, so it was a little windy, but all of our guests were able to hear Don. We had a small wedding of about 30 people, so we were nervous about having a DJ and dancing, but Don did a great job reading the crowd. Everyone danced and had a great time. Don is always early - he's someone you can depend on. We couldn't recommend Don more!

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • T

    Tierney · Married on 06/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved Don! He was so much more than a DJ. He kept the wedding on schedule and made my job as the bride very easy. I did not have a wedding planner or anything so having Don was awesome! I loved how quickly he responded to emails and how seriously he took his job. He came to check out the venue early (few days before the wedding) and showed up several hours before the wedding on the day of to set everything up. He was very nice and I enjoyed having him as the DJ. I know our guests had a good time dancing as well :)

    We also got Don to play the music for the ceremony which he did for an additional cost and I was very grateful.

    Sent on 07/05/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don responded to emails/phone calls quickly, and did a great job working with our requests while still including songs he knew would be popular.

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • C

    Chrissy · Married on 06/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was the dj for our 1920s Atlantic City Carnival themed wedding and he NAILED it!!! The music was spot on to the uniqueness of our wedding theme. He was so flexible and easy to work with. He even dressed up as a gangster!!! I absolutely love Don, and enjoyed working with him so much. He is truly a pro at his job, and would definitely recommend him over the competition. Worth every penny.

    Sent on 06/15/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was a great DJ. He was interested in our wedding songs being a hit by making sure it was exactly what we wanted. He was there to setup and say hi to us and then helped get the wedding party lined up before announcing, along with everything else on the itinerary. He definitely helped us stick to the schedule and kept the night going smoothly. I highly recommend Don and if I ever need another DJ in OBX I will surely call him.

    Sent on 06/03/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was amazing. He had our guests dancing right away! My husband and I started dancing and could not stop! He even accommodated our eager crowd by staying for another hour. He played the perfect mix, and all of our guests were asking where we found him!! I would recommend Soundwavz to anyone wanting to have fun at their reception!

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • D

    dawn · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional! Don and Randy paid very close attention to every detail. Randy had the party dancing from start to finish. No doubt a fun night!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • O

    Colleen · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Sounwavz for ceremony and reception DJ services and they lived up to everything we were told! They were organized, professional, flexible, and just amazing. They provided numerous people to run the ceremony which was great to ensure that all the cues and music was just right. After the ceremony they kept the cocktail hour and reception moving with the perfect music. They were able to "read" what our guests like and keep us all dancing all night long - there was not a moment when everyone at our wedding was not dancing!!!

    In addition, they ensured that they had all the correct music we wanted played (like a special version of our father daughter song) and were perfect in everything! We even received CD's that night of all the special songs along with certain songs that we requested to be play, which is great so that we can always remember our wedding music. Soundwavz is great and I highly recommend them!! They will keep your party partying!!!!

    Sent on 06/10/2012
  • mycaps

    Christie · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ Dominique was amazing! He was a blast and kept the party going! He even showed us how do a few of the dance steps :)

    Sent on 07/08/2009
  • Natalie

    Natalie · Married on 05/17/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was great! I have heard such horror stories about DJs so I was nervous about choosing one but Don made me comfortable from the beginning. He played such appropriate song choices during dinner and fun upbeat choices from out list afterwards. And he did not play anything from our "Do Not Play List" which was my biggest worry. At the end of the night he even presented us with a CD full of the songs he played during the reception. I would absolutely use him again and recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 06/03/2008
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Soundwavz did a wonderful job at our wedding. Jill was very professional and kept the guests dancing thru pretty much the entire reception.

    Sent on 10/29/2011
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don was our DJ. We met him months prior and knew right away he was the man for the job. Soundwaz has an online even management site, so you can request/or remove songs as many times as you like without having to go back and forth oin phone calls or emails. It's a great idea. Don did a great job picking music and getting people dancing (we didn't have a big dancing crowd). I didn't have a single care in the world about the music, announcements or anything else Don did on our wedding day. I knew we were in good hands. Thanks Don!

    Sent on 10/27/2009
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 06/25/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Soundwavz is a great local DJ In the Outer Banks, NC. Their on-line form submissions make it easy for any bride/groom. Their willingness to communicate over email made things very easy as well.

    My only negative comment is regarding song selection and set-up. I was sad to see all the speakers on the ground at the reception. I thought 2 out of the 3 or 4 could have been put on risers. Because of this, I had to request the music be turned up several times.

    I was also upset when several of my DO NOT PLAY songs were played at the wedding. I was very specific with the list I sent over and reviewed it on the phone with Soundwavz. That was very frustrating. The only good part was that people were still dancing!

    Overall, I would recommend Soundwavz and just stress the importance of reviewing those little details...more then once!

    Thanks Soundwavz!

    Sent on 07/11/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review