Sounds Spectacular Reviews

25 | Arlington, TX
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Sounds Spectacular

Recommended by 92%

25
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • Kathleen

    Kathleen · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic DJ for an amazing price

    Robert was awesome! He gave me some suggestions for music during my ceremony and followed my playlist as I had designed. He was incredibly easy to work with and knew my venue. No issues during the ceremony or reception. During the reception, he did a great job of letting guests know what was coming next and played a great variety of music. I would highly recommend him !

    Sent on 01/02/2019
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough amazing things about Robert !!!! He went above and beyond to help me figure out perfect timeline for my wedding and communicated and responded quickly with any questions I had took so much stress away from me so I could enjoy the best day of my life !!!! He was early and professional and we had such a great time thank you so very much !!!!!

    Sent on 09/10/2018
  • D

    Darla · Married on 12/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sounds Spectacular did a great job at our wedding. We met with them a few weeks before to go over things we wanted for our wedding. It was obvious when meeting that they know what they are doing and really care about the reception being fun for everyone. They did the music for our ceremony, everything was played at exactly the right moment; the song transitions were flawless. They played all the songs I wanted during cocktail hour and dinner. The music is one of the most important parts of a wedding to me because it really sets the tone for the whole day. The mood was just as I imagined in my head. Sounds Spectacular did a wonderful job at MC-ing and keeping the party going. Most all of our guests were busting a move on the dance floor, it made for a fun and energetic reception! We really enjoyed the dancing. My husband and I were satisfied with the service Sounds Spectacular provided and appreciated their patience and understanding with a stressed out bride (:

    Sent on 09/01/2018
  • B

    Brian · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Robert as our DJ on 2/18/17, and could not be more pleased. He was professional and accommodating of some unique requests (we had Mariachis). He was in constant communication with us throughout music selection and which songs to play when. Both the Bride and I cannot thank him enough for keeping the party fun and exciting while blending various styles of music to please the crowd!

    Sent on 03/13/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert is incredibly good at what he does. If you listen to him, take his advice, and trust his expertise you will be happy with your special day! He was very accommodating and even met with me on the 4th of July to iron out everything for our upcoming wedding on July 9th.

    Sent on 12/12/2016
  • A

    Annette · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved all the music choices! He kept
    the wedding flowing! I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 06/17/2016
  • A

    Alasha · Married on 03/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue but here we go! It was such a blessing that we met Robert because he is awesome!!!! Robert is so fun to work with and his quality of work is well.. Spectacular! Our wedding did not have many of the traditional factors that most do (for many complicated reasons) and he helped transition everything with ease. He is extremely devoted to his profession and makes each part of his process easy and stress free. Not a single person complained about the music and the dance floor was full the whole night! I would highly recommend Robert for any event.. not only do you get the best DJ in town but you make an amazing friend too!!!

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • User6580188 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert is more than his great equipment and robust music catalog. He really helps to make the wedding livelier in a motivated and professional manner. My wife and I agree hat he did an awesome job at our wedding. Firstly, Robert maximized the value of our dollar. He charged an inexpensive fee relative to other DJs, and yet he still delivered. Secondly, he was transparent about expectations. He listened to us and helped shape a more formal idea (well ahead of time) of how the wedding were to play out, music and all. At the same time, he was highly flexible with our specific wants and the handful of plan changes thrown at him. Lastly and most importantly, he actively read the crowd at our wedding and did well with livening up friends & family, WITHOUT having to yell obnoxiously over the audio and blurt out terrible "comedic relief."

    Call Robert, and take the time to sit down & talk with him. He made a great DJ/MC at out wedding!

    Cheers,
    Mark & Kim

    Sent on 04/10/2016
  • angela

    angela · Married on 01/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was absolutely amazing! I couldn't have asked for a better DJ for my daughters 16th birthday party! He had everyone dancing all night long, we couldn't get the kids off the dance floor for one minute! I am so very happy with his service, he contacted me about the type of music I wanted and made sure it was all age appropriate. The night couldn't have gone any better. I will definitely use Robert again! Angela.

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • D

    Dave · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was fantastic. He was extremely professional throughout the process both before and during the event. He exceeded our expectations. We couldn't have been more happy with him. Definitely give him the highest recommendation.

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • User6076363 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the 4th Holiday party that we used Robert from Sound Spectacular. I also hired him for two weddings. He is truly a professional DJ and I do not hesitate recommending him 100%. He has a keen sense of what music to play and when; he can emcee when needed. He always arrives on the agreed upon time, with equipment that is in excellent condition.

    Sent on 12/21/2015
  • T

    Taryn · Married on 07/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was fantastic and I would HIGHLY recommend him. He arrived early, with all the songs I selected loaded onto the computer, and was dressed very nicely. He kept the flow going, and was quite flexible on the order of events, announcements to make, etc. As the bride, I had enough on my mind, and just wanted to be told where to go and when. Robert did exactly that… kept us on track and was extremely kind and professional. I had a special request for my entry song to start several seconds in (the song’s intro was too long) and he did it perfectly!! He worked within my budget and I could not have been happier with the entire process with Robert.

    Sent on 07/27/2015
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert is Simply Amazing!!! Very professional, he really did a fantastic job getting the party started at my wedding!! You won't regret choosing him!!!

    Sent on 08/03/2015
  • C

    Cathy · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was in 2 words, Simply Awesome! We met with him before our wedding to go over the schedule, timing, playlist, etc. He did such a great job the night of coordinating with the venue, the caterer and us. He gave us some great advice on the order of events for the reception, that went against what the venue was recommending, but he knew what he was talking about because the evening just flowed so well! He would pop over every now and ask us about the timing of our cake cutting, bouquet/garter toss, etc., to make sure the evening was progressing as it should. He made sure not to play any random requests from guests, lest the school fight song of my rival school would have been played! I can sum everything up by saying this. A friend of mine told me a few weeks after our event that our wedding was the most fun she'd ever been to and our DJ totally rocked!

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User5248022 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would recommend the services of "Sounds Spectacular" to anyone planning their wedding reception. Robert was easy to work with, always taking our ideas and adding his to make our reception one of the most fun parties ever. The music flowed, everyone danced all night and they kept us right on schedule. My friends and family still talk about what a wonderful time they had!

    Sent on 07/09/2015
  • User4685300 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome!! They really made planning the reception order of events and music easy! I was very indecisive on exact songs I wanted so I just told him genres that I liked and everything came together perfectly. Would definitely recommend using them!

    Sent on 01/11/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Robert at a vendor event held at Northeast Wedding Chapel. He was really helpful when I told him what I needed. I wasn't convinced I needed a DJ initially but he explained some of the detail of what he would provide and I started to realize it might be a good idea! Later on he saw my friends and I dancing around to some music and came over and said he could make sure we had a good time just like this at the wedding. Robert was great with the suggestions I gave him and I noticed that many of these played during the wedding. All the songs I wanted played at certain times were done correctly and he was very attentive to the fact that sometimes a song might need to be changed sooner rather than later. The price was great too!

    Sent on 01/20/2015
  • A

    Amber · Married on 11/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was an amazing DJ to work with for our evening wedding! He was always available to answer any of my MANY questions prior to the wedding and on the day of, he made it seamless! I still have guests talking about how much fun they had dancing and partying to his music. He is such a great guy and I would recommend him to ANYONE looking for a fun and entertaining DJ at any event!
    Amber

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • E

    elma · Married on 11/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert Williams, DJ and owner of Sounds Spectacular, puts a whole new meaning to a "Spectacular" performance! He performed as DJ at my wedding on 11/2/2012 and his partner was DJ at my mom's 50th birthday party, in March, 2012. Robert and his associates have excellent people skills and make it their goal to create a "party" atmosphere. My friends and family still talk about both events and how much they enjoyed themselves because of their professionalism and variety of music. The music they play cater to everyone's different styles. Prior to the events, Robert spent time with us to discuss the details to ensure a night to remember. I would highly recommend Sounds Spectacular for any special occasion where high expectations are warranted.

    Sent on 07/12/2014
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 11/01/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Sounds Spectacular and Robert Williams as our DJ for our wedding was one of the best decisions we made for our event! Robert was professional, warm and friendly and totally open to the idea of DJing a same sex wedding/reception. He was happy to work with our playlist and had great suggestions to make it even better! He even found a specific song for me that I had been unable to locate anywhere-even on iTunes! He was easy to work with and kept our guests on their feet and dancing all evening long! Thank you, Robert, for making our special night complete!
    The Breses

    Sent on 05/24/2015
  • User4592743 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    After reading some other reviews, I was skeptical about even meeting with Robert but I'm glad I did. Our whole experience with Robert, from signing the contract to saying goodbye after our last dance, was perfect. He honored a quote given to me several months before our meeting, he was very easy to contact and was quick to respond. My biggest concern for our reception was that nobody would dance, whether we had a dj or decided to do the music ourselves. I had faith in Robert and he delivered. He played all the right songs during dinner and the perfect songs for dancing. Everyone was up and dancing for at least an hour, it was the perfect end to our reception. He made our reception flow so smoothly too by handling the schedule and announcements of the big events.

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 01/04/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional, extremely responsive, and are constantly communicative about the event that goes on. I would highly recommend their service to any one. The are fast can be quick and attentative if necessary. I was very happy with their service. There were a couple of blimps but they were quick to fix and I was very happy with the end result as well as the music selection. There were a couple of songs that I put they were necessary and they missed them, but I was overall very happy with the service.

    Sent on 02/28/2015
  • Ms2Mrs1029

    Ms2Mrs1029 · Married on 10/29/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Robert is a great DJ/MC and knows exactly what he is doing! He was able to give us suggestions on things we hadn't thought about or things we didn't think all the way through. Robert gave us his professional opinion and things went exactly how we envisioned! And the playlist...we STILL have guests/family mentioned how great our DJ was! He is good at what he does.

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 04/13/2019

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    SERIOUS buyer’s remorse!!! :(

    The only thing I would change about our day was hiring Robert and it rained all day, mud got on my dress, and one of my bridesmaids almost did not make it for the wedding…

    We hired Robert because of his strong reviews, which did not hold true for us. While the reception was fun there were several mistakes and one in particular was very upsetting. We gave Robert a typed out list of songs by name and artist for certain parts of the wedding, including my walk down the aisle. My husband and I picked the song over a year ago and knew it was the one non-negotiable thing for us- we listened to the song a lot during the year and it always made us think about the commitment we were making to each other. Robert played a different song by a different artist.

    Everything happened so quickly. Once I realized the wrong song was playing the doors to the chapel had opened. I couldn’t say or do anything to correct it and once I saw my groom I really couldn’t hear or see anything else. My husband and I were the only ones that noticed the wrong song, because it was meaningful and dear to us- or would have been.

    I am kicking myself for not catching it earlier, but on my part there was a lot going on and it was literally Robert’s job to read one of the many emails or word documents I sent him and play the song we asked for… I could not have done any more hand holding and I wish I had played the song from my iPhone instead. That at least would have been more reliable.

    As an emcee, Robert was wonderful. However, our first dance song cut out 20 seconds in and we just started over (not a big deal). We also asked Robert to open the floor during the father-daughter and mother-son dances for all father-daughters and mother-sons to join, which did not happen. This was annoying, but not a big deal either, although I had promised my father and mother-in-law that they would not have to dance alone - something they were both anxious about. Overall, all of our guests had a great time and were complementary all night. My husband and I and an amazing time and this mishap, while extremely disappointing, did not ruin our wedding and won’t impact our marriage.

    However, we can’t go back and re-create something we looked forward to sharing for over a year because Robert was either too lazy or too careless to read the song request we had.

    Sent on 04/16/2019

    Sounds Spectacular's reply:

    I did play the wrong version of the song :
    I was suppose to play the Jurassic Park Theme by the Piano Guys.
    Instead I played the Jurassic Park Theme from the Soundtrack that was suppose to be played during the cocktail hour .
    I screwed up and realize there is nothing I can say or do to minimize the effects of my mistake.
    I know you hired me because of my strong reviews and reputation as I don't make those kind of mistakes and don't know how I allowed that to happen. I'm so upset with myself and am so regretful to have disappointed you in this way.
    It was gracious of you and I appreciate that you mentioned what a great time you and your guests had the rest of evening.
  • V

    valerie · Married on 11/09/2012

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I would not recommend DJ Robert Williams of Sounds Spectacular! We expected more from a wedding dj that charged more than the average guy! He doesn't have any online reviews good or bad, maybe he has changed the name of his business recently because he says he has been doing this for over 20 years! He provided no lighting, played old songs and he was boring! I trusted this guy because he worked closely with my venue but I should have done some better research on him. Please don't make the same mistake we did!

    Sent on 11/28/2012

    Sounds Spectacular's reply:

    First, if you look at Weddingwire Dj reviews you will see many cases where something actually got screwed up and many of the DJs still get a 2 or 3 star rating, yet I was given a 0. I was not aware I even had reviews on Weddingwire until nearly 2 years after this event.
    Djing weddings has been my FULL TIME job for 20+ years and I have never changed the name of the company as I have a good reputation with industry professionals and previous brides.
    Yes, I'm sure the bride could have found an "average guy" ( who is not actually a Dj ) for a cheaper price. The price the bride paid was very reasonable by any industry standard. There was nothing in the contract to include lighting and the venue has it's own lighting.
    I play a complete variety of music including current selections unless otherwise specified. The bride could have made requests ahead of time or any time during the reception and I would have been sure they were played. If I played more older music than usual it was because the majority of guests were older. I take pride in creating a fun atmosphere and connecting with the guests through the music. I am sorry the bride was disappointed and felt she had to leave a review like this. She never contacted me after the event.
    Sounds Spectacular has done over 1000 weddings and this is a single review. I do not use Weddingwire as an avenue for getting jobs, that is why there are not numerous reviews. I receive recommendations directly from previous brides, venues who are happy to refer me and brides who have attended weddings I've performed at and I am able to Dj as my FULL TIME job. I think that is the strongest statement I can offer.
    So, if someone gave you my name and you happened to google me and found this, please do not think it reflects the way I do business or DJ. That person has recommended me because they have experienced the exact opposite of what appears on this review.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review